Figure Eight Island house rental - From the beach
From the beach
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Figure Eight Island House Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, sleeps 10

Our house is on a secluded, uncrowded private island, directly on the ocean with a white sandy beach and clear ocean water. The clean water provides excellent fishing and surfing. We are ardent conservationists and have managed to preserve the natural vegetation around the house. We have lots of beach grass and sea oats. The birding around the house is fabulous and we have fall visitors who come just to bird watch. Surf fishing is very good in front of the house because of a slew that has been there for at least 30 years.

The Beach House is a cozy, older oceanfront home. The home was built in 1969 by Paul and CoCo Foster on Figure 8 Island close to Wilmington North Carolina. The design is a mix of Caribbean, Central American and historic Carolina style coastal homes. Our furnishings are eclectic with many 1950's pieces copied from the famous 1952 Herman Miller catalog while the Fosters were living in Central America. Google map it: 126 Beach Road S, Wilmington,

Our house has five bedrooms and two full bathrooms. There is a warm water outside shower which is the most popular bathing area in the summer. The kitchen is fully equipped including a microwave and all the cookware a chef would want. We left the natural vegetation so there are plenty of sea oats and a growing maritime forest. The birds love it!

The house is located on Figure 8 Island just north of Wilmington, North Carolina. It is a private island and a gated community, accessible only to land owners and their guests. There are no public facilities on the island. It has the only privately owned bridge over the Intercostal Waterway. We have clean and white sandy beaches with blue-green ocean water. Multiple loggerhead turtle nests hatch yearly. The beach is not crowded since the public is not allowed on the island.

Our house is light and airy and very relaxed. This is not a luxury home, but a functional beach house. Sandy toes are not a problem! Smoking is permitted outside, but must be carefully controlled because of the high winds and fire hazards. We have had several houses burn down on the island due to cigarette butts left burning in the sand or on the porch.

Please note: We support a small colony of feral cats to help keep the beach mice at bay across the street. They stay hidden in the maritime forest on the bay side. We tend to them very well and are members of friends of felines. They do not come inside but you may see one looking out of the woods!

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 186708 in Figure Eight Island, North Carolina

Sandy Paws Cozy Beach House and direct ocean front
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Sandy Paws Cozy Beach House and direct ocean front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186708
910 232-8590
Figure Eight Island Coastal North Carolina
5

Fantastic rustic beach cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had such a nice stay. The house is rustic and quirky, but was great for us (family of four + two grandparents). We loved the beach views off the back deck in the morning and the sound views in the evenings for sunsets. Owners are easy to reach and provide everything you need, including several surf boards, which is rare. Beach is basically deserted and beautiful. Beds were comfortable and linens decent.

If you are looking for a fancy beach house, then this isn't for you. For beach lovers who stay sandy all day, this is a good value on a spectacular beach. We would definately book again.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Sandy Paws Cozy Beach House and direct ocean front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186708
910 232-8590
Figure Eight Island Coastal North Carolina
Raleigh,NC
5

Sandy Paws

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was our family's third stay at Sandy Paws over the past four years. The home accommodated 10 of us ranging in age from one yr old twins to a few 60+ yr olds. We used gates to coral the little ones which worked nicely. The beds are comfortable and each room has a private access to the outdoor deck. The great room has comfortable seating for games or conversation. The kitchen was accommodating with the large dining table nearby so the cooks could be part of the social hour. We brought bikes and enjoyed the bike trail on the south end of the beach. Even in July the beach was quiet and peaceful with a spectacular night sky. Our family has been coming to Figure Eight for 30+ years and hope to continue - Sandy Paws is a jewel but if you're looking for Putt Putt golf and water slides you'd be happier further south.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Sandy Paws Cozy Beach House and direct ocean front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186708
910 232-8590
Figure Eight Island Coastal North Carolina
5

A Beach House The Way It Was Meant To Be

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We have spent alot of time on different beaches in Southeastern NC, and Figure Eight is the best. Staying in the best house on Figure Eight is even better. It has all of the comforts and conveniences that you could want in a beach house, but it also has the warmth and character that only the efforts of the owners could achieve over a long period of time. We felt right at home the minute that we stepped inside, and enjoyed everything about it. We will definitely be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Sandy Paws Cozy Beach House and direct ocean front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186708
910 232-8590
Figure Eight Island Coastal North Carolina
Durham, NC
5

Just what we needed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
This house is exactly what I have in mind when I think of a relaxing time at the beach. Plenty of room both inside and on the deck for 8-10 people to kick back and enjoy themselves, and the views are gorgeous. Just returned from my second visit, will definitely go back, and have already recommended it to friends. Host and hostess very friendly and responsive to any needs you might have.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Sandy Paws Cozy Beach House and direct ocean front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186708
910 232-8590
Figure Eight Island Coastal North Carolina
jacksonville, florida
5

wonderful rustic getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
2 roomy porches with rockers. Bedrooms have very comfortable mattresses and access to outside without going through main house especially nice for those who like an early morning swim alone. Kitchen has all needed cooking needs and appliances incl. dishwasher. the dining table that seats 10 is off the kitchen. Great room is just that a wonderful place to relax in at night. We have been coming for 5 years and would recommend this laid back vacation spot to anyone looking for a lovely unspoiled beach great for making sandcastles or surfing. in addition the outside shower is great for getting all that pesky sand off before coming inside. stores are 10 minutes away off island. if your idea of a vacation is theme parks, you will not be happy at figure eight. But if you want to experience summer at the beach and perhaps finding the well hidden turtle nests this is your place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Sandy Paws Cozy Beach House and direct ocean front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186708
910 232-8590
Figure Eight Island Coastal North Carolina
Bahama, NC
5

Best Deal on the Island!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
This house had everything we needed for 10 of us to celebrate a significant birthday for one of our group members. The main room, dining area and kitchen were open, sunny and roomy. The front porch was perfect for that early morning caffeine and conversation. The beach was right out the front door and the sound of the waves at night was peaceful and calming. Bedrooms were all clean and beds were very comfortable. We couldn't have asked for better accommodation--and the owners were friendly and fabulous to deal with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
Sandy Paws Cozy Beach House and direct ocean front
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186708
910 232-8590
Figure Eight Island Coastal North Carolina
Bahama, NC
5

Perfect Spot for a Group!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
This house had everything we needed for 10 of us to celebrate a significant birthday for one of our group members. The main room, dining area and kitchen were open, sunny and roomy. The front porch was perfect for that early morning caffeine and conversation. The beach was right out the front door and the sound of the waves at night was peaceful . Bedrooms were all clean and beds were comfortable. We couldn't have asked for better accommodation--and the owners were friendly and fabulous to deal with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1