Lake Algonquin - Wells property rental - View from the Dining Table
View from the Dining Table
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Lake Algonquin - Wells Rental Photos and Description
one bedroom, sleeps 2

This home overlooks beautiful Lake Algonquin and the scenic Adirondack Mountains beyond. Sleeps 2.

This is a great area for exploring and outdoor activities. Small town atmosphere with big time Adirondack adventures nearby. We supply specific directions to remote waterfalls, hikes, snowshoes spots, river walks, skiing and other stuff to do.

This cute little house has an open, modern, loft - like interior with beautiful views from an abundance of over sized windows, cozy fireplace.

Comes with 2 kayaks, 2 bikes in summer, 2 sets snowshoes in winter.

Great year round spot to enjoy hikes to our local waterfalls, kayak, swim or x country ski out front, bike around the lake, or take drives to the many other lakes nearby. Lots of books, DVD's and games provided. No cable though, we come here to get away from the news!

We call her 'Trailer-Licious'. She's a 1960's mobile home that has been renovated with loving care and attention. Sleeps two in comfortable double bed with nice linens. Flat screen TV, full kitchen, Weber grill, outdoor fire pit, tons windows to drink in the great lake and mountain views!

We supply all the local scoop for hikes, waterfalls, antiquing, restaurants and other activities.

There is a small road between us and the lake, easy swimming or kayaking access. No smoking or pets please.

Anderson picture windows now line the lakeside of the home, thoughtfully designed to help bring the outside in - so while sitting in either of the two sitting areas or at the dining table, you are one with the outdoors. The lake and mountain views from inside (and out!) are unobstructed and lined by pine trees, creating a feeling of privacy rarely found on property so close to the lake.

Rachel Ray Endorsement!: Trailer Liscious was featured in Rachel Rays Magazine as one of her recommended romantic, cheap getaways in her Valentines Day edition! She featured one in CA, one in VA, and our little piece of heaven here in Wells, NY!

Local Activities: The southern Adirondacks is stunningly beautiful, mountain hikes, waterfalls and lakes abound. We will share all the local remote spots that we so enjoy visiting, most of which you would never find without local assistance! Good chance you will be the only ones even at the prettiest waterfalls, this is not a busy part of the country.

We supply kayaks for exploring the lake and bikes for exploring the town. Great fishing on Lake Algonquin. We supply a list of antique shops in surrounding towns, recommended local restaurants and hikes. Nearby there is golf, horseback riding and whitewater rafting. Skiing in winter is terrific - both x country and downhill.

Couch potatoes will also be very happy here - you can sit inside and experience the outside without ever leaving your chair.

More Details
Hide Details

Maura has been coming to Lake Algonquin her entire life, and knew as a small child she would have her own home here. Now she and her husband David own two houses in addition to the family camp. We enjoy all the year round outdoor fun - we ski, swim, kayak, paddle board, snowmobile, hike, antique, bbq and sometimes do absolutely nothing.

We use both, we rent both. It's been a great experience sharing what we love so much with others.

Maura purchased this in 2006

The Trailer Liscious Experience: This trailer was purchased for the location - one of the best views on this very picturesque and quaint lake.

The original plan was to use it for a few years for extra sleeping room, then tear it down and build a house. However, after staying here a couple of seasons and putting a little (OK a Lot!) of elbow grease into brightening her up, we recognized the efficiency and practicality of keeping the trailer. It is solid as a rock, local craftsmen have enhanced her with an abundance of picture windows to capture the view, we now have a fireplace, efficient heat and winter plumbing. She's clean, modern, warm and here to stay! We love her and so do our guests!

It is unique to find a cozy, clean, comfy and yet affordable get away home for just two people.

The views are fabulous. This is a small town on a beautiful lake that never gets very crowded, that is hard to find these days.

In winter deer and wild turkeys surround the house (our neighbors feed them).

23 Reviews of Property 189448 in Lake Algonquin - Wells, New York

Romantic Lakeside For Two - Kayaks, Bikes, Fireplace
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 23 reviews
business
Romantic Lakeside For Two - Kayaks, Bikes, Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189448
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

From The Guestbook: "Fill the Heart"

From The Guestbook: "Fill the Heart"
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had such a wonderful time relaxing and slowing down from big city living. We rested, walked and enjoyed the BBQ. Hours on the couch drinking in the lake view and letting time slowly pass. A place to fill the heart and empty the mind.

Thank you for a wonderful experience.
business
Romantic Lakeside For Two - Kayaks, Bikes, Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189448
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

From The Guestbook: "Magical Honeymoon"

From The Guestbook: "Magical Honeymoon"
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
As I sit here writing at the table on a sunny morning, a low mist is rising from the surface of the lake. We have had the most magical honeymoon here at Lake Algonquin.

We did much less than we though we would, favoring naps, reading and eating over the rigorous stuff, but we did get some kayaking in. We also has wonderful massages with Michele Derwin (recommended) who comes to the house, and an incredible dinner at Melody Lodge. Our last night we ate at the Lake House in town, Michelle introduced us to the Irish musicians Lenny, Tom and Pam. I got to sit in with them on the fiddle, it was the most wonderful way to tie up a fantastic five days here.

We saw a bald eagle while kayaking!
business
Romantic Lakeside For Two - Kayaks, Bikes, Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189448
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

From The Guestbook: "Trailer Liscious Indeed!"

From The Guestbook: "Trailer Liscious Indeed!"
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Trailerliscious indeed! We are so grateful for the time we spent here as a getaway to celebrate our engagment. Hightlights include Auger Falls, Jimmy Creek, fishing, kayaking, biking and most of all soaking in the experience of our beautiful surroundings in front of the fire.

Thank you for all the welcoming touches especially the hammock!
business
Romantic Lakeside For Two - Kayaks, Bikes, Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189448
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

From The Guestbook: "Loved the Animals"

From The Guestbook: "Loved the Animals"
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Thank You! This was a wonderful spring break for us. It was very relaxing, we loved all the animals wandering around Trailer Liscious.

We most enjoyed Auger Falls and climbing Hadley Mountain, the views are gorgeous. Thanks again Maura and David!
business
Romantic Lakeside For Two - Kayaks, Bikes, Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189448
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

From The Guestbook: "Where to Begin?"

From The Guestbook: "Where to Begin?"
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Where to begin? The amazing scenery? The spellbinding snowy weather? The family of Deer and Turkeys that collect out front every morning? Everything was phenomenal and better than expected.

On the drive from Manhattan we were worried about what we'd find. Could the pictures and description be untrue? The answer was NO, they do no justice to the pristine beauty and magic this little trailer has. Every morning we awoke to breathtaking views and awe inspiring snow. The fireplace warmed our feet after walks through this snow kissed town and our hike to Auger Falls (highly recommended) which was truly a highlight. That scene was one we will never forget.

It was great to get out of the hustle and bustle that is our life in the city and exchange it for the soft comforts of Trailer Liscious in the heart of the Adirondack Mountains.

It is with heavy hearts that we bid adieu. This place has surely left it's mark on our being and we hope to return in warmer weather to see this place covered in lush greenery and to swim in the lake.

Best Presidents Day Week ever. Thank You.
business
Romantic Lakeside For Two - Kayaks, Bikes, Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189448
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Cozy mountain getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a lovely time at trailer-liscous. Such a gorgeous home in a beautiful location. We checked out the Lakeside Grill on Saturday; fabulous music! We also hiked up to a few waterfalls and just basked in the sunshine. What a wonderful and relaxing oasis!
business
Romantic Lakeside For Two - Kayaks, Bikes, Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189448
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

WHAT A BEAUTIFUL/PEACEFUL GETAWAY!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband and I went for a mini-vacation to this wonderful home. The pictures of the inside are just as clean and nice in real person. The bed was so comfortable!!! We have stayed at 5 star hotels before but none were as comfy as this. The place was fully loaded with anything you could need/want for your vacation plus some. The thing we loved best (that the pictures do NOT do justice) was the LAKE! wow. What views! It was a nice, quiet, and peaceful place to be. The town is quaint and the best breakfast we have ever ate was down the road in a log cabin called Mountain Memories. Praline French Toast in a skillet...YUM! We appreciated how clean everything was. Although you cant see in the pictures, there are a few houses surrounding this property, but there was definitely enough privacy. The summer weather was perfect as it was a hot day and cool night. We look forward to returning!!! Maybe we will try the winter-time however, the 2 kayaks were most def a treat (spent one whole day out on the lake/picnic in the kayaks). Lots of nearby hiking.The views are outstanding! Thanks for such an easy process and wonderful rental, Maura! Look forward to visiting again. -Collin and River
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Romantic Lakeside For Two - Kayaks, Bikes, Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189448
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Calm during during roundtrip in May

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We stayed at "trailor-liscious" for 4 days during our 2,5 week roundtrip through north-east USA to calm down and relax a bit.We travelled from Hamburg/Germany and we really enjoyed and had a nice stay and wished to stay longer.
The contact to Maura and all the "booking stuff" was excellent, no problems even not from Europe.
The house is very nice furnitured, modern and not so wood-old-fashioned.
We tried cayaking, biking and using the grill...nothing to complain.

So, if we would come again to this area, we would book it again.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Romantic Lakeside For Two - Kayaks, Bikes, Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189448
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

3 day getaway in february

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
This was our first time getting a place through HomeAway, so of course we had a lot of worries and reservations. What if the situation is uncomfortable or sketchy, what if this place doesn't really exist, etc. However, after we decided upon Trailer-licious and contacted Maura, she was so professional, prompt and informative that we went ahead with the trip and.... enjoyed it!

Highlights:
the decor and design is really clean and comfortable
the kitchen is fully equipped- we were able to make a cake, pizza, sandwiches, and even though it was freezing, took the grill outside to have steak.
we saw more deer than people
cell phones dont work
there is a book of activities, maps, menus and detailed instructions and recommendations in the kitchen
there is scrabble
good, solid collection of movies and books
clean sheets, comfortable bed and clean towels
you can control the heating
even though we didn't get to explore the outdoors as much as we wanted to, we definitely got the feeling that there are a ton of hiking trails in the area. if only we had time to check them all out and if we came at a warmer time of year
the bathroom is comfortable (its a renovated trailer in the Adirondacks... not a city hotel room)
we saw people ice fishing in the lake out the window- cool

I don't think we have any complaints. We were really fortunate to have chosen Trailer-licious and are grateful that Maura was so accommodating and helpful, even though she wasn't in the country and we contacted her at the last minute. As a home away from home, Trailer-licious is a great choice and Wells, NY (and the surrounding towns)- is definitely an interesting place to check out!
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Romantic Lakeside For Two - Kayaks, Bikes, Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189448
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Rochester, New York
5

Perfect romantic vacation spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
This was the first vacation my husband and I have gone on in the 5 years we have been together. The owners were so accommodating when it came to scheduling dates for our visit. Trailerlicious was everything the pictures show and more! We used the kayaks that were supplied our first full day there and watched the sunset out on the water. There are great small towns close to Wells to go shopping and plenty of trails to explore! It was nice to have the fireplace turned on and watching Netflix or playing Scrabble in a peaceful environment! This trip was exactly what we needed and we have already recommended Trailerlicious to our friends and family. We will hopefully stay there again next time we want a romantic vacation in the mountains!
Helpful votes: 2/3