Kaanapali condo rental - Direct ocean view from living room.
Direct ocean view from living room.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Kaanapali Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

My condo on the third floor of the Mahana combines a newly remodeled elegant creature comfort spacious interior with a direct connection with the incredible esthetic of the natural beauty of Maui. As can be seen on my website, the front of my fully equipped condo - living and bedroom - is all glass with a wonderful view of the ocean, the islands of Lana'i and Moloka'i, the local palms, and the setting sun when day is done.

One cannot see anything built by humans except the occasional sailboat. Since we are so close to the beautiful Ka'anapali beach and the water, the waves provide a soothing invitation to a peaceful sleep. Also, the Mahana has thick walls and floors so neighbors are rarely heard; the entire complex also features free parking and wireless Internet access. The beach is right in front and easily available. Pool and tennis is on the property and also there is good snorkeling right off the coast. I'll be glad to provide you tips on restaurants and beaches, etc. around the island since Maui has been part of my life starting in 1976.

(Please note that my VRBO calendar is not kept up to date. Kindly contact me for availability. Also for information my Hawaii State Taxpayer identification number is W30358284-01)

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
Hide Details

Still working full time supporting our nation as a space systems engineer but love to come to the Mahana 2-3 times a year so I'm very familiar with Maui. Have been on the Board of Directors here so am very knowledgeable about the Mahana also. I will use whatever I know to help you in having a beautiful place to stay on Maui, as well as, advise you regarding beaches and places to eat, etc.

Aloha

Dr. Albert (Buzz) Merrill

Buzz Merrill purchased this condo in 1978

Because I love the beauty, the air, the weather, and the immediate connection to nature. Also now because I get visitor comments like: Apr 10- 'This is the perfect condo and location-we will be back'; Aug 10- 'Thanks again Buzz for the amazing condo-it was just perfect!'; Sept 10- 'we've been at The Mahana 4 times and this is the best unit we've had.'

Watching the waves-only 60 feet away. The changing colors of the sky and ocean as the sun sets. The opportunity for total relaxation or athletic activity whenever as one desires. Freedom to deeply appreciate life.

10 Reviews of Property 18688 in Kaanapali, Hawaii

Incredible Oceanview... Oceanfront Mahana 1BR, Newly Remodeled
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Incredible Oceanview... Oceanfront Mahana 1BR, Newly Remodeled
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p18688vbi
(310) 428-7102 after work
Kaanapali Maui
Calgary, AB
5

wonderful vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This condo was perfect for us - plenty of room and one wall is floor to ceiling mirrors, so no matter where you look, you see ocean, (and in January, lots of whales). It really does look like the pictures. Comfortable king-size bed, also with floor to ceiling bedroom windows looking out to the ocean . You couldn't get much closer to the water without being in it.

The full kitchen has everything needed for making your own meals, and the location is convenient both to restaurants like Dukes, as well as little strip mall spots with decent lunches and breakfasts, and a nearby Times grocery. Location at the north end of the Kaanapali beach walk makes it easy to stroll as far as you feel like, stopping for drinks along the way.

Little touches like soft Kleenex and toilet paper, lots of fluffy towels, laundry detergent, spices and condiments, etc. were welcome extras. And we found the chairs on the lanai super comfortable.

The ocean-front pool and hot tub in the property were well maintained, with lots of chairs, and there's a little coffee/breakfast/lunch bar next to the pool.

Buzz was very helpful in giving directions, making suggestions of places to eat. He had been there the week before us and even left fresh milk, eggs and bread in the fridge. We will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Incredible Oceanview... Oceanfront Mahana 1BR, Newly Remodeled
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p18688vbi
(310) 428-7102 after work
Kaanapali Maui
Northern Wisconsin, USA
5

