Amherst cottage rental - Abigail's Cottage front view
Abigail's Cottage front view
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Amherst Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 full bath, sleeps maximum of eight

Relax in our charming cottage while resting your eyes on peaceful Lake Arcadia. Slip into your suits & jump in across the street or walk 5mins to bask on the town beach. Take in the sun & fresh air as you picnic under tall pine & oak trees. Get away from it all as you lounge in our three sided screened in porch.

Picturesque Lake Arcadia is perfect for swimming, canoeing & kayaking. For serious boating & fishing, nearby Lake Metacomet (5 minute drive) has a public boat launch.

Our fully furnished cottage was built in1950 complete with knotty pine & fancy scrolled wood trim. There are three levels overlooking the lake: the main floor has an open living/dining area & a fully equipped kitchen. Sleep upstairs in a comfy queen bed or downstairs in a plush king bed.

Take a stroll on our beautiful New England town common circled by old churches & fine eateries. Explore the Five College Area's numerous amenities or the nearby Quabbin Reservoir, a one hundred acre wilderness park.

18 Reviews of Property 189587 in Amherst, Massachusetts

Charming Lakeside Gingerbread Cottage in 5 College Area - Sleeps 6-8
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 18 reviews
business
Charming Lakeside Gingerbread Cottage in 5 College Area - Sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189587
+1 9783556582
Amherst Central Massachusetts
5

Lovely cottage, gracious owners, perfect location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Abigail's Cottage and its helpful owners made our Thanksgiving celebration a delight. We chose the cottage mostly because we were hosting dinner with an elderly relative who lives in Northampton. Driving to Massachusetts from our home in New York City, we ran into heavy holiday traffic and a fierce nor'easter, so we didn't get to Belchertown until late at night. The owners and their housekeeper kindly accommodated our late arrival -- even calling the next day to make sure we were OK. Not only were we fine, but we'd already taken advantage of the cottage's ideal location: not too far down the road, the Route Diner 9 is open 24/7 for anyone who needs a midnight meal.

In fact, the cottage's location is a major plus all around. The setting is beautifully tranquil and rustic, with sights of the jewel-like lake filling the front windows, and trees surrounding the house. Federal Street offers a quiet country road for a morning jog or walk into Belchertown. But a short drive west on Route 9 brings you quickly into Amherst and, a few minutes beyond that, Northampton. The range of restaurants, bookstores, cultural opportunities and shopping is unbeatable. In particular, we took advantage of the cottage's proximity to Atkins Farm to pick up everything we needed for Thanksgiving dinner.

We really enjoyed the cottage itself -- cozy without being cramped, with a well-equipped kitchen (very important for our purposes), spacious dinner table (ditto), and a luxurious collection of books and board games. We made full use of the offerings, with a family of two parents and two teenage/young adult children enjoying a series of games while shut in by bad weather. Notably, the cottage's three-floor arrangement means that the bedrooms are separated from one another and quite private -- an unusual and attractive feature in a small cottage.

We'll be back. We know the area well (my wife is from Amherst originally), we have family here, we visit often. We can't think of a better choice to stay in while visiting than Abigail's Cottage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Lakeside Gingerbread Cottage in 5 College Area - Sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189587
+1 9783556582
Amherst Central Massachusetts
Bath, England
5

Cozy cottage by the lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We were visiting the area for the first time from England to see our daughter who is at Umass. The cottage was in a good location with easy access to Amherst and is in a pretty spot just by the lake. Our daughter stayed with us a few nights and loved it. The cottage is cute, well equipped and the lounge and upstairs bedroom are cozy and homely. Downstairs is a bit more basic but has a great king size bed. Dot and Rebecca were very welcoming and genuinely keen to make sure we had everything we needed and enjoyed our stay. We would definitely recommend Abigail's cottage for a stay in the Amherst area.
business
Charming Lakeside Gingerbread Cottage in 5 College Area - Sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189587
+1 9783556582
Amherst Central Massachusetts
Gardiner, Maine
5

Family Gathering

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I had the relaxing experience of spending two nights with seven Mothers and daughters at the Gingerbread Cottage. What a cozy, well maintained , welcoming cottage. The table allowed all of us to be seated comfortably so mealtime was a social event. The location was a real plus, a short drive to downtown Amherst or Northampton. Amherst has a large farmers market on Saturday mornings and there are many restaurants in the area. We enjoyed the Irish Pub in Northampton and the Amherst Brewery. There are also many interesting shops in the area. An added plus at the cabin was the quality of the kitchen cookware and the towels and bed linens.(fluffy bath towels and soft sheets!) There were games and puzzles available if we chose to use them and we found the notebook for guests provided lots of extra information about the cabin and the area. This is a wonderful place to spend time and I would highly recommend it to families looking for a place to host a small family gathering,
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Lakeside Gingerbread Cottage in 5 College Area - Sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189587
+1 9783556582
Amherst Central Massachusetts
5

