Herrington Lake house rental - View from the back porch
View from the back porch
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Herrington Lake House Rental Photos and Description
5 Bedrooms, 3 Full Bathrooms, Sleeps 12+ people!!!! Full walkout Basement

This great lakefront home has the best lake access on Herrington Lake. The property is located on the north part of the lake near the damn/power plant. This ranch home has 5 bedrooms with a full finished basement. The basement has a pool table, darts, big screen TV, and a view of the lake. This house is located right across the street from the 18 hole Peninsula Golf Course. Use your private golf cart to drive to the course. The property also has a private dock to leave your boat in the water while you stay. Wake up in the morning and be in the boat in minutes. Children have their own lake playhouse. This property is great for golf trips, family gatherings, vacation, or just to get away.

Central Kentucky Lake Herrington: Herrington Lake was created in the 1920's when a dam was constructed across the Dix River three miles upstream from its confluence with the Kentucky River. The purpose of the dam was to establish a reservoir which would provide the water to operate a hydroelectric generating station. The dam also provided the State of Kentucky with the capability to partially mitigate flooding on the Kentucky River by holding back water in Herrington Lake during critical periods. Construction of Dix Dam began in the fall of 1923, impoundment of water began on March 17, 1925, and the project was completed and power generation began in October 1927.

It is worth noting that the Dix Dam was constructed by the private sector and prior to the Great Depression when many public works projects were financed and managed by the federal government throughout the United States. Consequently, Kentucky Utilities owns the land beneath Herrington Lake (up to the maximum possible lake level of 760 ft. above sea

Property would be great for large families or family reunions since it is located next door to property #244461. Together both houses could accomodate 20-25 people.

Property is located across the lake from the power plant and dam. Owner is not responsible for lake level and condition of the lake. Please visit HLCL.org for more information regarding the lake and its surroundings

More Details
Hide Details

16 Reviews of Property 189757 in Herrington Lake, Kentucky

Lake in the backyard. Golf Course in the front yard!!!!!!
average rating of 4.375 based on 16 reviews
business
Lake in the backyard. Golf Course in the front yard!!!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189757
+1 859 2304662
Herrington Lake Kentucky
1

Stay away

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The powerplant is 200 feet away, it is noisy and very unsightful. It is fully visible from the dock. The property had't been clearned in at least a few months - everything was extremely dusty - the bedcovers, the curtains; there were bread crumbs in the corners of the kitchen counter; when we turned on the ceiling fans dust started falling; the floor was so dirty that my socks turned black the first day after waling around in them. The worst part was the presence of many black worm-like creatures, about 2 inches long, crawling around the floor downstairs. The children refused to sleep downstairs bacause of that so we had to figure out how 10 people can sleep in 3 bedrooms for 3 nights because nobody wanted to sleep in the two bedrooms downstairs. It was not a vacation and nobody was well-rested. Stay away from this highly unpleasant experience.
Owner's Response: Never heard from these guests about any issues the entire time they were there. There was even a tip left for our housekeeper the day they check out. Why would you leave a tip if you weren't happy with a place??? Doesn't make much sense. Also the house was just inspected by the health department for its annual review and received 100%. We have had long term guests staying there since mid November and have been in constant contact with them and there has been no problems with the power plant or cleanliness of the house. The are returning in Dec for another two week stay. Not sure why these past guests didn't have a pleasant stay but shouldn't blame it on the house or at least get some facts straight before leaving a bad review or stay in a 4 star hotel instead of a house in the woods on a lake if they are afraid they may see a bug.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lake in the backyard. Golf Course in the front yard!!!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189757
+1 859 2304662
Herrington Lake Kentucky
4

Ladies weekend

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Seven women from our family took a women's weekend and staying in this lake house. It is a nice house and sets right on the Herrington Lake. The beds were comfortable and the house was very roomy. We had a wonderful time. The microwave went out on us but the owner brought us another one the next day. They were very accomadating. Cleaning crew could do a little better but for the most part every thing was nice.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Lake in the backyard. Golf Course in the front yard!!!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189757
+1 859 2304662
Herrington Lake Kentucky
5

