West Tisbury house rental - LR and fireplace, sliding doors to back deck and backyard
LR and fireplace, sliding doors to back deck and backyard
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

West Tisbury House Rental Photos and Description
3 plus bedrooms, 2 full luxury baths, 1 Half Bath, sleeps 8+

The Soul of the Vineyard in heart of West Tisbury. A Great Value in Today's Vacation Market!

Wonderful, upscale, charming, sun drenched, 1 level home, LR w FPL, CAC, luxurious master suite/new deluxe bath, Hall bth with Jacuzzi & sep Shower, PR, large charming Eat in Kitchen overlooking huge private backyard, front and rear decks for glorious outdoor living, Downstairs FR with lrg HD TV. The perfect base for biking, birding, horses, fishing, swimming.

WIFI, Fax, 4 large flat screen HD TV's, Prem TV Channels, 1st floor W & D, Weber Genesis Gas Grill,, luxury hotel amenities.

Mix of antiques & Pottery Barn furniture & linens for look and feel of casual country elegance but kid friendly.

A bargain luxury vacation at one of the worlds more glamorous hot spots. Floor plan perfect for multi-generational family or 2 families such as 2 couples and up to 4 kids.

This is also a perfect house to stage a VINEYARD WEDDING! Hold a reception under a tent in huge backyard.

Perfect MV getaway!

Go Antiqueing, Go Biking, Go Swimming: Our house is in the perfect location to use as command central. Its a 5-10 minute drive to all the towns of Edgartown, Oak Bluffs and Vineyard Haven where you can shop, antigue, go to the movies, buy ice cream and fudge. The three towns are where the many restaurant options are located. Seafood, continental, French, Italian, Thai, Chinese abound. Sushi is available at the Net Result Fish Market and Seasons in Oak Bluffs 10 minutes away is the famous Homeport Restaurant (reservations needed) in the fishing village of Menemsha.

And if you prefer to stay at home and have a wonderful family gathering, this is the place. The Weber, Genesis Grill with all the bells and whistles will provide special meals. Fresh fish caught that day can be purchased from several wonderful fish markets. And if you don't want to cook a lobster, Larsen's, and the Net Result will do this for you for an nominal extra charge per pound. Farmer's market abound with delicious home grown organic produce.

The PERFECT SUMMER, SPRING, OR FALL GETAWAY!: Martha's Vineyard is one of the most glamorous hot spots for the rich and famous and your family can experience a luxurious and relaxing vacation at a great value. For far less than a hotel, you can experience the best of what the Vineyard has to offer. Relaxation, Relaxation, Relaxation! You'll love this luxurious home that offers a cozy and comfortable feel. If you come in fall imagine sitting by the fire with family and friends.

We also recommend that you gather with your family and loved ones for a traditional New England Thanksgiving week. All the pots and pans needed for a full family turkey dinner are in the kitchen along with china and wine glasses for the celebration. The house is perfectly set up for multi-generational families with split bedrooms or 2 families.

The house is perfect for a Vineyard wedding! The big backyard easily accommodates a tent for 50-100-150. There are nearby houses and inns to accommodate your guests.

Enjoy long weekends, long holiday weekends, Thanksgiving, Christmas weeks, etc in our warm and comfy House.

If you live in the Boston area, Providence and NH areas this could be a perfect way to enjoy a home away from home more often than just for one week per year.

More Details
Hide Details

We met when we were teens on the beach at Menemsha way back in 1957. We've been together since then always returning to the Vineyard for vacations and holidays. When we had kids they too fell in love the MV. We always wanted to live here full time but earning a living got in the way as we were both in the publishing industry in New York. But finally in 2007 we decided like many of our friends who were now living here full time to do the same. Its a great place to live in retirement (well we will never retire) because there are so many interesting people who live here year round and so many fantastic events and things to do that are interesting and keep one learning new things. The arts community is big here, there are many writers, actors, artists, university professors, political and policy makers living here that makes the atmosphere very stimulating. We remain throughout the winter and really love of Off Season the most.

Kristin Zern purchased this house in 2007

We had always rented vacation homes but over the years looked at many houses to buy. But somehow we didn't take the plunge when we should have. But in 2007 it felt like it was time to do it and my husband Brook said for our wedding anniversary we will go to the Vineyard and buy a house. It was August 6th and we had only 2 days but we managed to see 36 houses in 2 days. When we saw this house we knew it was the one. Of course it was more expensive than our budget but it had the most land, was in the beautiful town of West Tisbury. It only had 2 bedrooms and 1/1/2 baths when we bought it but it had a finished lower level, real cherry cabinets in the kitchen, a huge garage with potential space above. It also had central air and had been built by a contractor who used the best materials to build his home. The house is constructed with steel beams, something you don't usually see on the Vineyard or in any house I've owned. We later added a big master bedroom and ensuite bath to the house making the house officially 3 bedrooms and 2 1/2 baths.

The location is ideal so central and equidistant to all points on the Vineyard. The floor plan of split bedrooms is conducive to privacy for adults and children. Teenagers love to hang in the family room downstairs. The front deck is a perfect place to have a morning cup of coffee and the large back deck is perfect to enjoy a leisurely dinner that you have cooked on the Weber Genesis grill. The huge backyard is a wonderful place for kids and grownups alike to hang out reading a book, playing ball or Bocce or crochet. And the 4 large flat screen TV's provide fun entertainment during the evenings.

12 Reviews of Property 189285 in West Tisbury, Massachusetts

Martha's Vineyard Marvel, Sensational, Beautiful, Luxurious, Relaxing
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Martha's Vineyard Marvel, Sensational, Beautiful, Luxurious, Relaxing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189285
+1 914 439 2047
West Tisbury Martha's Vineyard
Melrose, MA
5

Come Home to Martha's Vineyard!

Come Home to Martha's Vineyard!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a wonderful week staying in this comfortable and well-appointed house, close to our favorite beaches and bike path. It was so easy to move in with a fully stocked kitchen, lots of room to eat and relax, and lovely bedrooms. Six of us (two couples + two singles) had plenty of bedroom space. We cooked most meals at home and took advantage of the kitchen full of gourmet features. We played bocce in the large yard (brought our own bocce set) and ate out on the deck. There were just so many nice features of the house, grounds and location, but all are topped by Kristin Zern's grace and welcoming attitude. This was a super experience and we will remember it fondly for years.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Martha's Vineyard Marvel, Sensational, Beautiful, Luxurious, Relaxing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189285
+1 914 439 2047
West Tisbury Martha's Vineyard
New Jersey
5

Great Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Two families shared a great vacation week! The house had everything we could think of and the location allowed us to visit all areas from Katama to Aquinnah. The owners were so helpful and gracious. It's nice to have supplies available and not have to start from scratch to equip a house with every little item for just one week, so thank you for that :). The house was comfortable, spacious, and surrounded by outdoor decks and beautiful grounds. We will definitely return!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Martha's Vineyard Marvel, Sensational, Beautiful, Luxurious, Relaxing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189285
+1 914 439 2047
West Tisbury Martha's Vineyard
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Reason I could not post this review directly

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
I just tried to post a review on the homeaway-website, but this appears to
be possible only by creating an account with homeaway or via facebook. I
have a great reluctance ion creating such accounts so it will not be
possible to post the review. Here is what I wanted to post:

See below for Dieter's review.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Martha's Vineyard Marvel, Sensational, Beautiful, Luxurious, Relaxing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189285
+1 914 439 2047
West Tisbury Martha's Vineyard
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

All in all: this was the perfect holiday

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
When we were looking for a house for August 2011 for just one week to
celebrate our wedding anniversary with our four kids (>21 years), we found
this place. Already the email correspondence with the owners was more than a
pleasure, with Kristin Zern providing us with all kinds of valuable
information and recommendations, including the reference to a most reliable
and entertaining van transport service from Boston to Woods Hole, where we
caught the ferry.
Kristin's house is the perfect Vineyard retreat. Located on a private lane
well off the road from West Tisbury to Edgartown, it guarantees the
tranquillity you may look for, but allows you to reach virtually any place
on MV in not more than 25 minutes drive (a car is recommendable, and if you
think of renting one on MV in high season and look for a special car, make
sure you book early). The house itself is a dream. The photos on the
website, though good and realistic, only give an idea how nice it really is.
We felt at home at once.
The kitchen is fully equipped (rather like your own kitchen, not what you
usually find in a holiday house). We agree with another review that this
house probably has the two best showers on the island. There were lots of
towels available for everyone (and 4 young people between 21 and 26 can
really wreck a towel board quickly). There is a Weber grill available, which
was stacked with a new gas bottle, as well as a barbecue, which the
gardeners, who were just leaving upon our arrival, had stuffed with fresh
charcoal. Everything was perfectly clean when we arrived. The outside table
conveniently sits 6 persons, the inside table even 8. The last review of
September 2010 mentions that there was only one beach chair. We found 6 new
ones - the owners take notice of what their guests write.
We were lucky to be on the island when the Agricultural Fair took place in
West Tisbury as well as Illumination Night in Oak Bluffs. Check when those
are held and make sure not to miss them. All in all: this was the perfect
holiday.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Martha's Vineyard Marvel, Sensational, Beautiful, Luxurious, Relaxing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189285
+1 914 439 2047
West Tisbury Martha's Vineyard
Fairfield, CT
5

