Mouth of Wilson cabin rental - A perfect Getaway
A perfect Getaway
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Mouth of Wilson Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 6-8

Our cabin is located on 4.5 acres where you can hike in the woods and capture the magic of the abundant amount of wildlife often as close as your front door; but if fishing or canoeing is in your itinerary, enjoy just 8 miles away the New River. Whether you are sitting on the front porch, living room, loft, or having meals in the dining room, you can experience the gorgeous mountains all around you. Enjoy the picturesque view of the only castle in Grayson County. The cabin's interior consists of rustically/ modern decorated great room with wood flooring, vaulted 20 ft. ceilings and six picture windows to enjoy the breathtaking mountain view. The master bedroom includes a private bathroom with Jacuzzi & shower. The upstairs level consists of a full bathroom, and a second bedroom with a queen size bed, and bunk beds. The loft, with a queen size sofa bed, offers a cozy setting to enjoy the view. Our cabin gives you a haven to relax your, mind ~ body~ and ~ soul.

Activities in the area:: Hiking - Horseback riding - Boating - Restaurants - Water Rafting - Winery - Fishing - Cinemas/Movie theater - Hunting - Bowling - Swimming - National Parks - Biking/mountain biking - National Trails - Golf - Hillsville Flea Market - Sledding/tubing - Antiquing - Shopping

Nearby attractions:: New River trail rentals 8 miles

Jefferson Nat'l Park 8 miles

Sparta, N.C. 15 miles

Galax, VA 17 miles

Blue Ridge Parkway 21 miles

Mount Rogers 37 miles

Mount Airy N.C. 58 miles

Boone, N.C. 59 miles

Asheville N.C. 173 miles

Richmond VA 277 miles

Washington D.C. 330 miles

Atlanta, GA 350 miles

Nashville, TN 370 miles

New York, N.Y. 549 miles.

Nearest airports: Roanoke VA 102 miles.

Greensboro N.C. 108 miles.

Charlotte N.C. 116 miles.

More Details
Hide Details

39 Reviews of Property 190270 in Mouth of Wilson, Virginia

'Reach the Heavens in Virginia' - Beautiful New Log Cabin Nestled in the Woods
average rating of 4.866667 based on 39 reviews
business
'Reach the Heavens in Virginia' - Beautiful New Log Cabin Nestled in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190270
+1 305 322-6220
Mouth of Wilson Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Winter Wonderland!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My husband Roger and I planned a week vacation for my husband family reunion in Mouth of Wilson, and it was great spending & meeting all the family during the day, but having the perfect getaway at night. We decided to stay an extra week and were able to go sightseeing, even though some of the days were chilly but still nice. Went to Mount Rogers but part of the park was closed because of the weather, can't wait to come back again to enjoy all the trails.
Chad is great in keeping the property in top shape, and the owners very accommodating in all our needs.
Definitely will come back again soon!
business
'Reach the Heavens in Virginia' - Beautiful New Log Cabin Nestled in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190270
+1 305 322-6220
Mouth of Wilson Blue Ridge Highlands
2

Nice cabin, rude owners

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Let me start by saying the house is beautiful. The two star rating doesn't reflect the house itself but annoyances we encountered during our stay and above all the nasty response from the owners when we informed them about these incidents.

First, we couldn't use the jaccuzzi in the main bathroom. Not enough hot water to fill it up, while we had not been home the whole day. We tried the following day, same result, not enough hot water. Pretty disappointing as it was supposed to be part of our romantic getaway and one of the reasons why we selected this property.
Second, the hair dryer didn't work. We checked if there was another one in the second bathroom but there wasn't. With long hair, this was rather unpleasant to remain with wet hair in the middle of winter and having to run to town to buy a hair dryer.
Since we only stayed there for four days and during the holidays, we brought these unfortunate incidents to the owner's attention upon our departure, and kindly requested if they would consider a small compensation for the annoyances we experienced. To our surprise, they replied that we were the first ones making an issue about anything in the cabin in a tone that was both sarcastic and offensive. As if we had planned for the jacuzzi not to work...
So as long as everything works well, you'll enjoy the house. However if by any chance you run into something that does not work properly, do not expect any level of service from the owners.

