Phippsburg house rental - view of the Sou' Wester from water's edge
view of the Sou' Wester from water's edge
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Phippsburg House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, sleeps 10.

Located in historic West Point in Phippsburg you will enjoy a quiet vacation in a beautiful setting. Enjoy watching the ocean and harbor from our wrap around deck, balcony and Widow's Walk. Stroll down to Cat Cove to swim and explore the tide pools. From here you can launch your kayak to explore nearby islands. Be sure to keep a look out for eagles, loons and seals. Plan an evening lobster/clam bake. Located near Popham Beach, Sebasco Resort and Bath. Convenient amenities to make your vacation comfortable. Coastal Maine at its best!!!

New Dishwasher installed! Season pass to near by Popham Beach.After many request we now offer sea kayak rentals on site for exploring the coast.

Your next relaxing vacation awaits you in one of the most scenic and unspoiled historic fishing villages on the coast of Maine! Come and enjoy coastal living in a waterfront 100 year old dance hall! Once a weekend destination in the late 1800’s to mid 1900’s for the locals to dance, gather and visit, the Sou’Wester has been restored to accommodate vacationers appreciating beauty and solitude. You will be greeted by the crisp salty smell of the ocean, the hum of lobster boats leaving for their days work and the friendly “hellos” from the local “West Pointers”. Relax to awe inspiring vistas of Casco Bay, the harbor and nearby islands on our wrap around deck. Leave the cares of the world behind you as you surround yourself in West Point’s breath taking beauty. Our goal at West Point Vacation Properties is to make your vacation one to remember for years to come. We are dedicated to providing you with quality service and personal attention from the start of your vacation to your actual stay. The Sou'Wester was converted from a early dance hall into an inn in the 1970's then in 2000 into it's current state into a large duplex property. With the decks the entire property is about 9600 sq ft. The properties are seperated by our maintenance space and the decks are seperated by dividers and nothing is shared between the two properties.

The Sou’ Wester has been carefully restored to accommodate guests who appreciate time with family, friends and beautiful vistas of the rocky coast and ocean. The water is a short walk down to Cat Cove for shell collecting and swimming. Cat Cove is an excellent site to launch your kayak for a tour around the harbor and islands close by. A trail through the piney woods will lead you to a secluded area that is fun for exploration. Among the rocks there is tide pool where some of the locals learned how to swim. Be sure to look for sea creatures in the tide pools.

For those vacationers who need more adventures, there are many exciting things to do near West Point. Phippsburg has many wooded walking trails that are both easy to hike and pretty. Historic Popham Beach, settled in 1607, is a short distance down the road. The 500 acre beach is worth a visit for those who enjoy smooth, white sandy beaches. Popham Fort, from the Civil War years, is close by and ready to be explored. Sebasco Resort is also close by, and has a golf course, spa services and several restaurants. The nearest city to West Point is historic Bath, “The City of Ships”. Maine’s first ship was built here in 1607-1608. If you are interested in ships the Maine Maritime Museum offers a glimpse into Maine’s boat building past. Maine’s boat building future can be seen at the Bath Ironworks, where some of the most sophisticated Navy ships are built today.

Quaint shops and restaurants make Bath a fun day trip. To the North one can travel to Boothbay Harbor. This is an excellent day trip where you can enjoy shopping and restaurants. Boothbay offers whale watching and other boating excursions. Brunswick is another historic town nearby that offers shopping, restaurants, Bowdoin College and the Joshua L. Chamberlain Museum. Less than an hour away is Freeport, famous for L.L. Bean’s flagship store. L. L. Bean is open 24 hours a day and a perfect place to go on rainy days. Other outlet stores and restaurants make Freeport a shoppers dream. Portland is about an hour away and offers historic sites, shopping, restaurants and airport transportation.

In whatever way you choose to spend your vacation here in West Point, it will be sure to be one full of gorgeous sights and lasting memories. To make your vacation spot “a home away from home” we have supplied our guests with household items both convenient and useful.

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 186651 in Phippsburg, Maine

Spectacular views of the open ocean and harbor.
average rating of 4.875 based on 8 reviews
business
Spectacular views of the open ocean and harbor.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186651
+1 8179485834
Phippsburg Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

What a peaceful and relaxing vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This was one of the most relaxing and peaceful vacations we have taken in a long time. There were only three of us and the dog staying for the week, and the house was more then big enough for what we needed. We all had a great time. The house is exactly like the photos and the caretakers who live next door could not have been a nicer family. Including their children who were so incredibly polite and courteous. It is so nice to know that some people still raise their children that way. We also loved watching the lobster boats going out in the morning and coming back at night. Even with an overcast day it was still very relaxing. I would have liked to have had chairs that were a little taller so when you are sitting on the porch you could see over the railing, but we enjoyed the house immensely.
Thank you so much for this wonderful vacation.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Spectacular views of the open ocean and harbor.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186651
+1 8179485834
Phippsburg Portland and Casco Bay Area
4

A relaxing vacation by the ocean.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
A great vacation home in a charming coastal village, the spacious open-plan dining, kitchen, bar and lounge area facilitates very sociable time with family and friends. The wrap-around decks on both levels make the most of ocean views that are wonderful. Bedrooms are a good size and for relaxing with a drink the widows walk is a novel feature of the home. Minor improvements would be addition of little niceties such as placemats for the dining table, cloth napkins, candle holders, dish towels and better quality bathroom tissue.

The on-site support of Bill and his family faultless and a lovely family they are too.

Lots to do locally - park in downtown Bath visit Now You Are Cooking and Renys, walk north down Front Street hill past shops on left you’ll find the Patten Free Library the magazine and journal room is a haven. Similarly, the Alfred Totman library in Phippsburg deserves a visit, fantastic community enterprises. The Maine Martine Museum provides a splendid insight into the history and industry of Bath, to get a feel for 19th century lifestyle in the area read Harriet Beecher Stowe’s Pearl of Orrs Island. Pick up a map of Phippsburg walks form the Town Hall. Eating - the fish dock down Carrying Place Cove is great for lobster the place does not look like a retail operation, it’s not, but they’ll sell you lobsters. The North Creek Farm is eclectic selling vegetables, beer, wine, gifts, etc and a good Sunday brunch, Spinneys in Popham good sea-side dining. For a memento of your visit to West Point drop into the Sidwell gallery right there on Wallace Circle.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular views of the open ocean and harbor.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186651
+1 8179485834
Phippsburg Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

Wonderful Wedding Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Luxury accommodation in a beautiful setting. From the first contact with the friendly, helpful owner through every minute of our stay in this gorgeous, well appointed house, everything was perfect. We certainly hope to be back.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular views of the open ocean and harbor.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186651
+1 8179485834
Phippsburg Portland and Casco Bay Area
Quebec, Quebec
5

This spot is more than a hidden treasure......

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
......we enjoyed ourselves so much nobody wanted to leave!

The layout of the Sou'wester is ideal for multi family groups and the dining table brought us together every evening to go over the days events and plan for upcoming adventures.

The location is just close enough to civilisation that you do not feel like you are lost in the wilderness but far enough away to leave the hustle and bustle behind.

We travelled with three generations from age 7 to 70+ and EVERYBODY found something to do near by. Popham Beach for the sun worshipper in you OR an excursion on a schooner amongst the islands off of the city of Portland. Within 1 hours drive of this magical location we found enough activities to last 2 weeks and we weren't even trying!

And let's not forget about what is in walking distance; a great little beach where kids can collect sea-shells and explore the rocks OR launch one of the kayaks and enjoy the inlets around West Point.

Don't forget the bounty of the sea, with a dock just down the road where "the freshest lobsters in Maine" congregate before being flown around North America is a must for any "foodie" bent on trying Maine's best.....

Rest, relax, play and have fun...... we did and hope to do so again. The Gibsons - Quebec City, Canada
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spectacular views of the open ocean and harbor.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186651
+1 8179485834
Phippsburg Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

Southwest at West Point

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
The photographs didn't prepare me for this exceptional home. It was far more than I expected and such a beautiful, quiet, relaxing getaway. I will take advantage of ANY opportunity to return. Also, the owner is very personable and professional. Overall, a FANTASTIC experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Spectacular views of the open ocean and harbor.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186651
+1 8179485834
Phippsburg Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

Excellence in Maine.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Remember being a kid on Christmas morning?
When we arrived at the Cottage Sou'Wester that is what it felt like.
There is no way you will not be pleasantly surprised. Inside the only word is perfect. One surprise after another as you explore this accommodation.
The view from the balcony is spectacular. Memories are yours to make, ours will never be forgotten.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Spectacular views of the open ocean and harbor.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186651
+1 8179485834
Phippsburg Portland and Casco Bay Area
Fairfax, VA
5

Best Vacation Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
This property was much better than advertised. The living area was very spacious and well-appointed with a fun nautical theme. The ocean views were absolutely beautiful, and the entire area was incredibly scenic. We enjoyed kayaking, hiking, beach combing, and plenty of sightseeing trips. We also found this to be the perfect place to relax - the ocean breeze and quiet neighborhood was just what the doctor ordered. Visits to nearby Bath, Boothbay Harbor, Portland, and Freeport were easy and fun filled. We actually went body surfing at Popham Beach, which was very fun and not even as cold as we thought it would be. Lobster was available right in the neighborhood, and was so cheap that we actually ate too much of it! Wild blueberries grow on the point, right by the house, a very nice surprise. The local eateries are outside of the ordinary and really tasty. Can't recommend this place enough - we'll be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 14/14
business
Spectacular views of the open ocean and harbor.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186651
+1 8179485834
Phippsburg Portland and Casco Bay Area
Sarasota, FL
5

Simply Outstanding!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
This was our 3rd rental in Maine in the last 8 years, and will be our destination for all future trips. The house is beautiful and well furnished. We especially loved the HUGE dining room table, where we spent hours and hours of family time together. The deck, the view, the grill and the neighborhood were exactly as described and expected.

Aside from a few little general stores, the house is 25 minutes from town. However, with friends and family in Phippsburg, this was not a problem for us.

Great vacation spot, and John was very helpful and easy to do business with. Thanks.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 16/16