Columbus apartment rental - View of guest house and gardens
View of guest house and gardens
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Columbus Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 full bath, elegant great room w/daybed, full kitchen, sleeps 2-4.

Located in Victorian Village on historic Neil Ave. just minutes from downtown Columbus & a 15 minute drive from Port Columbus International Airport (CMH). Built in 2005, the Guest House is a dramatic loft suite in the carriage house adjacent to an 1895 Queen Anne home. The Guest House provides convenient access to the fabulous Short North arts district, The Ohio State University, Goodale Park & the Arena District from the heart of one of Columbus' most historic neighborhoods. It is within walking distance to highly acclaimed restaurants & night clubs, numerous art galleries, specialty boutiques & antique stores. Ohio Stadium, Huntington Ball Park & Nationwide Arena are all within one mile of the Guest House. Less than two miles from downtown, the Guest House also provides convenient access to Columbus' cultural & performing arts facilities such as the Ohio, Palace, Capitol & Southern Theaters, COSI, the Columbus Museum of Art & the Wexner Center for the Visual & Performing Arts.

A Note About Our Loft Style Architecture: Victorian Village Guest House features dramatic, open loft-style architecture. Please be advised that the bedroom has open walls and no doors - it is open to the great room and kitchen areas. The guest suite is at the top of a flight and a half of stairs. We regret that it is not handicap accessible, nor is it suitable for young children and toddlers. If you have an infant that is not yet crawling or you have school aged children, it may be suitable for your family.

More Details
Hide Details

After more than 25 years in the banking industry, I felt increasingly dissatisfied with my career and professional life. I began working with a life coach who helped me explore possible career changes. As an outcome of the coaching sessions, I decided to start a guest house business. The idea was one I had always been drawn to and because of the nature of the business, I could maintain my banking job while getting the new business off the ground. In April 2008, I formed Victorian Village Guest House, LLC and hosted my first paying guests in July 2008. In March 2009, I left the banking industry and never looked back! Now celebrating its fifth anniversary, Victorian Village Guest House continues to provide me with a satisfying and rewarding career and it continues to delight travelers, too!

For me, this has been a wonderful journey from corporate America to 'Main Street,' from banking Vice President to small business owner. And hopefully my enthusiasm shows in the 'product' we are offering at Victorian Village Guest House - attention to detail, care for our guests' every need, luxury combined with the comfort of home and a surprising oasis in the middle of this urban neighborhood. We now have the honor of welcoming many repeat guests as well as 'first-timers' so we must be doing something right!

Lisa Morton purchased this apartment in 2004

Beautifully restored historic homes, a walkable urban neighborhood and a quiet, private location are what make Victorian Village Guest House a first class destination in Columbus! Our proximity and easy access to the fabulous Short North Arts District and all major sporting and cultural arts venues will insure an enjoyable visit to the city. Or if you prefer a secluded, retreat where you can relax and recharge, the guest house will not disappoint! Fine dining, one-of-a-kind boutiques, art galleries, night life, concerts and sporting events and The Ohio State University are all within walking distance of this premier location.

Victorian Village Guest House has all the benefits of a bed and breakfast and none of the downsides! As the only guests on the property, you will enjoy a luxurious, private apartment suite in a historic carriage house separate from the owner's home. The guest house's kitchen, great room, private bath and bedroom create an experience that has all the amenities of a great hotel and all the comforts of home. Guests are invited to 'live like a local' in the heart of Columbus' premier historic neighborhood. We love living in a walkable, urban neighborhood and encourage guests to enjoy the energy and diversity that only the city can offer. Whether you are visiting from out of town, are an empty nester from the suburbs who wants to try out urban living or live in the neighborhood and want to offer friends and family a unique place to stay, Victorian Village Guest House will provide guests with an exceptional travel experience!

35 Reviews of Property 189586 in Columbus, Ohio

Luxury suite in the heart of historic Victorian Village & Short North
average rating of 4.970588 based on 35 reviews
business
Luxury suite in the heart of historic Victorian Village & Short North
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189586
+1 6142942849
Columbus Ohio
Atlanta, Georgia
5

Comfortable elegance; vibrant & cool neighborhood

Comfortable elegance; vibrant & cool neighborhood
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Careful attention by the owners on this comfortably luxurious in-town property, combined with the location in an historic, vibrantly rich neighborhood makes for a perfect stay in Columbus. On the doorstep of the vast campus of The Ohio State University, and in the rich heartland of Victorian Village, this guest house is The Ritz meets reality. Elegantly owner-maintained gardens, a canopy of mature trees, and peaceful silence made the proximity to great, eclectic dining and shopping a highly satisfying juxtaposition that was worth more than the price I paid. A short, easy drive from Port Columbus airport, and nearby the downtown freeways and State Route 315, this place is the gem among the guest houses I have experienced.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: At Victorian Village Guest House, we strive to provide a relaxing and luxurious retreat in the midst of the fabulous Short North arts and entertainment district. We are delighted that our recent guest found just that!
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Luxury suite in the heart of historic Victorian Village & Short North
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189586
+1 6142942849
Columbus Ohio
5

