Mariposa house rental - The Outdoor Living Room provides a peaceful place to renew your spirit
The Outdoor Living Room provides a peaceful place to renew your spirit
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Mariposa House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Whether you are looking for a peaceful mountain getaway or trying to find lodging for your group near Yosemite National Park, Sunset Roost is the perfect choice! The Sunset Roost offers quiet solitude in a beautiful foothill setting.

The Sunset Roost is a three bedroom, two-bath manufactured home that has been fully renovated inside and out. It is tastefully decorated throughout. Sunset Roost is designed for adults as a non-smoking property. Artwork from local artists adorns every room and spills into the Outdoor Living Room and gardens. And the sunset view is what you will always remember!

An open floor plan invites interaction throughout the living area. The large peninsula counter separates the kitchen from the dining area and provides plenty of prep space for creating meals or picnic lunches to take into Yosemite. It’s also a great place for breakfast before you head out for the day. This opens into the living room, which truly is a room with a view! A leather sofa and love seat face one another and look out over the deck towards the Merced River Canyon. The futon day-bed is the perfect place to lounge and enjoy the view (it is also a double bed).

Each of the three bedrooms has a character of its own. The master bedroom is outfitted with a king sized pillowtop bed with a down comforter. Artwork in the master bedroom and bath is relationship inspired; perfect for romantic evenings. There is a large bathtub and separate shower in the master bath, as well as double sinks.

The second and third bedrooms are located on the opposite end of the house adjacent to the second bathroom. Both have queen size beds with down comforters. The Wildflower Room has a tall sleigh bed and colorful photography from the surrounding foothills and high country. The Half Dome Room has a low platform bed to allow full view from its second (west facing) window. Local art depicting Yosemite’s most recognizable icon adorns the walls.

Enter the Outdoor Living Room through either of the glass doors onto the deck. Defined mostly by the 800 square foot redwood deck and hot tub, you will find yourself spending considerable quality time out here. Outdoor meals are wonderful with the evening breeze and unobstructed sunset views. The main table seats six and a small bistro table seats two more. Cook outside on the propane BBQ while you relax on a pair of chaise lounges.

It is a bit hard to say where the Outdoor Living Room ends and the yard begins. A lush green lawn invites you to spend your afternoon in the shade of the pines relaxing in the hammock. The gardens are filled with flowers, herbs, and native plants which keep the birds, bees and butterflies happy. There are walking trails on-site that wander down the “tunnel trail” through manzanita, oak, and pine forests before looping back around through oak savanna and up to the top—the Roost. Wildlife is abundant at The Roost. You may see deer, birds, fox, turkey, peacocks, squirrels, raccoons, and bats.

The Sunset Roost offers all the comforts of home. Whether your idea of vacationing involves cooking gourmet meals or take-n-bake pizza, the full amenity kitchen has everything you will need. The home theater system includes a high quality Onkyo 5.1 Dolby Digital surround sound receiver, DVD player, CD player, and satellite TV. Wireless DSL is provided for those who can’t go without their laptop. Of course there are plenty of pillows and blankets to keep you comfortable, and the large washer and dryer will keep your clothes clean if you’re on an extended holiday.

The Sunset Roost is conveniently located in the community of Midpines, California along the Highway 140 corridor. It is a 25-mile drive to the Yosemite National Park boundary along the “all weather highway” which follows the Wild and Scenic Merced River (37 miles to Yosemite Village). Heading the other direction, you will find the gold rush town of Mariposa 10 miles to the West. Merced is 45 miles, and the Fresno airport is a 90-minute drive. The Merced River Recreation Area (Briceburg) is less than 7 miles away.

There is plenty to do in the area. Most visitors will go into Yosemite, but some, who seek solitude, will be quite satisfied to avoid the crowds. The historic town of Mariposa offers shops, restaurants, a film cinema, groceries, gas and supplies. Outdoor recreation abounds! Whitewater Rafting and kayaking are excellent in the spring. Birding, hiking, fishing, swimming, sunbathing, mountain biking, and gold panning are popular along the Merced River and in The Park. Yosemite is a Mecca for rock climbers from around the world! There is something for everyone to do while staying at the Sunset Roost, even if you never leave the property—remember that hammock and the Outdoor Living Room?

We, the owners of the Sunset Roost, have lived here since 2000 and have explored much of the region. We can help you plan your visit and will even clue you in to our secret spots and favorite hikes (if you promise to respect the land and leave no trace).

