Charlottesville house rental - Renovated farm house
Renovated farm house
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps18
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Charlottesville House Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms +loft +1 add'l sleep spaces, 3 bathrooms, sleeps 18

Your own private retreat in the heart of Virginia wine and hunt country 1 1/2 hours from DC and 1/2 hour from UVA, with amazing views of the Blue Ridge Mountains in front and Thoroughfare Mountain behind. This beautifully renovated farmhouse features 5 bedrooms, a sleeping loft, and1 other sleeping area making it ideal for family reunions, or adult retreat. Easily accessible but totally private on 85 rolling and wooded acres with a gorgeous pool, pond and hot tub. 2 Large living spaces both with televisions, a separate study and enormous screened in porch all beautifully furnished and appointed. Spend your days hiking the blue ridge, horseback riding, antiquing or visiting the many wineries in the area. Or simply lie by the pool or on the spectacular screen porch in total privacy with views in every direction.. Enjoy shooting stars and an unbelievable night sky from the hot tub and sunsets over the Blue Ridge Mountains from the front porch.

The house and grounds are beautifully furnished and were designed with every amenity for a luxurious and relaxing experience.

More Details
Hide Details

26 Reviews of Property 185451 in Charlottesville, Virginia

Spectacular 85 acre retreat Blue Ridge Mountain Wine Country with private pool
average rating of 5.0 based on 26 reviews
business
Spectacular 85 acre retreat Blue Ridge Mountain Wine Country with private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185451
Charlottesville Central Virginia
Petaluma, California
5

Fabulous weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We rented this lovely farmhouse for a girl's weekend in early March. The house is gorgeous both inside and out with a very well equipped kitchen, plenty of towels/linens, and beautiful furniture! It was extremely spacious and felt like home the minute we walked in the front door. The large amount of bedrooms with various sets of beds, including a two rooms with twin beds/bunk beds was ideal for our crowd, since not everyone knew each other. The hot tub on the deck was fantastic for the cold evenings and we would love to come back in the summer to enjoy the screened in porch and pool!

Additionally, as advertised, this farmhouse is located on a large parcel of land where you feel "out in the country." However, with that said, it was only a 1.75 hour drive from DC, grocery stores were within a 15-minute drive, and wineries abound in the area. We also thoroughly enjoyed saying hello and cuddling with the friendly miniature donkeys on the property.

Can't wait to relax in this lovely farmhouse again in the future!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
business
Spectacular 85 acre retreat Blue Ridge Mountain Wine Country with private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185451
Charlottesville Central Virginia
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This is such a lovely house. Literally as soon as we walked in we felt at home. We stayed here for a girls weekend and hated leaving for the wine tour/dinner we'd planned - we wanted to just hang out at the house the whole time! It's spacious, beautifully decorated and super comfortable, and it's so nice having so much liveable outdoor space too. We'd love to go back during the summer when we can enjoy the pool, and it would be great for families too. Beth is amazingly helpful and responsive. Would highly recommend this house.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
Spectacular 85 acre retreat Blue Ridge Mountain Wine Country with private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185451
Charlottesville Central Virginia
5

Family during the holidays

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We stayed here for four nights with extended family totaling eleven (nine adults and two children). It was the "meeting up" place for the holidays. It worked out very well. The house is large and beautifully decorated with antiques. The dining room and living room had plenty of space for everyone to be together. But there also were smaller rooms where people could break off away from the crowd. The grounds were lovely, and provided plenty of opportunity to walk around the many acres and see the farm animals. The hot tub was a nice activity in the evenings from which to view the stars - even in chilly December! We all went to Monticello one afternoon (about an hour away), and one of us brought a bike to ride around the countryside. All ages from 12 to 76 enjoyed the house and property. We are looking forward to returning!
business
Spectacular 85 acre retreat Blue Ridge Mountain Wine Country with private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185451
Charlottesville Central Virginia
5

Excellent ladies weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Rented this lovely property for a ladies weekend. The house and surroundings were beautifully decorated and maintained. Beth was a pleasure to work with and addressed all of our questions. Her recommendations for restaurants and vinyards were spot on and the eggs were delicious! So restful and relaxing! Thanks again Beth!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular 85 acre retreat Blue Ridge Mountain Wine Country with private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185451
Charlottesville Central Virginia
Beijing, China
5

Unforgettable experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This past July, our family of 6 (2 adults, 4 children ages 5-10) spent 3 blissful weeks at Thoroughfare Farm. I could write pages on the remarkable beauty of the property, the perfect accommodations, the delight we experienced while playing croquet, splashing in the pool, rocking on the front porch enjoying stunning sunsets, cooking in the incredible kitchen and making s'mores around the campfire. Our stay exceeded our expectations. The home is extremely comfortable and well laid out with multiple seating areas in which to gather or just to sit quietly and read (or nap). The entire property allowed for a much needed retreat for us as well as a perfect location to spend time with other friends and family who were able to join us for a meal or overnight visits. Although we mainly chose to stay close to the home, Thoroughfare Farm is in a wonderful location with easy access to the beauty of the Blue Ridge, the charm of Culpeper, the energy of Charlottesville and thrill of Washington, DC. The home, barn, lawn and pool are all well maintained and Beth, the owner, is attentive and quickly responsive, allowing for the entire experience at the Farm to only create memories of enjoyment. We already greatly look forward to our next visit to the Farm and would highly recommend this property for any age and size of group. Enjoy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular 85 acre retreat Blue Ridge Mountain Wine Country with private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185451
Charlottesville Central Virginia
Ashburn Va
5

