Lake Lure house rental - Fall view of home from lake
Fall view of home from lake
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps14
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lake Lure House Rental Photos and Description
4 BR, 3-1/2 BTHS, sleeps 14+, 2 eating areas, Screen Porch & Deck, HDTV & WiFi

Linger Lake Lodge

Come and discover the peaceful tranquility of this mountaintop retreat, nestled on a 5 acre plateau high in the mountains, centered in the middle of surrounding attractions in Historic Hendersonville and Black Mountain (where the shops are) and Asheville (where the Biltmore Home is) only minutes away. Enjoy your get-away with family, friends or just the two of you in the serenity of the mountains with nature and wildlife where you may catch a glimpse of deer, eagles and red tail hawks.

Explore the many trails and scenic views Western NC has to offer or take a drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway and view as far as the eye can see the most beautiful mountains east of The Mississippi . Wild Turkeys, deer, bear & bobcat still roam the rolling hills on top of Bald Mountain. Or…stay in seclusion with your own private 5 Acres and fish in the 2 acre spring-fed lake, Enjoy the screened porch and deck in this 2300 plus square foot living area-Central air and heat or choose to retreat down the mountain to Lake Lure and Chimney Rock Park. You may choose to soothe your soul on the Rocky Broad River, which has some of the best fly-fishing in the Mountains. Ideal for family retreats – Destination sites only minutes away including the beautiful Blue Ridge Parkway and the Biltmore Home. Whether you are seeking a romantic get-away or family gathering, we know you will want to…’Linger longer with us.

See our Video on UTube at Linger Lake Lodge or go to www.lakelurevacationrental.com

More Details
Hide Details

Dianne and I on the Pinnacle lookout at the top of our mountain. On a clear day with binoculars you can see the tall buildings of Charlotte (97 miles away by the mountain roads) and on a clear night the lights glow on the horizon.

John P McRae - President Linger Lake Lodge LLC purchased this house in 2005

When Dianne and I made a trip to the Blue Ridge Mountains 40 years ago we fell in love with the scenic beauty of the overlooks, streams, rivers, hicking trails and wildlife that is abundent to this area. We thought 'one day we would like to retire to these mountains' and our dream came true when we found this place after 2 years of searching for the perfect spot. The clean air, fish in the lake, apples on the trees and sounds of nature in the darkness of night made our decission to buy an easy one. Our main motivation was to have a place we could retire to one day and till then, enjoy with our family and friends and share with those who want to experience the beauty and peace that the mountains have to offer.

25 Reviews of Property 189250 in Lake Lure, North Carolina

Arts & Crafts Bungalow Home - Private for Family Gatherings or just the 2 of you
average rating of 5.0 based on 25 reviews
business
Arts & Crafts Bungalow Home - Private for Family Gatherings or just the 2 of you
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189250
+1 865 805-8247
Lake Lure Asheville Area
louisville,ky
5

a great hidaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We took the whole family for a week to this house. It was wonderful. The view from the wrap around porch was beautiful. The family enjoyed fishing and hiking. Perfect in everyway. The house was unbelieveable.
The owner was helpful and freindly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Marda, it was nice meeting you, Ron and your family around the lake as your kids fished...and caught several. I am glad you had an enjoyable and relaxing time.
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
Arts & Crafts Bungalow Home - Private for Family Gatherings or just the 2 of you
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189250
+1 865 805-8247
Lake Lure Asheville Area
5

Perfect for our family gathering!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family of 8 adults, 3 youngsters, and one baby had a wonderful time at LLL in June of 2013. The accommodations were exactly what we needed and the kind of location we were looking for - all 4 couples had their own bedroom, and the kids had the loft. There were plenty of bathrooms for all and the dining and relaxing areas were big enough too. Lots of outdoor space: screened porch, deck, and a huge grassy area for games and gathering. The creek runs through the property and the waterfall or sliding rock were not far away. We spent time at Chimney Rock (town and Park), and Lake Lure beach. Short day trips to Biltmore, Asheville, Black Mountain and Montreat were easy to do. But hanging around the property was tons of fun on its own.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Deb, thank you for your kind review. Dianne and I are happy that everyone had an enjoyable time and you are certainly welcome back anytime.

john & dianne
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Arts & Crafts Bungalow Home - Private for Family Gatherings or just the 2 of you
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189250
+1 865 805-8247
Lake Lure Asheville Area
Aiken,SC
5

Great family reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The house was beautiful inside and out and easily accomodated our family of ten. The children loved the loft area and the ladder to reach it. The kitchen was very well stocked and was immaculate. We were able to have a campfire at the fire pit, play baseball in the spacious yard, and enjoy the small island in the creek as it morphed into a pirate ship. We stayed the first weekend in December and were delighted to have the house alread decorated for Christmas. We all hope to go back in warmer weather.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Carlotta,

Thank you for your comments and we hope you will come back...spring and fall are nice too.

John & Dianne
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Arts & Crafts Bungalow Home - Private for Family Gatherings or just the 2 of you
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189250
+1 865 805-8247
Lake Lure Asheville Area
Cranberry Township, PA
5

Pittsburgh Crew

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Three couples stayed at Linger Lake Lodge for a week in late fall. It was a beautiful property, well-maintained and extremely clean. The lake house had many large windows that let in lots of natural light. It was also well-stocked with kitchen items, linens, games, etc. The owner was extremely helpful and willing to address any questions before and during our stay. We would definitely stay again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Peggy,

Thank you for your kind review and we are glad everyone had a good time. Hope to see you again soon.

John & Dianne
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Arts & Crafts Bungalow Home - Private for Family Gatherings or just the 2 of you
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189250
+1 865 805-8247
Lake Lure Asheville Area
Palm Harbor, FL
5

The Perfect Spot for our "Old Friends" Reunion

The Perfect Spot for our "Old Friends" Reunion
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Our group of retired teachers chose Linger Lake Lodge for this year's reunion. This was just the perfect spot in the NC mountains and a wonderful time of year to enjoy the Fall foliage color and activities. Located between Bat Cave and Black Mountain, this home is within easy driving distance to Lake Lure, Hendersonville, and Asheville and many activities and restaurants that we enjoyed.
The house has four nice bedrooms plus a loft for extra guests. The layout had everything our group needed and more. The view from the porch rocking chairs is delightful with morning coffee or an evening snack.
John, the owner, was very helpful and easy to reach. As a great host, he has gone beyond the expected to provide a perfect get away experience for groups or just a couple. And this would be a great spot for families with kids, as well as all adults, as we were. I have already recommended LLL to some friends and I hope we can return some day.
Owner's Response: Carol, thank you for your kind review and I am glad you had a good time. You are welcome back anytime.

John & Dianne
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Arts & Crafts Bungalow Home - Private for Family Gatherings or just the 2 of you
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189250
+1 865 805-8247
Lake Lure Asheville Area
North Florida
5

Would have liked to linger longer.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This has to be one of the best equipped places we have ever rented. Everything was in great shape. Nicely and comfortably furnished. Beautiful grounds, with a nice lake. If you plan to just chill and relax this is perfect. If you like to do a lot of running around, just be aware that it is a little bit of a hike on curvy roads to get anywhere. Just plan to do all your errands in one trip.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Beth, thank you for your kind review. Dianne and I are happy that you enjoyed your visit and hope you will tell all your friends about our place. Thank you for taking such good care of our home. You are welcome back anytime.

John & Dianne
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Arts & Crafts Bungalow Home - Private for Family Gatherings or just the 2 of you
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189250
+1 865 805-8247
Lake Lure Asheville Area
Cary, NC
5

Yearly Mountain Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My husband & I took a group from our church (College & Career Age) for our yearly Mountain Retreat. John was an absolute pleasure to work with. He was very accomodating throughout the entire process from the time I booked the house to the time we left. The home is lovely.... We had 17 of us, and loved having all the space to spread out on the property.. The hiking close by was an added bonus. We went to Chimney Rock State Park one day, and saw some beautiful views, but the views from Pinnacle Point were almost as good, and it was free. The home is decorated so nice, and fully stocked with all the dishes and cooking utensils that we needed. We ate most of our meals there. I loved wading in the creek, and roasting marshmellows around the fire pit... We had a wonderful time, and plan on going back next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Theresa, thank you for your kind review and I am glad you and your group from the church had a great time exploring the area. You and your group from the church are welcome back anytime. Thank you for taking such good care of our home.

John & Dianne
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Arts & Crafts Bungalow Home - Private for Family Gatherings or just the 2 of you
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189250
+1 865 805-8247
Lake Lure Asheville Area
Charlotte, NC
5

Vacation for All Ages

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a great experience on our vacation! The homeowner went above and beyond what was necessary for the care and maintenance of the house; he responded to correspondence quickly and effectively. The kitchen was well-stocked. The rocking chairs and screened-in porch were relaxing.

As a family of 13 with three generations, there were plenty of things for all ages. The house layout easily serves a large family; the loft was a big hit with the kids. There are large-screen televisions and some stocked games for quiet evenings, a fire pit for marshmallow roasting, and wi-fi service available. We enjoyed the close proximity of the fishing pond as well as a relatively easy drive to Chimney Rock and Catawba Falls. We enjoyed climbing up the mountain. The view is beautiful! Climbing up the waterfall was fantastic! Some of us also took a tour of The Carl Sandburg Home and the goats. Our young couple celebrated their first anniversary dinner in Asheville. Something for everyone. We played miniature golf in Asheville so that was also fun. This was everything we could have wanted for a relaxing week away from it all.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Betty Ann, thank you for your kind review and we hope LLL was everything you expected and more. You are welcome back anytime.

john & dianne
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Arts & Crafts Bungalow Home - Private for Family Gatherings or just the 2 of you
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189250
+1 865 805-8247
Lake Lure Asheville Area
New Bern, NC
5

Relaxing and Fun!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband and I hosted our family reunion this year. I can certainly say that a good time was had by all. Such a lovely home in a lovely setting and close to lots of fun things. We met the owner, his son and grandson. Very nice people that made us feel at home. We will stay here again!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Michelle,

Thank you for your kind review. My son said that he enjoyed meeting you and your family and said you were very nice. Thank you for taking care of our home and you are welcome back anytime.

John and Dianne McRae
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Arts & Crafts Bungalow Home - Private for Family Gatherings or just the 2 of you
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189250
+1 865 805-8247
Lake Lure Asheville Area
5

The PERFECT Vacation Home w/BREATHTAKING Sceneries

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our family and friends (party of 13) arrived at Linger Lake Lodge early July 2012. The home, property and sceneries, were way more beautiful than what photographs describe. We can honestly say that this has been the most enjoyed and relaxing vacation we have taken so far. We had excellent communication with property owner who was always available for questions or concerns and also offered us suggestions, directions and help so we could visit places around the area.

The property is located near beautiful creeks, waterfalls, scenic routes, fishing, lake, and so many other attractions. There is enough room in the house to roam around an plenty outside to run, play, barbecue, etc. The perfect place for families/friends to build long lasting memories! The first day we arrived at Linger Lake Lodge we agreed we would be back... no need to look for different property!!
Owner's Response: Aida,
Thank you for your kind review and being our guest. we are glad you had a wounderful time and you are welcome back anytime.
John & Dianne
Helpful votes: 6/6