So come on up to the Sunset Roost for your next vacation and let us help you make the most of your visit!

Keywords: Yosemite National Park, Wild and Scenic Merced River, Mariposa, Private, Solitude, Peaceful,

View, Yard, Garden, Hot Tub, Deck

More Details
Hide Details

39 Reviews of Property 140488 in Mariposa, California

Sunset Roost-the Perfect Nest for Yosemite-Private Hot Tub
average rating of 4.8717947 based on 39 reviews
business
Sunset Roost-the Perfect Nest for Yosemite-Private Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140488vb
(209) 379-2667 (California, USA)
Mariposa Yosemite Area
Ireland
5

'Perfect'

'Perfect'
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
In a word 'PERFECT'. This home is a gem. Every detail has been carefully thought about. Decor beautiful. Views breathtaking. Wildlife amazing. We loved it and would recommend it unreservedly.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Sunset Roost-the Perfect Nest for Yosemite-Private Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140488vb
(209) 379-2667 (California, USA)
Mariposa Yosemite Area
5

A relaxing haven!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We just returned from our trip to Sunset Roost spending 4 days in Yosemite for hiking and sight seeing. What a wonderful and peaceful retreat this was for our family of five - we especially enjoyed the hot tub after hiking each day and cooking our own meals in the well stocked kitchen. So much thought was put into decorating and stocking this home with items. Thank you David and Tracy!
business
Sunset Roost-the Perfect Nest for Yosemite-Private Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140488vb
(209) 379-2667 (California, USA)
Mariposa Yosemite Area
5

Relaxing weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had such a wonderful time at the Sunset Roost! The weather wasn't the best, but it was so nice to be in a homey environment. It was impeccably clean, thoughtfully furnished and so full of detail. Almost everything was taken care of for us as the guests. The only thing I would recommend is a hair dryer, I had to purchase one from a local CVS. Thanks for our great weekend getaway!!!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a nice time at the Sunset Roost. We certainly try to think of everything to make your stay easy and comfortable.

We have provided hair dryers in the past and none of them seem to last very long.

Happy Trails,

David and Tracy—Owners
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunset Roost-the Perfect Nest for Yosemite-Private Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140488vb
(209) 379-2667 (California, USA)
Mariposa Yosemite Area
5

Awesome Place!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband and I stayed for 5 wonderful nights. The house is so cozy and comfortable, with lots of attention to details. The kitchen is COMPLETELY equipped with everything you will need to make meals. It is obvious that the owners, David and Tracy, truly take pride in their home and it shows! The property and location is so beautiful, quiet and very private which we loved. We even saw dear and their fawns several evenings munching on the grass. If you want to get away from the crowds this is a great place, yet close enough to drive into Yosemite Park and enjoy a day then head back to the house and take a dip in the Jacuzzi and BBQ dinner. We hope to return soon. Thanks so much for sharing your home with us:)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sunset Roost-the Perfect Nest for Yosemite-Private Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140488vb
(209) 379-2667 (California, USA)
Mariposa Yosemite Area
5

Perfect house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I stayed in this house with my husband and another couple during the thanksgiving holiday and we don't have nothing to complain about. The house has an open concept that is perfect if you want to spend time with friends and family. Everything is really clean and comfortable. The kitchen is fully equipped and we cooked delicious meals there every night after exploring Yosemite during the day. I can't forget to say that the spa was amazing after a hiking day. There is also many games in the house. I wish we had more days there only to enjoy everything that the house can offer. There is only one problem: the place is not close by the park. You will need at least 40 minutes to reach the valley.
Oh, I can't forget to say, that the owners, Tracy and David, are really friendly. They were always attentive when I called them and ready to help and answer all the questions.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunset Roost-the Perfect Nest for Yosemite-Private Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140488vb
(209) 379-2667 (California, USA)
Mariposa Yosemite Area
San Juan Capistrano
5