Down Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Repeat visits to Thoroughfare over 10+ years is a testimony to how we feel about this place. If you are looking for a place to spend some quality time with your family or friends, this is it. The views from every direction are spectacular and unforgetttable. Our children range in age from 25 to 10, and they all continue to look forward to our visits and enjoy their time together. While there are plenty of things for families to do in the area like hiking the Blue Ridge or visiting Monticello, there is more than enough to keep everyone happy without leaving the farm, and that is a true luxury! Beth and Steven also do an amazing job of maintaining the grounds and the home, so you feel like you're in a first class resort that is made neat and tidy just for you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular 85 acre retreat Blue Ridge Mountain Wine Country with private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185451
Charlottesville Central Virginia
Tiburon, CA
5

We didn't want to leave!

We didn't want to leave!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Four generations converged at Thoroughfare for a week ranging in ages from 1-86, and we had the best time. There were thirteen of us, and there was plenty of space for us to spread out yet be together in the living room or at the dining room table. We stayed at the property most of the time, though we did venture out to the Brightwood General Store on Tuesday night for bluegrass, to the Tasty Freeze and Christmas store in Madison and into Charlottesville. But, there was so much to do at the farm. Everyone enjoyed the large pool, the hot tub and the barn with the chickens, goats and donkeys. We also played croquet, layed in the hammock and watched the stars from the screened in porch. Just looking at the photos again makes me want to go back! The owners are very nice and helpful also. I would definitely recommend a stay here!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Spectacular 85 acre retreat Blue Ridge Mountain Wine Country with private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185451
Charlottesville Central Virginia
Powell, Ohio
5

Silence, Solitude, Screened Porches, & Sweet Tea

Silence, Solitude, Screened Porches, & Sweet Tea
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We (3 generations of family) came down for a week's stay at the end of June 2013. Frogs hopping throughout the land, the gorgeous hydrangeas in bloom. Quick summer storms blowing over the mountain range and cooling off the grounds. The swimming pool was a magnet for the four children (ranging from 3 to 8) and the screened porch was the idyllic spot for afternoon naps. We enjoyed venturing over to the barn to look for fresh eggs and to visit Sophie, Katie, and the goats. We loved the openness of the farmhouse kitchen. It was a chef's dream! The accommodations exceeded our expectations and the owners were so very courteous and kind enough to answer all questions. We enjoyed hiking Lower Whiteoak Falls at Shenandoah National Park, visited Luray Caverns and walked the grounds, tasted wine at Prince Michel, shopped and dined in Culpeper. Next time, we're going on Tuesday night to catch the live bluegrass at Brightwood General Store! I spent time each day in a different room with a different view and a good book. Plenty of natural light throughout. Just a cozy and wonderful spot for respite and family togetherness. I need the owners to come to my home to furnish it! I was in love with every piece of decor. Excellent VRBO. The best experience yet!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spectacular 85 acre retreat Blue Ridge Mountain Wine Country with private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185451
Charlottesville Central Virginia
Florida/New Orleans
5

Thoroughly Enjoyed Thoroughfare

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Part of me would rather keep mum about Thoroughfare Farm so I could keep it all to myself. But then that just wouldn't be fair to the owners, who not only take spectacular care of this idyllic homestead, but are extremely pleasant to deal with. The house is well equipped, the linens are top notch, and the views from every window were flawless. For our family it was a big game at a nearby boarding school that brought us to the area.And it couldn't have been more convenient. We were close to the school, as well as all the needed conveniences. You feel like you are in the middle of nowhere, but you're not. Culpepper is an adorable little town and has quite a few good restaurants. We were only were 2 couples, and it was wonderful for us. Yet the house can absorb many more, depending on how well your family likes to pile it on. Thank you, Beth. We can't wait to return, especially to say hi to Sophie and Katie.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spectacular 85 acre retreat Blue Ridge Mountain Wine Country with private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p185451
Charlottesville Central Virginia
Williamsburg, VA
5

Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our family met at Thoroughfare Farm for a memorable reunion/vacation. With thirteen people, ages 3 to 60-something, there was plenty of room to visit, play and even have some private space for quiet activities. Everyone enjoyed having fresh eggs for breakfast (who knew a fresh egg could taste so good?), and the 10-year-old loved being the egg-finder. The donkeys were charming, and the pool was a magnet for everyone. Some of the group went hiking on Old Rag, others visited Monticello or some of the local wineries. We had wonderful meals around the big dining room table, and the porches were so relaxing in the evenings. Thanks to the owner for being so accomodating to our needs and frequent questions. We are hoping that we can return some time in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3