Hilo house rental - A year round stream borders the property and keeps the ponds filled with fresh cool water.
A year round stream borders the property and keeps the ponds filled with fresh cool water.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
 

Hilo House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 4 maximum. (Sorry, no children under 18)

If you are coming to the Hilo side of the Big Island to see waterfalls & experience the magnificent beauty of Hawaii's tropical wonders then this private and romantic property is for you. Save the beach experience for Maui, Kauai or Oahu. With a year round stream, small private lake and koi pond this is the tropical Hawaii you only see in movies; unspoiled and totally private, just you and the sights, sounds and smells of a lush green tropical paradise. This home is located in one of the most pristine tropical areas on the Big Island (only 2 minutes off the main road). Build a romantic fire, enjoy the spa quality indoor cedar sauna or relax in the Japanese Tea house & read a book while listening to the stream, the possibilities are endless. Stay connected with our free high speed WI-FI. Be sure to scroll to the very bottom of this site to read all the details and see all 12 photos. We guarantee vacation memories to last a lifetime

'Romantic Retreat With A Fireplace & Indoor Sauna': Build a romantic fire in the fireplace or enjoy a steam in the private indoor cedar sauna. The master bedroom welcomes you with a Serta 'Perfect Sleeper' Eastern King sized bed with an adjacent master bath. Both bathrooms have full size tubs and showers. The second guest bedroom offers you a Queen Size pillow-top bed. Fall asleep to the crickets singing and the soothing sound of the stream running over the rocks. It is also one of the few houses on the Hilo side of the island that does not have a metal roof (less than 1%). Metal roof you say? If you have stayed on the Hilo side before and found yourself wide awake in the middle of the night to the clatter of rain on a metal roof, then this is the house for you. It has a quiet conventional shingle roof.

'Two Ponds And A Weeping Wall': The master bedroom has a large Koi Pond just outside the window and the koi will be stirring and waiting for you when you wake up and give them a treat. Both bedrooms look out onto a beautiful year round stream that runs completely along the perimeter of the property. A second large pond (79,000 gallons) with talapia and huge 30 year old koi, is just outside the front door. There is also an outdoor shower for those who like to enjoy nature at its best.

Just outside your living room windows, across the pond there is a weeping wall, constantly running water down its rough lava face. These places are often called 'Pele's Tears'. It is said of 'weeping walls' that 'Pele' the Hawaiian Fire Goddess who created the 'aina' is weeping for her children (the islands). We often see a beautiful and rare Hawaiian Hawk (Pronounced...'Io). She likes to come in the mornings and hunt crawdads out of the stream. Watch her from your table as she perches on the large boulders and enjoys her breakfast.

'Become One With The Aina (the land)': This lovely 2+ acre property invites you to become 'one with the aina' (the land). The entire 2+ acres is it's own little secluded valley and offers you absolute privacy. It cannot be seen by any other house and has only one way in and out. The bordering sides of the property are steep valley walls. This vacation rental gives you the ultimate 'get away from it all' experience without driving out to the middle of nowhere. We are NOT off the grid. This house has County of Hawaii Water and Electricity, we are NOT dependent on solar, generators or catchment water as most rain forest properties are.

This property is located 15 miles North of Downtown Hilo and easily access by all paved Hwy. and roads. A short 3 miles back down Hwy. 19 to Kolekole Beach Park will give you the opportunity to swim in a huge waterfall that drops into a stream. This waterfall is located in a City & County Park and admission is free. It is rarely found by tourists and is easily accessed by car with a nice paved road (no hiking required) it even has a rope swing. *Always use caution in any stream or waterfall.

More Details
Hide Details

We retired from our lives on California's Central Coast in 1991 to move to Hawaii. Since then we have lived on Oahu's North Shore. We are fortunate to have our children and grandchildren also living here in the islands. We are active with multiple animal and children charities and are grateful to be living in such a special place.

Linda Martin purchased this house in 2008

Since we live full time on Oahu's North Shore we chose Heaven's Door as a second home for ourselves. Living on the beach is wonderful but we thought a tropical hideaway just a short 40 min. flight from Oahu would be the ideal getaway. One of the best things about Heaven's Door is that it is not dependent on solar or generators and it was indeed difficult to find a country property with a stream and water features that was actually 'on the grid' with County water and electricity. The search went on for 3 years to find this unique and pristine property but it was was well worth it.

