Au Train cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Au Train Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 1 1/2 baths sleeps 6+

The Superior River Cabin is conveniently located near all the wonderful outdoor recreation offered in the area. Enjoy the Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore, Grand Island, beautiful waterfalls, hiking and biking trails, birding, and photography. This is an amazing area filled with the beauty of the woods and waters.

The nice sandy beach on Lake Superior is just a short distance from the cabin and there is a casino in Christmas. Golfers will enjoy the golf course in Munising.

There is a two car garage available for guests to use.

Winter brings lots of snow for snowmobiling, cross country skiing, snowshoeing, and ice fishing. Take a dog sled ride or the adventurous might try ice climbing in the Pictured Rocks.

The Superior River Cabin is on the snowmobile and ATV trails for miles of riding through the forests.

The cabin is located close to all the attractions and recreational opportunities the area has to offer. Visit the Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore and take a walk on some of the wide variety of hiking trails, or view the National Lakeshore on the Pictured Rocks Boat Cruise, the Shipwreck Tour, or the Skylane Air Tour. Visit the Interpretive Center on Washington Street (also called Sand Point Road) and learn about the area's history and take the short walk to beautiful Munising Falls, an enjoyable stroll through a little valley. There are several area waterfalls to visit in the area with maps available at the Visitor Center at the blinking light in Munising.

There is a ferry to Grand Island where you can hike or tour by bike or bus. There are several area lighthouses with AuSable Lighthouse open for tours. These lights look especially lovely at night when they are lit. Fishermen will enjoy fishing in Lake Superior or the many lakes and streams of t

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 186047 in Au Train, Michigan

Superior River Cabin on the Autrain River
average rating of 4.3636365 based on 11 reviews
business
Superior River Cabin on the Autrain River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186047
+1 2315876200
Au Train Upper Peninsula Michigan
ferndale, mi
5

Loved it, loved it, loved it!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
My family and I recently spent 5 nights here, and it was the best vacation we have ever taken. The property was spotless, and the description and photos provided were completely accurate. We were walking distance to the beach, a party store, a place that rented pontoon boats, and another place that rented kayaks and canoes. We were about 35 minutes from Marquette, and spent one day there...great little town with very friendly people. We also drove into Munising a couple days (about 20 minutes) and spent some time at the Pictured Rocks. Beuatiful property, great location! We plan on trying to go back next year!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank You , We are so glad you had a great time PLease stay with us again. maybe try are other home . 223098 on the big lake.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Superior River Cabin on the Autrain River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186047
+1 2315876200
Au Train Upper Peninsula Michigan
3

nice cabin

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Very nice cabin all in all. The bedrooms are all upstairs by way of an extremely steep staircase. Not the most convenient. The downstairs was beautiful and the perfect size for all of us. Very crowded neighborhood.....which you would never guess from the pictures. The canoes and kayaks were great and it was located centrally to lots of stuff so all in all a nice experience. Not made for the elderly or infirm.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your honest review of the cabin, The home was built along time ago, and we agree the stairs are steep. The best part of the upstairs is that it overlooks the river and there is a rest room up there so you don't have to venture down the steps at night time. and there are homes on are street, but the view from the windows do not look at any of them, because it is in the heart of the Hiawatha National forest and there is very little private land to build on in the area. We are glad you enjoyed to Kayaks and canoe the river it is a lot of wilderness with no houses on it. Thanks we hope you stay again we are open all year round.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Superior River Cabin on the Autrain River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186047
+1 2315876200
Au Train Upper Peninsula Michigan
5

Great cabin, great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This cabin was perfect for our vacation, even better than described. Clean, plenty of space and bedrooms/beds, kitchen was fully stocked with pots, pans, utensils, etc. Beautiful location right next to the river and a little over a mile to Lake Superior. We loved having the kayaks and canoe available right at the cabin, and made good use of them!

A great fit for our group of 5 young adults. We would definitely recommend this cabin, and will absolutely rent again if we return to the area.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Superior River Cabin on the Autrain River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186047
+1 2315876200
Au Train Upper Peninsula Michigan
3

Lovely river home with boating amenities

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Lovely river cabin for a large group of people. BEWARE no wifi though and limited cell phone reception; and pay washer/dryer

Great amenities (satellite, canoes, river kayaks, bbq, fire pit) with the attached boat house and river front access. Facilities were clean and all in working order however kitchen a bit dated. Best part is the balcony off the back room; wish that was the main bedroom. I would rent here again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Superior River Cabin on the Autrain River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186047
+1 2315876200
Au Train Upper Peninsula Michigan
4

Nice cabin by the lake

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I really liked the place and my family thoroughly enjoyed staying here. Price was reasonable too, house is loaded with dishes, cutlery and many other things. There are ample number of beds to sleep 6 adults and 4 children. Although there is only 1 bathroom which to me was not adequate if you go in a group. I expected the air conditioning to work since its a summer rental cabin but overall it was a nice experience. The kayaks, canoe and row boat were an interesting part of the rental.
All in all it was a fun experience.
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at the superior river cabin and we are gald you enjoyed your stay, Sorry there is no air conditioning it is rare that you ever need it that far north. we hope you found the box fans that are there for you. There are two bathrooms in the home last we checked? so im not sure what was up , there is only one bath tub maybe that is waht you ment? We hope you will come again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Superior River Cabin on the Autrain River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186047
+1 2315876200
Au Train Upper Peninsula Michigan
5