Location, location location!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
This house is terrific! When we arrived on Saturday, we thought we were entering a friend's house for the week. The house screams home, comfort and luxury. We couldn't ask for anything more....it did not feel like a rental property. The owners have wonderful taste, beautiful things and have also thought of every last detail. Close to everything. There was only one beach chair that was useable tough, lucky we brought our own. We ate in and ate out. Fully equipped kitchen and pantry..... Personally I am not a fan of the Tempurpedic bed in the master bedroom, but that was just me. The friends were in the the other side of the house slept like babes. All in all memorable wonderful week again in MV!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are moving the Tempurpedic matress out of the master into one of the other bedrooms and replacing it with a mattress that more people will like. We should have thought of that ourselves. No one has mentioned this in 3 years but even if one does we want to be responsive. Thanks Joanne for the feedback. It is very appreciated. Kristin and Brook
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Martha's Vineyard Marvel, Sensational, Beautiful, Luxurious, Relaxing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189285
+1 914 439 2047
West Tisbury Martha's Vineyard
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: May 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
All comments added by owner were taken from other sites, mostly www.weneedavacation.com
business
Martha's Vineyard Marvel, Sensational, Beautiful, Luxurious, Relaxing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189285
+1 914 439 2047
West Tisbury Martha's Vineyard
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
"This lovely West Tisbury home truly felt like a home, and not your typical rental property. The home is beautifully decorated and stocked with every possible amenity. The house was clean, well maintained, and well laid out. The homeowners are lovely people who answered all of our questions, and were a true pleasure to work with! I loved the location of West Tisbury, which put us right in the middle of the island so to speak, so we could easily drive up to Aquinnah, or down to Oak Bluffs for dinner. I would recommend this home to couples as well as families. You will not be disappointed!"
Tatesha C from Brooklyn, NY, who vacationed in August 2009.
business
Martha's Vineyard Marvel, Sensational, Beautiful, Luxurious, Relaxing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189285
+1 914 439 2047
West Tisbury Martha's Vineyard
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
"This lovely West Tisbury home truly felt like a home, and not your typical rental property. The home is beautifully decorated and stocked with every possible amenity. The house was clean, well maintained, and well laid out. The homeowners are lovely people who answered all of our questions, and were a true pleasure to work with! I loved the location of West Tisbury, which put us right in the middle of the island so to speak, so we could easily drive up to Aquinnah, or down to Oak Bluffs for dinner. I would recommend this home to couples as well as families. You will not be disappointed!"
Tatesha C from Brooklyn, NY, who vacationed in August 2009.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Martha's Vineyard Marvel, Sensational, Beautiful, Luxurious, Relaxing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189285
+1 914 439 2047
West Tisbury Martha's Vineyard
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
"This house is top-notch! We had a terrific stay here -- the house is lovely, spacious, and had everything we needed (and more!). The owners were wonderful to deal with...very responsive, flexible and friendly. They really helped make our vacation a success by stocking the house with necessities and niceties (such as condiments and spices in the kitchn, and rainy day games for the kids), area maps and local information. The location of the house is very convenient, and we were grateful for the quiet, peaceful neighborhood. We would highly recommend this beautiful house. It was very clean, well maintained, and has two of the best showers on the island (you will love the revonvated bathrooms). Towels, linens...fully stocked and all high quality. All in all, this is a great rental. Enjoy! "
Hilary K from Mendham, NJ, who vacationed in August 2009.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Martha's Vineyard Marvel, Sensational, Beautiful, Luxurious, Relaxing
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189285
+1 914 439 2047
West Tisbury Martha's Vineyard
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

This lovely West Tisbury home truly felt like a home

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
"This lovely West Tisbury home truly felt like a home, and not your typical rental property. The home is beautifully decorated and stocked with every possible amenity. The house was clean, well maintained, and well laid out. The homeowners are lovely people who answered all of our questions, and were a true pleasure to work with! I loved the location of West Tisbury, which put us right in the middle of the island so to speak, so we could easily drive up to Aquinnah, or down to Oak Bluffs for dinner. I would recommend this home to couples as well as families. You will not be disappointed!"
Tatesha C from NY, who vacationed in August 2009.