Southport cottage rental - Lupine in June in front of cottage
Lupine in June in front of cottage
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Southport Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, sleeps 4

'An Tigin' means Tiny Cottage in Gaelic, but this one has a big heart within its cozy, cheerful interior. Curl up by the woodstove to watch the tide change from low to high and back again. Bring back lobster & enjoy the view from the deck. Enjoy the feeling of island living all with comfy beds, comfy furniture & new appliances (2009). Our property is about 1 and a half acres, water views on the one side and woods on the other, a little of both of what Mother Nature can offer. Easy access to walk down to the water, no cliffs or dangerous rocks to fall from here. A nice view across to Capitol Island and Squirrel Island beyond. A safe little 'harbor' between Capitol & Southport Island, perfect to swim or kayak in if you are apprehensive about strong currents. Sit on the rocks or the deck in the morning with a cup of coffee for a peaceful start to the day or a glass of wine to relax the evening away. Listen to the foghorns, the gulls crying or the lobster boats going by, a sound to be truly memorable. Use our kayak or bring your own & discover the inlets around Southport. Only a short drive to a few beaches for relaxing and swimming, fish off the Swing Bridge. Fragrant flowers galore in my gardens and plenty of songbirds in the trees, along with peace, quiet & the ocean, what more can you ask for? Great place for walking, oh & don't forget the camera for those beautiful landscapes. Slow down, take a deep salt air breath & relax, you are at 'An Tigin'!!

Things to See & Do in Boothbay: What is there not to do in Boothbay Harbor!!! Southport has a swing bridge with a fantastic view, great to fish or daydream from, three lighthouses can be seen from various island locations. Southport also has a small, clean beach close to a lighthouse, fun for swimming, shelling and enjoying the view all without leaving the island. The aquarium is 2 miles, the Railway Station & the mini putt-putt golf course is 7 miles and fun for kids of all ages. Shops & restaurants galore. Boat trips, both power & sail leave the harbor all day long. Kayak rentals to go out on your own. Charter a fishing boat for the day. A world class Botanical Garden and many Land Trust hiking trails. Antique shops and flea markets too! Take a day trip to Monhegan, a trip worth experiencing, a step back in time!! The entire Boothbay peninsula has so much to offer and such beautiful scenery you have to go no further than that, but if you do want to head out further, it is a great base for sightseeing!

Short Stay rentals in shoulder season: During shoulder periods where 3 or 4 days rentals can be booked, the dates must be consecutive and within a Saturday to Saturday period. If dates booked straddle two weeks a $75 fee will be charged. An example of this is a Friday arrival, departing on Monday, this takes up two separate weeks where a full week booking can be otherwise made, if you book more than seven days and would like more days, you are able to cross over into another week at no extra charge. Our season is so very short here that to 'chop' up full Satruday to Saturday weeks will only lose potential bookings. I hope this poses no inconvenience to future guests, but a financial fact of Home/cottage rentals.

Thank you!

More Details
Hide Details

Born and raised in Ohio we first came to Maine in 1968. I absolutely fell in love with Boothbay Harbor as a child. I brought home small stones, shells and sand to remember my time spent there. I moved to Boothbay Harbor in 1989 permanently and have never regretted it. I am fortunate to be able to live here, I am an artistisan/crafstman and find my inspiration on the shores of the area.

Brooke, BEST CONTACT E-MAIL! please check your box for reply!!!!!!!!! purchased this cottage in 1978

My family came to Maine every summer since 1969, though accidentally as we were heading to Nova Scotia and we had to find a destination for the night. Thankfully it was the Boothbay Region. A few years later after spending a few trips at hotels on Southport we found a property to rent very close by, this we did for ten years. One year the day before we headed back home there was a 'For Sale' sign up on this property, it was on the water, had a little over an acre, but the building was an old car garage. Well, once a car garage, now a cute little cottage. My parents in 1978 bought it, only 5 yrs later my dad died, so my love for this place took over. I was the one who took responsibility for its care. My mom remarried a few yrs later and they bought a summer home nearby. I continued to Maintain this little cottage, it was a place I connected to my dad. After my mom died in 2010, thankfully I was the recipient of the cottage. Since I took care of it all those many years and my mom saw how much I loved it and cared for it, she knew who it needed to belong to for that I am very thankful!