This Condo deserves Six Stars! And so does the Owner.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
5 stars means "Excellent" on VRBO, but Buzz's condo goes beyond the excellent rating--it deserves 6 stars. We've stayed at the Mahana before and enjoyed the location and surroundings greatly, so coming back was an easy choice. Choosing Buzz's condo wasn't difficult as we knew what to expect about the building and the pictures of Buzz's place looked very good. But if you haven't been to the Mahana, the pictures never tell the whole story. The totally unobstructed views with the floor-to-ceiling windows--even the lanai "railing" is transparent--is breathtaking: it's that so-called "million-dollar" view. Buzz has done a great job in decorating the condo. It is roomy and homey and has all the amenities that one hopes for--large flat-screen tv in living area and bedroom, sound systems for the iPhone or iPod as well, binoculars for whale watching (we were too early this season), water toys, snorkel gear, books, games, and such. But unlike most condos, Buzz goes further and provides those additional little "necessities" such as bath tissue, paper towels, batteries, light bulbs and all those niggling little things that need to be replaced when you're staying for an extended time (2 weeks in our case). We've owned a rental condo on the Texas gulf coast for 20 years & know how not having those kind of things available can cause a vacation to be a little less enjoyable for a guest. Buzz has thought of everything. And if he hasn't, call him and he'll take care of it. The beach is accessible from in front of the condo and is great for walking. The boardwalk behind the Mahana meanders past some great resorts all the way down to Whaler's Village mall. It takes about an hour. There are tons of eating places within walking distance: Duke's Beach House (the Best!), Pizza Paradiso, Java Jazz, Soup Nutz. A little further away is CJ's Deli and down at Whaler's, the Hula Grill. You can't go wrong with them. We had a snafu with the door code the 1st night and crashed at our son's ohana in Pukalani that night (we stayed there the 2 weeks before--nice having a kid & his family on the island!), but Buzz made it up to us. I can totally recommend Buzz and his condo. You'll love this place! We did. If this is a 1st trip to Maui, get the "Maui Revealed" app for your iPhone/iPad. It'll cost you the same as the printed version but is by far the best guide to the island. Buzz has the printed copy (4th ed--current is 5th ed) in condo, but the app is a fantastic well-done resource.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Incredible Oceanview... Oceanfront Mahana 1BR, Newly Remodeled
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p18688vbi
(310) 428-7102 after work
Kaanapali Maui
5

Simply Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I cannot say enough good things about our time in this lovely condo. We had never been to Maui and despite the fact that I did a lot of research, we were still a little nervous about renting a condo in an area we didn't know at all. I wanted to post this review for anyone who might be experiencing something similar.

As many other people have already posted, the condo is EXACTLY as it appears in the photos (or I should possibly say the photos don't do it justice, I found it to be more beautiful in person) and was extremely clean. The building itself was very quiet and pleasant. It was one of the most peaceful and relaxing places I have ever stayed. Early mornings and sunsets on the lanai were just heavenly.

Also, the kitchen is well-stocked in terms of cooking supplies, dishes, etc. - and even things like sugar, salt, and non-perishables that other guests have left. There are plenty of towels and extra stock of everything from toilet paper, paper towels, tissues and even laundry detergent and fabric softner. There are many nice amenities for the beach as well that other guests have left in the past (we ended up leaving snorkel gear) that contribute to truly needing to bring nothing but yourself and your bathing suit.

Buzz was extremely helpful - gave us great directions on how to get there, excellent suggestions on things to do and offered any other assistance we needed. We felt at home in the condo the minute we walked in and it was one of the best vacations we have ever had. We did everything from the Road to Hana, horseback riding in south Maui, snorkeling, enjoying the town of Lahaina and some of the best food we have ever had (definitely recommend Mama's Fish House, the Pineapple Grill and Leilani's), and general relaxing on the beach. I highly recommend this condo and working with Buzz. We can't wait to figure out when we can go back again and I won't look anyplace else - I will call Buzz first thing to find out when his condo is available.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Incredible Oceanview... Oceanfront Mahana 1BR, Newly Remodeled
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p18688vbi
(310) 428-7102 after work
Kaanapali Maui
staten island, new york
5

