Coeur d 'Alene house rental - The Gumprecht House - West Lake Shore Drive
The Gumprecht House - West Lake Shore Drive
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Coeur d 'Alene House Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms,1 full bathroom,1 half bathroom, 2 3/4 bathrooms, sleeps 12

Awaken to a sun-drenched bedroom view of Lake Coeur d'Alene. Sip morning coffee in one of the lake view sun rooms. Take an early, refreshing dip in the lake, have lunch at a sidewalk cafe or the incomparable Hudson's Hamburgers, and plan a day at the beach or seeing the sights. Later, walk across the park for a supper cruise or an evening of downtown dining and entertainment; then stroll home with the moonlight reflecting across the shimmering water. Fall asleep, stars shining through the skylight. The recently refurbished Gumprecht House is situated on the shore of beautiful Lake Coeur d' Alene in picturesque Northern Idaho. It offers spectacular views with comfortable and spacious family-friendly accommodations, plus close proximity to downtown shops and restaurants as well as the amenities of the famous Coeur d'Alene Resort. Enjoy water sports, lake cruises, bike trails, hiking, golf, antique shops, museums, snow skiing and nature's beauty.

History:: The Gumprecht House sits on property once part of Fort Sherman, founded in 1878 to protect settlers, one of a string of forts built in response to the 1876 Custer massacre. After the fort was disbanded, the property was auctioned off. It was then subdivided in 1905. The lot was purchased in 1906 by the Nevers family and the house built in 1907. It was the first private beachfront house, had the pick of the lots and, consequently, an unsurpassed view. For many years the house was occupied, then owned, by the Graue family who graciously allowed the Gumprechts and others to use the beach. The Gumprecht family acquired the property in 1977 and extensively remodeled in 1981. Elderly grandchildren of the original owner knocked on the door in 1982 to tour the changes and warmly approved. One of them had actually been born in the original master bedroom. They had all passed by the house on annual summer visits to Coeur d'Alene but had not been in the house since before 1920.

Bike Storage: Bikers should like our property as there is a side entrance that proceeds directly to the finished basement which is suitable for keeping their bikes. There is a bathroom, shower, and change room in the basement as well that could be useful for runners or others. The Ironman Triathlon starting point is across the street and the 24-mile Centennial trail passes directly in front of the house. And, yes, we have a large pasta pot.

Family room & game room: To provide a break from the elegant main floor spaces the back porch was enclosed years ago, creating a casual and comfortable family area just off of the kitchen and breakfast nook. It contains a digital TV with home theater system and DVDs as well as a broadband Internet connection for your laptop. See an earlier description of the game room located in the basement.

More Details
Hide Details

Dr Donald G. Gumprecht was a resident of the Fort Grounds from 1951, growing up a block away from the beach, down Military Drive in a house now known as the Doctors' Inn. He swam nearly every summer day at 'Graue's beach' and in 1977 was fortunate enough to purchase the house and beach property from the Graue family. In 1990 he relocated to Springfield, Illinois, and kept a caretaker in the house until 2005. Since that time, the house has been offered as a vacation rental for the enjoyment of a wide variety of individuals, families, and groups. Every attention has been given to making the house enjoyable for visitors of all ages and interests. Universally positive reviews have been very gratifying.

The Owner purchased this house in 1977

This house was the first private lakeshore house built in Coeur d'Alene and had the pick of the lots, enjoying the very best view, sandy beach, proximity to the downtown area and the amenities of the Coeur d'alene Resort as well as the city park with its Fort Sherman-themed playground. Read our listing for detailed information and see also the Coeur d'Alene Visitors Bureau web site. It has lots of room and is set up to accommodate all ages, especially families and groups of families.

