Moorea villa rental - Robinson's Cove beach Villas, Moorea island
Robinson's Cove beach Villas, Moorea island
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Moorea Villa Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 mezzanine, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 8

Welcome to the Robinson's Cove Villas, located along a small private beach in the heart of the splendid island of Moorea, 30 minutes away from Tahiti. Houses are rare in the neighborhood, and untouched nature is everywhere waiting for you. Our beach Villas are in an exceptional site, right by the lagoon in Opunohu bay (the most beautiful bay in all Polynesia according to yachtsmen!), surrounded by breathtaking peaks and by a luxurious nature famous for its untouched and original beauty. It is in this surrounding that historical films about Polynesia are regularly shot (Namely 'The Bounty' in 1984 with Mel Gibson, etc). The largest private yachts anchor frequently not far from the Villa, as 'Robinson's Cove' offers complete tranquility and an excellent shelter, it did for Captain James Cook who discovered the bay and was the first to moor there in 1777; nothing has changed since that time!

Car:: Car: Mini van TOYOTA (A/C, 7 seats) is available or FORD Sedan (A/C, 5 seats), under a rent and drive package. Please ask for conditions and details by email.

Snorkeling / Diving / Lagoon:: Snorkeling: The beach in front of the villas is on a small undewater plateau where you can walk for about 20 meters (60 ft). Then there is a drop off 25 meters (80 ft) deep. This drop off, home of many sea species, lets you snorkel in full safety among the fish only a few dozen yards from the Villas. There are no big waves on our beach, because we are protected in the bay, so this is excellent for kids and for snorkeling!

Diving: There are many scuba diving centers in Moorea, Alix our caretaker will help you. Moorea is famous for his diving spots.

Excursions on the Lagoon: Whether a simple ride to discover the lagoon or an encounter with whales and dolphins, or waterskiing at sunset, many service providers can pick you up by boat directly at our Villas.

Power Boats: It is possible to rent small power boats with or without a license, for one or several days.

Activities with our partners:: Horseback Riding: There is a ranch not far (about 10 minutes by car) in the Opunohu Valley for memorable rides in spectacular scenery made of peaks and lagoons. 4x4 and Quad bike: For those who prefer the comfort of a motor vehicle, a discovery of the hidden paths and breathtaking peaks can be done in a Jeep or in Quad ATV motorcycle. Hiking: On the mountainside or throughout the tropical jungle, there is nothing like hiking, but it is safer to hire a guide! Marathon: Marathons, triathlons, etc. are regularly organized by the Te Moorea Sports Association. Golf: The new Moorea Golf Course is 15 minutes drive away, near the airport. Spa : Several Spas are located in Moorea Island, including Helen'Spa, who created the first Tahitian Spa in 1999, ranked among the most beautiful spas in the world.

More Details
Hide Details

22 Reviews of Property 190205 in Moorea, Polynesia

Moorea, private Deluxe Beach Villa, Robinson's Cove
average rating of 4.4761906 based on 22 reviews
business
Moorea, private Deluxe Beach Villa, Robinson's Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190205
Moorea Polynesia
Novi, Michigan
5

A great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
My wife and I spent 12 day's at Robinson's Cove in Nov & Dec 2009. We had an absolute great time. The house was in great shape, clean, and everything worked. It was so nice to have the option to eat at home some times, and having a full kitchen made cooking easy. We loved how secluded the house was and how Alix (the caretaker) respected our privacy. We rented a car through the owner, and it was indespenible, if you stay here you have to do it.

Overall, we would not hesitate to go back or recommend it to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 17/18
business
Moorea, private Deluxe Beach Villa, Robinson's Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190205
Moorea Polynesia
New York
5

Villa Cook Was Absolutely Fabulous!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My companion and I stayed at Villa Cook for about 3 days and we thoroughly enjoyed this experience as it was our first time to the South Pacific! The villa was extremely clean and we were amazed at the number of bedrooms, dens, indoor and outdoor shower, living room and kitchen. What I found to also be impressive is that we had usage of a car for the duration (of which I only have to supply a valid drivers license; driving was great because the road was pretty much circular around the entire island making it so easy to get in and out of situations. The manager of the facility was always at our disposal and made certain all of our demands were met, if any. Pepsi the property dog was a joy and often visited with us especially when he sensed that I was cooking. We would thoroughly recommend staying at this property if you get the opportunity and we would definitely visit again. Muah!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Moorea, private Deluxe Beach Villa, Robinson's Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190205
Moorea Polynesia
Los Angeles, CA
1

Uncooperative owner and severe mosquito problem

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My wife and I stayed at Villa Wallis in May 2013 for our honeymoon. Choosing to start our honeymoon at Villa Wallis was a huge mistake.

