Danby house rental - Some of best fishing at our end of pond. No gas motors allowed.
Some of best fishing at our end of pond. No gas motors allowed.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Danby House Rental Photos and Description
Danby rental-Cape/Chalet, 3 bdrm, Awesome Mtn & water views, Canoeing.

Set way back from the road, this Charming Country Cape on large 80 Acre Pond w/some of best Mtn & water views in Vt.! Last home on a private marked road w/unobstructed Mtn views from 45 foot deck. 400+ acres w/horse back riding across field. Canoe & fish in quiet on Spring Fed crystal clear Danby Pond surrounded by beautiful Pine forest. Picnic table & fire pit at waters edge. Look back at beautiful mtn's from Pond known for it's huge Pike/Bass/Perch year-round. Wood floors, 2 Direct TVs w/HBO/Cinemax/DVD, High Speed Wireless Internet throughout, new washer/dryer/stove. Vt.wood stove. Non smoking. A perfect mix of country, mountains, water, horse back riding all (4 seasons) across field. Camps (Mid June - August & School vacations). Guides can take you high into mtn's, looking back w/views to S. VT. 15 Miles to Manchester, 18 Miles to Rutland, Pawlet 5 min. Country store 1/2 mile walk. 5 Major VT ski resorts within 20 to 30 miles. Some of best fishing is at our end of Pond.

Ceiling Fans: Over-head Ceiling fans in Kitchen, Bedrooms, & Living Room.

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 186616 in Danby, Vermont

House rental in Danby, Vermont - Cape on Large Pond - Awesome Mtn & Wa
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
House rental in Danby, Vermont - Cape on Large Pond - Awesome Mtn & Wa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186616
+1 203-450-1191
Danby Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Boston
5

A hidden gem!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Four of us (2 adults + 2 kids, 10 & 11yo) spent Presidents' Day long weekend here. It was a great experience and we are thinking of coming back for a week in summer as well. The surroundings are very beautiful - meadows, woods, pond and views of the mountains - quiet and secluded. The house is well equipped, comfortable and and tastefully decorated. It is a great place to get away from it all and admire scenic Green Mountains, but once you feel the pull of city offerings, 15 miles drive brings you to Manchester with planty of shopping and dining options. This was third year that we were in this area for a long winter weekend and the routine of horseback riding at Mountain View Ranch nearby, exploration of the winter woods, dining at our favorite spots in Manchester is well rehearsed and much anticipated. The trailheads connecting to Appalachian/Long Trail network are also few miles away and, as other reviewers noted, several skiing resorts are nearby as well. It might not be the most obvious/advertised destination, but it is a great spot to enjoy Vermont.
business
House rental in Danby, Vermont - Cape on Large Pond - Awesome Mtn & Wa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186616
+1 203-450-1191
Danby Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
milford, Ct USA
5

Winter Week In Danby, VT

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
We spent the holiday week after Christmas at this property. The property is located such as the skiiers in our group were able to ski Bromely, Killington and Stratton throughout the week. The nonskiiers were able to keep busy at the house playing with our dog on the large secluded piece of property. The backyard has a great hill for kids to go sled riding. There was also a large rustic pond out back on which some of my family found a spot to
go ice skating. And if all of this wasn't enough, there are plenty of first class outlet stores in Manchester 15 minutes away. Basically this house provides the perfect place for a winter stay, something for everyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
House rental in Danby, Vermont - Cape on Large Pond - Awesome Mtn & Wa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186616
+1 203-450-1191
Danby Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Hoboken, NJ
5

Terrific Vermont cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
My husband, dog and I had a wonderful week here in June. The house is very comfortable and spacious. We made use of the full kitchen and the grill on the deck. The grounds surrounding the house are so beautiful - lots of open space including meadow and woodland, and best of all - the lake! The views from the deck of the mountains are wonderful. Canoeing on the lake was so peaceful and so much fun. I went horseback riding at Chipman Stables (literally a 10 minute walk from the house) and took a falconry lesson at the British School of Falconry in Manchester. There are lots of nice restaurants in the area, scenic drives and great hiking including the Appalachian Trail. We had a great time and highly recommend this property and location!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 11/12
business
House rental in Danby, Vermont - Cape on Large Pond - Awesome Mtn & Wa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186616
+1 203-450-1191
Danby Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Connecticut
5

April Vacationers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
Thank you to Dan for the vacation we had at his place in Danby VT. The mountains were breathtaking as were the starry nights. Many fish were caught in the pond behind the house and the tranquility was endless.

We had a slight problem with the hot water upon arrival but as soon as I notified Dan he immediately had his plumber fix it. Amazingly fast!

The house was very clean and nicely furnished. We had a great time. Thank you again to the owners.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
House rental in Danby, Vermont - Cape on Large Pond - Awesome Mtn & Wa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186616
+1 203-450-1191
Danby Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
New Haven. CT
5

Great vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
A beautiful cabin in a beautiful setting: the large meadow and good-sized pond were perfect for both cross-country skis and snowshoes, and the weather cooperated by snowing every day but one. The cabin’s kitchen is admirably equipped with all the right tools and spices, and the great room is cozy and perfect for puzzles as well as the Wii we had brought along. An added plus is the fact that we could bring our dog who enjoyed the snow every bit as much as we did. He was particularly intrigued by all the ice fishermen on the pond.

This would also be spectacular in the summer as it is ringed with mountains and good for fishing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
House rental in Danby, Vermont - Cape on Large Pond - Awesome Mtn & Wa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186616
+1 203-450-1191
Danby Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
amersfoort, the netherlands
5

Review

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
We are a couple from the Netherlands. We rented this particular house because of fall foliage in Vermont. The house was great and the view of the mountains was wonderful. We frequently used the canoe on the lake.The house itself was comfortable, and very pleasantly decorated. The house is set back from the road, and therefore very quiet. We enjoyed the woodstove in particular, and will certainly come back one day!
Tanja and Hanjo
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
House rental in Danby, Vermont - Cape on Large Pond - Awesome Mtn & Wa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186616
+1 203-450-1191
Danby Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Farmingville, New York
5

Lil Peace Of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
My family and I had just spent a week at the Danby chalet at the end of September. We have rented numerous vacation homes before and by far this was the best. The property had exceptional mountain views with an unlimited amount of hiking trails.
There was an endless amount of outdoor activities to choose from like fishing, hiking, off-roading, sightseeing, etc.. The property itself is located right on the water with a canoe at the house for your use. The fisihing in the pond is some of the best freshwater fisihing I have done in a long while. I pulled up numerous perch and was able to catch an 18" Pike on the last day of my trip.
The actual chalet is nicely furnished with plenty of room for me and my four other guests. There is also plenty of kitchen and bathroom linens and also plenty of pillows, blankets, and sheets available, as most rentals usually do not supply.
The kitchen was stocked with everything needed to cook a fine home cooked meal. It was also stocked with numerous supplies frequently forgotten like bug spray, paper towels, cooking spices, flashlights, etc.
The house has a rustic log cabin feel with all the modern day convieniences like satellite television and internet connections.
The owner and his wife were exceptional hosts as they had fed-exed some missing house/kitchen supplies before we had realized that we even needed to purchase them. They made sure we felt at home and even recommended some exceptional fishing spots on the pond. They had also taken the time to write down numerous activities/festivals taking place in the area for us to visit while we were on vacation there.
The owners were extremely pet-friendly and allowed me to bring along my small well-behaved dog with no problems at all. This was so helpful when trying to plan a trip at the very last minute. It also was a great treat for my dog as he stayed busy for hours exploring the property!!
My family and I were extremely pleased with their exceptional customer service. They made it their business to make sure that we enjoyed ourselves while vacationing!
I would recommend this vacation rental to anyone looking for a little piece of heaven on earth. It was exactly the break that I needed from my everyday hectic New York life.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
House rental in Danby, Vermont - Cape on Large Pond - Awesome Mtn & Wa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186616
+1 203-450-1191
Danby Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
NY State
5

Southern Vermont - Almost Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
Just spent a week at this property, with the leaves at their peak color, 1st week of October.

The scenery from the porch is as beautiful as anything East of the Mississippi, Appalachian splendor in every direction. Great scenic drives all around especially the Green Mountain National Forest. This is prime ski country (though of course not in October!)

The house is comfortable and snug with a good kitchen, satellite TV and DSL Internet and nice furnishings.

Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/7