14 Reviews of Property 185852 in Coeur d 'Alene, Idaho

Premiere Beach House, Family Friendly, West Lakeshore Drive
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
Premiere Beach House, Family Friendly, West Lakeshore Drive
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185852vb
+1 (208) 661-6364 (Idaho, USA)
Coeur d 'Alene Northern Idaho
Valleyford, Washington
5

Thanksgiving getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
We thoroughly enjoyed our Thanksgiving getaway at this elegant turn of the century tastefully restored lakeside manor. It has panoramic views down the northern reach of Couer d'Alene lake from nearly every room in the house including the two spacious glass enclosed front sitting rooms and the living room and third floor master bedroom.

It has it's own private grass and sandy beach yet is within one block of the beautifully treed city park and 3 blocks from the CDA destination resort, and downtown CDA with its excellent restaurants, individual shops, and shopping malls.

This home can be as formal or as practical as one wants. It is great for both adults who seek a quiet romantic getaway or a family with children looking for both indoor fun in the huge gameroom complete with bigscreen TV and video games and the multiple outdoor activities immediately available on the property and its private beach as well as the nearby beautiful city beach and its tree covered walkways..

We found this home clean, fully equipped and lacking nothing to make our stay trouble free and completely enjoyable. We highly recommend it for couples, groups of adults, or families. Whatever you want to get out of your North Idaho vacation experience is there for you in a truly remarkable setting.and beautiful beachfront manor.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Premiere Beach House, Family Friendly, West Lakeshore Drive
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185852vb
+1 (208) 661-6364 (Idaho, USA)
Coeur d 'Alene Northern Idaho
EWA
5

Mmmmmmm. Mmmmmmm. Mmmmmmm...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Hard to describe or articulate the experience we had here at the Gumprechts' home. They have just done a super, super job in providing a facility that simply is unmatched in Coeur d'Alene or on Lake Coeur d'Alene. The home itself has had a first class renovation with no expense spared; bathrooms and hallways are top notch, which in an old house are forever a challenge. The house is decorated and furnished and maintained in a manner that's completely uncommon in rental units. Video, audio, wifi, cooking, recreation, dining, entertaining and just plain loafing amenities abound in this house and coupled with the house itself make the experience extraordinary. And if you are immune to the cares and concerns of the world, you can sit in the front yard in the magic light of the early morning, in the shade of the hot summer day, or in the cool balmy drafts of the evening and enjoy arguably the most spectacular sight in North America: Lake Coeur d'Alene and Tubbs Hill. We will never stay anywhere in Coeur d'Alene again if we can stay here. Many, many thanks for everything. We will be back as often as we can make it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We very much appreciate the kind words. Everyone associated with this property has a special love for it. Roni, the agent, actually baby sat and did cleaning when the house was occupied by the Gumprecht family. Her parents were lataer live-in caretakers for 15 years. Her father, Jerry, was the contractor who did the renovations and, with his vast experience, always knew just the right solution for an old house. Whenever there is something that needs attending to, he is right there with the intimate knowledge of the house to deal with it. We want it to be a pleasant stay for pleasant people.
business
Premiere Beach House, Family Friendly, West Lakeshore Drive
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185852vb
+1 (208) 661-6364 (Idaho, USA)
Coeur d 'Alene Northern Idaho
Tualatin oregon
5

Perfect setting for a multigenerational family gathering

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with our family. We were in town for our niece's wedding and your home provided us with a great venue to spend time together. Whether it was enjoying coffee in sunrooms or playing cards out on the patio, our family had a fabulous time. Your well appointed home made it easy to prepare meals and relax as a family while in a beautiful location. This house had everything we needed and more. We hope to visit again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We have attempted to provide a pleasant setting for all ages and interests, so the positive responses we have experienced are quite gratifying.
business
Premiere Beach House, Family Friendly, West Lakeshore Drive
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185852vb
+1 (208) 661-6364 (Idaho, USA)
Coeur d 'Alene Northern Idaho
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

13 people, 7 days

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
13 people, 7 days and one of the best family vacations - ever. Thanks for letting us stay at your house - truly remarkable - great mornings drinking coffee on the front porch, access to everything by foot and fabulous meals - we'll be back for the great weather, house and memories next year. Martha & Tony, Patty, Jason, Michelle, Matt, Marissa, MacKenzie, Abigail, Griffin, Isaac, Axel and Demi.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Premiere Beach House, Family Friendly, West Lakeshore Drive
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185852vb
+1 (208) 661-6364 (Idaho, USA)
Coeur d 'Alene Northern Idaho
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Amazing place

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
What an amazing, beautiful place. We loved waking up to the views of the lake every morning.