The owner advertises Villa Wallis as having A/C, so we reserved that villa. When we showed up, however, the A/C was broken and every single window and door in the bungalow had been left wide open "to let the breeze in," which also let in swarms of mosquitoes.

Although my wife and I applied copious amounts of mosquito repellant, and constantly burned citronella candles, we couldn't escape from the bugs that had been let in. We aimed the fan directly at the bed at night, but because the owner doesn't provide a mosquito net, we were literally eaten alive while we slept. In my four nights at Villa Wallis I got over 100 mosquito bites on my legs.

In addition to the mosquito problem, I woke up the first night to the sounds of a feral cat hissing and scratching against the inside hall door - apparently the cat got in when all of the doors had been left open before we arrived and spent the entire day/night inside. There is also an animal living above and behind the master bed in the walls - we heard it every night running around and eating right behind our heads as we tried to sleep.

The owner could not have been any less accommodating after we informed him of our experience. I sent pictures of my bug bites to the owner, but instead of offering to provide some sort of accommodation for his failure to provide A/C as advertised, he condescendingly stated that I must never have traveled in the tropics before. In fact, I have traveled extensively in the tropics and have never experienced anything as bad as being INSIDE Villa Wallis. After our initial communication, the owner completely failed to respond to our follow-up inquiries regarding our stay.

The owner's failure to provide the A/C we paid for significantly affected the rest of our trip even after we left, as I was incredibly uncomfortable with hundreds of mosquito bites on my body for the entire honeymoon. I did not get a single noticeable bite while staying at any other location throughout French Polynesia.

My wife and I will definitely return to French Polynesia, but we will stay far away from Robinson's Cove. Be careful where you choose to stay for your special trip to French Polynesia.
Owner's Response: The LAWYER, the ONE-NIGHT without A/C, and the FERAL CAT!

Rather than long words, let me post the answer I sent at the time to this guest, a young lawyer from LA, who indeed suffered 24 hours of broken A/C (and this lasted 24 HOURS ONLY). Sorry about this. Somme people are indeed more sensitive to mosquitos than others. Also there were 2 mosquito nets on the beds in the mezzanine of this Villa for use if need be.
BTW, there are no feral cats in French Polynesia :). It was our caretaker's cat named Victoria.
Denis

Hello xxxx;
The former A/C in Villa Wallis broke 3 days before your arrival, and when we decided to buy a new one rather than repair the old one it was a Friday.
As you have now realized Moorea is a VERY SMALL tropical island and everything is in fact shipped from Tahiti. We managed to get a brand new DAIKIN A/C when suppliers opened again on Monday (the day you arrived), shipped it and installed it on Tuesday noon. Sorry about the trouble for the Monday night when you had no A/C indeed. It worked fine for the rest of your stay.

Concerning mosquitos, I expect you did not travel much in the tropics (I don't talk about your trips to FLA or south America which aren’t located in the tropics anyway) because indeed there can be many bugs in French Polynesia, especially because this year there has been raining a lot in April, hence why we smoked the whole place just before you arrived.

We rented you this beach house for 4 nights, even though as mentioned on our web site we only rent for a minimum of 5 nights, we gave you our automatic car Sedan with no extra cost when we discovered you were not able to drive a manual gearbox car, and we offered you, beside a bottle of Champagne, a free welcome gift for a small black pearl with a certificate of authenticity.

I hope you enjoyed all of them.

