Boothbay Harbor house rental - Sea Glass Cottage
Sea Glass Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Boothbay Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms + Den, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

This is an awesome 100+ yr old home with an adorable guest cottage. The owners are Interior Designers and underwent a 2 year renovation after purchasing the home. The house is decorated in a very casual cottage style using the soft colors of sea glass. As you enter the bright colorful kitchen you are immediately relaxed by the warmth and comfort of the home. The kitchen is open to the dining room which seats 6. There is a den with flat screen TV and reading area with a complete wall of windows to enjoy the beautiful Maine sunshine. In this area, there is also a small game table to enjoy various board games or a checkers challenge. Sometimes we use this for an extra dining area if needed. The master bedroom (king with TV)is downstairs and has a full bath with Jacuzzi tub. There is an additional 1/2 bath downstairs in the laundry room. Upstairs are 3 bedrooms (2 full with TV and 1 twin bunks)with a full bath. There is also a den with a full sleeper sofa. The den has a TV and high speed internet access. An outside large deck is accessible from the upstairs den as well as the side lawn. Enjoy the harbor views, a great book or evening drinks with your family and friends. Its also a great place to have an outdoor lobster picnic!!

The garden cottage has a small covered porch with a swing. Inside is a full bedroom (queen with TV), full bath(shower) and a small kitchen. The cottage is ideal for a couple who wants some quiet time away from the house.

The house has a beautifully landscaped yard. Enjoy the numerous flowers and shrubs with something in bloom at all times. Neighbors constantly stop to comment and admire the garden. There are even blueberry bushes on the side for you to pick and eat!!

There are sidewalks all the way to town, so you can enjoy a nice walk around the harbor to shops, restaurants, churches or the footbridge which takes you across the harbor. Or if you prefer to ride, the free trolley stops just across the street in Brown's parking lot.

Keywords: House & Cottage Together

More Details
Hide Details

We fell in love with Boothbay Harbor after a visit in the 1990's. We returned in 2003 to look for a vacation home and found this gem which was to be demolished. It was just perfect!! Beautiful views, wonderful gardens, great location...it had everything we wanted. And we loved the challenge of the renovation. Also, we could walk to the lobster dock, buy dinner off the boat and bring it home to cook!

Our home is very family friendly.It is ideal for small family reunions and groups. It has several quiet spaces where you can get away if you prefer. The separate cottage is perfect for in-laws or a bridal suite. Everyone seems to enjoy the lawn as something is always blooming. It is just perfect to admire or cut flowers to bring inside. We have movies and games as well for the kids. We love to walk just down the street to the Lobster dock...purchase fresh from the boats..and return home to enjoy a Lobster feast on the outdoor deck. YUM YUM!! Its also close enough for walks into town for shopping or dining.

9 Reviews of Property 186650 in Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Awesome Maine 5BR Cottage & 1/1guest Cottage **Harbor Views**
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Awesome Maine 5BR Cottage & 1/1guest Cottage **Harbor Views**
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650vbi
(912) 674-0393
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Wonderful Anniversary Celebration with friends

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
" If we return to Boothbay with a group we would definetly rent the Sea Glass Cottage again. I think the deck on the second floor was my favorite part to eat lobster, have drinks and watch the sunset. It is a beautiful home." Lori, Butte, Montana

"The house was fabulous and definitely exceeded my expectations. It was absolutely a slice of New England. The views from the deck were were pleasant and relaxing. It's the perfect place to relax, eat and drink with friends. The house made all of us feel a warmth and kinship that won't soon be forgotten. It was actually a bargain. We would love to spend another week !" Doug-Butte. MT

A beautiful, quaint cottage, very comfortable, felt like home. Thank you, we had a special time here and will always remember the Sea Glass cottage with fond memories. Bob and Diane

We loved the Sea Glass Cottage! It was very comfortable, had all the things we needed to cook with, the bed was very comfortable, our bathroom was nice, and it was very convenient to have laundry facilities. We particularly enjoyed sitting in the "sun room" for visits with friends and planning the day's adventures and the upstairs deck, which was the scene of some wonderful picnic meals. It was also nice to have computer service-only complaint (very small one) was that there was no WiFi.
The location is great! It is just far enough from the center of activities to be quiet but at the same time is close enough to be an easy walk and trolley ride to almost anywhere in Boothbay Harbor. Wonderful restaurants are only a stones throw away, as is the Lobster Wharf, where you can buy your own lobster to take home and cook. There are lots of things to do in Boothbay Harbor and it was great to be staying right at the edge of the activities!
Would we go back to the Sea Glass Cottage? One word--Absolutely!
business
Awesome Maine 5BR Cottage & 1/1guest Cottage **Harbor Views**
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650vbi
(912) 674-0393
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

2 Week Stay

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Mark ... Ive been remiss in sending a quick email to express how much we enjoyed the time in BBH and your home - it was truly a wonderful experience in staying there ... it was inviting, comfortable, spacious and just a great place to stay in for the 2 weeks ... Sandi wrote an entry in the Guest Book and we stand ready if you ever need a reference on the experience ... as well, the weather was just delightful - only rained 1 day in the 2 weeks ... best ... Jeff
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Awesome Maine 5BR Cottage & 1/1guest Cottage **Harbor Views**
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650vbi
(912) 674-0393
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Family Vacation

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Hi Mark

We are home from what was a very nice week in Boothbay harbor largely because of the location of your charming home so close but yet with its own privacy overlooking the harbor, especially in the evening. Fireworks were so pretty from the deck. The little den offered great hang out time in the evening for the girls and they used the deck while the old folks used the front porch. The cottage was also very sweet. The vacation ranked a 10 from a 16 year olds point of view. I would agree from the old persons reference as well. The only recommendation I would make is to replace what is a pretty aged grill with bad legs. Too hard to grill on the ground.

This is one of the few places I have found to look exactly like its photos. So charming and summery. I would recommend it to anyone.

Thankyou,

Eileen and Rory





*****Owner response****The grill has been immediatly replaced upon this notification. Im sorry!! Being out of town, we address all concerns as soon as we are aware. Thank you for letting me know! Mark
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Awesome Maine 5BR Cottage & 1/1guest Cottage **Harbor Views**
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650vbi
(912) 674-0393
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Menifee, CA
5

Top Notch Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Wonderful house. Accommodating owners. Great location in terrific Boothbay Harbor, Maine. Ten high-schoolers gathereed from around the United States from the Class of 1954 in Waltham High School in Massachusetts easily fit in this impressive house for a reunion vacation.Beautiful beautiful town!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
business
Awesome Maine 5BR Cottage & 1/1guest Cottage **Harbor Views**
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650vbi
(912) 674-0393
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Woodstock, CT, USA
5

Seaglass Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We held a small family reunion at Seaglass Cottage, and were delightfully impressed. We could walk to town or take the trolley that comes every 1/2 hour, just down the street. The house is beautifully decorated, and was very comfortable. We had such a wonderful time, kayaking, whale watching, swimming, looking for seaglass & seashells, and shopping. Our favorite memory was buying lobsters at the dock down the street, and cooking a Maine seafood dinner, and dining on the upper porch, where you can see the bay, and watch the sunset. Just magical.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Awesome Maine 5BR Cottage & 1/1guest Cottage **Harbor Views**
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650vbi
(912) 674-0393
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Newport Beach, California
5

Having Your Own Home on the Ocean!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This will be my 5th. consecutive year (now 2011) that I have stayed at the Seaglass Cottage in Boothbay Harbor, Maine. Although I live on the west coast, I am a native of Maine -- and Boothbay Harbor was always one of my favorite spots. This cottage is more a summer home -- complete with large kitchen, spacious sunroom/living room, and ample bedrooms and bathrooms. There is even a large upstairs outer deck where we usually enjoy a glass of wine and watch the day wind down. The location can not be beat, since it is on the east side of the harbor away from a lot of noise, hustle and bustle -- yet still quite near to town and an easy walk over the footbridge into the village. The cottage has tons of charm -- it was once a summer guest house -- and lots of history. The neighbors are terrific, too! I consider Seaglass "my own summer home at the ocean," and I treat it that way. It's a gem!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Awesome Maine 5BR Cottage & 1/1guest Cottage **Harbor Views**
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650vbi
(912) 674-0393
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Clinton, CT
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
I rented Sea Glass Cottage for a week this past August because my daughter was getting married in Boothbay. The house felt and looked so wonderful that I have torn apart my own home to attempt to copy the decorating! It was walking distance to the center of town, but private, and contained more than we could have hoped for. There was even a Belgian waffle maker! We picked and ate the fresh blueberries from their bushes and there were fresh herbs growing to share. This house is a beautiful place to rent for a wonderful vacation experience.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Awesome Maine 5BR Cottage & 1/1guest Cottage **Harbor Views**
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650vbi
(912) 674-0393
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Union Beach, NJ
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
We just returned from Maine today, and we stayed around the corner from this house. It is so beautiful, just like a beachy cottage. Great Job to the owners. We are concidering the small cottage for our next visit..Terry
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Awesome Maine 5BR Cottage & 1/1guest Cottage **Harbor Views**
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650vbi
(912) 674-0393
Boothbay Harbor Boothbay Harbor Area
Castro Valley, CA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2008
SeaGlass Cottage provided a spectacular setting for my visit with family. The home is absolutely stunning - and one of the most comfortable I have ever stayed in. From the second we walked in, you are engulfed in a warm comfortable environment that gives the sense you have been there many times before. The home is perfectly suited for large gatherings, and lots of private spaces to enjoy the natural beauty. Although there is much to do, we never wanted to leave the property. For a truly memorable vacation experience, I highly recommend this beautiful property for an experience you will never forget.
Helpful votes: 1/1