Palo Alto house rental - Front of house
Front of house
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Palo Alto House Rental Photos and Description
3BR/3BA

Contemporary professionally decorated 2,100 sq. ft. home on 1/2 acre with 3 bedrooms, 3 full baths and fenced private yard. Sunny and serene setting, 10 min from Stanford University campus and 15 minutes from downtown Palo Alto. Open space with hiking trails is located behind your back yard. Home features an open floor plan where you can talk with your family and friends while preparing dinner. Large living room has a wood burning stone fireplace and hardwood floors. Kitchen features stainless steel professional grade appliances (Viking), island with two seats, tumbled marble tiling and high ceilings. If you do not feel like cooking, intimate Parkside Grill with excellent italian food and a full bar is 1/2 mile away. Children will enjoy the outdoor play area in Portola Valley town center set among redwoods with swings, slides, play structure, soccer and baseball fields (1 mile from the house). You can bring your tennis racket and use the brand new tennis courts located between the baseball fields and the local stables (Spring down).

The back yard is very private and has a separate area with teak furniture for dining al fresco and a barbeque perfect for entertaining. Relax to a sound of a fountain, Very convenient as it is located on the same level as the kitchen, the living room and one of the bedrooms. Several upscale restaurants such as The Village pub, Portola kitchen, Station 1 and casual Amigos, grocery shopping (Roberts market), german bakery, post office, tennis, golf, biking, stables, town soccer, baseball and tennis courts are 5 min away.

Location: This house is very private and the location gives the feel of Tuscan rolling hills. Perfect for professionals visiting Stanford or tourists coming to see San Francisco and preferring warm weather. San Francisco is only 45 min away! The beaches and Half Moon Bay are 50 min away.

Bathrooms have limestone and slate tiling, Dornbracht fixtures and glass shower enclosures. Separate laundry room is equipped new Miele washer and dryer, sink, cabinetry for storage and slate floors.

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 188166 Palo Alto, California

New Luxury Executive home close to Stanford University and Palo Alto
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
New Luxury Executive home close to Stanford University and Palo Alto
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188166
+1 6503030094
Palo Alto The Bay Area
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
5

Family friendly house in great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Very responsive host who made organising the trip straightforward.

Great house at the edge of the mountains but still within easy (20 mins) commuting distance of downtown Palo Alto. Very quick access to the I280 for getting into San Francisco.

The house was very comfortable and clean. Nice light, modern rooms with a good sense of space. Great kitchen facilities with a big gas stove and huge fridge. Good open plan sofa/living area and very comfortable beds.

We stayed a week with two small children and it was nice to be somewhere that was well decorated and also suitable for children. The bedrooms are on three different levels which was fine for us but something to be aware of if you have little ones.

We really enjoyed our trip and would definitely stay again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Luxury Executive home close to Stanford University and Palo Alto
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188166
+1 6503030094
Palo Alto The Bay Area
Portland, OR
5

A great place to relax!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We spent two nights in this wonderful home during a trip to the Bay Area. Communicating with the owner was a breeze -- she responded quickly to our original inquiry and follow-up e-mails.

The house is great! The master suite on the upper floor is open and airy with high ceilings and plenty of natural light. There is a second bedroom on the main floor with two twin beds that worked out well for our two older boys. There was also plenty of space in this bedroom for an inflatable mattress that we brought for our youngest son. There is also another bedroom on the bottom floor that we did not use but would have worked very well for another adult or older child who wants a bit of privacy.

The kitchen was great, though we did not have the chance to use it much. The kitchen is open to a comfortable living room where we enjoyed playing games and relaxing. The decks are in good shape and provide a nice outdoor space to eat, read, and enjoy the beautiful surroundings.

We had a great time and wish that we had been able to spend more than two nights so that we could have taken more advantage of all that this property has to offer!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Luxury Executive home close to Stanford University and Palo Alto
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188166
+1 6503030094
Palo Alto The Bay Area
Lexington, Massachusetts (USA)
5

Beautiful location, tranquil and welcoming

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We visited this past week for a family holiday and were fortunate enough to find this beautiful home. Myself, husband, two young children, and two sisters-in-law stayed there and enjoyed the backyard and the peace and quiet of the neighborhood. The owner has done an amazing job with making the house beautiful but still easy to live in. We did not get a chance to explore the area behind the house, unfortunately, which we would have loved to do if there had been more time. Running up and down the hill was a nice additional challenge to my workout. There are a couple of churches just at the bottom of the hill, if you're so inclined. Our Lady of the Wayside is lovely. The house is really clean, the beds comfortable...all in all, I would highly, highly recommend staying there - if it's available!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
New Luxury Executive home close to Stanford University and Palo Alto
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188166
+1 6503030094
Palo Alto The Bay Area
San Francisco, CA
5

Perfect weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We rented the home for a weekend getaway. The kitchen is truly a chef's kitchen and we really enjoyed cooking in it. The house sits high up on a hill so it's really quiet without city noise or light pollution, but it's a very quick drive to Palo Alto. The neighborhood felt quite safe. The beds were comfy and the place was clean and well-maintained. Communication with the owner was very easy.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
New Luxury Executive home close to Stanford University and Palo Alto
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188166
+1 6503030094
Palo Alto The Bay Area
Sacramento
5

Fabulous home for business retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We found this home to be wonderfully comfortable for our group of friends/business partners. The open floor plan made it easy to engage in conversation while enjoying food and wine. The home is beautifully finished and completely outfitted for all your needs. We appreciated the wireless internet access. Unfortunately the rainy weather prevented use of the nice decks and surrounding grounds.
Our group of 2 women and 5 men (all unrelated) fit in the home well: 2 women shared the king size bed, 4 men each had a bed in the two rooms, and one used a sleeping bag on the very comfortable couch in the living room. The three bathrooms made it comfortable for everyone to get ready in the mornings.
The drive to the house is very winding, but easy to navigate even in a mini-van. I suggest arriving during the daylight to make it easier to do the drive and find the place on your first trip.
We all really enjoyed staying at this home. If our business brings us back to the Palo Alto area, we will want to stay here again. Thank you for making this home available for visitors!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice comments. I am happy to hear that you and your business partners had a wonderful time and the home met your needs for a business retreat. I hope the weather will be better next time you visit! The house is an easy drive from SFO over interstate 280 and Sandhill road. The windy part of the drive is the last 0.6 miles and I provide detailed driving directions. Thanks again for renting the house and we look forward to your next stay. Jana and family
business
New Luxury Executive home close to Stanford University and Palo Alto
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188166
+1 6503030094
Palo Alto The Bay Area
5

A getaway cabin in the heart of silicon valley

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My girlfriend and I stayed here for a couple of weeks and we can't say enough how much we loved it. It's absolutely beautiful. I recommend this place to anyone, without hesitation. Stay here, you won't regret it.

The area feels secluded but you're only a short drive to anything you need. The hiking and biking trails are endless and will reward you with spectacular views.

The house itself is amazing. It's the right combination of feeling like a cabin while having all the comfort and amenities of a modern house. Sit outside on the porch or the backyard and enjoy the stillness of the california redwoods.

If you love to cook, as we do, then this is the place for you. The kitchen and appliances are set up for a home chef. There are a great selection of restaurants nearby but it's more fun to cook a fantastic meal while sipping a glass of wine.

The bedrooms and bathroom are all super clean and fully stocked so you don't need to supply anything. This may not sound like much but trust me, it's the last thing you want to worry about when you're on a trip and it's a sign of a good host.

As for the owner, she's great. She was so inviting and caring we felt like we knew her by the time she was done giving us the tour. We had no problems at all with the house but if we did I'd have no doubt the owner would have taken care of us. She also gave some great recommendations.

I don't think I'm even doing this house justice. You should stay here if any of the following apply:
You want a quiet california getaway,
You want a distraction free place to work
You love to cook
You're sick of hotels and want to be someplace you can call home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
New Luxury Executive home close to Stanford University and Palo Alto
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188166
+1 6503030094
Palo Alto The Bay Area
Southeast, MIchigan
5

Stanford/Silicon Valley Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This gorgeous house is a peaceful retreat in the hills near Stanford University and the many companies in Silicon Valley. It is perfect for vacation and business travelers for short- and long-term stays. We enjoyed the wonderful light and views of nature via many windows, outdoor decks, and the beautiful open great room with a fireplace. There are bedrooms on three separate floors, each with its own bathroom. Easy access to Stanford, Silicon Valley businesses and freeways to San Francisco, San Jose, and the beach, yet a world away from the hustle and bustle of the area with nearby walking and running paths, nature preserve, popular biking routes, horseback riding, and quaint restaurants.

The property owner is easy to communicate with and very helpful – a delight!

The photos and property description give a glimpse of lovely the house, property, and amenities. The house is sunny, airy, and clean and includes a kitchen well outfitted for cooking, entertaining, or just enjoying a morning cup of coffee.

I hope to stay here again for both business and pleasure (family vacation, weekend with friends, and romantic retreat) and highly recommend this property. It is a gem!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
New Luxury Executive home close to Stanford University and Palo Alto
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p188166
+1 6503030094
Palo Alto The Bay Area
Southeast, MIchigan
5

Business and Vacation Retreat Near Stanford University and Silicon Valley

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This gorgeous house is a peaceful retreat in the hills near Stanford University and the many companies in Silicon Valley. It is perfect for vacation and business travelers for short- and long-term stays. We enjoyed the wonderful light and views of nature via many windows, outdoor decks, and the beautiful open great room with a fireplace. There are bedrooms on three separate floors, each with its own bathroom. Easy access to Stanford, Silicon Valley businesses and freeways to San Francisco, San Jose, and the beach, yet a world away from the hustle and bustle of the area with nearby walking and running paths, nature preserve, popular biking routes, horseback riding, and quaint restaurants.

The property owner is easy to communicate with and very helpful – a delight!

The photos and property description give a glimpse of lovely the house, property, and amenities. The house is sunny, airy, and clean and includes a kitchen well outfitted for cooking, entertaining, or just enjoying a morning cup of coffee.

I hope to stay here again for both business and pleasure (family vacation, weekend with friends, and romantic retreat) and highly recommend this property. It is a gem!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1