Best regards
Denis
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Moorea, private Deluxe Beach Villa, Robinson's Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190205
Moorea Polynesia
5

Robinson Cove - A GREAT place to stay in Moorea!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Dennis, the owner, went out of his way to help us know about his property, before we left. We got everything, plus, from what Dennis told us and Alix, his helper was very helpful in all our wants.
A great location; very clean and wonderful for a restful vacation.
Thank you Dennis and Alex for a GREAT experience!
Owner's Response: Thank you Don and Arlene, you are welcome back anytime in the stunning Opunohu bay!
business
Moorea, private Deluxe Beach Villa, Robinson's Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190205
Moorea Polynesia
5

Awesome home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
If you're looking for the perfect home on Moorea, you must consider Villa Cook at Robinson's Cove. The setting is absolutely perfect as you are just steps from the beautiful bay on the sand. Everything in the home is available to make your stay enjoyable and stress free. Getting around the island is made easier with the availability of the owner's car. This is a must in order to see this beautiful island and all it has to offer. We really enjoyed shopping at the local markets and cooking many of our dinners on the outdoor grill. The local fish is outstanding. We highly recommend this home as a "must" stay if you're heading to Moorea.
Owner's Response: Thanks for this great review! It means a lot to us and to all our staff. Denis, owner.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Moorea, private Deluxe Beach Villa, Robinson's Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190205
Moorea Polynesia
Whistler BC Canada
5

Honeymoon Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We spent the second week of our honeymoon at Villa Cook and we could not have asked for a more beautiful and relaxing spot to spend it. The villa was very clean and very well equipped. It was very nice being able to cook our own meals and the little charcoal BBQ on the beach was a fantastic way to have a glass (or bottle) of wine while cooking some great steaks.

We rented a little SUV from Denis the owner and that is an absolute must! Getting to the grocery store and day trips to see the rest of the island was great. It was very affordable and really helped us see everything Moorea has to offer.

Make sure to have lunch at Snack Mahana one day! The complementary outrigger tour to the motu's, swimming with the sharks and rays, snorkeling, and watching hump back whales was very cool, and highly recommended.

Overall, we were so very happy here. We actually cried when we had to leave! We will most definitely be back one day and we've already recommended it to all our friends for their next vacation. Alix was a great help and very friendly, as was her little dog Pepsi who always came by to say hello.

Mauruuru Denis for a fantastic week at your beautiful home!

Matty and Courtney Woods
Whistler BC Canada
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Moorea, private Deluxe Beach Villa, Robinson's Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190205
Moorea Polynesia
5

25th anniversary dream

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We spent the better part of a week in the Villa Wallis. This unit is absolutely georgeous. Well appointed, all the amenities you could ever ask for. Right on a private beach. Great deck to lounge about on. Amazing snorkelling out across the reef to a spectacular coral wall drop off. Our travel date was early July - best time to visit. Weather is perfect. Bring mosquito repellent when out and about - especially at night. The units are very private but close to all the points of interest. Rent a car or make use of the owners car. There is a little ice cream and snack shop just down the road. One of the best public beaches on Moorea is just a few minutes away. Great sand and swimming. Alex is very charming - and can help with anything you need. One alert - no air conditioning at this time, but the fans in the room are enough.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Actually beginning of August, we have put A/C in the master bedroom in Villa Wallis. A/C is mostly useful between Nov and Feb.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Moorea, private Deluxe Beach Villa, Robinson's Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190205
Moorea Polynesia
5

Amazing location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
I can't believe it has taken us this long to put up a review, but my husband and I rented the place for our honeymoon. We had an amazing trip. Time flew by before we knew it.
The place was much more amazing than the pictures gave it credit for and we couldn't have been happier there. We snorkeled off the reef just of the deck and couldn't believe how many colorful fish there were just yards from the bedroom.
I am glad we also rented a vehicle along with the house as it was perfect for outings. We did a few excursions such as scuba diving with Moorea Blue Diving @ Moorea Pearl Resort and a semi private tour with the catamaran @ the Moorea Intercontinental Hotel. We also visited the new vanilla plantation and tropical garden located just a few meters down the road and up the hillside. We did a little hiking although if you do go make sure you bring some bug spray,
We can't wait to go back and have another adventure.

Thank you to Denis for letting us rent such a luxurious place, Alex who made our stay most enjoyable, and Jac (spelling?) who helped us with translations.
We couldn't have asked for anything more.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks to both of you. You are welcome back anytime! Denis
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Moorea, private Deluxe Beach Villa, Robinson's Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190205
Moorea Polynesia
Salinas, California, U.S.A.
5

Robinson's Cove, Moorea, Society Islands

Robinson's Cove, Moorea, Society Islands
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We had a wonderful time at this beautifully equipped and very comfortable villa situated just ten feet (or less) from the lagoon's edge. The prime location on non-commercial Opunohu Bay makes it one of the most lovely and private spots on Moorea.