Last comment, the location. In Homeaway it says it's in Mouth of Wilson while it's in Independence, which is about 30 minutes away. Not a big deal unless you choose the house in order to be close to Mt Rogers or the Grayson Highlands State park for hiking or biking. It will take you about one hour to get to the park. So be aware.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Reach the Heavens in Virginia' - Beautiful New Log Cabin Nestled in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190270
+1 305 322-6220
Mouth of Wilson Blue Ridge Highlands
5

October in Virginia!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
What a pleasant surprise on our first trip to Virginia. We came from Florida and our relatives from NJ met us at the cabin for a delightful visit. Getting out of the heat of Florida was so refreshing. Each morning with coffee and evening with a glass of wine, we sat in the rocking chairs on the porch and enjoyed the cool, crisp mountain air! The cabin was both decorated beautifully and so very comfortable. The fireplace was romantic and we built a fire outside and sat around the campfire telling stories. Most nights we cooked and I have to say the kitchen had all the comforts of home. The Courthouse in town was a wonderful resource of information on what to do and where to go. We enjoyed a couple wineries, went in search for apples and found Foggy Ridge for Hard Cider where we had lunch of pizza made in a pizza oven in the back of a truck, (it was very good!). We hiked in Grayson Highland State Park where we saw the wild ponies. We enjoyed a local Pumpkin Festival with bluegrass music, shopped in Galax for local crafts and art. We drove a short distance on the beautiful Blue Ridge Parkway and visited Mabry Mill. But most of all we just had a great time! Thank you for sharing your cabin with us, it truly was a "Perfect Vacation!"
business
'Reach the Heavens in Virginia' - Beautiful New Log Cabin Nestled in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190270
+1 305 322-6220
Mouth of Wilson Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Romantic getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I booked a romantic getaway with my girlfriend and was blown away by this cabin. I'd say it was probably the cleanest and most well maintained cabin I've ever rented. We preferred to stay in and cook every night and not once did we think we were lacking anything. We regret not using the fire pit but hopefully next time we'll do this. I enjoyed myself so much that I left my iPad in the cabin but Maritza and the caretaker Chad shipped this back to me at cost! I would definitely recommend this property.
business
'Reach the Heavens in Virginia' - Beautiful New Log Cabin Nestled in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190270
+1 305 322-6220
Mouth of Wilson Blue Ridge Highlands
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Beautiful Views! Great Vacation!

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Thank you, we had a wonderful time! What beautiful views from the front porch. We enjoyed the rocking chairs each evening; cloud watching & star gazing.We rented tubes at Fries from "Blu Cat on the New River" Biked the New Trail great wonderful activities to do with our 4 & 5 year old kids Lots of bridges. picnic spots & water views around the area
Great wildlife like you say Right at your front porch, saw deer, turkeys,& rabbits.
business
'Reach the Heavens in Virginia' - Beautiful New Log Cabin Nestled in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190270
+1 305 322-6220
Mouth of Wilson Blue Ridge Highlands
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

We'll Be Back!

We'll Be Back!
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We loved staying here-it's so beautiful! And so great that my uncle lives right up the road
Your cabin is so lovely, and so clean, it feels like home, and Chad is a gem.
We'll be back!
Sue, Peter, Ben & Katie
business
'Reach the Heavens in Virginia' - Beautiful New Log Cabin Nestled in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190270
+1 305 322-6220
Mouth of Wilson Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Thank you for the hospitality!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Thank you for sharing your home with us. It was the perfect location to stay while working in Independence. It was awesome to start and finish each workday in such a pretty place! My retired husband who traveled with me enjoyed everything about the cabin -- especially roaming the woods around the house!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Reach the Heavens in Virginia' - Beautiful New Log Cabin Nestled in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190270
+1 305 322-6220
Mouth of Wilson Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Perfect Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Could not have asked for better. The property is beautiful and exactly as described. The location was perfect as it is both remote enough to "get away from it all" and close enough to local activities - hiking, wineries, New River, Grayson State Park, etc. We had no problems at all during the stay and the owners were very quick and professional with helping us complete the reservation. Would go back in a heartbeat!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Reach the Heavens in Virginia' - Beautiful New Log Cabin Nestled in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190270
+1 305 322-6220
Mouth of Wilson Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Super place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the cabin and it is exactly as seen in the pictures. There were no disappointments. The cabin is well maintained, clean and very nicely decorated. From the moment you walk into the cabin there’s a comfortable feeling. It was a pleasant experience renting from this owner and I highly recommend this property
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Reach the Heavens in Virginia' - Beautiful New Log Cabin Nestled in the Woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190270
+1 305 322-6220
Mouth of Wilson Blue Ridge Highlands
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

LOVED YOUR HOUSE

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Hi Maritza & Robert,

We absolutely LOVED your house! From the moment we walked into the house, my husband said how much he liked it and told me I did a good job in picking out the place. All the furniture in the house is comfortable - beds, chairs, sofa, nice large dining table. My daughter-in-law and I liked how nicely you have decorated the cabin with the pictures and other things on the walls. We spent hours sitting in the rocking chairs on the porch enjoying the scenery. It's too bad the week went by so fast.

We all thank you for sharing your cabin and hope to return in the future!

Joan & Bill
Mike & Sue
Helpful votes: 1/1