Estes Park cabin rental - Front of Estes Log Home
Front of Estes Log Home
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps16
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Estes Park Cabin Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 10 to 12

This Precision Craft Log Home is a Rocky Mountain get away experience. With a covered porch facing south, views of Twin Sisters Mountain is seen through the ponderosa pine trees. Nestled away from the wind this easy access home captures everything you would want in a log home experience without being miles away from entertainment, shopping and Rocky Mtn. National Park. This quiet home has all of the furnishings of a custom log home, granite counter tops, over sized master shower, beautiful custom river rock fire place, fire pit next to beautiful fish creek, a beautiful covered rap a round porch, fenced in yard for kids and animals, lots of trees and elegant features around the home. The 18 hole golf course is 1.2 miles just up the road.

I am the owner/builder of the home. I designed this home to meet all of the needs that I found important while living in Estes Park over 24 years.

Richard S Hewson purchased this cabin in 2006

I loved this lot and place that it resides. Living in Estes Park can be very beautiful,however, because of the wind, it can turn into something very different, very fast. I chose this property because of the three factors, wind, water and fire.

The home is built in a protected area just off of Fish Creek, about 2.6 miles south of Estes Park. The house is protected from the violent wind storms that sometimes hit the mountainous area. While other areas of Estes will see up to 50 mile per hour gusts, my home rarely feels any of this.

Water is always a treat. With moderate snow in winter and spring, Fish Creek will run all year long. This cute little creek runs right through the property and attracts all types of wildlife such as deer, elk, moose, bear, bobcat, beaver, and racoons.

As per fire, again, because of my low setting, the house is protected from common mountain fires that will make their way up and over my property. After the flood of 2013 we now have a beautiful water feature in a waterfall that lines the property.

Again, the house is located in a very protected spot. I have spent many days suntanning on my front porch December through March just because of the protection I get from my trees and surroundings. You will find the creek, fire pit, bbq grill, porch swing, bikes, fishing poles and Rocky Mountain fresh air all to be special gifts that will make your stay a paradise for romance and family fun.

22 Reviews of Property 188383 in Estes Park, Colorado

Elegant. Rustic. Log Home w/ Mtn Views, Creek, & Wildlife.
average rating of 4.3636365 based on 22 reviews
business
Elegant. Rustic. Log Home w/ Mtn Views, Creek, & Wildlife.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188383
+1 480 2443934
Estes Park Rocky Mountain National Park
Kansas
2

Nice Home - Bad Management

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
This house is advertised with a hot tub. There was a tub on site but the mechanical panel was off and was not in working condition. The house itself was nice with the exception it was not properly cleaned prior to our arrival. We even questioned if it had been cleaned at all. There was a note from housekeeper for people staying a prior to us. The kitchen had food and fingerprints all over the countertops and appliances. There was sticky food on the couch. The masterbed was made but there were hairs in the bed. We cleaned the house and changed bedding ourselves. A mirror fell during the night, had been hung with a very small nail, we cleaned that too. The house was undusted and the yard had food and beer cans strewn around, looked like there had been a party. The owners were notified when we returned and I was told I should have called while we were out there...why, when the hot tub could not be refilled, heated and have chemicals adjusted in the three days we were visiting. I ask for some reimbursement for the lack of a hot tub but never had a reply from the owners. I had even discussed the tub with the owner before booking and she mentioned maybe it would snow and be fun for us. Well it snowed plenty and would have been nice had we had a working tub. I understand owners have to rely on housekeepers to clean and we took care of that issue and did not ask for compensation, but when a property is advertised with certain amenities and they are not available a discount is expected and should be offered. We have only had positive experiences in the 20 years we have be coming to Estes Park prior to this one. We visit 3-4 times a year but would not rent from these owners again.
Owner's Response: The cleaner at that time has been fired. We had no idea the house was in this order until the renters arrived and called us. Regarding the mirror, in the two years we lived in the home we had that mirror hanging there on the same nail and not once did it ever fall. The nail was secured in an eight inch log.
Regarding the hot tub, we have hired a professional company to maintain the tub and all chemicals, electrical fixtures and cleaning. Once again this was the first time that our house was out of order.
Of all the renters we have had this has been the ONLY bad experience, only because we were not notified until this renter had arrived. We deducted the cleaning bill from their total and did not charge them and this was done at my will and not being asked by the renter to deduct it.
We have renters who are more than willing to give you their review of our home which has been outstanding.
Helpful votes: 30/34
business
Elegant. Rustic. Log Home w/ Mtn Views, Creek, & Wildlife.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188383
+1 480 2443934
Estes Park Rocky Mountain National Park
Estes Park, CO
2