Wonderful, Peaceful Cottage Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed at Abigail’s Cottage for a week in July, 2013. The cottage was very comfortable and had many amenities that made our stay enjoyable. There was a great kitchen and the cottage was equipped with a BBQ, board games, books and a DVD player. Wireless internet access was provided, a plus for us! The lakeside beach is just a few minutes away and is a nice place to bring families to for a swim in the lake. Dot was very friendly and helpful, providing us with all the information we wanted. She was flexible in the timing of our arrival and in resolving a mishap that occurred due to an accidental spill of sunblock. Great place for a peaceful vacation!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Lakeside Gingerbread Cottage in 5 College Area - Sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189587
+1 9783556582
Amherst Central Massachusetts
Chicago
5

Big Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Abigail's Cottage provided a comfortable and stress-free setting for our family holiday. Plenty of room for our group of 7 . . . including sleeping arrangements. Meals were a joy . . . with a well stocked kitchen a table that could easily have accommodated a larger group.

The place was exceptionally clean and well maintained. Snow was cleared from the drive & parking area. The neighborhood is a pleasant place to walk or run. Plenty of shopping & restaurants within a 5 or 10 minute drive.

Rebecca & Dot are great hosts. We're looking forward to our next stay when we return to this area.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming Lakeside Gingerbread Cottage in 5 College Area - Sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189587
+1 9783556582
Amherst Central Massachusetts
5

Wonderful vacation cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was the second time that my grandchildren and I spent two wonderful weeks together at Abigail's Cottage. The cottage provided everything we could possibly need for our time there, including a well-equiped kitchen, lots of games, TV and DVD player, and lots of room to spread out. In addition, it is close to a lovely lake with a sandy beach that is perfect for young children. It's also just a few minutes drive to Amherst, with its interesting shops, restaurants, and historical and cultural sites. I highly recommend it for a peaceful and relaxing vacation!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming Lakeside Gingerbread Cottage in 5 College Area - Sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189587
+1 9783556582
Amherst Central Massachusetts
Massachusetts, USA
4

Great location - very comfortable!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We really enjoyed our stay at this property. The location was nice - close to Amherst and to several stores but was nestled in a quiet spot near the water. Dot was extremely helpful, very friendly and welcoming. The house was well maintained and was fully equipped. We would stay again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Lakeside Gingerbread Cottage in 5 College Area - Sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189587
+1 9783556582
Amherst Central Massachusetts
Alaska
5

Wonderful place to live

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We had an extended stay (Sept-Nov) at Abigail's cabin and found it excellent in all aspects. The amenities and accommodations were more than sufficient and the location to the area was outstanding. Dot and Rebecca were always available for questions there was plenty of information about the area. I would highly recommend a stay at this wonderful home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Charming Lakeside Gingerbread Cottage in 5 College Area - Sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189587
+1 9783556582
Amherst Central Massachusetts
Alaska
5

All the comforts of home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
We stayed at this charming cottage this summer. We thoroughly enjoyed the amenities, the board games, the books, the videos, the lake, the bbq grill, it truly was a home away from home and we would most certainly stay here again! The owners made sure we had everything we needed and were available on-call and even offered to set up the air conditioning unit for us. Charming interior, lovely setting.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Charming Lakeside Gingerbread Cottage in 5 College Area - Sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189587
+1 9783556582
Amherst Central Massachusetts
Brooklyn, NY
5

A Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
We spent ten days at Dot and Rebecca's cottage in 2009 while visiting family in the Amherst area and had a wonderful time. We and our 2 young children were very comfortable and the cabin is very cozy with way more amenities than you might think could be fit into the modest but ample space (e.g. writing desk with internet cable tucked behind the dining table). By the end of our stay, we were so at home that we threw a big dinner party for friends and family who live in the area. Though we did not see Dot and Rebecca in person, they were available to us by phone and email for the few questions we had while settling in and were totally professional in all correspondence and transactions. The cottage is well represented in the photographs and descriptions on the website and exceeded our expectations with its exemplary cleanliness. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 9/10