Two bedrooms and two bathrooms (with exotic vine-covered outdoor showers) make it perfect for two couples. There is also an upstairs loft reached by quite a steep ladder, which would work for younsters, but our group (being rather mature) were not able to use the loft.

The villa is quipped with everything you need, except food and alcohol, so you can travel with a carryon containing only bathing suits and shorts. There are many grocery stores, both huge and small, which carry anything you might have forgotten.

You really should rent the car that belongs to the house so you can buzz around the island at will, but if you do not, the many fine restaurants will send a car to pick you up and return you to the villa.

Ideally you should go for two weeks to become really relaxed and able to pretend you reside and are living like the locals.

As you see, we highly recommend this lovely spot.

Bye the way, the info above says one bathroom, but there are two full bathrooms.

Ann Farr and various friends and relatives.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Moorea, private Deluxe Beach Villa, Robinson's Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190205
Moorea Polynesia
Keego Harbor, MI, USA
5

One of our best vacations ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My husband and I stayed at Robinson's Cove May 15-20, 2011 and had a wonderful stay. Denis was very easy to correspond with and provided all kinds of helpful informtation in advance.

The home is beautiful and well taken care of. The kitchen has everything you need to make great meals (except no blender :-), and don't be intimidated by the gas stove or the dishwasher/washer/dryer with french style settings and buttons, it was all easy to figure out. And it is great to have a washer/dryer, so you can pack lighter. And you'll want to be able to cook some of your own meals, as restaurant food is VERY expensive in French Polynesia.

The deck, beach and view of the bay were wonderful. We spent every afternoon in the beach chairs or hammock. Swimming and snorkeling are great and it was fun having a kayak to use. We ate every meal on the deck looking at a beautiful sunset.

And the indoor/outdoor showers are such fun! Every morning I marveled at the fact I was taking a shower and looking up at a green mountain.

Renting a car is strongly recommended as there are many great shops, resaurants and other sites to visit. We rented the Ford Focus from Denis and it served us very well. I believe the rate he charges is comparable if not slightly better than the rental agencies. The car did need the headlights fixed (only the high beams worked), so hopefully that will be fixed soon.

Alix and Jacques welcomed us warmly and gave us a great tour of the house. And Alix is always available although we only had one thing we needed her for (couldn't get the safe open), otherwise, everything is so well provided for.

Some local recommendations: we enjoyed grocery shopping at the very well-stocked Champion, even though it's a little futher away than the little local stores. Be sure to try the local grown tomatoes (yum) and local caught tuna (Thon Blanc). We rented a small boat from Locaboat near Les Tipaniers Hotel and had the best time going to the nearby motu's where there is great snorkeling and a lovely beach and even a beach restaurant. We also rented a paddleboard on the beach by Les Tipaniers Hotel and had a great time trying that out for the first time. For a spa treatment, everyone talks about Helene Spa, but we went to Manea Spa at the Pearl Resort and had a wonderful experience. Finally, be sure to stop at Carmelene's in Maharepa for great pastries!

What else can I say? You must go to Moorea and you must stay here. Bon Voyage!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for this great review. Yes the headlights of this car are fixed now, it wasn't only the bulbs so it took us 2 months to get the right broken part delivered and fix it! Typical under the tropics, we always have to fight to get the right parts and get everything fixed when needed ;-) but we are stubborn so we eventually get it right!

It is true that restaurant food can be expensive but you will certainly deserve a treat on a special dinner out with that amazing French recipes and specialties. Alix and Jacques will tell you where to go. To ease the bill, take care on the price tag of the French wines in the restaurants, certailnly tasty but their prices show they have been traveling half the planet to reach your glass! MUCH cheaper to buy them in the local supermarkets. On daytime you can find affordable restaurants along the roads though.

Concerning food, don't hesitate to stop along the road to buy fruits and vegetables (and yummy fish) from the locals. They will warmly welcome you and sell excellent and cheap products from their gardens. They are often not fluent in English but their kindness and their smiles are totally genuine.

So... alors, Bon voyage !
Helpful votes: 2/2