Disappointed

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We live in Estes and all of our family was coming here for a late Christmas celebration and we needed a place with a little more room. One of the main amenities we wanted was a rental with a hot tub. I would like to say the cabin is gorgeous. The massive wood burning fireplace was wonderful and we had plenty of room for all of us. However, when we arrived, we found that the trash cart in the attached garage was overflowing and the smell was horrendous. I realize that the trash pickup day is on Tuesday and we arrived on Friday, but this trash reeked so bad that the trash had to have been there more than just a few days. By the time we left on Sunday, the smell was reaching the main living area. It would have been nice to be able to park our cars in the garage as it snowed about 8” on Sat; but because of the stench couldn’t. There were finger prints all over the fridge as well as on the windows. There were cobwebs hanging from the fixtures on the main level. The stove top had crumbs and grease on the burners. If you rent this cabin, be sure to bring your own kitchen basics; including foil, plastic wrap, storage bags, flour, sugar, ketchup, mustard, and seasonings as there wasn’t any. And don’t worry about the hot tub not working because this property has none as the description and picture shows. The owner did not tell me that there is no hot tub at the time we made the rental agreement. Had he, I would have looked for another rental. I emailed the owners shortly after we arrived and again a few days after and as of the time of this posting, still have not heard anything from them.
Owner's Response: I am sad to say that some of the above information is true. These poor renters had to deal with a situation that was not at all good to deal with. The trash situation was overlooked by our cleaning crew and before we knew about it, it was to late.
As for the hot tub. That was an oversight in communication and was my fault as an owner of the property. We did have a hot tub that worked great and gave the home a little more to look forward to. Because of the Fish Creek flood, the tub was damaged beyond repair and we had to get rid of it. I did not communicate this to the next renters coming in. My bad.
We are looking for a good used hot tub to replace the old one before spring.
As for communication with this renter, we did communicate shortly after this post and I was able to refund them an amount suitable to the strain that this caused.
I would however like to address the food comment. In the seven years that I have rented this home I have never provided food, condiments (beyond salt and pepper), foil or any other food related storage items. All food that is left behind, including sugar, mustard, beer, etc is disposed of.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Elegant. Rustic. Log Home w/ Mtn Views, Creek, & Wildlife.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188383
+1 480 2443934
Estes Park Rocky Mountain National Park
Brooklyn Park, MN
5

Our family reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The home is spacious both inside and outside with the wrap-around deck providing the best of both environments. One evening a herd of 25 elk came down to water at Fish Creek which winds along the back of the property, and then bedded down just outside the fence below the deck. We enjoyed the hot tub after each of the four hikes we took into the Rocky Mountain National Park. There were 12 of us in all - 6 adults and 6 children. Each set of adults had their own bedroom and the children slept in the bunk room and loft. The master bedroom was spacious with a large double-sink master bath and a large shower. A wonder place for a wonderful week of family time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Elegant. Rustic. Log Home w/ Mtn Views, Creek, & Wildlife.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188383
+1 480 2443934
Estes Park Rocky Mountain National Park
Nevada
5

AWESOME CABIN!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This cabin is fabulous in all aspects!!! Extremely comfortable and working with the owner was a wonderful experience. I would stay here again in a nano-second!!! I give the cabin my highest marks A+++++++++++. Thanks to the owners for such a wonderful experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Elegant. Rustic. Log Home w/ Mtn Views, Creek, & Wildlife.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188383
+1 480 2443934
Estes Park Rocky Mountain National Park
Cozad, NE
5

