Meadows of Dan cabin rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Meadows of Dan Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cozy 1-Bedroom + Convertible bed(s) - 1 Bath - (Sleeps 2-4)

Escape the city life, getaway to this pet and child friendly mountain log cabin with extraordinary nature scenery all around you. Enjoy breath-taking sights and sounds of the outdoor from the deck while sitting in the hot tub or enjoying the gas barbeque. This cabin has year-round appeal for fishermen, hunters, golfers, couples retreats or friends hanging out. In winter drive 1 hr. 52 Min. to Winter Place Ski Resort in Ghent West Virginia. Cabin is close to Virginia Tec and Martinsville Spedway.

It is located on Native Trout Stream near New River in Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia and is a short distance from the Blue Ridge Parkway at Meadows of Dan. Trout fishing, hunting, hiking, and four wheeling are available on site. Bring your own equipment. Golf, swimming, boating, antiquing, wineries and horseback riding are all within a few miles. For those that must stay connected, the house has Satellite Flat Screen TVs.

For further information about this property an links to area attractions, visit website. There you will find links to local golf course, a local winery, a park with swimming, beach and boat rentals, etc.

Payment Information: Payment is due at the time of reservation. Payment may be made by check or credit card.

Cancellation Policy: We know that plans can go astray, however, we rely on advance reservations, and cancellations may not be readily refilled. To be fair to all concerned, our policy is as follows:

If a reservation is canceled 30 days or more prior to the arrival date, then the pre-payment will be refunded less a $50.00 administrative fee. If a reservation is canceled within 30 days of the arrival date, refunds will be dependent upon re-renting the property. You may not change your reservation to new date within the 30 day cancellation period. The reservation may not be changed to a shorter length of time. Extension to stays is subject to availability. All guests are financially responsible for the time reserved; there will be no refunds due to weather, change of plans, or early departures.

Trip Cancellation Insurance is available at:

http://www.travelguard.com/agentlink.asp?ta arc=268515&ASPP2agencyemail=george@cccruisefl.com.

Copy & paste to Browser.

More Details
Hide Details

We are private homeowners who live in Florida and this is our small guest cabin that sits below and at the bottom of the mountain from our 5 bedroom home, which we also rent when we are not there ourselves.

Things To Do - Click Here - http://www.glloghomes.com/homes/index.php?go=todos

Sits on stream near waterfall with a great deck and a hot tub effective May 1st.

10 Reviews of Property 187352 in Meadows of Dan, Virginia

Spectacular Mountain Log Cabin for Outdoorsmen, Sports Fans & Romantic Couples!
average rating of 4.8 based on 10 reviews
business
Spectacular Mountain Log Cabin for Outdoorsmen, Sports Fans & Romantic Couples!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187352
+1 5616258807
Meadows of Dan Blue Ridge Highlands
5

We loved our stay! It was wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My husband and I stayed for three nights. We loved the cabin. It was beautiful, quiet, and cozy. We would love to return again!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind note. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It is a unique cabin in a unique and private location. Yet it is very modern when compared to other rustic cabins along the Parkway. We would love to have you return.
business
Spectacular Mountain Log Cabin for Outdoorsmen, Sports Fans & Romantic Couples!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187352
+1 5616258807
Meadows of Dan Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Very nice, relaxing getaway.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We enjoyed the little cabin very much. Just right for the 2 of us. Just as described. Very clean and comfortable. Highly recommmend this property. The only thing I would say is if you go & it snows you would defintely need 4 wheel drive to get there. Owners were easy to work with as well. Hot tub was a great treat!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. Agreed! If we ever have 18" of snow again, even a four wheel drive will not help until the County clears the roads and it took a full day to get them clear enough for even a four wheel drive. Some of our guests were stopped at the Virginia/North Carolina boarder for a night because the State closed the roads into Virginia.

In addition, the state and County contracted anyone with a plow so no one could be hired to plow private drives or roads. Our caretaker actually had to purchase a snow blower from Lowes to clear our driveways so our guests who did arrive could drive up to the large home.

So, if anyone reading this wants a good deal on a heavy duty snow blower that was only used once and will probably never be used again it is yours for half of what we paid.

Everyone hopes for snow when they visit in the winter, but no one wants 18".

George Gehl
business
Spectacular Mountain Log Cabin for Outdoorsmen, Sports Fans & Romantic Couples!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187352
+1 5616258807
Meadows of Dan Blue Ridge Highlands
Hagerstown, Maryland
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The property was beautiful, we arrived late Friday night/Saturday morning. Saturday morning we awoke to some issues with the septic tank, the caretaker Bob came right out and was extremely nice and helpful. Cabin was very well taken care of and we loved our stay. Am looking to go back when we can spend some more time there and do some hiking and fishing.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your email. The septic system is a $32,000.00 engineered system because we are so close to Laurel Fork Creek. A screen broke and that caused the temporary problem but is being replaced as soon as the equipment can get in after the 18" of snow. The system works now, but we still want to pump and replace the screen with a newer and better type. The system has been in place for 7 years so I guess it was time for something to break. We apologize for the inconvenience.


