Dupont Circle apartment rental - Flat is in the white house
Flat is in the white house
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Dupont Circle Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 3-5)

Curtis House was formerly the home of Herbert Hoover's Vice-President, Charles Curtis, the only (part) Native American ever to hold that office. Ideally located for visitors, the apartment is about a mile from the White House, blocks from major museums and other sites, and steps from Adams-Morgan and the newly revitalized U St. area.

The flat has a separate dressing room off the bath. An office "nook" holds a desk, phone, and printer/fax/copier for the business traveler. Meeting and conference space is available nearby. The flat is quite large and has just been updated. It is fully furnished with an extensive library of international classics and multi-lingual dictionaries. The intimate rear garden has organic herbs and, sometimes, veggies.

Sheets and towels changed weekly. Bedroom is larger than it appears.

Spanish, French, and Italian spoken here (and a little Portuguese).

Keywords: English Basement Flat

We fell in love with Dupont Circle in the 70's when we first moved to DC from New England and never wanted to live anywhere else. We really enjoy sharing our small but vibrant community with guests. The house was built in the Richardsonian Romanesque style. We can't add a link here, but the style is "googlable".

Roy A. Wyscarver purchased this apartment in 1987

We want this to be your vacation rental, but it's not ours. This neighborood is where we have lived almost all our adult lives and where we have reared our children. We are not into DC "power", but the history vibes are almost palpable.

14 Reviews of Property 186865 in Dupont Circle, Washington DC

Large English Basement in Historic Townhouse
average rating of 4.928571 based on 14 reviews
business
Large English Basement in Historic Townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186865vb
(202) 387-0841
Dupont Circle Washington DC
New Mexico
5

Curtis House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Having rented three different Dupont Circle apartments over several years for an annual DC vacation, I can heartily recommend the English basement apartment at Curtis House. It is spacious, comfortable, and well equipped, located in an excellent neighborhood for safety and convenience. Roy, your host, is affable, knowledgeable, and welcoming. For those unsure about a private rental instead of a regular hotel booking, a stay at Curtis House will convince you what a superior experience can be had: more room, better amenities, personal attention, and an equal or better price than many hotels.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Large English Basement in Historic Townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186865vb
(202) 387-0841
Dupont Circle Washington DC
Orlando, FL
4

Charming and comfortable!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Basement apartment is spacious and cozy, ideally situated in the vibrant Dupont Circle neighborhood. This historic former home of Charles Curtis is rich on eclectic charm and creature comforts. The bedroom, kitchen and living/dining area are all amply sized and suitably appointed - definitely a great alternative from staying in a hotel. It's accessible to shops (Safeway is a short 7 min walk, Whole Foods Market about 15 mins), cool restaurants & bars, Metro (or taxis aplenty too), and pretty much everything you need to live like a local - a great respite from our DC sightseeing during the day. Make sure to check out the weekend farmers' market during summer months.
Because it is an old and classic home, the air can feel heavy even with airconditioning - so make sure to shut it off for a couple of hours and open the rear screened door to let some fresh air in.
Roy is a gracious host and wonderful to work with - very responsive to all my questions pre-arrival, and accommodating throughout our stay (even letting us borrow a couple of umbrellas!).
Overall, the Curtis House is highly recommended for its location and value - certainly the place to stay for those looking for comfortable and unique alternatives to vacation accommodations.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Large English Basement in Historic Townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186865vb
(202) 387-0841
Dupont Circle Washington DC
Bellingham, Washington
5

Highly recommended

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This is a great apartment, with wonderful hosts, in a beautiful neighborhood. Lots of good restaurants very close by. The apartment is large, comfortable and well equipped. The weather was warm and humid when we were there and the apartment was cool and refreshing after a day of sight-seeing. Roy was responsive and easy to deal with during the booking process. He also gave us a tour of the neighborhood when we arrived which was very helpful. He and Ann are wonderful hosts who made sure our every need was taken care of.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Large English Basement in Historic Townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186865vb
(202) 387-0841
Dupont Circle Washington DC
Billings, Montana
5