25 Reviews of Property 185511 in Southport, Maine

I invite you to take a peek at 'An Tigin', come look inside!!
average rating of 5.0 based on 25 reviews
business
I invite you to take a peek at 'An Tigin', come look inside!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185511
207 633-5546
Southport Boothbay Harbor Area
Noank, CT
5

A Place Time Forgot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
No review can convey how truly special this cottage is. Brooke has lovingly decorated this cottage with art and beautifully restored furnishings. The cottage is fully supplied for a holiday - and if you like to cook you can cook about anything from boiling lobsters to baking an unforgettable desert. Everything about An Tigin is spotlessly maintained.
The cottage garden,visible from every window in the front of the house, is set off against the changing light of sky and harbor.
Ocean views surround you- in the dining area, the bedroom, the living room and the comfortable deck. The cottage's large yard is on the waterfront and set among other handsome cottages with quiet, but friendly neighbors.
Just beyond the cottage a magical narrow bridge invites you to Capitol Island with its cottages, rocky shore and secluded beach. It was so relaxing to walk around the island in the evening and see the twnkling lights of Boothbay Harbor from the bridge.
If you want to experience the quiet and beauty of the gulls, tides, sunsets and star gazing or the adventure of kayaking and bicycling, An Tigin will provide you with a perfect vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: My heart and soul go into this little cottage, and I hope all who walk through the door feel what I have done to make it this way, it truly is an enchanting cottage and area! Each year I fuss to make "An Tigin" nicer and I will continue to do so to make those memories last for those who come and stay! Thank you and we hope to see you again!
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
I invite you to take a peek at 'An Tigin', come look inside!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185511
207 633-5546
Southport Boothbay Harbor Area
Massachsetts
5

A Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
"An Tigin" is a very comfortable and well equipped cottage, especially the kitchen. Sally was inspired to make popovers when she found the popover tin. Paul found a collection of adventure travel books, including one by his hero Ernest Shackleton, in a bedroom cupboard. We actually bought our own copy of a book about canoeing across Canada on Amazon so it was waiting for us when we got home.

It was like living in someone's house rather than an ordinary rental space.

We enjoyed walking around Capital Island, biking on Southport Island and visiting the local sights. The Coastal Maine Botanic Gardens are truly exceptional. We visited them twice and still didn't see them all.
Owner's Response: Thank you Paul & Sally, it was very nice meeting and chatting you folks. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed staying at "An Tigin", I hope to see you again in the near future and we can share some more travel stories!
business
I invite you to take a peek at 'An Tigin', come look inside!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185511
207 633-5546
Southport Boothbay Harbor Area
round hill
5

Wonderful get-away that has it all!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My two kids and I spent a beautiful week here and I've already booked another 2 weeks for our next visit. Everything is perfect and no detail is overlooked. You can cook all your meals here, large or small, or take a short scenic ride into town to visit any number of fine restaurants. The cottage itself is kept in pristine condition, the furnishings are lovely, and the ambiance relaxing and charming. There's kayaking for my 15 year old son and beach combing galore around the area for my 9 year old daughter. You can be as busy or as relaxed as you want! A great treat for us as well was the day-trip to Monhegan Island - a world unto itself. So much to do and see and a wonderful place to come home to- this was one of the best places we ever stayed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Sue. I look forward to seeing your family again this summer. Perhaps this year we can all go kayaking out to visit Burnt Island Lighthouse! Thanks again! Brooke
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
I invite you to take a peek at 'An Tigin', come look inside!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185511
207 633-5546
Southport Boothbay Harbor Area
5

An Tigin in September

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Linda and Rich, Cool California

We spent a long awaited and magical week at AnTigin this September. Thank you Brooke for your encouragement and making us feel so welcome as well as making our week so trouble free. Your suggestions and the information you provide here at the cottage got us off on the right foot no matter where we were headed for the day.

The weather was picture perfect. Just the right mix of warm days, cool nights with a little rain and fog on one day only. Even then it cleared up for our planned outdoor activities that day. What more could we ask for? We found the people we met in the area who live or summer locally to be delightfully friendly and helpful.

We had a beautiful sail on the Schooner “Lazy Jack” with Captain Joe out of Boothbay Harbor We enjoyed walks on the coast and Rich rediscovered his love for drawing and joined some of the artists taking advantage of the scenery and beautiful weather. We went out on the Lobster Boat, “Sea Swallow” with Captain Clive who was a wealth of information about the life of a lobster, the Maine Lobster Industry and the Main Lobstermen's sponsorship from its beginning to present day. We learned to tell the difference between boy and girl lobsters and that they can grow all their appendages back as they are often lost to one another in their lives under the sea. I grew up here in Maine but did not know that. We walked on Capitol Island every morning and enjoyed the private beach there, also the beach at the end of Southport.

Morning coffee and conversation on the deck and rediscovering the many ways to cook lobster. We seldom have Maine lobster in California. The shops and art in Boothbay were a delight to explore. The home made ice cream was pretty good too.

Brooke has created a perfect little piece of heaven on earth right there at AnTigin. The cottage is picture perfect. The setting is peaceful and quiet. The cottage is everything we thought it would be. I searched for three weeks before we decided on AnTigin. It was a very interesting process but from the first there was something about the way this cottage presents itself with Brooke and her daughter's touches that drew us. This vacation we spent at AnTigin will be one of our fondest memories. We have nothing but good things to say about this cottage and its caring owners.