Multi Family Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our family had a WONDERFUL time at this location. We have rented other homes prior and this stay has made us a believer again in house rentals! The pictures are accurate and there is plenty of room for each family to retreat and also accomidates the whole group in other areas. The owner is extremely nice and was easy to get in touch with for minor problems we had during the stay. (FYI, the fridge does not get very cold at first but you fill it and it improves and she got us a working coffee pot ASAP!)

We had kids as young as 2 on the deck and the dock and it was not an issue. We also rented a boat at a local marina and it was very reasonable. The rocks were a little tricky to figure out at first but they were not an issue to get to the lake. We were glad it was not a steep stairway like many others on the lake.

We plan on returning next year! Thanks for the wonderful stay!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lake in the backyard. Golf Course in the front yard!!!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189757
+1 859 2304662
Herrington Lake Kentucky
5

Lancaster, Kentucky lake house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
my family and extended family had a great time. The house was great, plenty large for 3 families and grandma. 8 kids 1-20yrs. all had enough to do.The pictures accurately show the house. The lake is beautiful, several marinas close by to rent a boat from. the only real drawback we found was you were really in the middle of nowhere, 30 min to nearest Walmart for supplies. I did read about complaints about the power plant across from us but it didnt bother us at all. The water was clean and warm. We swam off the dock and took out a boat. All in all everyone had a really nice time. The house is stocked with basic supplies. Would definitely come again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lake in the backyard. Golf Course in the front yard!!!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189757
+1 859 2304662
Herrington Lake Kentucky
Memphis, Tennessee
5

3 Generation Family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We stayedhere for our family vacation with our children and grandchildren.
We loved having the big deck to just go down to to chill, swim or whatever and have both sun and shade. People could come and go down at their own schedules. The house was wonderful too ...Just the right size and layout so that we could be together but still have our own privacy. Everything was clean and well cared for. The kayak was fun too and a big plus.
The only thing that was requested to improve our stay was to have the fish biting better :)
The best recommendation I can give is that we just reserved the house for a return visit this summer!!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Lake in the backyard. Golf Course in the front yard!!!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189757
+1 859 2304662
Herrington Lake Kentucky
Chicago,IL
5

Wonderful property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Not a bad thing to say about this property. We stayed with a large group and it easily accomodated us! Don't worry about the reviews about swimming in this lake. Yes, it is not crystal clear - but you are in the south - and that is to be expected. We never noticed the dam or any sound from it. The area of the lake that the house is perfect for pulling kids on tubes or skis. Because of the fact that the home is at one end of the lake by the dam, it's like you have your own private bay. We didn't need to worry about boat traffic and could just have fun with the kids! We enjoyed each evening having a bonfire and smores. The kids were crazy for the golf cart as well. Wonderful neighbors...just a perfect week long experience! Looking forward to going back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 13/14
business
Lake in the backyard. Golf Course in the front yard!!!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189757
+1 859 2304662
Herrington Lake Kentucky
louisville, ky
5

Family Get Together

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
We had a wonderful time at this property this past weekend. The roads to it are country roads that wind around a bit, but actually it was pretty easy to find. We had great weather and went out on the pontoon boat everyday for swimming and touring the lake. The house is big inside with plenty of room for everyone. We had three generations staying there and everyone enjoyed it. The back deck runs the length of the house and gives alot of extra living space and it faces west so we had sunset views every night. We stocked up on groceries before we went and that was a good idea. The house had its own golf cart which we used to visit the golf course.
Neat place to visit and we are looking forward to going again as soon as we can.
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
Lake in the backyard. Golf Course in the front yard!!!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189757
+1 859 2304662
Herrington Lake Kentucky
Atlanta, GA
1