Perfect Way to See Washington D.C.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My husband and I stayed in this apartment for 2 weeks while touring the D.C. area. We couldn't have asked for a better location with easy access to the Metro, excellent eating places and a very safe and enjoyable environment. The apartment was spacious and provided all of our needs. Ray and Ann were excellent hosts and were available to answer any questions we had. Staying in the apartment gave us a true feeling of life in the city. It was a wonderful experience that we will always remember. Should the opportunity arise to once again visit Washington D.C. our first choice would be to contact Ray and Ann.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Large English Basement in Historic Townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186865vb
(202) 387-0841
Dupont Circle Washington DC
Muncie, Indiana
5

Unbeatable neighborhood - lovely apartment with great hosts (owners)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We do not hesitate to add an additional 5 out of 5 rating to the other nine reviews for the flat. Notably, we stayed in a spacious renovated room at the superb Willard Hotel for three days of sightseeing downtown before spending the remainder of our week in D.C. at Roy and Ann's flat. The flat was far less expensive, but it ultimately won hands down for its creature comforts - a well-appointed apartment with a treasure trove of reasonably priced, quality neighboring restaurants. (A particular shout-out to Rosemary's Thyme Bistro, where we received the most delightful service and best food during the course of staying in Washington, D.C. - get the homemade spinach ravioli, if it's available.) We continued to go downtown each day by hailing a cab at the end of the block (average of 2-3 minutes' wait), choosing to leave our car parked for no additional cost across from the flat.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Large English Basement in Historic Townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186865vb
(202) 387-0841
Dupont Circle Washington DC
Broken Arrow, OK
5

Adorable and Convenient!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We brought our 18 and 15 yo boys to DC in August and found this charming apartment on VRBO. We have never used VRBO before, and this apartment was everything we wanted! When we got there, Roy and Ann met us and showed us around the area (favorite restaurants, grocery, etc) and answered all my many questions. They were wonderful. The area has everything- we walked to dinner every night- mexican, pizza, italian, even oysters! Our boys are adult sized and the apartment fit 4 adults perfectly. Roy gave us a blow up bed, and with the futon and bedroom, we were all comfortable! We walked to the Metro (short 10 min walk) or waved a taxi in front of a nearby hotel everyday. Taxi's to Capital Hill area from the apartment were always about $10-15 with tip, we were always running late so that worked best for us. I recommend this apartment, you won't be sorry!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Large English Basement in Historic Townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186865vb
(202) 387-0841
Dupont Circle Washington DC
Charleston, SC
5

Very comfortable and covenient

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My cousin and I stayed in this spacious apartment for a week during the 4th of July. We found it to be extremely comfortable, convenient and well equiped.It was close to Dupont Circle, the metro, and lots of restaurants. Roy and Ann, the owners, were very helpful and hospitable. We highly recommend this apartment to anyone visiting DC.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Large English Basement in Historic Townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186865vb
(202) 387-0841
Dupont Circle Washington DC
Cincinnati, OH
5

Great for our Toddler

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My husband and daughter and I stayed for a week and LOVED this rental! Our daughter is 2 and her pack-n-play fit perfectly in the alcove by the bathroom (it has its own door), so we had the run of the place after she went to sleep. Ann and Roy are delightful. They were very helpful with helping get our bearings around the neighborhood when we arrived, and they are also great conversationalists! The place is spacious and has everything you may need. The metro stop is a short walk away, and several delicious restaurants and coffee shops are very close by. Dupont Circle is a beautiful area. We HIGHLY recommend this rental for its great accommodations and fabulous owners.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Large English Basement in Historic Townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186865vb
(202) 387-0841
Dupont Circle Washington DC
Tallahassee, Florida
5

Wonderful apartment, great neighborhood and terrific property owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
My husband and I stayed in Ann and Roy's beautiful basement apartment for a week and we loved it. The apartment is very well appointed, comfortable, spacious, private and perfect for a couple or small family. The neighborhood is delightful and filled with restaurants just blocks away. Ann and Roy treated us like family yet we were given plenty of privacy. Their greatest concern was our comfort and enjoyment during our stay. I highly recommend this apartment. Ann & Roy thank you so very much for your hospitality. Kyle and Elizabeth
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Large English Basement in Historic Townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186865vb
(202) 387-0841
Dupont Circle Washington DC
Seattle, WA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 5, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
We had a lovely week in this apartment. It's quite large and nicely furnished, and it's in a great location on a pretty street.
Helpful votes: 1/1