Perfect Girls Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Such a wonderful GIRLS weekend getaway! We loved the attention to detail and were very impressed that you thought of everything. Loved the delicious welcome cookies, drinks and the linens were very fresh and comfortable. We all decided we would like to return in the summer months just to enjoy your garden, which appears to be blooming. Thanks again for having us!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway
business
Luxury suite in the heart of historic Victorian Village & Short North
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189586
+1 6142942849
Columbus Ohio
5

Elegant Lovely a True Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I've traveled worldwide and stayed at some interesting places but nothing compares to VVSN! I felt right at home! VVGH goes beyond a bed and breakfast and luxury hotel- this is a beautiful carriage house with so many lovely pleasant surprises and exceptional details! Lisa did an exquisite job of welcoming us to her place. This is a home away from home! If I should visit Columbus again this will be my first choice!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury suite in the heart of historic Victorian Village & Short North
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189586
+1 6142942849
Columbus Ohio
5

Amazing! Beautiful! Relaxing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Every inch of our stay was wonderful. The rooms were beautifully appointed, new, clean, and homey. Easy and interesting area. Perfect distance to downtown for walking. Customer service was excellent. The city of Columbus is a gem!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury suite in the heart of historic Victorian Village & Short North
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189586
+1 6142942849
Columbus Ohio
5

Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
What a wonderful retreat! Private entrance, gracious hosts who understand hospitality, not a detail overlooked (fresh half and half in the fridge, anyone?), "two cats in the yard" (four, actually), a "very, very, very fine house." Will come again! Highly recommend!
Owner's Response: We love the reviewer's reference to the classic Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young song "Our House" and are honored that the guest house evoked such feelings of comfort during their stay with us.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury suite in the heart of historic Victorian Village & Short North
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189586
+1 6142942849
Columbus Ohio
5

Wonderful stay!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had such a wonderful stay. The house was so adorable and our hosts were so friendly and inviting!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury suite in the heart of historic Victorian Village & Short North
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189586
+1 6142942849
Columbus Ohio
5

Terrific Location, All the Amenities

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We really enjoyed our stay in Columbus, in large part because of this little gem! Great location, easy access to everything in town (walking or driving), and so comfortable and beautifully appointed.
business
Luxury suite in the heart of historic Victorian Village & Short North
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189586
+1 6142942849
Columbus Ohio
5

Super

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
It was great. Thx
business
Luxury suite in the heart of historic Victorian Village & Short North
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189586
+1 6142942849
Columbus Ohio
5

Just a perfect place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband, baby, and I loved staying at the Victorian Village Guest House. We were house hunting in preparation for an unexpected relocation from Los Angeles and there could not have been a better ambassador for Columbus or Victorian Village than Lisa. She went above and beyond-- helping guide us in our search and putting us in touch with more helpful people. Basically, she made this reluctant transplant look forward to life in Columbus.
As for the space, Lisa has created a beautiful, restful spot for travelers. She has thought of every detail from magazines to reading glasses to a crystal ring holder by the bathroom sink. The space is beautifully decorated, private, bright, and clean as can be. My husband and I joked several times that we wished we could just move in!
Also, the location is perfectly central for walking around and getting to know some of Columbus's more charming neighborhoods.
business
Luxury suite in the heart of historic Victorian Village & Short North
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189586
+1 6142942849
Columbus Ohio
5

hidden gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This is a hidden gem in Victorian Village and we were impressed from the minute we walked into the gardens of the main house, which are gorgeous and well maintained. The guest house was immaculate and beautifully decorated, and although the pictures on the web site were accurate the space seemed much larger. Everything worked perfectly and there were lots of little extras that made our stay even more enjoyable. The back garden is hidden and shared with the owners and has a delightful sitting area that is very peaceful and private. A perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine after a long day exploring Columbus.

Parking is on the street, but we were able to park right in front of the house without any problem. The entire area is beautiful and I enjoyed a morning walk around looking at the architecture and other gardens. Short North, the North Market and German Village are all nearby.

Lisa was very helpful making reservations, returned all my calls promptly and is very engaging in person.
We will definitely be back.