Nice house, dirty lake, ugly power plant, bad air

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
To start with the positive, the house is very nice and we had no complaints about it. The basement is great and there is lots of room. However, we felt the property and surroundings were grossly misrepresented.
First of all, the power plant is huge and ugly and it's close enough to swim to. It emits black smoke almost 24/7 and we thought the air smelled terrible and was unhealthy to breathe. There is also a constant, annoying hum. At one point, it was so loud we could not even be outside and the little kids were scared of the "thunder" while inside the house. Even the local marina employees said it sounded like a jet engine was taking off and going nowhere. It was horrible.
Also, the lake is very, very dirty and we did not feel it was safe to swim. Not once, all week, did we get in the water. There was trash everywhere along the shoreline. And by trash, I don't mean a few bottles, here and there. I mean it was covered! Millions of Styrofoam pieces everywhere, broken glass, plastic bags, oil bottles, pieces of metal, plastic bottles, juice boxes, paint brushes, etc. And more washed up every day. The area about 100 feet from the dock, where the cove ends, looked like a gross, toxic pit.
We found out later that the local conservation club has full-time employees who remove trash from the lake all of the time. So this is clearly not a once-in-a-blue-moon kind of problem, due simply to one heavy rain. Upstream, there were tires and logs and big pieces of metal and in certain parts, a lovely film covering the lake. It was gross and we don't understand how people can swim in it, much less safely pull kids on tubes or skis.
Also, the views on the website are very pretty and true. However, turn the camera slightly and you will see an enormous power tower right outside of the dining room. It is very ugly and covered in buzzards every morning. The entire area is covered with these several hundred feet high power towers. The smoking power plant and all of these power towers are visible almost the entire time while on the golf course and it's just so yuck. And again, the air smells bad and is unhealthy to breathe (in our opinion), so many of us did not even want to golf.
After our complaints, some of this is partially disclosed now. But if we had known about the plant (proximity, size, ugliness, loudness smokiness), the dirty lake and the polluted air, we would never have rented this house. It's a shame, b/c otherwise, it would have been a great place.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
Helpful votes: 25/29
business
Lake in the backyard. Golf Course in the front yard!!!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189757
+1 859 2304662
Herrington Lake Kentucky
Massachusetts/Louisville, KY
5

Family Reunion Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
Our family had a great time at this place. The weather was great! We took the boat out for fishing and swimming, hung out on the floating dock, our kids loved jumping and swimming from the dock. There wasn’t an early morning or afternoon that we were not out there. The power plant and dam across the lake from the house didn't bother us. We noticed it was there and that was about it. The amenities inside the home were wonderful, pool table, ping pong table, darts, TV’s, Kayak, row boat etc. There was always something to do. We were able to bring our dog along which was a huge convienence. All of the furnishings were top of the line. Definitely a place I would recommend and stay again. I would get everything you need at the market as stated in previous reviews it is truly away from it all. There is a Kroger in Nicholasville and a Wal-Mart supercenter 30 mins down on 27south. Overall we had a great time and everyone loved the house.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Lake in the backyard. Golf Course in the front yard!!!!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189757
+1 859 2304662
Herrington Lake Kentucky
Charlotte, NC
5

Excellent place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
My family had the best time at this place. The weather was great so we took the boat out, went skiing, tubing and just hung out on the floating dock, which our kids loved jumping and swimming from. Although it had rained several days before and some debris was on the bank, that didn't keep us from having a great time. We have stayed on many lakes and know that unfortunately things get thrown into the lake and wash on shore. It was no big deal. The yard was great for the kids to run around in and they loved swimming and tubing. There is a power plant and dam across the lake from the house so you do hear a humming noise from time to time, but we were probably making more noise than that so it really didn't bother us. And when you are in the house you don't hear it at all. Our family is already planning another trip to this same house next year. The owner told us that he just purchased the home next door, so this would be ideal for our family reunion next year. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6