We thank you Brooke for all of your hospitality, and can hardly wait for our next vacation at AnTigin Cottage.
Owner's Response: Linda & Rich, I am so very glad you enjoyed your stay at "An Tigin", no more horse accidents prior to a vacation o.k. Linda?!?! From one horse person to another, you never know if you will end up being planted into the ground or not during a ride, so just hang on and pray. A much needed vacation for you and I am happy the weather was in your favor.

We do hope to see you again someday, I know coming from California is not an easy trip, but perhaps you can visit again and this time we can spend a day and make baked beans, home made bread and have a cup of tea on the deck while food is in the oven! No matter where you travel from "An Tigin" will be a cozy haven in which to relax and enjoy.

Cheers to a super couple and thank you for your kind words!
Brooke Greenleaf
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
I invite you to take a peek at 'An Tigin', come look inside!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185511
207 633-5546
Southport Boothbay Harbor Area
5

A Photographer/Nature-lover's Paradise

A Photographer/Nature-lover's Paradise
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
One of the unexpected aspects of An Tigin that my husband and I both appreciated was how good it made us feel on rainy days. It's interior colors, strategic window placements (and the colorful flower garden beyond them) made the inside of the cottage glow on even the dreariest of days. In other places we've rented on the Maine coast we've either turned on every available lamp to dispel the gloomy darkness or headed in to town to lift our spirits. In this cozy spot we put our feet up, read books, knitted or worked on a laptop and just contentedly stayed put. On every day that it didn't rain, though, we launched our double kayak and spent many glorious hours exploring nearby islands, osprey nests and lighthouses. (The white "sugar sand" beach on Squirrel Is. is only an easy 30 min. paddle away and combines the beauty of a Carribean beach with Maine's awesome rocky shoreline. We had two unforgetable picnics there.) Curious seals surfaced near our boat and checked us out before gliding back into the depths and once, between Southport and Squirrel, three dolphins arced playfully 20' infront of our bow - an exciting first for us in Maine waters! After spending all day out in the sun and salt water it felt wonderful to come back to An Tigin's clean bathroom (with its modern shower AND old-fashioned,deep, claw-foot tub for soaking sore muscles) and very comfortable beds, We don't usually cook elaborate meals on vacations but doing so would have been easy to do with the plentiful supply of kitchen tools, pans and dishes on hand - entertain company in a beautiful setting and take a postprandial walk over to nearby Capitol Island!)

An Tigin was everything we associate with our best vacations: a place close enough to stores and services to quickly take care of needs but removed from traffic noise and loud neighbors. (An exuberant Golden Retriever, living in the house across the street, barked at us whenever we walked by but stayed respectfully on his own property.) We fell asleep each night listening to crickets and the Ram Is. fog horn and awoke to seagulls crying as they followed the early morning lobster boats. We can't wait to come back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Many thanks to great guests! Growing up in one of the US's top cloudy states, I needed to find a sunny, cheerful environment in which to live. After moving to Maine from NE Ohio where it is cloudy all the time, I could not wait to find colors to keep the rooms cozy and cheerful. I found my combinations of colors and even on the most chilly, rainy day you feel as though it is pouring sunshine instead of rain. I lived at An Tigin for ten years prior to putting it on the rental market and my most enjoyable weekend days were sitting on the deck on a chilly day, in my rocking chair, drinking tea, wrapped in a blanket, reading a good book while listening to the foghorns, pure relaxation! Or when it turned cold, I sat by the window with tea in hand, by the woodstove and enjoying the snow fall, what a delight! We hope to see you back next year H&B! Enjoy your photos!
business
I invite you to take a peek at 'An Tigin', come look inside!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185511
207 633-5546
Southport Boothbay Harbor Area
5

Perfect Getaway-Quiet and Comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We treated our parents to a week at An Tigin for their 50th anniversary and it was great! Everything was spotlessly clean and it was as comfortable as home. Brooke, the owner, was warm and easily available if we needed anything. We loved that the property included gardens and paths to walk down by the water. It had outdoor spaces for eating or relaxing and the interior would be cozy for a rainy day. A full kitchen and laundry was a plus. And it was so close to Boothbay Harbor too. We were so happy with An Tigin!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jean! Your parents are so nice and when I would pop in to check on them or do my trash runs, they seemed to be so happy sitting on the deck enjoying the view of the water and my flowers. The nice note in their journal entry did indeed show they had a fantastic time here celebrating their 50th anniversary. We hope to have you back again some day! Brooke
business
I invite you to take a peek at 'An Tigin', come look inside!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185511
207 633-5546
Southport Boothbay Harbor Area
Gainesville, GA
5

