Murphy chalet rental - Your home away from home! Note--gentle driveway.
Your home away from home! Note--gentle driveway.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Murphy Chalet Rental Photos and Description
Chalet - 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s) - 2 Baths - (Sleeps 4-6)

All of the comforts of home but with the awesome 70 mile view! Fully furnished, 2-bedroom,2 bath, ALL ON ONE LEVEL, sleeps 4, with pull-out sofa sleeps 6. And, there is a car port to protect your automobile from the elements.

All new appliances, fully equipped kitchen including microwave, washer/dryer, phone, three televisions with satellite connection, with ABC, CBS, FOX, and NBC, VCR, central heat/air, 40 foot deck with partial screened-in area and that 70 mile view...you'll be in Heaven!

As Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings said, 'I do not understand how anyone can live without some small place of enchantment to turn to.' Our chalet is that small place of enchantment!

9 Reviews of Property 189182 in Murphy, North Carolina

Now Renting for 2014--Great Dates & Rates
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Now Renting for 2014--Great Dates & Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189182
+1 404-550-2660
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
5

Beautiful sunsets on a shaded porch!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This was the fourth time we stayed here. My wife and I have rented other mountain homes in the NC mountains but this is the only house we have rented more than once. We are planning a trip back to the King Chalet this fall. The driveway is easy, The house sits on a ridgeline that looks to the West/NW toward Tennessee. Some of the peaks in the view are in TN. The ridge is the highest populated ridge in the Murphy area at about 2800 feet. Local adventure attractions are within an hour drive in any direction and antique & gift shopping is 10 minutes away in downtown Murphy. There is so much to do, we never get bored. Nora is an excellent host who is always on the spot. During one summer visit the AC broke down in the morning. We went hiking that day and by the time we returned the AC was fixed, and that was on a Saturday! Don't worry, the AC unit has since been replaced. If you are a birdwatcher you'll love this place. Cardinals, finches, humming birds, etc. I even spotted a rare cockaded redheaded woodpecker.
business
Now Renting for 2014--Great Dates & Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189182
+1 404-550-2660
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Atlanta
5

Great View and ADA Friendly

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
My 90 year old mother and I enjoyed our stay at the King Chalet. There are only three or four steps at the entrance to the house and the house itself is a single level. The master bath has a shower, not a shower/tub combination. Although it is not wheelchair accessible, the shower is easy to enter. The living room, deck and covered screened porch have the same wonderful long distance view. Nora is more like a concierge than a land lady. For anyone not familiar with western North Carolina, she will suggest wonderful activities based on your interests. She has also compiled a large library of maps and brochures that you can review at your leisure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities
business
Now Renting for 2014--Great Dates & Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189182
+1 404-550-2660
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Atlanta, GA
5

Labor Day Family Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My wife and I wanted to find a place that we could go with our parents and our dogs for the Labor Day weekend. We looked at several properties in the NC mountains and chose the King Chalet. Nora was wonderful to work with, and provided an abundence of much appreciated information about the area. The home is very well equipped, and was extremely comfortable for all 5 of us. Mornings on the covered deck watching the sunrise with a cup of coffee, enjoying the beautiful mountain views was a great way to start the day. The chalet was a wonderful place to come back to in the evenings for a family dinner and more time on the deck taking in the view.

The cabin is easily accessible, very close and convenient to town, yet quiet and secluded. All you can hear on the deck are the birds and crickets. Everything you need is there to insure a pleasant stay, and family dinners gathered around the table really added to the experience, and to the memories we all took away from this wonderful weekend.

I cannot recommend this cabin highly enough. The King's are wonderful to work with, and very accomodating to your needs, as well as making sure that everything you need is there. This includes a wealth of local information to make the visit more enjoyable.

This was our first visit to the King Chalet, but we are already making plans to return again soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Now Renting for 2014--Great Dates & Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189182
+1 404-550-2660
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Ft. Myers, Fl.
5

Superb property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
Excellent place to stay. Well equipped with superlative view. Close to town for grocery shopping, restaurants, etc. Information available for sightseeing, things to do, places to go. Would recommend highly. Very comfortable, attractive in every way. Well furnished with all conveniences. Excellent value!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Now Renting for 2014--Great Dates & Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189182
+1 404-550-2660
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Chicago
5

Our secret mountain home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I hesitate to tell you about this fabulous cottage because I fear that once the word is out we will have trouble getting a reservation! Yes, there are three TVs but who could watch TV when the beauty of the Smokies is waiting for you on the deck.
The view is ever changing. From your morning coffee to your goodnight kiss, the colors of the mountains give the best show on earth. Within moments of walking in the cottage door all the stress of city life fades away!
We watched hummingbirds and mysterious flying animals feast from the feeders on the deck. We walked our dog down the roads and were offered card games and garden produce from our neighbors. One even gave us a ride home (complete with wet dog) when we got caught in a lovely afternoon rain.
I cry every time we leave out mountain home and I mean home, the only thing that you need to bring is your clothes. You don't even need many clothes with the handy washer and dryer. Murphy has several grocery store and a variety of resturaunts. If you find yourself hungry or bored it is your own fault! Take a hike, go the lake or visit John Campbell Folk School. Explore your world and history.
This is living!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Now Renting for 2014--Great Dates & Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189182
+1 404-550-2660
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
1

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
What a wonderful home away from home. The view is spectacular. The birds and squirrels love to check out who is here. We took a day in town and a view of the courthouse. The guard allowed us access to a live hearing. Spencer loved it. The downtown Historic Meseum is a gem in hiding. So many wonderful things to do. We will be back to the King Chalet.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Now Renting for 2014--Great Dates & Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189182
+1 404-550-2660
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
Thank you for a wonderful vacation! This place is the greatest--you have thought of everything, even to a bread knife. We have fallen in love with Murphy. There is so much to do and see; one could live and be very happy here. E loved the views, just sitting on the sofa will take your breath away. The birds and wildlife are a very special touch.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Now Renting for 2014--Great Dates & Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189182
+1 404-550-2660
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Norcross, ga
5

Guestbook Comment

This is our 2nd year staying at this chalet. We were there from 7-9 thry 7-16-2004. It is the most wonderful place in the world to stay. The view is ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2004
  • Stayed: Jul 2004
This is our 2nd year staying at this chalet. We were there from 7-9 thry 7-16-2004. It is the most wonderful place in the world to stay. The view is unsurpassed. At night, the sunsets change from pink, to purple and finally red, as the sun sets over the mountains. Everything in the chalet is comfortable, lacking nothing. It is so quiet you would think you are 100 miles from no-where, yet it is only a 2 minute drive to town. There is so much to do and see in Murphy and surrounding areas. The new owners, Nora and Larry are just the best. And you cannot beat the price. Please call me if you need to know more. We have already made our reservation for the fall, to see the leaves changing color. This is one vacation you will never forget. Sherry Redding 770-447-0469 Atlanta, Ga.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Now Renting for 2014--Great Dates & Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189182
+1 404-550-2660
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2004
  • Stayed: Jul 2004
We purchased this chalet in July of 2004 and have been excited about sharing it with others. The view is absolutely gorgeous--unsurpassed by any anywhere in the world. The previous owners had it stocked with almost any item a renter could want and we've added to their amenities. Come see us! (Check the calendar for availability.)
Helpful votes: 2/2