Superior River Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
The cabin was great. The only issue was no snow....... But, Dale worked with me and we made it a win/win. I will be there next Christmas. For any pilots out there, Dale is a pilot with multiple planes.... He has airport cars, etc. This is a first class operation.
Owner's Response: Thanks Jim, Im so sorry about the Snow its not a normal year thats for sure , we sure hope you come up in the summer too remember if you fly in to Hanley Field 5Y7 I will leave a car for you to get around in. Thanks for staying with us , Dale
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Superior River Cabin on the Autrain River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186047
+1 2315876200
Au Train Upper Peninsula Michigan
5

Spectacular!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
This cabin was great! Nestled in the Hiawatha National Forest, but only 5 minutes from a beautiful Lake Superior beach. The Autrain river, which is right below the cabin is great to kayak on and to see nature at its finest. The inside of the cabin is modern, clean and very spacious and comfortable. Our only problem was that we ran out of time. We stayed for six nights. It was our first time to the UP and had so many sights to see that we left wishing that we could have enjoyed doing more things around the cabin and on the river. We will definitely come back and hope to stay in this cabin again.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the great review and we are glad you had a good time and enjoyed your stay , so please come again and stay with us , Thank You very much
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Superior River Cabin on the Autrain River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186047
+1 2315876200
Au Train Upper Peninsula Michigan
St. Paul, MN
4

Beautiful View and Pleasant Stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
My parents, brother and I enjoyed 3 nights this fall at the cabin. It was a wonderful visit. The cabin has several windows overlooking the river with great views. Our only concerns were that the stairs to the second floor bedrooms were steep as were the stairs down to the river. While we could carefully make it up the stairs in the cabin, there was no rope or other support to walk down the stairs to the river, so my father and brother who have mobility issues did not feel it was safe to try. Also, the kayaks and canoe were stored in the garage. Fortunately, it was not that difficult to carry the kayaks down and then up the stairs. My mother and I enjoyed a great kayak ride. We enjoyed visiting the Pictured Rocks area - esp the boat ride. We also had a nice dinner at the Brownstone Inn. With the warm weather, we were able to enjoy our other dinners on the porch.
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us, sorry about the stairs, the home was a old log home that has had a few add on in its time, the stairs were made well before building codes were in place, Glad you enjoyed the river its a great place to relax, and we hope you come again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Superior River Cabin on the Autrain River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186047
+1 2315876200
Au Train Upper Peninsula Michigan
Fredericksburg, Virginia
5

Better than advertised

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My family met up with my parents here for 7 nights in August. My first impression was very positive. Not only was the place spotless and neat, it's obviously a work that is always being improved upon. The beds all had log frames and nice bedding, and there is now a small deck off the 2nd floor river side bedroom.

The river is calm and shallow here - perfect for those learning to canoe or kayak for the first time. What a treat to see my parents try it out near the cabin, then later join us for a one-hour kayak trip from the Doucette Bridge to Lake Superior!

The porch is perfectly oriented to catch the wonderful breezes, the flowers by the porch draw hummingbirds, and I forgot what 'quiet' really sounds like!

Everything you need is here. Don't forget the hot dog roasting tools hanging in the entrance off the kitchen!

Wat a great location to enjoy the river, lakes, beaches, waterfalls, and Pictured Rocks. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Wow , Thank you Teri !

What a great review ! I am glad you had a great stay and we hope you come and stay year after year as many folks do.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Superior River Cabin on the Autrain River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p186047
+1 2315876200
Au Train Upper Peninsula Michigan
Indianapolis, IN
4

Clean and comfortable with beautiful river views!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
We just stayed here (end of March) and got exactly what we sought - a very clean cabin (home) that was peaceful, comfortable, well-maintained, and offered glistening river views! The owner was very accomodating and forwarned us in advance that our cell phones probably would not work. We really appreciated being able to bring our well behaved boxer with us, having a fireplace to feel cozy and relax by while using the grill outside for steaks! Our only caution is that one does need to be careful on the stairwell as it is a bit steep, but otherwise, we were very pleased with our accommodation and the satellite TV was great for reception! We really enjoyed the variety of music stations.

We took long peaceful walks on the sandy beach of Lake Superior close by; and explored the trails, waterfalls and lighthouses of Pictured Rocks National Park. We also enjoyed a couple evenings at the nearby casino in the town of Christmas and a beautiful afternoon using the kayak on the river ~ nice to come and go right where you stay!!

In nearby Musining, we could use our cell phones while eating at the Dawg Patch restaurant (gee, I'd forgotten those cartoons!) and also do major grocery shopping at Glenn's. However, don't overlook the small "gas, motel, and groceries" store in Au Train ~ it was amazing in what it offered ~ even a cauldron of warm soup!

We would easily recommend this cabin to our friends and hope to visit again when weather allows the ability to snowmobile!

Thank you again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2