Lexington house rental - The Martin House
The Martin House
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Lexington House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms - 2 Bathrooms - Sleeps 6-10

Visit martinhouselexington on the web for more info. Spacious 2 story brick home centrally located in Lexington’s Historic South Hill district is the perfect spot for Bluegrass area visitors. This unique home, built in 1908, is registered with the Bluegrass Trust for Historic Preservation, and is an intriguing combination of private retreat and downtown convenience. The completely fenced in back courtyard provides an inviting, peaceful venue for relaxing, and grilling out – but one has only to walk out the front door to discover all that downtown Lexington has to offer. This charming home has lots of character with 10 foot ceilings, hardwood floors and six uniquely tiled fireplace mantles throughout as well as 1st floor and 2nd floor screened in porches overlooking the courtyard and downtown Lexington. Other special features are a cozy seating area in the open, airy kitchen, and a coffee/ tea station in the office area located upstairs. A wonderful get away spot for old home lovers

We are a family of four living in nearby Paris, KY. We acquired this house in April, 2004 and decided it would be a lovely home for Lexington visitors to stay in. We started renting it as a vacation home in September, 2005.

Jeannette Bracken purchased this house in 2004

We have always loved downtown Lexington, and we couldn't resist this property when it came on the market. We love staying here on occasion, and really enjoy being able to share it with others that are visiting Lexington.

There are so many restaurants within walking distance of the house that you could eat in a different one each night. Our home is unique in that it is in the center of a historic district, and the craftsmanship is excellent.

34 Reviews of Property 188961 in Lexington, Kentucky

The Martin House - In the heart of historic downtown Lexington
average rating of 4.96875 based on 34 reviews
business
The Martin House - In the heart of historic downtown Lexington
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188961
+1 8599481313
Lexington Kentucky
United States
5

Roomy, homey accomodations in the heart of Lexingt

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Great old house in the heart of Lexington. 3 bedrooms plus a sleeper sofa and air mattresses mean theres plenty of room for everyone; really enjoyed the screened in back porch. Place was built in 1908, so it has the charms of an older house but is also very clean with some modern touches. Owners were great with answering questions and making sure our stay was comfortable. They even had cookies waiting for us when we arrived. House is also very well stocked if you like to cook. Can't beat the location; you can pretty much walk to anywhere in downtown Lexington.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Martin House - In the heart of historic downtown Lexington
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188961
+1 8599481313
Lexington Kentucky
5

Perfect location - - great spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The Martin House was just perfect for our visit to Keeneland and the Rolex Cup. The house itself was roomy enough to give everyone a bit of their own space - - and the common areas were great for relaxing/hanging out. the kitchen is cheery and well appointed.
We loved having our coffee on the deck upstairs and screened in porch off the kitchen.
It was a quick and easy drive to the horse parks, and in the evenings it was great to leave our car and walk to all the great nearby watering holes and restaurants.
We would definitely love to stay here again if our travels take us back to Lexington.
And the cookies were great too!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Martin House - In the heart of historic downtown Lexington
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188961
+1 8599481313
Lexington Kentucky
4

love the comfy feel of home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We absolutly LOVED this home. Perfect location. You can walk to the college campus, restaurants and do some shopping as well. It was perfect for my family. We were in the area for a competetion at the horse park and it was so nice to come back everynight to such a beautiful home. Would definitly recommend a stay at the Martin House. :)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Martin House - In the heart of historic downtown Lexington
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188961
+1 8599481313
Lexington Kentucky
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Family get together

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We came to The Martin House to get our family together in one place (8 of us)for a few days since we all live many miles apart. We were so pleasantly welcomed with fresh chocolate chip cookies (everyone's favorite!) and fresh flowers all over the house. We felt at home right away. Many rooms, many towels (they were needed with 100 degree temps), lots of comfy beds, and well-stocked kitchen. The owners left a list of suggestions for restaurants & things to see--great! There were lots of things to see within walking distance. We all loved the experience!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Martin House - In the heart of historic downtown Lexington
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188961
+1 8599481313
Lexington Kentucky
5

The Martin House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Our group of 10 found the Martin House the perfect setting for our ROLEX Three Day experience. The beautifully landscaped and private back yard was great for BBQ's and afternoon social hour entertainment. The house had ample rooms and comfortable beds for all. The kitchen/breakfast nook and room layout gave everyone the space to gather and converse and the men enjoyed the leather seating/big screen TV in the den. The location was convenient for walking to the local eateries (and there were many great places to choose from within blocks from the house). We honestly felt as if the owners had just left the house as if they were still living there.

PS: The cookies that were left for our arrival were great!!!! I would recomend this home for others to enjoy. Thank you Jeannette and Paul for making our stay a memorable experience..... :)
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
The Martin House - In the heart of historic downtown Lexington
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188961
+1 8599481313
Lexington Kentucky
5

Wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
What a wonderful old home that has been so well maintained! We vacationed in this home with our two grown children (24 and 18) and the special people in their lives and the home was enjoyed equally by all.

The stay starts with fresh flowers meeting you in the foyer, followed by a plate of homemade cookies in the kitchen! No attention to detail is spared in this home. The beds are very comfortable, the sheets are soft and cozy, plenty of toiletries are provided and the kitchen is well furnished. And the list could go on!

This home is not the least bit overstated in it's description. This house would accommodate families young and old alike.

One thing I found really helpful was the information binder put together for the guests.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
The Martin House - In the heart of historic downtown Lexington
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188961
+1 8599481313
Lexington Kentucky
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
5

Lexington Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
House was exactly as advertised, and was perfect for our needs. Well equipped, and the locations was ideal for easy access do the downtown area. Would highly recommend to anyone requiring a fmaily location in Lexington.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
The Martin House - In the heart of historic downtown Lexington
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188961
+1 8599481313
Lexington Kentucky
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We had such an amazing time staying at this home and the quality is unbeatable. I work for a vacation rental company - If all of our property owners were as wonderful to deal with, my job would be a dream!!! Thank you, thank you - it is obvious you are motivated by love to maintain and share this beautiful spot with others. Our Mom is still talking about her amazing 70th birthday - memories to last a lifetime!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
The Martin House - In the heart of historic downtown Lexington
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188961
+1 8599481313
Lexington Kentucky
St Louis MO
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
The Martin House makes you feel that you are at home. It is in a great location.The owners gave us several suggestions for restaurants and were very easy to work with. We would highly recommend this property.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
The Martin House - In the heart of historic downtown Lexington
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188961
+1 8599481313
Lexington Kentucky
Boise, Idaho
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
Our first trip to the Lexington area was topped off with this great place to stay. This historic home is beautiful! On top of that, everything you could want is within walking distance. The extra touches provided by the Brackens(flowers and cookies) were great and really made us feel like we had arrived home. They were also fantastic to work with. We had a great time and are hoping we can make this an annual trip.
Helpful votes: 2/3