Georg e & Linda
business
Spectacular Mountain Log Cabin for Outdoorsmen, Sports Fans & Romantic Couples!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187352
+1 5616258807
Meadows of Dan Blue Ridge Highlands
Harpers Ferry, WV
4

Pleasant place to stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The cabin was beautiful! Unfortunately we were there on a partially rainy weekend so we couldn't take full advantage of the hiking and scenery. We were not sure of the locations we could hike, either, as the note in the cabin said we could go down the road but there were many, many no trespassing signs so we didn't feel comfortable doing that. The "trail" was more for 4-wheelers and was quite muddy while we were there (consequence of the rains...) so we never got to see the view from the "mountain top."
We enjoyed the hot tub immensely and the deck was a great addition to the property! One thing that would have been helpful would be to have a "notebook" of information for those who stay outlining possible things to do. Also, the fireplace was not working while we were there but rather than call the caretaker in the late evening, we simply lived without it. All in all, we enjoyed the location and the quiet. Would be hard pressed to see 4 people there, however, as the living room area is quite small.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Sorry about the rain. The private property is posted, but the trail along the stream you spoke of is not private property and there are no homes or residents once you cross the small bridge by the manufactured home. But you are correct, mostly four wheelers along there and it would be muddy in the rain.

Thanks for letting me know about the fireplace. I will have Bob check it to see if the pilot light is bad or we maybe need to put a new unit in that is controlled by a TV like remote as we did in the large log home above on the mountain.

There are almost never four people in the small cabin unless it is parents and children. However, I have slept on the sofa bed and it is comfortable. There is little space left in that area when it is down at night which can make the midnight snack walking more difficult to do without notice.

I will check on that fireplace right now.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spectacular Mountain Log Cabin for Outdoorsmen, Sports Fans & Romantic Couples!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187352
+1 5616258807
Meadows of Dan Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Wonderful secluded cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My husband and I had a 2 night stay in this wonderful little cabin, enjoying the solitude the location offered and the fresh air and sunshine and being close to water. It is a remarkably well equipped cabin with anything and everything you might need to make for a pleasant stay. The owners were so incredibly helpful and the rental was so easily organised from our home in Australia. Thank you very much for a wonderful experience!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Margie for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our property and that the weather was beautiful. October is certainly a great month and the cabin is in a location where there is almost always sunshine.

Regards,


George Gehl
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spectacular Mountain Log Cabin for Outdoorsmen, Sports Fans & Romantic Couples!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187352
+1 5616258807
Meadows of Dan Blue Ridge Highlands
4

Lovely

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My husband and I loved staying at this cute little cabin. Everything was well maintained and clean.
The only thing that we were slightly unhappy about was some kind of pet hair on couch in the kitchen eating area. It wouldn't be a huge problem but, my husband and I are both allergic to pet hair and when we sat on the couch we were covered in hair. We just put a sheet over the couch and it was fine.
Everything else in the cabin was perfectly lovely. We enjoyed sitting in the hot tub in the evening and wading down the brook next to the cabin.
Hillsville was a great little town about 20 minutes away. We were able to get some groceries at a Food Lion and went to a few fun events on the weekend. Hillsville also, has a great farmers market on Saturday morning.
We ate some good BBQ at Aunt B's, enjoyed some music at a local concert on main street, and went to a truck pull (we didn't know what that was until we went...it was interesting.)
The one thing I wished we had brought with us was a DVD or two. Internet is usable but very slow so, get out all those last minute emails before you go.
Also, no cell reception. Bonus, I think!
We had a lovely time, overall.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Mountain Log Cabin for Outdoorsmen, Sports Fans & Romantic Couples!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187352
+1 5616258807
Meadows of Dan Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Charming Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My wife and I just returned from a two night getaway at this wonderful little cabin. This cabin is the perfect size for two people. Everything was as advertised. We cooked four meals at the cabin and had everything that we needed. We also got to meet your caretaker Bob. He was mowing the yard when we arrived. I had several questions and he answered everyone. We were using the grill on our first night there and it ran out of gas. I called Bob and he took care of the problem right away. The deck expansion and the hot tub were definitely worth the money. One of the first things I look for when renting a cabin is a hot tub. This one was just the right size. I was also impressed with the amount of lights and all the dimmer switches which helped to create the perfect mood. The only things that I would add would be some type of privacy screen on the hot tub end of the deck and a railing with a gate on the oppisite end of the deck. Other than that everthing was perfect. Thanks George and Linda for a wonderful, relaxing getaway.

Steve & Kaye
Boones Mill, VA
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. We had discussed some kind of curtain so that it could be closed for privacy or left open for the view. We will address that further. We are pleased that you enjoyed the cabin. It is definitely not roughing it. Also, Bob called me and purchased another tank so you would not have that problem again.