Don't get me wrong, we love our home at the beach on Oahu, but going over to the quiet town of Hilo and the serenity of Heaven's Door is truly a Hawaiian experience even for those of us who live in Hawaii year round. I can't begin to describe the peace that comes over us when we get to Heaven's Door. There are no other sounds except the wind rustling the palm trees and the birds. At night my husband likes to listen to the frogs and crickets something we don't have at the beach. This tropical paradise is our favorite local getaway even though we spend a lot of our time there fixing, fine tuning and caring for the property. We are fortunate to have a wonderful caretaker who does the gardening and cleanings for us and only lives two miles away. I encourage you to experience Heaven's Door for yourself, you won't be disappointed. Check out the guest comments from other people just like yourself. Aloha Oe', Linda and Ken Martin

34 Reviews of Property 187646 in Hilo, Hawaii

'Heavens Door' Private Tropical Estate, Stream & Ponds *32 Reviews, All 5/5 Star
average rating of 5.0 based on 34 reviews
business
'Heavens Door' Private Tropical Estate, Stream & Ponds *32 Reviews, All 5/5 Star
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187646
+1 808 293-1447
Hilo Hilo District
Texas
5

Highlight of our trip!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
We want to thank you again for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home while we visited the Big Island. No matter how amazing the sights of our day were, we always found our surroundings when we got home breathtaking! Pictures simply cannot do its beauty justice. We could not have imagined a more perfect place. The notes and instructions left around the house were also very helpful and thoughtful, and really showed the pride and care you have in your property.We will be recommending you to all of our friends!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
'Heavens Door' Private Tropical Estate, Stream & Ponds *32 Reviews, All 5/5 Star
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187646
+1 808 293-1447
Hilo Hilo District
5

A gem of a place...Truly Heaven's Door!

A gem of a place...Truly Heaven's Door!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We stayed at this amazing home last week. We arrived in the dark, but when we awoke we ran outside to take in the gorgeous grounds and Koi ponds. Our cameras were clicking away. I'm so glad I found this place. Our time their with our daughters is one that we will never forget. The owners were very easy to work with and very helpful. We lack nothing and enjoyed feeding the Koi and watching the cats on the back porch that the loving owner feeds. The home is beautiful with huge windows everywhere so you can't miss the gorgeous scenery. My biggest regret is that we had to leave. If and when we visit Hilo again, this will be our home away from home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for such a wonderful and descriptive review. We're very happy when our guests enjoy Heaven's Door as much as we do.
business
'Heavens Door' Private Tropical Estate, Stream & Ponds *32 Reviews, All 5/5 Star
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187646
+1 808 293-1447
Hilo Hilo District
Long Beach, CA
5

Storybook setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Incredible house located in a setting straight out of a child's storybook. As we look at our photos and videos from our stay at Heaven's Door it just doesn't seem real. There is nowhere else like this. We had a fantastic time going everywhere on the Big Island for eleven days with this as our base. Perfect!!!
Owner's Response: WOW!…….What a great review. What can I say, thank you for your wonderful comments. We are always pleased when people enjoy Heaven's Door as much as we do. Mahalo, Linda and Ken
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
'Heavens Door' Private Tropical Estate, Stream & Ponds *32 Reviews, All 5/5 Star
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187646
+1 808 293-1447
Hilo Hilo District
5

BEAUTIFUL

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This is a fantastic place to get away from everything while still being close enough to easily get to some fantastic sights. The koi pond was certainly a highlight! You can tell the owners take a tremendous amount of pride in the property and it's amenities. The pictures do not do justice to the true beauty of this place! It's clean, well maintained and simply relaxing.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Heavens Door' Private Tropical Estate, Stream & Ponds *32 Reviews, All 5/5 Star
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187646
+1 808 293-1447
Hilo Hilo District
5

Paradise within Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The pictures and description do not do Heavens Door justice. My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights in May. When we first arrived we just stood next to our car and just stared. You feel like you are in your own private paradise! The house is perfect and there is not anything we would want to change.
In addition to the lush grounds the fish pond is a little perk with fish that are eager to see you every time you come outside to visit them.