It was the perfect venue for us to stay as we did our first Ironman! Hate to have to leave, hope to be back one day. For now, we have many memories. With love, Linda, Ricci, Heather, Nicki, Senal - Fort Worth. Stacy and Patti - Colorado. Peter and Vanci - Palo Alto. This was our "home base" on race day.
business
Premiere Beach House, Family Friendly, West Lakeshore Drive
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185852vb
+1 (208) 661-6364 (Idaho, USA)
Coeur d 'Alene Northern Idaho
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Pleasantly surprised

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Arrived on the 11th and were pleasantly surprised by such a beautiful house and view. Thanks for opening your home to us. We surely made a ton of memories. C&S S***h & kids

Beautiful home - lots of room, views,location is perfect. Thank you B&K S***h & Emily
business
Premiere Beach House, Family Friendly, West Lakeshore Drive
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185852vb
+1 (208) 661-6364 (Idaho, USA)
Coeur d 'Alene Northern Idaho
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

50th wedding anniversary

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
The R*****y family from Canada were pleased to celebrate a 50th wedding anniversary in this beautiful home. We had a fabulous time!
business
Premiere Beach House, Family Friendly, West Lakeshore Drive
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185852vb
+1 (208) 661-6364 (Idaho, USA)
Coeur d 'Alene Northern Idaho
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Sure Thing

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
This is our third time to stay at the Gumprecht House. Perfect for your group of sales reps. Thanks! It's a sure thing!
business
Premiere Beach House, Family Friendly, West Lakeshore Drive
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185852vb
+1 (208) 661-6364 (Idaho, USA)
Coeur d 'Alene Northern Idaho
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Wonderful place

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
What a wonderful place - we had a great time - the scenery's beautiful, the town is charming, the neighbors are great! What a wonderful place for a wedding.
business
Premiere Beach House, Family Friendly, West Lakeshore Drive
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185852vb
+1 (208) 661-6364 (Idaho, USA)
Coeur d 'Alene Northern Idaho
Orem, UT
5

Ideal Family Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We have stayed at this home for the last 2 years and are already reserved for 2011. We meet immediate family here each year and bring our kids and have a mini reunion. There are so many things that we love about this house that it is hard to name them all but here are some key things: The backyard is fenced and has a locking gate so all toddlers can play out there for hours while we eat and relax. The beach is directly across a non-busy street and the house comes equipped with all the beach toys you could want. Also, the hose and small shower outside are very nice to clean off. The formal dining room has closing doors on all sides so we are able to actually turn this into a mini computer room if any work needs to be done. There are a ton of chairs and couches and a great setting for family games at night. There is a piano which the older kids love. There is a basement kids room with Wii and all kinds of games for both genders and all ages. The floor is a cement floor so any cleaning up is very easy. There is a laundryroom equipped with laundry soap so we were able to keep up on that all week very easily. The views are amazing from many areas of the house. The house is also noise friendly so if some are up early in the morning, the upstairs is closed off so others can still sleep. The house also comes with things like garbage bags, paper towels, etc. which is nice not to have to bring. The neighbors are friendly and helpful. The city park is about 3 houses to the left and includes a walk around track and great play area and basketball courts and live bands periodically through the summer. Also, everything is walking distance pretty much in town. We store our boat the Coeur d'Alene Resort and it is about a 10 minute walk at most and we can practically see it from the house. We highly recommend this house to any type of renters. The Schmidt Family
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the kind review. We are happy to see the Schmidts back each year and take particular pleasure in being able to provide enjoyment for all ages and family combinations. Thanks again.
Helpful votes: 3/3