Homosassa cabin rental - Serene water & wildlife Views all day long from spacious covered porch
Serene water & wildlife Views all day long from spacious covered porch
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Homosassa Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

This private two story rustic cabin has a relaxed, authentic, antique nautical flavor. The covered expansive deck is a great place to spend lazy afternoons with the cool ocean breeze. Come enjoy the sounds and sights of Manatees and Dolphin from your own back porch. This unique waterfront cabin is ideal for fishing, boating and many other sea-side activities. Enjoy multiple scenic island surroundings. Dock your own boat off the brand new dock in back yard. Short distance by boat to both open ocean or clear springs for swimming and snorkeling with the manatees. The stars speckle the skies at night with many shooting comets to be seen. All sorts of birds and gentle wildlife can be seen daily from your porch-swing or rockers as otters love to come up on the sea-wall to play. Inside the cabin the the water views can be seen on all sides even while cooking in the kitchen. There are even four crash pads for extra sleeping. Catch your own bait for fishing with our pen-fish cages off the edge of the dock. Enjoy ocean breezes while lounging in your hammock as dolphins swim by. Don't forget to visit the world renown wildlife park close by where you'll see pictures of Steve Erwin, the famous crocodile hunter, feeding the Manatees. Yes, there is also a live alligator show. Experience a unique vacation away from the clamor of city life yet close enough to Disney and Busch Gardens to have some amusement park fun. Also, beach, water park and live mermaid shows close by.

* Please note: There is a Exterior Staircase to main living area on the 2nd floor; there is an Interior SPIRAL staircase (steep & tight) that can be more difficult for seniors, larger, or handicapped visitors to navigate.

Keywords: Cabin

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 189623 in Homosassa, Florida

Nautical Cabin with Panoramic Water Views
average rating of 4.642857 based on 14 reviews
business
Nautical Cabin with Panoramic Water Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189623vb
(954) 224-3377
Homosassa Florida Central Gulf Coast
5

Warm, rustic cabin with old Florida charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Thoroghly enjoyed our experience in the Homosassa area. The rental listing does little justice for this well kept and cozy cabin. All the amenities were as good or better than expected. Clean and comfortable beds and linens. Full kitchen, front load washer and dryer, internet and flat screen TVs. This is truly a home away from home.

We experienced the local springs and attractions, all worth while. Be sure to make time to visit Crystal River and the Three Sister Springs a short ride to the north.

We will be back again soon!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Nautical Cabin with Panoramic Water Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189623vb
(954) 224-3377
Homosassa Florida Central Gulf Coast
Adrian, Michigan
4

Nautical Cabin

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Wonderful view! Very peaceful and calming!
Loved seeing the dolphins and the sea otters, not to mention the bald eagles, blue herons, egrets, ducks and lots of other shore birds.
Could have done without the 'no see ums'.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly
business
Nautical Cabin with Panoramic Water Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189623vb
(954) 224-3377
Homosassa Florida Central Gulf Coast
4

Wow What A View

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
I can't say enough about the view from this property. It's absolutely amazing! The sunsets during our entire stay were beautiful. We were so glad we woke up early to watch the sunrise our first morning, we saw dolphin swimming & jumping out of the water! The wildlife that you see daily is fantastic, we saw Bald Eagles, Dolphins, Otter, Great Blue Heron, Egrets, Ibis I could go on and on.
Like one of the other reviewers said if you are looking for hustle and bustle this is not your place. If you are looking for peace and tranquility this is your place! And that is just we were looking for and got!
The property it self was well maintained and clean, one bad thing was that the stove had only one working burner. But we told the owner and they appreciated the feedback.
If the property came with the use of a couple Kayaks or a canoe this would be a great added feature. There is a great public boat ramp very close, so that's a huge plus for anyone traveling with a boat. Unfortunately ours was having a new motor put on it!!
Big, big plus for us was the owner allows dogs, so we didn't have to leave our four legged child at home! Property is just a short drive into Old Homosassa and the hub of all the activity that goes on down there. It's also a very short distance to the nearest restaurants, Homosassa Wildlife Refuge, grocery stores etc. This cabin is not for any person who has trouble going up and down stairs. But other than that I would recommend this property to family and friends!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Nautical Cabin with Panoramic Water Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189623vb
(954) 224-3377
Homosassa Florida Central Gulf Coast
Merritt Island, FL
5

Tranquil

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This 'nautical cabin' is not for everyone, yet for 4 nights it became one of my favorite places! The ever changing view from both the lower and especially the upper deck is "Florida's nature coast". Mason Creek is the northern most boundary of Chass Park. Sunrise lights the clouds over the gulf, sunset all the sky colors over the sea grass marsh. The tidal flow covers and exposes oyster bars.
'Rush hour' was maybe 8 boats - total - over 2 hours on Sat morning. Uncrowded public ramp 2 blocks away. Pushed my kayak off the backyard seawall and explored the marsh. Boat dock solid and you can tie up - remember tide. Hose near dock to wash your gear. Explore the creeks - go slow - you will find shallow muddy bottoms and solid oyster bars! Head west to Chass sign, follow the PVC markers and it's an 8 minute run on plane to the gulf (follow a local first time and use GPS tracking). Scollop grounds 3-4 miles offshore.
Upstairs, all the comforts of home. Kitchen, laundry, bath, bedroom and small living area. Nautical decor. Downstairs 2 bunk beds, TV & bath. (Guests complained the AC did not cool downstairs well)
Covered parking for 2 boat trailers or trailer & one vehicle. .
If your desire is noise, music, bars, ramp follies and crowds - this is NOT your place. 2 miles away is McCreas and The Resort. We wanted the tranquility and quiet of the West Coast - water to explore, grassflats to pole and fish and a quiet and peaceful home. This is all that and more.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Nautical Cabin with Panoramic Water Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189623vb
(954) 224-3377
Homosassa Florida Central Gulf Coast
5

Loved it here!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
What a great place to relax and unwind! We loved all the birds and animals. Owner was very prompt answering any questions we had. Cell service is not great. We liked the wireless internet. Loved the laid back atmosphere of the area. We hope to stay here again in the near future! Norm
business
Nautical Cabin with Panoramic Water Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189623vb
(954) 224-3377
Homosassa Florida Central Gulf Coast
5

Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Very accommodating property owners, nice location with relaxing view. Boat dock and access to Gulf for fishing a big plus. We plan on returning
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Nautical Cabin with Panoramic Water Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189623vb
(954) 224-3377
Homosassa Florida Central Gulf Coast
New Hampshire, US
2

Not Worth the Money

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I can’t recommend this property to other vacationers looking for quality accommodation in the Homosassa area. The house itself has not had maintenance done on it in quite some time. For example, there are sliding doors to the porch that do not work; and another set of sliding doors have the lock broken, so you can only lock it from inside. The grill was filthy, greasy and the gas ran out after one use. The exterior view driving into the driveway shows a wall of mold or mildew all over the shingles. The upstairs bathroom has a large area where water has lifted the paint etc, behind the toilet. The fridge and cupboard had half eaten food in it upon arrival. From time to time, we found palmetto bug on the floor in the morning. The downstairs bathroom toilet backed up and started coming through the shower drain (fixed in one day with very good plumber). The upstairs rug in the bedroom was filthy (replaced, reluctantly by owner, another day to fix). The only couch in the place was completely stove in and not really usable. Only heat on first floor is a small portable oil radiator, and it got very cold some nights here in March. One of the electric outlets nearly fried my computer, another noted by the owner as unusable. . Upon arrival , we had to clean the entire place. I could go on but the point is made. It takes some mental agility to get over what you find here vs what is advertised. This place needs some significant maintainance. I’ve got a vacation property of my own, up in the lakes region of NH, had it for 35 years now, so have experience with maintaining this type property. On the plus side, the view is outstanding, and the wildlife is abundant. The house is a 3 mile ride down a windy road to get to, from the main street in old Homosassa, so no walking to a store or downtown is really feasible.
All in all, this could be a nice place, right now it isn’t, from my opinion.
Owner's Response: Good feedback from my tenant . . . I have proceeded with extensive maintenance to get the house in excellent condition:
*New Impact Sliding Glass Doors & window
*New Grill
*Power washed the exterior
*Repaired walls in the bathroom
*Replaced floors upstairs
*Replaced furniture with brand new pullout couch and chair
*New maid service and bug service employed
The property is now better than when I first bought it, and ready for visitors to be amazed by the wildlife right off the porch and beautiful sunrises and sunsets!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Nautical Cabin with Panoramic Water Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189623vb
(954) 224-3377
Homosassa Florida Central Gulf Coast
Clermont, FL
5

Summer Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We are from Central FL and love the Homosassa area. Being so close we wanted a getaway for a few weeks. We found it and at a great rate. We had the house for 2 weeks. It was clean when we arrived and had all things needed for a long stay. They allowed pets so we did not have to pay for boarding and that was a huge plus with us. Loved the view and the quietness of the area. Will definitely consider it again.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Nautical Cabin with Panoramic Water Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189623vb
(954) 224-3377
Homosassa Florida Central Gulf Coast
Texas
5

Native Floridian

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This is a fabulous spot, especially if you want to enjoy Homosassa without all the craziness of the homes on the river. The Southern facing porch overlooks a wildlife refuge that is absolutely still and quiet. This is one of the most beautiful spots I've stayed in Florida - and I'm a Native! We loved this spot and will certainly return. The owners were friendly, helpful, and very responsive. The home was clean and ready for us when we checked in. LOVED IT!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Nautical Cabin with Panoramic Water Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189623vb
(954) 224-3377
Homosassa Florida Central Gulf Coast
Wildwood, NJ
5

Relaxing, Quiet Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Property is just as described. Fantastic views. Nice and quiet for a relaxing vacation. Lots of wildlife viewed right from the deck. Recommend: Bring your Kayak, The Freezer for fantastic seafood in a laid back setting, Shelly's for take home fresh seafood, Hiking on nearby nature trails.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway