Paw Paw cottage rental - Location of cottage on the peninsula
Location of cottage on the peninsula
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Paw Paw Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps 4

Spotlessly clean cottage is located on 4 acres with 1,200 ft. of shoreline at the end of a peninsula on beautiful, quiet Ackley Lake in the town of Paw Paw. Part of a 3 cabin small resort, able to accommodate up to 13 people in 3 cabins. Cottage has two bedrooms & one bathroom. Nice mix of sun and shade. Cottage comes with complete kitchen, bed & bath linens, TV/DVD, fire ring, outdoor seating, docks, canoe & rowboat, life jackets. We are far from a busy road - with a half mile long drive through the woods to get back to our quiet location. Take a stroll around our beautiful grounds with small pond, waterfall and gardens. Take advantage of our golf package at beautiful Lake Cora Golf course. Ask about our other cottages(see our other advertised cottage on Homeaway or visit hiddenpeninsula.com on the web

Golf Package: Golf packages are available with cottage rental. Each registered guest will receive one half off their greens fees at Lake Cora Hills Golf Course for each night booked.

A Unique Location!!: Travel down a private road for one half of a mile through the woods to reach our unique location. A one mile walk to town (or a 3-mile drive). If you are looking for more of an adventure than our quiet Ackley Lake, canoe or take our rowboat through the tunnel under M-40 to boat/fish in Maple Lake, an approximately 200 acre lake. Travel down Maple Lake approximately one mile to reach the docks at the historic LaCantina Restaurant or moor at the town docks in Paw Paw and walk to the Sugar Bear for ice cream. Stop and rest half way at Maple Lake Town Park, located on an island in Maple Lake. Visit the dam on Maple Lake and fish for salmon in the fall - it's as far as the salmon can go swimming from Lake Michigan!

Fall Color Drives: Take a drive through the beautiful country, enjoying the hills, vineyards and spectacular fall colors. Drive slowly through the vineyards in the fall and smell the grapes - a sensation you'll never forget!! Make sure you allow some time for apple picking and a visit to Verhage's donut and cider mill.

More Details
Hide Details

We retired about eleven years ago. We never intended to be in another business but here we are and loving it. Funny how an untended life path can change and evolve....

Connie Sons, Hidden Peninsula Cottages, LLC purchased this cottage in 2001

For the past 25+ years before we retired, we had owned a small cottage in Michigan. Because we were entrenched in lives in another state with jobs and children, we only were able to escape to Michigan every weekend as long as weather would allow. When we retired, we decided to sell our small cottage and look for something larger. We found a magnificent piece of property with a not-so-large house - but it had three cottages. We decided to take the leap and buy it. We gutted and remodeled one of the cottages so our children would have a place to stay when they visited. Two of our children ended up moving to Paw Paw and the other moved to Washington. We decided to try renting the cottage. It was such a success and we had so many requests to rehab another one that we did. Even more requests to redo a third prompted us to tear down one of the smaller cottages and rebuild it, larger, in another place on the property. Now, with more and more families and groups of friends coming and requesting yet another unit, we purchased one more piece of property allowing us to have a fourth unit and the entire end of the peninsula. It is a wonderful place and we just love the people we meet.

The unique characteristics of our property are the fact that we encompass the entire end of the peninsula on Ackley Lake. That means no other traffic, a safe, quiet location for your vacation. Plenty of shoreline to fish or roam around on. A small tract of woods with a little walking path. Only about a mile walk to the town of Paw Paw.

After saving money for about five years after we were married, we headed up to Michigan to a cabin we had rented. When we arrived with 3 children under 5, we found our cabin to be a disaster, a place I would not take our children into. We went to a phone booth and called around and found the world's smallest cabin and had a very memorable vacation. My disastrous vacation was to YOUR benefit. When we opened our cabin business, I vowed that nobody would ever have the surprise we had on that first vacation. Our cabins are clean, comfortable and in a wonderful location. Come and see for yourself! We'll leave the light on for you.

10 Reviews of Property 189798 in Paw Paw, Michigan

Spotless cottage on 4 acres-1,200 ft of lakeshore on the end of a peninsula
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Spotless cottage on 4 acres-1,200 ft of lakeshore on the end of a peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189798
+1 269 657-2655
Paw Paw Southwest Michigan
Findlay, Ohio
5

Fantastic Time - Every Time at Hidden Peninsula !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
We have been coming up here (from northwest Ohio) for years now and have NEVER regretted it or been disappointed. Connie and Dave have done the very best job in providing a "getaway" for just about anyone's desires. It's all there - fishing, canoeing, boating, nature walks, bird-watching, and just plain relaxing by the campfire at night.
Ohhhhh - we miss it already and we just left there yesterday. We'll be back in the Spring - - - -

Rick & Barb
Findlay, Ohio
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Spotless cottage on 4 acres-1,200 ft of lakeshore on the end of a peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189798
+1 269 657-2655
Paw Paw Southwest Michigan
California
5

Amazing!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Typically I do not write reviews however I was nervous to rent using homeaway since I had never done it before and the comments really helped me make a decision. So here goes...My husband and I were in town for a friends wedding and decided to stay on the lake instead of a hotel. We made the right decision! Perfect location, great cabin and adorable town! We bought some local wine (after wine tasting right down the street) and sat by the water to enjoy it...You will not be disappointed if you stay here. Thank you Connie for the great mini vacation! Matt & Jaime
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Spotless cottage on 4 acres-1,200 ft of lakeshore on the end of a peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189798
+1 269 657-2655
Paw Paw Southwest Michigan
Warren, MI
5

Perfect Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Cabin beautifully crafted and charmingly decorated. Great view from inside and out. Quiet and peaceful. Hosts are warm and welcoming. Lots of birds to enjoy. Gorgeous swans. Morning coffee and midnight bonfires by the water. Small town close and has it's own charm. But you'll want to get back to the cabin. It's clean, clean, clean! Fabulous.