We are eager to come back to Hawaii and will certainly want to enjoy the little bit of heaven provided by Heavens Door.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed the serenity of Heaven's Door. We (owners) are visiting here ourselves this week from Oahu. We often forget how private, quiet and serene Heaven's Door is until we pull up the driveway. It's always special, no matter how many times you see it:)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Heavens Door' Private Tropical Estate, Stream & Ponds *32 Reviews, All 5/5 Star
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187646
+1 808 293-1447
Hilo Hilo District
Saskatoon, Canada
5

Love this Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This is the second time we've stayed here and loved it even more this time. It is very private, and like the description says, you can't see any neighbors. The yard is absolutely beautiful. I enjoyed feeding the fish and the cats. One of the feral cats is brave enough to come in the house for treats (she loved cooked tuna). The house and yard are very well-maintained. Lindsay, the gardener/cleaner does a great job and is very friendly.

Although secluded, there's lots to do nearby. Some of the things I'd recommend are the farmer's market in Hilo for lots of fresh fruit, snorkeling at Richardson Ocean Park, exploring the Kaumana Caves in Hilo, Volcanoes National Park, Mauna Kea, and the Waipio Valley.

Linda, the property owner, is great to deal with. She's very professional and provides lots of helpful information. This time we made a point of spending time relaxing in the yard enjoying the wonderful sights and sounds. I will definitely recommend this property to friends and family. Looking forward to staying here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha: Thank you for choosing to stay with us again at Heaven's Door. Nothing says more about a property than return guests. Glad you were able to meet "Bitsy", she is one of 7 feral cats that we've trapped and had spayed/neutered. She is the only one that is somewhat friendly, perhaps with time and more guests like you she will turn into a "socialized kitty". Hope to see you again next year:) Linda
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Heavens Door' Private Tropical Estate, Stream & Ponds *32 Reviews, All 5/5 Star
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187646
+1 808 293-1447
Hilo Hilo District
Woodland Hills, Utah
5

Fantastic Location and home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We highly recommend this home, deep in the beautiful rainforest near Hilo. Great location, comfortable home with all the amenities. Couldn't have been a better experience. We will absolutely stay here again when we come back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Heavens Door' Private Tropical Estate, Stream & Ponds *32 Reviews, All 5/5 Star
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187646
+1 808 293-1447
Hilo Hilo District
Beaverton, Oregon
5

Garden of Eden (no snakes allowed)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Thank you Linda & Ken for a wonderful week in a Garden of Eden. You thought of everything, and we loved being able to feed the Koi Pond, and make friends with the cats. This is a truly amazing property, and the love you have shown to it is so evident. Thanks for sharing it with others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha and thank you for your great comment. We love it when guests try to make friends with our feral cats and enjoy the friendly fish that follow you around the pond area. We have trapped the wild feral cats on the property and had them spayed/neutered so they don't reproduce. We are happy to supplement them with feeders, they are an important part of the ecosystem in keeping unwanted pests away. Aloha Oe', Linda and Ken
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Heavens Door' Private Tropical Estate, Stream & Ponds *32 Reviews, All 5/5 Star
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187646
+1 808 293-1447
Hilo Hilo District
5

Fantastic getaway...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We rented this house for our honeymoon and very happy that we found this cozy place.
Just you and nature, what else do you need for the honeymoon? The house is well equipped, just stay and enjoy every day with all flora and fauna around :)
Many thnks to Linda, she is a wonderful host.....And all the best!
Looking forward to come back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Congratulations again on your Hawaii wedding and thank you for your wonderful review. We are always very pleased when our guests enjoy our Heaven's Door as much as we do. Mahalo and Aloha Oe', Linda
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Heavens Door' Private Tropical Estate, Stream & Ponds *32 Reviews, All 5/5 Star
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187646
+1 808 293-1447
Hilo Hilo District
Tucson, AZ
5

A True Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Even though we arrived at night (and in a torrential rain), we were immediately blown away by the magic of Heavens Door. From the enticing road leading to the house, the beautiful surrounding rain forest, and the large teaming koi pond to the house itself we were amazed at the beauty of this property. If anything the reality surpassed the listing description. And I should mention we were there a full week in the rainiest month (November). We were able to buy just-caught ahi tuna at the fish market and fresh vegetables at the farmers' market in Hilo and cook our dinners in the well-equipped kitchen, enjoying the rain forest view as we ate. The beds were comfortable, bathrooms squeaky clean, and the sauna was much appreciated after a rainy day in Volcano NP (especially by our Swedish friend). Short ride to Akaka Falls, Botanical garden, four-mile scenic drive, and Hilo. Easy trip to the Kona side for excellent beaches, snorkeling and sun. The owner was very pleasant to deal with and we found the many notes in various parts of the house informative and entertaining. We also enjoyed feeding the fish and feral cats. Obviously, we will be recommending this property to family and friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3