Never Rent This Villa Nor From The Owners Again!!!
Submitted: June 27, 2008
Stayed: June 2008
We will never rent this villa nor from the owners again!!! We were very particular in inquiring about the cleanliness of the villa. We were assured that the villa is very clean and in good condition. We were very disappointed with the cleanliness and state of repair of the villa! We left after one day and moved to a hotel, which incurred us additional costs! The two partners did not refund any for the horrible experience in their villa.
On cleanliness, my wife spent our 1st night and morning cleaning. Kitchen counters were dirty. White paper towels turned black after wiping off countertops. Stovetop had oil splatters and black grime. Fridge door handle had dirt that couldn’t be wiped off. Also, bug traps in dish cabinets? Stair handles were dirty. Stairs were carpet, which looked dated and dirty with stains. Cobwebs under the stairs, on the corners of the rooms and by the a/c units. Time was not spent thoroughly cleaning the place. I noted that the washer/dryer was not big enough for the bed covers.
On the state of repair, it seems the minimum amount was spent to repair the villa. Maybe it was omen that when we arrived and the owners led us into the villa via the terrace; screen door came off and had to be reinstalled. Kitchen screen door kept coming off, making it hard to open and close the door. Privacy was an issue as some vertical blinds in all flrs were missing. At night, with the lights on inside, people outside could see inside, including the 3rd flr master bdrm. The online pics did not show the missing blinds as they were drawn back.
Bottom and floors of 3rd flr shower had mold. Shower handle was broken. A piece of metal was sticking out to turn on/off the shower. The amenities included a washer/dryer, which had rust. We were told that the inside was ok, but who would wash their clothes in something that’s rusted.
The closets also were not clean and had other things (e.g. chains, costumes, etc.). The clothes bar was bent and I was afraid it would fall down. The 3rd flr master bdrm did not have a walk-in closet.
The beach was disappointing. We were told that the beach was sandy and nice. We should have noted that we were referred to Embassy Suites for a “nicer” beach. Driving to San Juan was more than 20 mins and with traffic more than 1 hr!
We weren’t looking for a 1st class villa, just a decent and clean villa. The response to some of our issues was that the villa was old. Old doesn’t mean it shouldn’t be repaired and maintained!
Owner's Response: For THREE years none of our guests have complained about the villa. In fact, most of them have returned or had recommended the villa to their friends and family. We assure all our customers that the property is in good conditions, clean and well maintained. However, for reasons beyond our control, we had a disagreement with this customer about our refund policy and this is the only reason why we assume he wrote such a distorted review. This review DOES NOT reflect the actual and real state of the property. For example, at the time the review was made, every bedroom had BRAND NEW linens and bed covers; the villa was recently painted; the washer/dryer was in mint conditions; and every bedroom had brand new mini split units. In fact, CURRENTLY the villa continues to be clean and well maintained. Also, professional cleaning services are provided right before every guest’s arrival.
Puerto Rico is a relatively small island: you can go from one end to another in about 2 or 3 hours. This particular property is located in the coastal city of DORADO, on the north coast of Puerto Rico, and is about 20 mins. away from San Juan. Nevertheless, like in any state of the U.S., during peak traffic hours (or unforeseen circumstances) the usual traveling time may vary. This is beyond our control. As a result, we advise customers that are not familiar with the island to plan their trip ahead in order to have an idea of the places they want to go and visit during their trip.
The villa is great for a “relaxing” vacation. The beach in front of the villa is nice and sandy and it is perfect for swimming, beachcombing and other leisure activities. As part of the “welcome tour” of our guests, information about the pool, other nearby beaches (including another beach inside the complex, by the Embassy Suites Hotel) and additional leisure activities is provided in order to make sure that guests are aware of ALL the amenities the villa has to offer. Therefore, while the beach in front of the villa is just perfect, guests can feel free to visit other nearby beaches.
Please note that we conduct our business in an HONEST and professional manner. There are no surprises or hidden agendas. We know how important it is to have a perfect vacation and we do our best to provide a good service and meet your expectations. If you would like more information about the villa, rental rules, our refund policy and/or additional pictures of the property, please feel free to contact us at any time.
Helpful votes: 18/20
Did you find this review helpful?