Islamorada house rental - Wide unobstructed views of the Atlantic from the wraparound decks of our home!
Wide unobstructed views of the Atlantic from the wraparound decks of our home!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Islamorada House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, plus Queen pull out sofa in Liv Rm

THE VIEWS DON'T GET ANY BETTER THAN THIS! We are the ONLY truly OceanFRONT home for rent - and one of the few 3 bedroom homes- in exclusive ANGLER'S REEF, a boutique complex of 52 homes inspired by Native Conch & British West Indies architecture with quaint streets & walking paths at Mile Marker 84.5 in Islamorada. We accommodate up to 6 adults and 2 children in 3 private bedrooms plus a queen pullout sofa in the living room.

Relax in the lushly landscaped pool area or on 500' of stunning private beach. A boat slip is also available with direct ocean & easy Gulf access - Alligator Reef is just 3 miles offshore. (Maximum allowed boat length is 31 feet including engines, max draft is 3.5 feet and max height above the waterline of 10.5 feet.) Or launch your kayak & try your luck on Islamorada's famed bonefishing flats. Brand new in 2008, this home is fully equipped with all the best - even an electric fireplace for cool winter evenings! Large wraparound decks with numerous French doors take in the panoramic ocean views from nearly every room. Watch sunrises from your bed! Tile showers, Viking appliances, granite kitchen counters, 4 Flat Screen TVs, & more! See link to our many GUEST REVIEWS (above) & VIRTUAL TOUR (way below)! We are the closest home to the Beach -- just 200 ft away. And just 200' from the pool (close enough for convenience, but far enough to enjoy a quiet afternoon on your deck if you choose!)

Please see our Availability Calendar for open weeks. We keep it very up to date with the exception of leases in process which do not show as booked until the lease and deposit are received.

To view an all-inclusive quote for your week, please click on the Instant Quote button to the right near the top of the page. (Please note that Mini-Lobster Week -- the last Wed and Thurs in July -- is $200 extra.)

(***ALSO: See our magnificent homes for rent on the Outer Banks of North Carolina, HomeAway #121031 and #129841, on the 11th Green of the prestigious Currituck Club Golf Resort - and both homes have great views of the Atlantic!)

For Fishing People: PLEASE SEE OUR MANY GUEST REVIEWS for the best descriptions of what to expect at Anglers 140! Islamorada is synonymous with great fishing - gulf, backcountry or ocean. There are plenty of guides, charters, 'head boats' and boat rentals You can also try for tarpon, permit, snook, spanish mackerel & more at nearby bridges or the many other access points. The kids can even catch mangrove snapper or redfish for dinner right in the boat lagoon. Jack crevalle, moonfish, grunts, mullet & barracuda are there too - just bring a light rod or two (Basic fishing instructions at the house - detailed instructions can be emailed!)

You'll see the flats guides poling within 200 yards of the Anglers Reef beach! If you don't bring your own boat or charter with a guide, you can rent a kayak, launch from the beach, and try your luck fishing right out front for bonefish, permit, tarpon, sharks & barracuda. Or check out the mangroves near the Snake Creek bridge for snapper & snook!

For Non-fishing People: One of the reasons we chose Anglers Reef is that both the development and the Islamorada area offer a lot to do for people who are NOT into fishing. Besides the gorgeous pool area and great views from our decks and the private beach, nearby is great shopping & restaurants (3 you can walk to!), plus Founders Park, the Diving Museum, and of course Theater of the Sea just 1/2 mile away!

Onsite: Enjoy the wraparound decks and the views of the turquoise waters; swim in the large heated pool or just relax on our large wraparound decks overlooking the Atlantic; take a quiet stroll thru the complex; take in some sun on the private beach.

Restaurants: a short walk north are Hog Heaven, Smugglers Restaurant and the Island Grill. A few miles south is upscale Pierre's on the Gulf and the more casual Morada Bay beach cafe or Islamorada Fishery (all next to Worldwide Sportsman for fishing tackle, clothing, and a large indoor aquarium); also a few miles south is Holiday Isle, the Green Turtle Inn & many more eateries.

Attractions: Swim with dolphins at Theater of the Sea 1/2 mile south. Founders Park is just a mile north. Islamorada Chamber of Commerce visitors center is also nearby for more local information, as well as postcards, T-shirts and books.

Shopping: So much so close!

Grocery & Other Shopping: There are small markets in and around Islamorada, including the Trading Post 2 miles south, but you may want to do most of your grocery shopping at either the Winn Dixie a few minutes north (around Mile Marker 91 in Tavernier, west side of the highway - NOTE: There should be a Winn Dixie discount card attached to the house keys) Or at the Publix a few miles farther north in Key Largo around Mile Marker 101 (east side at a traffic light in a shopping center with a KMart). Buy your beer and wine there too - less expensive than liquor stores. CVS 1 mile south also has some well-priced beer/wine & basics.

If you are going south, Marathon (about MM 50-ish) has a Publix, Winn Dixie, KMart , and a Home Depot.

Also, if you are taking the FLA TPK down, at Florida City right where you get off onto Rt 1 is a BJ's Wholesale (membership required). There is also a Walmart there (but it seemed a little sketchy to us so we do not go there).

Lots of clothing and gift shops right in Islamorada!

More Details
Hide Details

We are beach people from NJ who love water views! We've owned oceanfronts and currently live in a bayfront home, but none of our home views can match the colors of the Islamorada Flats right outside our Anglers Reef home - from deep blues and greens to tans and aquas. That's why we chose this complex and this particular home.

Steve Sepanak purchased this house in 2008

Having visited for a month in the Middle Keys, we searched north and south for the right area for a purchase. Islamorada quickly became the obvious choice for many reasons:

1. An easy ride from Miami or Ft Lauderdale airports.

2. Great upscale shopping and restaurants.

3. Upscale communities like Anglers Reef

We specifically chose Anglers Reef for:

1. The great design, beauty and security of this gated complex.

2. The deep private channel through the flats to the ocean.

3. Easy gulf/backcountry access via Snake Creek.

4. The location of this specific home within Anglers -- on the southeast corner of the development, the closest home to the beach, and one row back from the pool (close but quieter than overlooking the pool!).

5. The design of the home, with amazing views from every room, one of the few with large wraparound decks, and the convenience of the 3rd bedroom.

Everyone raves about the views and the location. They love to relax on our large decks with a cup of coffee watching the sunrise and the flats fisherman, enjoy a dinner of fresh-caught fish, or a cocktail (or two) in the evening.

We also have the 3rd bedroom (plus the pullout queen sleeper sofa in the living room) so we can sleep 6 in comfortably in bedrooms or 8 total with the sleeper. There is an electric fireplace in the living room for some unique ambiance on cool mornings or evenings in the winter. There is a fully equipped kitchen with Viking appliances, a full-size washer and dryer, flatscreen TV's in all bedrooms and in the living room, and a quality Weber BBQ grill on the deck.

As a result, we do have many repeat guests - so please book your week early!

49 Reviews of Property 186650 in Islamorada, Florida

Anglers Reef Truly OceanFRONT 3BR 2.5 Bath home Lg Decks/Pool/WIFI/ 4Flatscr TVs
average rating of 5.0 based on 49 reviews
business
Anglers Reef Truly OceanFRONT 3BR 2.5 Bath home Lg Decks/Pool/WIFI/ 4Flatscr TVs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650
+1 6092901694
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
5

140 Anglers Reef fit our family needs perfectly!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Hello Steve,

Thank you for your email with again lots of good info. I must agree it was a bit "rough" to return to reality and below zero temps.
Your home is beautiful and decorated perfectly for the area.

Would love to send you fish photos but the guys were too busy catching mangrove snapper and Spanish mackerel.

Our 2nd visit to Islamorada was most memorable.The home at 140 Angler's Reef fit our family needs perfectly. Very nice location in a lovely gated community.

A few highlights included an "epic" fishing expedition with Captain Freddie - a tip from Steve. Had outstanding fresh fish tacos that evening.

Also enjoyed Theater of the Sea complete with a parrot show, dolphin show and a sea lion show - very well done!

The Island Grill was a disappointment, just so-so but the location was close by.

We had many great meals in, the equipped kitchen a big plus!!!

Our best eating experience was at the Morada Bay Cafe 2.2 miles away. Had a 2 hr lunch complete with Jimmy Buffet style music. We particularly enjoyed the watermelon salad and 2 tapas which include mahi mahi fish fingers and calamari.

A great family getaway for the entire family Nice relief from our winter in Colorado and Kansas.

Many thanks for sharing your home with us.
business
Anglers Reef Truly OceanFRONT 3BR 2.5 Bath home Lg Decks/Pool/WIFI/ 4Flatscr TVs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650
+1 6092901694
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
5

Great Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Hi Steve,
We all had a great time in the keys. We hired a guide out of Die Lorelei and caught a ton of mangrove snapper which they cooked for us that evening. Next day we rented a boat and went out to the lighthouse and fished but it was a bit rough so we explored the back country. We went to key west next day. We ate out every day so we didn't even use your stove..just the coffee pot.

You have a great house and we enjoyed the view. Your next door neighbor Mike is a great guy and we exchanged phone numbers with the plan to get together and fish sometime. All in all we want to come back but such as logistics are with 4 male adults is getting all on the same page but I will keep you updated as we move on to decision time. Thanks again for the use of your great home!
Sincerely,
Warren
business
Anglers Reef Truly OceanFRONT 3BR 2.5 Bath home Lg Decks/Pool/WIFI/ 4Flatscr TVs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650
+1 6092901694
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
5

Home away from home ~ Had a great time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This home has everything you will need for a wonderful vacation. Stocked with everything right down to the beach towels. Just bring a bathing suit!
Plenty of room in this home! Located on a peaceful bend/corner of the community. We settled in every evening on the second floor veranda with ice cream cones and enjoyed the comfortable breeze and the breathtaking view. Yes, at the end of July!
Anglers Reef the community.. is breath taking. Kayaks are a hit here. Sandbars are plentiful and the boat dock is right outside the door of this home with immediate access to the ocean and the gulf.
The pool in is fantastic and very inviting! The whole community is very well maintained and manicured.
Loads of shopping and restaurants galore throughout the keys. Key West is a short trip south if you can tear yourself away from Anglers!
We have always enjoyed Islamorada and now more so. So pleased we found 140 Anglers Reef! We will be back!

Many thanks to Steve and Pat we had a wonderful time.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Anglers Reef Truly OceanFRONT 3BR 2.5 Bath home Lg Decks/Pool/WIFI/ 4Flatscr TVs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650
+1 6092901694
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
5

Wonderful Trip!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We stayed at this beautiful home in late April. The views are gorgeous and it is such a nice quiet secluded area. We loved sitting out on the decks of this home and enjoying the views. Very relaxing. The pool is wonderful, perfect for our 4 year old daughter. The beach is a very close walk, but not super for kids as it is very mucky. There is not enough sand to "build sandcastles" But it is a beautiful beach to sit and relax and enjoy the ocean. We rented Kayaks from Backcountry Cowboy. It was great and we HIGHLY recommend them! We kayaked out to the sandbars and did some exploring. We also really enjoyed the Theater of the Sea, which is less than a five minute drive from this home. Great for young children, but all of the adults in our party really enjoyed it as well! Favorite restaurants were Green Turtle Inn, and Kaiyo Grill. Loved Bob's Bunz and Mangrove Mike's for breakfast/brunch.
Loved Sombrero Beach (about 45 minute drive)-- beautiful white sloping beach, and deeper water. Overall, a very relaxing, enjoyable vacation. This home provides great access to lots of fun things to do in a very comfortable atmosphere! Wish we were still there!!
business
Anglers Reef Truly OceanFRONT 3BR 2.5 Bath home Lg Decks/Pool/WIFI/ 4Flatscr TVs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650
+1 6092901694
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Great 1st vacation in the Keys!

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Just a quick note to let you know how much my family (and our friends) enjoyed our trip to Islamorada. It was a bit stressful traveling for the first time with our 15 month old but your house at Angler's Reef made everyone feel very comfortable upon arrival. The location was great and the views of the ocean were spectacular.

The kids enjoyed the unexpected fireworks shows nearby both the day we arrived and the night before we left. They also had countless hours of fun fishing at the boat docks, kayaking along the shore and out to the sand bars, and taking dips in the pool.

Although we ate in a lot, we were pleasantly surprised at the many options when we did decide to venture out for lunch or dinner. The food at Wahoo, Ma's Fish Camp and Boardwalk Pizza was perfect for our crew. We also decided to conduct our own key lime pie taste test during the week (one pied from a different spot each day). There was no real consensus among the family as to who had the best pie, but there wasn't one that went uneaten. We tried Ma's (which was my favorite), Island Grill, Mel's deli, the Trading Post deli (a close second).

For your future guests who want to charter a fishing trip, I recommend Capt. Juan or Capt. Tenbow (for backbay fishing), and Capt. Mel Walker (owner of the "Gotcha") for deep sea fishing. All were excellent and reasonable on price.

The kids also enjoyed an afternoon at Founders Park. It has a little bit for everyone. And the price was right . . . free (upon showing the attendant our lease at Angler's Reef).

All in all, we were very pleased with our first trip to the Keys and found your house and Islamorada a wonderful desitination.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Anglers Reef Truly OceanFRONT 3BR 2.5 Bath home Lg Decks/Pool/WIFI/ 4Flatscr TVs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650
+1 6092901694
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
5

A Perfect Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Hi Steve,

Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful house with us. We had a fantastic vacation. It was everything we were hoping it would be: relaxing, interesting and LOTS of fresh fish to eat!

Your house had everything we could need and we particularly enjoyed the kitchen. Small details such as the cooler to take out lunches in, and the frozen beer mugs were much appreciated.

Our boys had a wonderful time and we found plenty of things to entertain a 3 and 5 year old. Of course the pool was a big favorite, and we spent a lot of time there. Having the beach and ocean right outside the door was wonderful. They enjoyed standing throwing stones in the water, watching the boats, and practicing photography. We even saw a group of dolphins near the beach early one morning!

We went to Sombrero beach in Marathon, which was beautiful but very hot! We also spent some time at Founders Park beach (with no trouble getting in). We spent time on the beach and also rented kayaks, which was perfect for an hour at a time for the boys.

Thanks also for the recommendation on fishing charters. We contacted Captain Jeremy before we arrived and he was very accommodating of our two young boys, and our complete lack of fishing knowledge! We had a great morning backcountry fishing, and caught several trout and snapper which he cleaned and filleted for us, and we enjoyed for dinner. I've attached a couple of pictures from our fishing trip. David is very proud of the nearly 4lb trout he caught!

The food has to be one of our biggest draws in the area. We got take out several times from the Wahoo Grill and the Island Grill. We could not fault their selection of fresh, fresh fish. A favorite for the boys and for us was the Morada Bay Beach Cafe. We went several times for dinner, or simply for dessert, drinks and sunset. Great food, music and location. Our only slight dissapointment was Lazy Days, which was good but nothing special. We also stopped at the Stuffed Pig for breakfast on the way to Key West. Oh my goodness, those omlettes!!! Like nothing I've had before....and great service too.

Overall a perfect vacation!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Anglers Reef Truly OceanFRONT 3BR 2.5 Bath home Lg Decks/Pool/WIFI/ 4Flatscr TVs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650
+1 6092901694
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
5

Kayak Fishing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Hi Steve -

We had a great time at your place. We rented kayaks as you recommended from Backcountry Cowboy. It was windy all week so we didn't go way out, but went out and tried the channels nearly every day. We did have a great trip one day when there was a big wind out of the east. I had a rented minivan and used it to bring the kayaks over to Founders Park. (They gave us a pass for the week when I showed the rental agreement) We paddled and fished our way with the wind helping us along, back thru the mangroves and Snake Creek, back to Angler's Reef. Caught some nice snappers, barracudas and some silvery fish (some kind of Jack?)

My wife bought a big selection of Key Lime pies and rated them in your guest book (Manny and Isa's was the big winner.

Had some very good seafood meals at Whale Harbor and Island Grill.

We went on the morning party boat out of Robbies one day and caught a lot of grunts and snappers. We were glad that we brought our own light tackle, as the fish were not real big and the poles and reels supplied by the boat were way too big.

Overall, we enjoyed our week a lot, and would come back if time and money permit.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Anglers Reef Truly OceanFRONT 3BR 2.5 Bath home Lg Decks/Pool/WIFI/ 4Flatscr TVs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650
+1 6092901694
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
5

Beautiful home, great location, wonderful vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
This is a beautiful, well maintained home in a spectacular location. The owner provided superior service. This property comes highly recommended. My husband and I, our two children (ages 10 & 4), and my mother in law stayed in this 3 bedroom home. We loved sitting on the porch and drinking coffee in morning and other choice beverages in the afternoon. The kids loved the beach, fishing off the dock and swimming in the pool. During the week we went on several excursions, including backcountry fishing, swimming with the dolphins, snorkeling, windsurfing and a trip to Key West. My son caught 11 different species while on the backcountry fishing charter, a total of 40 fish in all were caught in only a few hours. The kids enjoyed seeing the Tarpon and Nurse Sharks at Islamorada Fish Company and the food was good too. My husband and I enjoyed an adult meal at Pierre's. The food and atmosphere at Pierre's were top notch. I highly recommend this property.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Anglers Reef Truly OceanFRONT 3BR 2.5 Bath home Lg Decks/Pool/WIFI/ 4Flatscr TVs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650
+1 6092901694
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
5

The Keys "vibe"

The Keys "vibe"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Hi, Steve,

You're right, it is sometimes tough to get back to reality, especially with getting three kids off to school this week (!).

We had a wonderful and relaxing time at your lovely home. We loved the view, the pool (which we often had to ourselves!) and fishing from the dock with your thoughtfully provided pole. We had several kids tired out from canoeing in the wilds of Canada all summer, so we didn't do much else, I'm afraid. Also, we had a couple of days of stormy and unpredictable weather (not all day, but off and on).

We have spent lots of time on Captiva where my parents live, but the Keys have a different vibe and we really enjoyed getting a taste of it. We would heartily recommend Anglers Reef to friends who are heading to the Keys, especially if they're avid fishermen. Your neighbors were all very friendly, too.

We loved:
1. Snorkeling at Bahia Honda (very easy and reasonable to rent snorkeling gear). Who doesn't love 88 degree, clear water?
2. Eating at Lorelei (loved the tuna nachos) and watching the sunsets. Also went to Ocean View and Robbie's, which had nice views too. (didn't enjoy Lazy Days so much.)
3. Delicious tapas dinner at Santiago's Bodega in Key West. Enjoyed discovering the Truman Annex neighborhood.
4. Watching the Islamorada Flats change color in the storms from the upper deck.
5. Dolphin Research Center in Marathon was best dolphin attraction we've ever been to. Really get to see dolphins up close, and staff was very knowledgable and enthusiastic.
6. Sunset Grill at tip of Marathon (just before 7 Mile Bridge). You can swim in the pool before and after lunch (nice sushi and fish sandwiches). Great view.

As for the house, noticed that one of the french doors in the master bedroom sometimes wouldn't latch properly (the one closest to the closet). Otherwise, it was very well appointed and everything worked beautifully.

Thanks for sending back our deposit, and all the info and care.

Have a good winter,
Wendi
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the good info and the feedback. The french doors are all what are called hurricane doors and they have several locking pins which lock into the frame and these are manufactured to have very tight tolerances in order to withstand the potentially damaging winds. I don't usually use that door myself but will check it and have it adjusted. Glad you had a great vacation!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Anglers Reef Truly OceanFRONT 3BR 2.5 Bath home Lg Decks/Pool/WIFI/ 4Flatscr TVs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186650
+1 6092901694
Islamorada Upper Florida Keys
Massachusetts
5

This Islamorada vacation rental is the best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This Islamorada vacation rental is beautiful! We had a wonderful time! We loved the view of the ocean, the boat marina, watching the charter boats go out for the day, and the wildlife. There wasn't a day that went by that we were not up by 6 am with our coffee sitting on your porch to enjoy it all. We especially loved watching the sunrise from your home!

We also loved the pool! It was a great place to spend family time with our kids, toss a beach ball back and forth, and teach our kids to swim! In just two days, our oldest son was swimming on his own without a flotation device! I think the greatest thing was that there was hardly ever anyone at the pool when we were there, it was extremely clean, and it was not heavily chlorinated at all!

The privacy was amazing too! My husband and I couldn't believe how private, safe, and quiet the complex was! We probably saw maybe 8 cars pass your home the whole week we were there! With kids, it was a plus because they were able to walk around the complex without any problems and play safely in front of your home! This place is definitely kid friendly!

The beach was also a great place for the kids to explore and get up close to wildlife! We saw a porpoise off the boat lagoon! It was great!

Island Grill was one of our favorite places to hang out with the cool breezes, great views of the ocean, and watching the boats pull up with hungry passengers! The food was exceptional! If you love sushi, you must try the tuna nachos! They are so yummy! The sangria in a pitcher is great too!

Also, food at the Cheeca was great-we had Mother's Day breakfast buffet there and it was delicious! My kids loved that they could choose what they wanted to eat!

All in all, this Islamorada vacation rental has it all wrapped up! It has been the best vacation rental home we have experienced in Islamorada! Your conscientious professionalism from the start of the rental process to the very end of our rental week was extremely helpful and appreciated!!! Thanks for everything Steve! More importantly, thank you for sharing this gem with us!

We couldn't have asked for a better vacation rental! Your rental by far is the best we have rented here in Islamorada! Having great people to rent from is a plus too!

We are longing for the day we will return! We wouldn't think of renting from anyone else as you have been professional, prompt, & reliable from the start of the rental process to the very end!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1