Spectacular and Amazing Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This was our 5th trip to Maui, and by far, the best! Buzz, thought of everything. He was very generous with all our basic needs and wants. The up-to-date kitchen was well stocked and the spacious living rm.and bedroom with windows from fl. to ceiling were spectacular..Vibrant rainbows during the day, and the moon and stars lit up the night skies. Spent hrs.sitting on the lanai watching the whales at play and turtles riding the waves. Slept like peaceful,contented babies with the sounds of the ocean crashing on the beach below.Thank you, Buzz, for your generosity and allowing us to share your beautiful home.
Looking forward to our return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Incredible Oceanview... Oceanfront Mahana 1BR, Newly Remodeled
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p18688vbi
(310) 428-7102 after work
Kaanapali Maui
Wisconsin
5

Loved Maui and the Mahana

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Where do I begin? My husband and our two teenage daughters stayed at this condo for our first visit to Maui. As everyone else has stated it is BEAUTIFUL, clean, perfect for a family of 4!! The views are amazing, loved sitting on the lanai watching the sunsets and the turtles right below us, we saw so many whales!!! Anybody who is trying to decide between a hotel or condo, this condo should be your choice!! Also as stated Buzz is great to work with couldn't be any easier to deal with.Thank you for renting out your condo!
We spent alot of time at Lahaina , did 2 excursions with the Pacific Whale Foundation, (highly recommend) snorkled at Molokini, did the Road to Hana, spent a night at Whaler's Village which is very close to Mahana. My only regret of this trip is that we didn't stay long enough, and I hope someday we will be back.Thanks again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Incredible Oceanview... Oceanfront Mahana 1BR, Newly Remodeled
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p18688vbi
(310) 428-7102 after work
Kaanapali Maui
San Antonio, TX
5

Exceeded our expectations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I carefully research and plan our vacations. When we opened the door and walked into Buzz's Mahana, my husband exclaimed, "Wow, you really found a great one!" The pictures are accurate; however, only being there can give you that expansive feeling of being right on the ocean. We watched hearty athletes swim from Black Rock to past where we were. We could see turtles feeding below us in the water from the balcony. Access to the condo was very convenient. Parking was close and free. The King bed was comfortable; great shower, newly remodeled. New sofa in living room. Kitchen was updated and well-stocked with items both in the refrigerator and in the pantry. In fact, check what was left before you grocery shop. Grocery store right across the street seemed more reasonable than the Safeway in Lahania. Buzz was super to deal with; responsive to any isssues of condo maintanence. Housekeeper was very diligent in making certain that the condo was in pristine condition, working about 45 minutes past our check-in time cleaning up after previous guests. Thanks to Buzz for a great Maui vacation. You can't go wrong with this beauty!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Incredible Oceanview... Oceanfront Mahana 1BR, Newly Remodeled
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p18688vbi
(310) 428-7102 after work
Kaanapali Maui
Mundelein IL
5

Amazing! Incredible! Would go back in a heartbeat and have already recommended to friends

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband and I have just got back from our honeymoon in Maui and from staying at this oceanfront condo. What can I say? It was more amazing, more beautiful, and more breathtaking than we expected. We already discussed the fact that when we are coming back, we are coming back HERE! And have already stated this fact to everyone we know. We were incredibly impressed with the following:
1) The owner, easy to work with, very responsive and helpful.
2) The condo: Spacious, modern, clean, with tons of amenities that we did not even expect. All the kitchen items one may need to cook, (pots, pans, dishes, appliances), multiple sets of beach towels, beach chairs, and more.... Our FAVORITE parts of the condo were floor to ceiling windows and the most beautiful balcony that you can enter from the living room and the bedroom. This couldn't have been more perfect, you are on the third floor, which is perfect! You are not bothered by people who may be takng strolls on the beach, but you are just close enough to enjoy watching the waves roll onto the shore. Sitting on this balcony in the morning to have breakfast and before we went to bed was very special and very memorable for us. We felt that if we were on a higher floor, we wouldn't have enjoyed the feeling and the view as much as we did. The views are gorgeous, the sunset are perfectly visibly from this vantage point. Just perfect. I kept videotaping from the balcony because I wanted to always have the reminder of this view. I miss it just thinking about it. Would absolutely come back!!! Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Incredible Oceanview... Oceanfront Mahana 1BR, Newly Remodeled
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p18688vbi
(310) 428-7102 after work
Kaanapali Maui
Dublin, OH
5

Great Condo!! Home away from Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We stayed 12 nights in unit #308 and had the best stay. The condo is very nicely decorated and has everything you may need from toilet paper to spices to beach toys. The view is amazing from both the living room and the bedroom. Every morning when you wake up you see ocean and blue sky and palm trees. I'm really going to miss that. The pool and Jacuzzi are both very nice. There never seems to be a problem getting a chair. They have great grills right next to the pool to use. The staff seem to keep everything in tip top shape. Buzz is easy to deal with. I would definitely book with him again if I get a chance to go back to Maui.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Incredible Oceanview... Oceanfront Mahana 1BR, Newly Remodeled
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p18688vbi
(310) 428-7102 after work
Kaanapali Maui
Canada
5

Exceeded our Expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
This sums it up: If we ever have a chance to come back to Maui, we will call Buzz first, find out when his place is available, and book our flights accordingly. There is no need to shop around.

We stayed at Buzz's condo for 8 days this April, and loved everything about it. The pictures and description posted are accurate, but you really can't do it justice unless you see it in person. The moment we walked in, we said "WOW", and that feeling didn't change through our stay. Definitely exceeded our expectations, and at a rate that was certainly competitive, and probably better than what we would have paid with others.

Buzz's condo has been through a recent remodel with all the decor feeling new, clean, and "up-to-date". Everything was in good repair - we didn't see anything damaged or broken. We couldn't come up with a single thing to complain about.

There are tons of "supplies" provided. You need to bring clothes and toiletries, and that's it. There's LOTS of linens (incl. house AND beach towels), as well as all of the dishes or kitchen tools you might need. There was also condiments and consumables in the fridge/cupboards left by previous renters. They are "use at your own risk", but we had no issues, and nothing was expired. There was even a bunch of beach toys (boogie boards, snorkeling gear, sand shovels/buckets, beach chairs, and more).

The location of this property is perfect for all kinds of activities. You sit on the third floor maybe 50' from the water, spend the day/night listening to crashing waves, and watch sunsets every evening. A quick jaunt down the stairs/elevator and you're on some of the nicest sand we saw on the trip. There's no swimming directly in line with the condo (too much corral), but if you go 100' to the right or 200' to the left, the swimming is great. In the afternoon/evening, the sun shines on the lanai if you want to get some sun there. We were lucky enough to see whales on two occasions from the lanai.

If you want to get out for a walk or run, the Mahana sits at the North end of a 1.5 mile boardwalk that goes all the way down to the Sheraton at Black Rock. We walked that path a few times and took in some awesome snorkeling. Tons of fish and sea creatures to see at Black Rock.

There's a lot of great off-site amenities as well. Java Jazz across the street is a MUST-do for breakfast, and there's a great grocery store in that plaza as well.

I could go on about our positive experience, but I'm out of space. We will return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Incredible Oceanview... Oceanfront Mahana 1BR, Newly Remodeled
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p18688vbi
(310) 428-7102 after work
Kaanapali Maui
Point of Rocks, MD. USA
5

Maui whale watcher

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Buzz has a very nice condo. His description is very helpful. The condo is very updated. The pictures will give you an accurate picture of the condo. It is comfortable & the owner has provided all of the basis needs in generous quantities. We had dishes, pots, paper towels, toilet paper, tissues, detergent, & dishwasher liquid. We also found plastic wrap, alum foil, & ziploc bags for our use plus many condiments in the cupboard. Some of this may have been left by previous renters, but we appreciated all of it. We have stayed at the Mahana twice before this rental. This was our best rental. he whale watching from this 3rd floor condo was great. We saw whales very day. This was our best rental. The poolside grills are great & very clean at the Mahana.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4