Regards,


George & Linda
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Mountain Log Cabin for Outdoorsmen, Sports Fans & Romantic Couples!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187352
+1 5616258807
Meadows of Dan Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Lovely Secluded Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our 1 year anniversary and loved it. The pictures matched what the cabin actually looked like. It had everything we needed. Besides the rain and a few creepy crawlers found we enjoyed our stay. We weren't able to enjoy the hot tub because it was too cold but we got lots of rest. Make sure you have everything you need before arriving because grocery stores and Wal-Mart are pretty far. Its really dark at night. Kind of scary I would suggest maybe some lights out there on the road. We are glad we chose to stay here to rest and get some much needed quality time. We are even looking into doing a couples trip to stay at the bigger cabin on the hill. Thanks George and Linda.

Asia and Burt
Owner's Response: Thanks Asia and Burt. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. There is a motion sensor that should have turned the floodlights on as soon as you pulled up with your car so you could see to get to the entry. I will have our caretaker check to see if it is working and see if we need additional lighting. You are absolutely right that it can be very dark.

As far as the big house; it books up early because there are few 5 bedroom homes that sleep fourteen and we receive a lot of family get togethers and couples groups. We also get a lot of wedding groups and groups there for the Martinsville Speedway, Floydfest, the annual Fidler's Convention in Galax, etc.

Regards,

George & Linda
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Mountain Log Cabin for Outdoorsmen, Sports Fans & Romantic Couples!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187352
+1 5616258807
Meadows of Dan Blue Ridge Highlands
Danville, VA
5

Relaxing Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The cabin was exactly as advertised. Everything worked right down to all fo the light bulbs, and it was immaculately clean. We could not have asked for a more comfortable, clean, and modernly equipped cabin. We will definitely rent from George and Linda again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spectacular Mountain Log Cabin for Outdoorsmen, Sports Fans & Romantic Couples!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p187352
+1 5616258807
Meadows of Dan Blue Ridge Highlands
5

Lucky enough to stay here for 2 weeks in July '12.

Lucky enough to stay here for 2 weeks in July '12.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I was lucky enough to stay here two separate times, both for a week each this July. If you're looking for relaxation, QUIET, wildlife, walks in the woods and beside streams, you better book this now. The first week I stayed here was to have a place, other than a boring hotel, in order to visit relatives in Galax. I was sick of hotels, and the added expense they bring with having to eat out.

The cabin was definitely the solution...and whenever I opened up one of the kitchen cabinets and found that a crockpot/slow cooker was one of the amenities, I knew for certain, I had made the right choice! The cabin is clean, and you immediately feel at home. Whenever I parked my car in the driveway, and then walked to the patio and heard the stream, I couldn't believe it!

The second week I stayed here was for more adventure/excursions in the area. My boyfriend and I are addicted to our cell phones, and you'll have to know you're not going to get reception here, but there's a solution to this. The owners will provide you with the cabin's phone # so that you can let family know where they can reach you. And, you can drive up to the top of the gravel road for .6 mile and get service. We have Verizon and we were able to get 4G service from there, no problem. You, too, can live (partially) unattached from your cell phone. You might even begin to love not being reachable 24/7! :)

Even though I've been visiting the greater Galax since my very 1st birthday 42 years ago, staying here allowed me to go on new adventures I previously wouldn't have. My boyfriend trucked in his motorbike and we went zipping around the mountain roads.

Sights you will not want to miss, by car, foot, etc.:
1) Mabry Mill and Chateau Morrisette on the Blue Ridge Parkway, mile marker for both is in the 170s.

2) Buffalo Mountain... Bring some water and a camera and make sure you go well before sundown. You will drive... and then park your car and walk/light hike for a mile-ish up to the peak of the mountain. Beautiful views and it's worth it. We had problems finding this. Do NOT just type "Buffalo Mountain" into your GPS. Instead, have it find Moles Road (forgot what town, Floyd?!) ... and then pick up the rest of the directions from the mountain's official website. It can be tricky otherwise.

3) Downtown Galax, 40 minutes away. Antique shops! Rex Theatre has bluegrass music most Friday nights at 8.

4) Foggy Ridge Cider. Check hours! They are only open on weekends.

ENJOY!
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great feedback and the panoramic photos. We are checking to see if the HomeAway site will accept panoramic photos. Also thanks for the great tips regarding the need for a new picnic table, additional garbage can, satelite service and the deck lounge chairs. All have already been corrected.

It is important for us to have this feedback from our guests so we can continue to imporove the experience. When you own homes, you tend to view things from your own perspective.

Last month we purchased a new grill based on feedback from another guest. He actually picked it up with new utencils and we deducted it from his rental.

This is a great place in the fall also as the leaves turn and hunting season begins. And I am told the trout fishing actually picks up.

And you are right! Our stress begins to fade as soon as we get in our car for the 12 hour drive to the mountains. In addition, we enjoy not being so accessable. Yes, we check emails in the morning, but are then free the rest of the day.
Helpful votes: 8/8