Bring the bug spray! Enjoy the fish jumping and the huge birds landing softly in the lake. You'll want to tell everyone and also tell no one. It's that kind of gem.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spotless cottage on 4 acres-1,200 ft of lakeshore on the end of a peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189798
+1 269 657-2655
Paw Paw Southwest Michigan
detroit mi
5

This picture doesn't do this cabin justice!

This picture doesn't do this cabin justice!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This place was the perfect get away. Quiet, and very peaceful. Watched nature go by. The cabin is much better then this picture gives it credit. It's an awsome little place. Perfect in every way. Very comfortable and all done in knotty pine. Amazing! The free canoe was fun to take out on this perfect little lake. Connie and Dave were very nice, and helpful in every way. We've already booked for next year. They have 4 very beautiful cabins, all with a wonderful view and all with all the privacy you'd like. The other cabins are bigger than the little brown one. Loved that each cabin had it's own fire pit. Very clean and well kept. All the cabins look new inside, and the outside is well kept. Just loved it, I didn't want to leave, and keep thinking about the beauty this place holds. Thank you Connie and Dave for sharing your little piece of heaven! :)))
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spotless cottage on 4 acres-1,200 ft of lakeshore on the end of a peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189798
+1 269 657-2655
Paw Paw Southwest Michigan
Chicago
5

Just what we needed!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My better half and I (both in our mid 20's) came to stay for 2 nights to get away from the city at the end of August, and weren't sure what to expect, having never rented online before - It was everything we needed and more!

When we first arrived we weren't sure if we had the place right - you have to drive down a winding dirt road to get to the peninsula, but that made it feel all the more secluded. We were greeted by the gracious Connie who showed us the cottage and then slipped off to let us enjoy it on our own. There are a couple other cottages next door, and ironically we found out our neighbors lived nearby us in Chicago! The cottage was small and beautiful, the water's right outside your door, and one day there were swans floating by. We lit a fire in the firepit both nights and sat around drinking wine from the local winery (visit St Julians!) and during the day we went canoeing around the lake. Such a peaceful area, we would have moved there if we could! :)

A few things to remember if youre visiting - Im not a lake swimmer but I saw some people go in - bring water shoes as the bottom feels like mud...bring bug spray, and if you're a coffee drinker there is a pot in the cabin, but no sugar, which I didnt even think to bring...The cabin has pots pans, a waffle iron, coffee maker, dishes, and a microwave.

The moment you get out of your car you feel as though you were meant to be there, that you were put there to relax and get some fresh air in you. We had to tear ourselves away - hope you enjoy it as much as we did, and to Connie - thanks, we hope to be back soon! :)
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Spotless cottage on 4 acres-1,200 ft of lakeshore on the end of a peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189798
+1 269 657-2655
Paw Paw Southwest Michigan
WV
5

Great Relaxing Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We rented Cottage #1 for a week in June. The cottages are secluded enough to be relaxing, but close enough to local activities to keep everyone entertained. We enjoyed bike rides through Paw Paw and along the Kal-Haven trail, canoeing on the lake, roasting hotdogs on the fire pit, and Root-beer floats from Red's Root-beer (a relatively new drive-up) in Paw-Paw. The cottages are very clean and cozy. Connie and Dave were accommodating and helpful throughout our stay. It was a pleasure visiting Michigan for the first time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spotless cottage on 4 acres-1,200 ft of lakeshore on the end of a peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189798
+1 269 657-2655
Paw Paw Southwest Michigan
Portland
5

unbelievable vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
We have stayed in all of the cottages on this exquisite property and will continue to come back for years to come. The owners have thought of every detail. We loved the pristine cleanliness of each cabin, the canoes, boats, peaceful privacy, stunning gardens and trail... A cute town with wineries, restaurants, ice cream shops, quaint shops. Next year we'll come back in the early spring for the fishing as we did last year and I am trying to get the girls together for a girls week next fall for the color and wine! We would recommend Dave and Connie's cottages very highly.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 18/18
business
Spotless cottage on 4 acres-1,200 ft of lakeshore on the end of a peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189798
+1 269 657-2655
Paw Paw Southwest Michigan
Huntsville, Alabama
5

Excellent Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
Always a great time! Enjoy it so much, we've gone back three years in a row. It's a perfect spot on a beautiful little lake. Hosts are tremendous! Cabins are very nicely decorated! An excellent lake for canoeing, fishing, & swimming. Nice lawn by the lakeside; beautiful views! Quaint town of Paw Paw has a park on an island, great little ice cream shop, plenty of restaurants, plus a couple wineries. Easy drive to Holland, MI, which we enjoyed as well. All in all, Hidden Peninsula is a hidden gem!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 15/15
business
Spotless cottage on 4 acres-1,200 ft of lakeshore on the end of a peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189798
+1 269 657-2655
Paw Paw Southwest Michigan
Macomb
5

cottage #4

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
Great time. beautiful cottage in a beautiful location. Fishing, swimming, canoeing etc. We stayed in cottage number 4. great hosts and decent price. I definately recommend it.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 16/16
business
Spotless cottage on 4 acres-1,200 ft of lakeshore on the end of a peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189798
+1 269 657-2655
Paw Paw Southwest Michigan
Mulberry, Indiana
5

perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
The cottage was great, beautiful location, fabulous hosts, and very reasonably priced. We don't fish, but it would be a great place if you do. The lake is calm, and shallow in front of cabins, so it would be good for young children too.
Would definitely recommend to family and friends, and will hopefully return soon ourselves.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 16/16