Girl's Weekend 2013

Girl's Weekend 2013
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Six of my girlfriend's and I (2 from Reno, 5 from Nebraska) made this cabin our weekend getaway to celebrate our friend's 40th Birthday. The drive through the mountains was beautiful, the cabin was gorgeous and very easy to find. We were greeted our first morning there by Elk grazing in the front yard. We spent our first day downtown Estes...shopping, winery, brewery...all of which was a short drive from the cabin. We only ate one meal out and ate all our other meals in. This cabin has all the amenities and comforts of home. It was very clean, very well kept and maintained. I look forward to bringing my family back for the Estes Park experience.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Elegant. Rustic. Log Home w/ Mtn Views, Creek, & Wildlife.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188383
+1 480 2443934
Estes Park Rocky Mountain National Park
Reno NV
5

loved the house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
this house is amazing! The only issue the hot tub gets a little hot because the lids left on. We had Elk enter the yard, that was a blast. The owners are great too. I would definitely go back to that home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Elegant. Rustic. Log Home w/ Mtn Views, Creek, & Wildlife.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188383
+1 480 2443934
Estes Park Rocky Mountain National Park
Denver, CO
5

What a great vacation that was!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed the lodge and our family had a wonderful time. All the amenities that you could ask for were available. The views were amazing and there was plenty of space for all of us (6 adults, 1 child). The kitchen is open which gave us great family time between the living, dining and cooking. The hot tub was relaxing and the location was close to everything. We would definitely stay again!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Elegant. Rustic. Log Home w/ Mtn Views, Creek, & Wildlife.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188383
+1 480 2443934
Estes Park Rocky Mountain National Park
5

Great Family Vacation, Great Home!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was are first family vacation to Estes Park. The owner was very helpful. I called and talked to him and we e-mailed also. He answered all my questions. We had 17 in our party. We had 10 adults and 7 kids. There was plenty room for all of us. The cabin was very clean. The description of the location, amenities, and the layout of the cabin are very accurate. We enjoyed sitting out on the porch everyday. The grandkids loved playing by the creek and in it. They also built a fort by the creek. Some of the things we did while we stayed in Estes Park were 1. The River Walk downtown 2. The Air Tram (awesome view of Estes and mountians) 3. Lily Lake - has very nice trails especially if you have little kids 4. Trail Ridge Road 5. Ride-A-Kart and Cascade Creek Mini-Golf is a must if you have younger kids 6. Wild Basin area to see the waterfalls they were beautiful!!!!!! The waterfalls were one of our favorite spots because my youngest son proposed to his girlfriend by the Calypso Cascades!!!!!! This will be a very memorable trip for our whole family. Everything was great on our trip. I would recommend this property if you want a very nice place to stay!!!!! We will be coming back to stay here again!!!!!!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Elegant. Rustic. Log Home w/ Mtn Views, Creek, & Wildlife.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188383
+1 480 2443934
Estes Park Rocky Mountain National Park
Ennis, Texas
4

Beautiful Cabin, Great Owners, Ok Location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Why I loved it: The cabin is amazing, best I've ever stayed in. Three stories, very spacious rooms, and truly fully furnished. We had everything we needed right there. The cabin also has some really great features: incredible master bath, stainless gas stove, beautiful porch and hot tub. I also thought the owners were fantastic. They answered every call right away and truly seemed to care about our comfort and happiness.

Why I didn't give it 5 stars: First, the cabin doesn't have A/C. I know that is pretty common up there, but the week we came, it was hot and so was the cabin. This made enjoying it very hard. Second, the location was not as secluded as I had hoped. Great distance from Estes Park, but the cabin itself was right off Fish Creek road which was a very well traveled highway. This meant a lot of road noise on the deck and at night because the windows were open. It is also pretty close to the neighbors, who were no problem, but it kind of lost that in the woods feel. The view was ok, but only on one side and it was mostly trees, not mountains.

In all though, I would recommend this cabin and the owners. I would also stay there again...just not in the summer.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Elegant. Rustic. Log Home w/ Mtn Views, Creek, & Wildlife.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188383
+1 480 2443934
Estes Park Rocky Mountain National Park
Fort Collins, CO
5

Wonderful weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
A beautiful home with all the accomodations needed. Our family enjoyed the hot tub and fireplace was perfect to roast marshmallows since the was a fire ban. Very comfortable and clean. It was nice to be able to open all the windows and feel the mountain breeze. Wildlife galore! We got to see deer from the front window and watch hummingbirds chase eachother, what a sight! The owner was very accomodating and prompt at answering any questions before our stay. Considering making this a yearly weekend get away!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4