"An Tigin" a Keeper

"An Tigin" a Keeper
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This cottage has an excellent location for Boothbay Harbor
activities within 5-10 minutes while allowing for a peaceful
cottage to come home to. An Tigin is a treat for those who
are seeking a well-maintained cottage with the Maine enchantment of getting away from it all by the sea-side.
The owner is very caring and helpful. You can tell that it has
been the pride and joy of the owners and they are willing to
share it with guests! It is well-equipped and my family of 4
loved it! The short walk to Capitol Island in the mornings and
after dinner added much enjoyment to our daily routine. We certainly would repeat this vacation every year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and yes, this tiny cottage is in my heart and soul and I am glad it shows. We are hoping you come back many years and enjoy all that the area has to offer. "An Tigin" is located in an area that is close enough to all the fun things to do, yet for my guests who prefer some quiet, it fits that bill too. Thank you again Dolores.
business
I invite you to take a peek at 'An Tigin', come look inside!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185511
207 633-5546
Southport Boothbay Harbor Area
Barre,Ma
5

A quiet retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
My husband and I just completed a two week stay at An Tigin. There are not enough superlatives to describe this beautiful property. Over the years we have rented for ski vacations all over New England and for summer vacations in Maine and on Cape Cod. This was the nicest place we have rented in thirty years. The house is sweetly decorated, perfectly appointed and spotlessly clean. Relax with meals on the deck overlooking the cove. Brooke was wonderful and responsive to every need. She made sure that our grandchildren had a crib, beds and toys in the yard and for the beach.You can tell this house is a labor of love. My only regret is that I didn't get to spend more time with Brooke and garden talk! We'll save that for next time. A must see is the Botanical Gardens in Boothbay, especially the children's garden. No child or adult can resist the adventure.We took a sightseeing cruise out of Boothbay which was magnificent and paddled our kayaks in the cove. I would highly recommend this house to everyone!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Pat & Steve! I hope I continue on the tradition of making this the most memorable little cottage any guest would want to come back to. With the loss of my mother just two days ago, I could not attend to my guests as I had done in the past, but Pat perhaps next year we can have time to talk and perhaps other future guests would love to sit and have a cup of tea overlooking the water and enjoying my gardens.

We hope to see you again Pat & Steve!
Brooke
business
I invite you to take a peek at 'An Tigin', come look inside!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185511
207 633-5546
Southport Boothbay Harbor Area
Middlebury, Ct
5

Quintessential Maine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We absolutely loved An Tigin and are looking forward to staying there again next year! The cottage was spotless and Brooke is the perfect hostess. She spent many hours answering all of my questions prior to booking and is so knowledgable about the area. We traveled up north to the Camden area and then as far south as Reid State park and we all agreed Capitol Island was the most beautiful! The beaches are picturesque and the water quite warm. The cottages dotting the coast line are lovely. The people are very friendly with everyone saying "hello". We went out to eat quite often and never had a bad meal. Every restaurant had a children's menu which was great. McSeagulls in Boothbay was our favorite. The Bistro across from the bowling alley had the best Lobster Thermadore. Ocean Point was a nice area to drive to and see the beautiful coastline. One of our favorite places to visit was the Maine State Prison Store on route 1 north heading up to Camden. Everything was handmade by a prisoner from wooden schooners to rocking chairs to knitted hats. Some of there carvings were stunning. This was by far our favorite area of Maine with An Tigin being the nicest cottage we have stayed in. Thank you Brooke for giving us wonderful memories. We will never forget our stay here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Hallie! As I have written in other reviews my entire heart and soul is in An Tigin ("Tiny Cottage) and the area of Southport and Capitol Islands. It truly is a special place I try to keep in the best condition as possible for my guests, present and future. I invite anyone wishing to stay in a little "doll's house" and experience the salt air, foghorns and seagulls to stay at An Tigin. It is not for income, it is my passion I share such a charming tiny cottage such as this to complete strangers who have now become friends and have fallen in love with the area and my cottage just like I did as a little girl coming to Maine. Thank you again Hallie we hope to see you again next year!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
I invite you to take a peek at 'An Tigin', come look inside!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185511
207 633-5546
Southport Boothbay Harbor Area
New Jersey
5

Total Peace

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We just stayed a week at this wonderful cottage. It was by far the best place to stay. The cottage is very user friendly and had everthing you needed for a simple meal or a elagent dinner. You could be very busy in this location or you could just sit back and be entertained buy all the natural nature around you. Especially out on the deck! The owner Brooke is a wonderful person and it shows in every way at her cottage on Capital Island rd. We just love staying here and we will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Audrey & Aage!

I will love to have you back in the fall and I hope you will have the weather for a nice, cozy fire in the woodstove. It is nice to have another satisfied guest here at "An Tigin", the tiny cottage with a big personality!
Helpful votes: 1/1