Perfection, you can quit looking!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
You always hope the vacation home you rent exceeds your expectations, this home did. The pictures on the website only hint as to how beautiful the surroundings are and how quiet and serene it actually is at the home. Within the first 10 minutes of being there we were visited by 6 deer and then at 2:00 a.m. 5 bucks showed up, what a great way to start a vacation. The home is spotlessly clean with wonderful details such as labels over light switches indicating what switch turns on what lamp or outdoor light, which towels are for the hot tub or the river and so on, very helpful when you are in an unfamiliar home. There were only two of us, but we could have easily shared this home with two other couples and not have felt cramped. In previous vacation homes we have rented there is always a couple of key items missing in the kitchen. However we did not encounter that problem in this kitchen. It is well stocked with all the knives, cooking utensils, pots and pans, towels and potholders you could possibly need. If you don’t feel like preparing a meal it’s only a 10 minute drive to Mariposa which has several lovely cafes and restaurants. Another big bonus to this home is the top of the line washer and dryer; which came in very helpful when I managed to spill enchilada sauce down the front of my clothes; even laundry soap is supplied. There is a very useful handbook which details everything you need to know about the home such as understandable instructions to access the Wi-Fi, how to operate the TV/cable/DVD/stereo equipment, and maneuvering the hot tub cover. The home is only a 30 to 45 minute drive to Yosemite and it’s so nice to be able to come back to such a peaceful home after a day among all the people at Yosemite. Seriously, you don’t need to bring anything to this home other than food and clothes. Even the pillows on the master bed were “just right”, wow!

Tracy was extremely accommodating and pleasant to work with beginning upon my initial contact and then with an e-mail only 12 hours after check-out informing us that our security deposit had already been refunded back to our credit card. I wish all vacation homes were as wonderful as Sunset Roost.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sunset Roost-the Perfect Nest for Yosemite-Private Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140488vb
(209) 379-2667 (California, USA)
Mariposa Yosemite Area
Bay Area
5

Great Yosemite Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The Roost was perfect for our trip of four to visit Yosemite National Park. The house was extremely clean and very well stocked with everything you could imagine. Plenty of blankets, pots and pans, games, and comfy spots to relax. The hot tub was a great place to relax in the evening and watch the sun set over the mountains, and the outdoor shower was also amazing. I can't think of a bad thing to say about our stay. Thanks to Tracy and David for sharing their gem of a house!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Sunset Roost-the Perfect Nest for Yosemite-Private Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140488vb
(209) 379-2667 (California, USA)
Mariposa Yosemite Area
5

A Jewel

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Private setting to relax, watch the sunsets, take walks, enjoy the beauty! House and property were even better than descriptions -- spacious, comfy beds, well-equipped. A beautiful 45 minute drive to Yosemite Valley, but great to come 'home' and relax in the hot tub! Two weeks next time -- one week just to sit on your deck and enjoy the view. Be sure to have lunch at the Ahwanhee in the valley and dinner at Savoury's in Mariposa. Thank you for sharing!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Sunset Roost-the Perfect Nest for Yosemite-Private Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140488vb
(209) 379-2667 (California, USA)
Mariposa Yosemite Area
Maitland, FL
5

Wonderful stay at the Roost

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We rented the house for our trip to Yosemite. The photos are a great depiction of the property but I think it is actually better in person. It comfortably accommodated my two pre-teen girls, my parents and myself and husband. The view and seclusion from neighbors was just what we were looking for. The house was immaculate and the owners took good care of us while we were there. We used the hammock and hot tub everyday after long trips into the park. Definitely visit the Merced river and one of the beaches there to just hang out. We used the tubes that were provided at the house for just floating and relaxing. I loved that it was within an hours drive to Yosemite Valley and near Mariposa. The house was perfectly stocked for making nice dinners and just relaxing overall. We saw plenty of wildlife at the house too. The tree swing and horse shoe pit were a hit with my kids. If we go back, we will stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Sunset Roost-the Perfect Nest for Yosemite-Private Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p140488vb
(209) 379-2667 (California, USA)
Mariposa Yosemite Area
Allentown, PA
5

Secluded Treasure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Tracy and David have created a wonderfully homey, secluded and comfortable (never rustic) escape in the woods. Everything has been thought of for you. The furnishings are upscale comfortable. We, and our teenagers (14 & 16) thoroughly enjoyed the quiet accommodations, the awesome deck with the fabulous view and, of course, the wi-fi and outdoor stereo system.

The hot tub was a real blessing after a long day hiking in Yosemite and I could have spent an extra week laying on the lounge chairs on the deck.

Yosemite is an hour drive away on very curvy roads. Mariposa is about 10 minutes away and the Supermarket there was perfect for stocking up on supplies. Mariposa is a very small town and there are not a ton of places to eat out but there is some quaint shopping along the main street and everyone is very friendly. Of course, the kitchen is stocked with everything you could need to prepare meals if you wish.

We would (and will) recommend this property to friends.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway