Mid Beach house rental - Front of Villa
Front of Villa
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Mid Beach House Rental Photos and Description
4 BEDROOMS, 4 BATHROOMS - SLEEPS 8

Secluded Pool area surrounded by lush palm fronds and private ficus hedge, this is an oasis of a home you will not soon forget. Custom Designer remodeled, it features breathtaking custom kitchen cabinetry with top-of-the-line Bosch appliances. Each stunningly bedroom has it's own custom designed bathroom and sleeps two people (for a total of 8). Located within walking distance of gorgeous Miami Beach, the newly-built boardwalk on the ocean, 3 blocks away from famed Arthur Godfrey Drive, and a short bike ride to famous Lincoln Road. South Beach is minutes away.

Exquisitely Built: Exquisitely built Modern, 2- story pool home by famed architect Lawrence Murray Dixon. Murray designed some of the most popular and famous hotels in Miami Beach. These include The Victor Hotel (1937), The Raleigh Hotel (1940), The Marlin (1939), The Tides Hotel (1936), The Senator (1939), and The Ritz Plaza Hotel (1940), to name a few. He was famous for his artistic designs in his floors, which are evident throughout the ground floor of this house.

Rare Find: Walking in to the soothing foyer, you step into the perfectly designed living room with romantic fireplace and custom-designed artistic floor design.

Seclusion, Privacy, and Space: Watch the pool from the family room, hear the peaceful sounds of the waterfall as you enjoy the space of this home. The state of the art kitchen is perfect for family meals, small get togethers, to entertain, or simply to enjoy for yourself. Close to everything in South Beach, this centrally located home is only 4 blocks to the ocean and Collins Ave, and a short 3 block walk to nearby shops and restaurants.

IMPORTANT!!!: EVERY PIECE OF INFORMATION YOU NEED TO MAKE A DECISION ABOUT THIS HOME IS HERE. Just take a few moments to read the following 5 sentences and all of your questions regarding pricing, availability, and security (regarding the validity of this rental) are here:

1. To check whether this villa is available for your dates simply look for the link above that says, 'CALENDAR', it is just below the photos at the very top of this page. Even if it's not available we may have other properties that are available. Just fill in the CONTACT THE MANAGER form to the upper right and you will be sent an immediate price quote by return email for either this, or other available properties.

2. To check the rates click on the link above, just below the photos, that says 'RATES'. Look for the time of the year you're interested in and bingo, you'll have your rates. NOTE: HOLIDAYS AND SPECIAL EVENTS (such as the WMC, boat show, Christmas, etc.) have higher rates. Please inquire.

3. I welcome your call, but before you do please fill out the form above and to the right that says 'CONTACT THE OWNER' in blue. You will receive an instant price quote by return email in about 10 minutes. Feel free to call me if you have any questions... I welcome hearing from you! (Harry 786-548-2673)

4. We use the Homeaway.com Reservation Manager system. What this means is complete security, safety, and peace of mind for this rental. Only a select few properties on Homeaway.com are allowed to use their Reservation Manger system - we have to pass a stringent profile review as well as having advertised on Homeaway.com for a significant length of time (we have been here since 2008). Since you will pay Homeaway.com directly, not us, you can be assured of the utmost in security for this transaction. This also legitimizes this rental like nothing else can.

5. To rent this home you simply fill in the 'Contact the Owner' form at the upper right and wait for my response which will give you an exact quote. If you want to rent it, simply answer that email from me and say, 'PLEASE SEND ME A PAYMENT LINK'. I will then generate a payment link directly from Homeaway.com and will send it to you. $1,000 is required to reserve it, and the balance is due 45 days prior to arrival.

Here is some additional detailed information about the home:

Liberal cancellation policy

low security deposit

walking distance to beach

synagogues, kosher restaurants, deli's. Glasnot kosher.

Truly close to S. Beach

IMPORTANT: Although our calendar is always updated, do make sure to fill out the inquiry webform even if calendar shows we are fully booked because we may still have other properties that might suit your needs!

More Details
Hide Details

I own this house as well as manage a number of other homes and condominiums here in the Miami Beach area. A Miami resident all my life, I love it here in Miami Beach because there is so much to do and it is like a world unto it's own compared to the rest of Miami. When you come I'll give you the rundown on all there is to do in the wonderful city.

Harry Johnson Jr purchased this house in 2004

I originally purchased this property in 2004 to live here with my family. Since 2008 we decided to rent it to vacation travelers instead and it has been a wonderful experience.

Completely modern, updated kitchens and bathrooms, privacy, and location (only 5 blocks to Collins Ave) make this home very unique in all of Miami Beach.

28 Reviews of Property 185870 in Mid Beach, Florida

South Beach (Miami Beach) - Spectacular Modern Pool Home Villa
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 28 reviews
business
South Beach (Miami Beach) - Spectacular Modern Pool Home Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185870
+1 786 548-2673
Mid Beach Miami Beach
5

Very nice Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The place was neat and clean. The people we dealt with were honest and friendly. I would stay here again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
South Beach (Miami Beach) - Spectacular Modern Pool Home Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185870
+1 786 548-2673
Mid Beach Miami Beach
5

Super sophisticated house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I love the interiors and the overall clean feel. The pool is very inviting and the poolhouse at the back is just perfect for when you have a group of friends that want to be by the pool.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
South Beach (Miami Beach) - Spectacular Modern Pool Home Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185870
+1 786 548-2673
Mid Beach Miami Beach
5

Fantastic, Clean & Comfortable!

Fantastic, Clean & Comfortable!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had a fantastic stay. It was very clean and the neighborhood was lovely. Very close to everything. Every room had it's own bathroom and TV. Which was very nice. We were in town for work and it was wonderful to ccome home after a long day and be in comfort! I strongly recommend this house!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
South Beach (Miami Beach) - Spectacular Modern Pool Home Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185870
+1 786 548-2673
Mid Beach Miami Beach
Tallahassee
5

Great location and comfortable.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We were traveling to Miami Beach for a conference and did not want to stay on property. We found this house through VRBO. The house was a fifteen minute ride from Miami International Airport and easy to find. Upon arrival we found the house very clean, open and up to date. All the bedrooms and bathrooms were comfortable and well supplied. Kitchen was clean and also well supplied. The pool and patio area was lush with local vegitation and relaxing. As for location, the house was a mile from our conference on Miami Beach and with in walking distance of several resaurants. We highly recommend this property and will stay again when back in Miami.
Helpful votes: 3/5
business
South Beach (Miami Beach) - Spectacular Modern Pool Home Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185870
+1 786 548-2673
Mid Beach Miami Beach
4

Great Stay!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The was beautiful and comfortable. There was 6 of us and there was enough room to spread out and enjoy. The house is in a great location a $5-$10 cab ride to the beach and most locations.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
South Beach (Miami Beach) - Spectacular Modern Pool Home Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185870
+1 786 548-2673
Mid Beach Miami Beach
1

Changes need to be made

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I truly do not like writing a negative review about anything, but in fairness to other travelers I must add another negative review about this property. For starters, the contract process is extremely odd and cumbersome. Then, when we arrived at the house, it was musty, smelled. We discovered the fourth bedroom, which we needed, was not in the house, but beyond the pool and it was extremely smelly and does not have a lock. The pool was filled with algae and not swimmable and it took more than half our stay until it was clean enough for swimming. And then little things, like the iron did not work, there was no working audio system. And then the police showed up at our door and stayed, parked outside for 45 minutes only because we had a rental car in the driveway and it seems rentals are either not permitted or discouraged. It pains me to have to report a negative review, but the owner needs to pull it together for the sake of future travelers.
Owner's Response: Not sure what is extremely odd and cumbersome about booking directly online with Homeaway. This is about as easy as you can imagine booking a vacation home can be.

While this was not an attempt to extort me (like others have), this was a mostly fabricated and exaggerated account.

I'm very sure the main house did not smell as it is professionally cleaned each and every time someone leaves the property. The 4th bedroom is in a private, very secure, very nice part of the property completely secluded and beautiful. The one accurate thing they mentioned was a musty smell there. We could not find the problem until we tore into the wall in the bathroom and discovered a leaky water pipe that has now been fixed. There is no longer a smell there.

Why this traveler said there was algae in the pool is beyond me. I have a professional pool cleaning company come once per week to clean the pool. This week the pool company added additional chemicals to the pool (as they do twice per year). This caused the pool water to become cloudy for 4-6 hours until the water circulated sufficiently to clear the cloudiness again. Those who have pools know this to be true.

The "little" things they mentioned, like a non-working iron could have been mitigated with a simple phone call. It is virtually impossible to find everything that is wrong unless a guest tells us. We are more than happy to provide an new iron if we are told about it.

As for the audio system not working, well, there is no audio system at all. Nor do we advertise there is one. This traveler must have seen speakers built into the ceiling and assumed they were supposed to work. However, we have never advertised they were working because in the past previous guests have exceeded noise violation levels, disturbing the neighbors. So we disconnected them many years ago.

The police was actually the parking compliance division of Miami Beach. These guests parked directly on the sidewalk, completely blocking the passage for people on foot. When a homeowner complained and the parking division came, these guests became angry because they were issued a citation.
Helpful votes: 15/16
business
South Beach (Miami Beach) - Spectacular Modern Pool Home Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185870
+1 786 548-2673
Mid Beach Miami Beach
Cleveland
1

Awful house

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
BEWARE! Before you give Harry a penny read the rules of this house. I did not see it, and it was an expensive lesson to learn. I cannot recover my money from Harry i am out. I am leaving this review so other won't fall victim to this man. He almost ruined our vacation. This house is run down and falling apart. It stinks and smells of bleach and not in a good way. The 4th bedroom is actually the pool house and is unattached, the smell of bleach was so strong in there that we could not go in even on the second day. We paid for 3 days and thankfully left after the second night. Harry says he will greet you at the house...he never shows up we waited 15 mins before, he sends the neighbor that had on no shoes no shirt, and shorts, and it appeared no underwear to let us in the house. This man has the house right next door and he appears to be a hoarder. You can see his junk yard from the pool area. When we walked in the smell of old house, mildew and bleach met us.... The house is not walking distance to the beach, or any restaurants. Check out the map. Lawn chairs are moldy, and mildewed, grill is nasty and falling apart. Kitchen has black water damage on the floors in 2 places with holes. No ice maker it is in the cabinet... Downstairs bathroom had mildew on the window, and the shower head was caked with mold...we didn't even use that bathroom shower. The neighbor next door has his car parked out front and it was full of junk that is what you see when you pull up. This house is a single family home, with a minimum rental period under City zoning rules. this is what you have to sign in his house rules
"Finally, the city of Miami Beach has mandated that short term rentals of less than 6 months are frowned upon. For this reason, if you decide to stay in my home, you are here simply as guests of mine, not renters. PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU UNDERSTAND THIS. This means if the police or code compliance arrives at the house you must tell them that you are guests of mine, not renters. This will prevent them from asking you to leave. Then you must contact me immediately, no matter the time of the day or night." Do you Due Diligence on this man and this house!Wish i had. I have nothing to gain by my review, Harry has does. His response to other bad reviews has been been "they want to extort me"...I am out my money, how could i extort you, Harry?!! you should be ashamed of yourself.
Owner's Response: I received a phone call from the husband of this guest immediately upon arrival. He stated that he and his wife had just left a large resort and were used to the amenities available there. He said his wife would not be happy in ANY home and he had made a mistake renting it because he wanted to "surprise" her with this private home. Instead she yelled at him for booking a home as she wanted to instead stay in a resort hotel. The husband asked for a refund but I reminded him that there were no refunds upon arrival. I also told him it was not my fault his wife was unhappy with his decision to rent a home instead of a resort hotel.

I heard a heated discussion while I was on the phone speaking with him and he said he would call me back. 15 minutes later he again asked if he could receive a refund. I told him that I could not because I had reserved this home for him over 2 months before, and turned away other guests that loved the idea of staying in a private home. And again reminding him that it was not my fault if his wife was angry at him for choosing a private home instead of a hotel.

This review is simply the wife's (who actually wrote the review) attempt at getting back at me for not refunding them when the terms and conditions they agreed to clearly stated there were no refunds within 45 days prior to arrival. Nothing she wrote was of any significance or truth.
Helpful votes: 25/26
business
South Beach (Miami Beach) - Spectacular Modern Pool Home Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185870
+1 786 548-2673
Mid Beach Miami Beach
Washington
1

Beware!

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This home was a mess when we arrived – definitely not as advertised. We found large wet areas of the living room and TV room ceilings crumbling and falling on the floor. A reviewer from August 2012 noted the problem and workers who repaired the damage during our stay said the roof leaks had been ongoing for some time. Three of the 4 bathrooms also had leaks. The smell in one was unbearable. The owner said he had not made repairs because he had had no time between renters. By the time we arrived it was so bad we would have left immediately had we not had a dog and 6 more guests arriving in a week and no place to go. The owner, who never came to the house while we were there, promised the repairs would be done in 2 days. Eight days into our 14 day stay, enough work had been done to make the place presentable. During those 8 days workers were everywhere and a tar machine spewed noxious fumes in the yard. We could not enjoy the home or the yard/pool for over half of our stay. We asked the owner to consider refunding half our rent. He refused, saying our ruined first week was our fault because we insisted on the repairs! In addition to this issue, the pipes for the master toilet clanged so much we had to shut off the water supply, bed linens were dirty and threadbare, there was insufficient glassware, flatware and china for 8 people, the back wall of the house had huge cracks, patio furniture was moldy/broken, the grill was filthy and crusted and there were no tables in the house. The owner seemed to have done as little as possible to maintain this house while collecting rent from unsuspecting vacationers. Given his response to prior complaints, the owner will likely respond to this review by calling us unreasonable. But when asked if he would not have insisted upon repairs had our roles been reversed, he did not deny it. Photos of the conditions as we found them are posted on another site where he has also advertised this house. They do not lie. The house looks better now only due to our pleas for repairs and loss of a week’s vacation. Finally, we found it odd that people showed up several times asking about the house. One of the owner’s many rules for his renters is to lie for him – if asked, they are to say they are invited guests rather than renters. We had heard that Miami Beach has a short term rental ban and asked about this prior to our stay. The owner claimed there was no such ban, and if there was, it was unenforceable. If so, why his rule?
Owner's Response: In the last year I had a rash of fraud involving the renting of my and my clients homes. Most involved foreign individuals downloading our photos from Homeaway, then, taking these photos and advertising our houses as theirs on Craigslist. Claiming these houses were available, and for a fraction of the normal rent, they would then attempt to rent to unsuspecting travelers. As a result, a number of families showed up at this, and other houses I manage, saying they were here to rent. I informed them they were victims of fraud. They all sent money by either wire transfers or western Union (we take credit cards to protect our guests). In the last 6 years I have never experienced undocumented travelers actually showing up at my and my clients homes as has happened this past year.

What does this have to do with this review?

Well, this fraudulent activity has now spread to the people actually staying in my home. Here's how...

People attempting fraud contract to stay in our homes and pay the advertised rate. When they leave they attempt to blackmail us stating, "we will not leave a negative review if you refund us a large portion of the rental amount."

When we refuse they fabricate false problems with the home and attempt to reverse the charges with their credit card companies. In each instance I, and my clients, have successfully fought their fraudulent attempts and won every time.

This reviewer had their credit card company reverse $5,000 of the rental amount they paid. After I provided sufficient evidence that their complaints were unwarranted, a 3rd party arbitrator sided with us and overturned their fraudulent complaint, returning our monies.

Homeaway accepts all reviews at face value as long as the traveler actually stayed in our homes. Our only recourse is to write what actually happened, which I have done here.

This is a lovely home I have rented for the past 6 years without issue, and with all previous guests leaving 5 star reviews. What could possibly have so dramatically changed in the last couple of months to warrant these 1 star reviews? Does it make any sense? Why on earth would I jeopardize this business I have nurtured for the past 6 years by providing shoddy housing, knowing full well that travelers could leave a negative review? I'll leave you to make the logical, sound decision as to the merits of this home. Feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss this with me.
Helpful votes: 16/18
business
South Beach (Miami Beach) - Spectacular Modern Pool Home Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185870
+1 786 548-2673
Mid Beach Miami Beach
5

Prime Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had a fantastic long weekend in Miami. The home was located perfectly for us, just 1 minute from the beach, some great hotels & clubs, and easy to access nearby marinas. The home was nestled into a pretty little neighborhood away from the noise and traffic of the strip. The house was roomy and welcoming, and it had everything we needed to complete our vacation experience. The backyard pool was great for cooling off after a long day in the sun or at the beach. Harry (the owner) was easy to contact and work with when we had questions or needed advice on where to go and what to do in Miami. The property was nicely landscaped and well maintained, and the house met all of our expectations for being our "home base" in Miami.
Helpful votes: 3/13
business
South Beach (Miami Beach) - Spectacular Modern Pool Home Villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185870
+1 786 548-2673
Mid Beach Miami Beach
5

Perfect For a Girls Weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
From the moment we arrived at the house we loved everything about our stay! The house had all of the basic necessities that a group of six girls needed. The owner met us and walked us through the house, explaining everything we needed to know. Additionally, he arranged for all of our groceries to be delivered prior to our arrival, and everything was in the fridge waiting for us. The best feature of the house is the amazing back yard and pool- a definite plus for a relaxing weekend. When we wanted to get out and explore, Collins Avenue (Fontainebleau, etc.) and all it has to offer was just a short 20 minute walk away (or 5 minute cab ride). Despite a slight hiccup with power outage (too many hairdryers on at once, as girls are known to do), I would give this house a five out of five rating.
Owner's Response: Thank you Katherine, it was a pleasure meeting you and everyone in your group. Hoping to see you again soon!
Helpful votes: 2/10