Front Royal house rental - View of house from River
View of house from River
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Front Royal House Rental Photos and Description
3BRs, 2BAs, Sleeps 8

Spend the weekend...or even a week. There's so much to do in and around Front Royal, Virginia. Or do nothing at all, except sink into the view of the beautiful Shenandoah River running by your living room and the Fall Foliage all around you.

This cabin/house has been completely renovated in 2005 and sleeps eight. The entire upstairs is bathed in the light of huge river front sliding glass doors. The 40 plus feet of glass and the balcony/deck along the entire front of the house provides an expansive view of the river and the horse farm on the other side. And the deer, fox, turkey, herons, ducks, and geese are all part of the experience!

Located at the end of a gravel road that parallels the river, there is a feeling of complete seclusion and peace...and yet you are ten minutes from downtown Historic Front Royal and just minutes away from a series of Virginia wineries, most area attractions and great restaurants. *** Email us for more Pictures! ***

31 Reviews of Property 187677 in Front Royal, Virginia

Shenandoah River Runs Through Your Living Room!!
average rating of 4.903226 based on 31 reviews
business
Shenandoah River Runs Through Your Living Room!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187677
202 360-9985
Front Royal Shenandoah Valley
4

Quiet and Secluded!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We rented this property because we were having a 40th. Birthday party for our daughter. The children loved the fishing, walking and we even had several games of corn hole. It was clean and roomy inside and the view of the river amazing!
business
Shenandoah River Runs Through Your Living Room!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187677
202 360-9985
Front Royal Shenandoah Valley
Schnecksville
5

Quiet and relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This property is located at the end of a very quiet road. It added to the peace and quiet that we were hoping to find. I loved the amount of space in the house as well. We were able spread out and not feel as if we were bumping into each other all the time.

We spent a few days there just doing nothing but BBQing and swimming in the river. The rest of the week long trip we went to the Skyline Drive and visited a few caverns. (highly recommended) We rented kayaks from Downriver Canoe Company, and spent about 5 hours on the river taking in the sights and eating a picnic lunch.

There is a burger and custard/icecream place in town that I must say was some of the best I have ever had. It is called Spelunkers. Unfortunately I cannot review any other restaurants or eateries, we mostly cooked at home. There is a Walmart Supercenter and several grocery stores within a 15 min drive from the house as well.

We enjoyed our stay here, and would recommend it as a place to stay if you are looking for peace and quiet.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Shenandoah River Runs Through Your Living Room!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187677
202 360-9985
Front Royal Shenandoah Valley
Mifflinburg PA
5

REVIEW FROM LISA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The easy going and personalized owner was the best, in communicating with her! There was a situation that arose in which we needed some assistance; the owner immediately took care of it. A good landlord, she is.
We enjoyed the peacefulness and quietness of this setting, along the river. If you are a serious fisherman or a kayak owner - this is the place to go. We hope to return, to do some serious fishing... At night, we were thrilled to listen to the Screech owl and the Barred owl. This place is for nature loving folks.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Shenandoah River Runs Through Your Living Room!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187677
202 360-9985
Front Royal Shenandoah Valley
Arlington, VA
5

Great property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I spent the weekend here with my family and another (4 kids aged 7-10) and had a great time. The house was at the end of the road and very secluded so we had a lot of privacy and no cars driving by. The house was even better than what's shown in the pictures and was clean and well equipped. The house was close to Front Royal, making trips to the supermarket very easy. The owner was very easy to work with, communicative and responsive. I definitely recommend this property!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Shenandoah River Runs Through Your Living Room!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187677
202 360-9985
Front Royal Shenandoah Valley
Washington DC
5

Enjoyable weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I went with 6 other friends on a weekend in mid-July. The inside of the house is in great condition and very modern. The best part of the house is the open deck, which you can't see that well in the pictures, but it is on the top level at the right, off the kitchen. That's where the grill is. There is plenty of space on the deck, and a table where 7 people could easily share a dinner overlooking the river. There are plenty of chairs. The satellite map makes it look like you may see a farm across the river, but the trees on the other side were fairly thick, providing a nice secluded feeling.

The river level was about 3 feet at the deepest, and extremely warm for swimming due to the recent heat. Apparently the river level can change a fair amount, so for reference, when we were there, the offical National Weather Service gauge for Front Royal was 1.4 ft, so I think you could add 1.6 ft to whatever that is if you really want to know how deep the water will be in the middle of the river at this house. The first 30 feet of water walking out is a bit rocky, so it would be wise to bring sandals or water shoes if you go swimming.

If you don't have all couples that can share queen beds, there is plenty of space in the living room to set up an extra inflatable bed. The air conditioning works great. The kitchen is well equipped.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Shenandoah River Runs Through Your Living Room!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187677
202 360-9985
Front Royal Shenandoah Valley
Silver Spring, MD
5

Family Fun!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our family rented this house and had a blast. We have 2 children ages 6 and 9 and couldn't have had a better experience. We relaxed on tubes and rafts in the river for hours and played many many board games in the very comfortable house. The views from the top floor of the house are worth the trip. We would definitely rent again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Shenandoah River Runs Through Your Living Room!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187677
202 360-9985
Front Royal Shenandoah Valley
Washington, DC region
5

Comfortable, roomy, peaceful retreat on the river

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband and I rented this house for a Friday-Sunday weekend for ourselves and two other couples. The house is beautifully situated on the Shenandoah River. At the time we were there, the river was wonderfully clear, not very swift moving and only came up to chest height for adults. Perfect for wading around in the summer heat. We didn't go up or down river very far but it seems it would be a fantastic place to bring your own kayak to explore a bit or a raft/tube to just relax in the water.

The listing accurately described the house, which is very nicely maintained. There was ample room for the six of us and the house was very comfortable, with many amenities one would find in your own home (cooking/eating utensils, kitchen appliances, grill, patio furniture, heat/A/C, cleaning supplies).

There are other homes in the vicinity, but you wouldn't know it when you're at the house. It was also a convenient jaunt into Front Royal.

The owners were great to work with setting up the rental and very helpful with any and all questions. We packed out our own trash and provided our own linens but there's optional garbage and linen service for a very reasonable fee if you need it.

One note: bring bug spray if you want to enjoy the outdoors, especially at night.

We would definitely recommend this house to others and look forward to staying here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Shenandoah River Runs Through Your Living Room!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187677
202 360-9985
Front Royal Shenandoah Valley
virginia
5

A Great Vacation Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
The home was as described. The view and acess to the water was wonderful. My boyfriend and I went for a kayak ride everyday but one and that was only called on account of ran. The home is situated perfectly for privacy and still accessable to activities and the local grocery.

We would gladly reccomend the property and return again.

Thank so much for a great experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Shenandoah River Runs Through Your Living Room!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187677
202 360-9985
Front Royal Shenandoah Valley
Falls Church, VA
4

Great Family Vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We spent Veteran's day weekend at this property and had a great time. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed. The beds were very comfortable. This house was set up perfectly for two families to share. My only recomendation to new guests is bring slippers! The floors were a little cold! Even though the weather was cold, we found plenty to do in the area. The house is in a very peaceful location and we had a great time cathching up with friends. The owners were very helpful and accomodating. I recommend it!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Shenandoah River Runs Through Your Living Room!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187677
202 360-9985
Front Royal Shenandoah Valley
Woodbridge, VA
5

Excellent get away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My girlfriend and I just stayed for the weekend. The house is very spacious and clean. The view from the deck is awesome. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be comming back. The owners were very easy to work with and answered all questions and concerns.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway