Bennington apartment rental - Private Pool Right Outside Your Door
Private Pool Right Outside Your Door
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Bennington Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Ground Floor Stand-Alone Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Den, 1 Bath/laundry, (Sleeps 6)

NOTE: The automatic quotation feature employed by this website is not always accurate due to both internal errors and algorithm limitations, please contact owner for definitive quotation.

All newly renovated 2 bedroom (sort of) fully-appointed, secluded apartment with full kitchen and laundry - only rental unit in barn complex housing gallery, studio and owner's very separate residence. Queen bedroom, king bed in large alcove off living room, and comfy (no kidding) double pull-out sofa in living room which also accommodates dining area. Full kitchen with dishwasher, microwave and all dishes, pots, etc. Entrance is through a heated mud room for skis and boots. Bathroom with double shower, washer and dryer. Large closets, cable TV, VCR, DVD, stereo. Private courtyard for outdoor eating and pool in season. Hot tub by appointment - ask about availability. Six miles to Williamstown, MA and 6 miles to Bennington, VT; both with scores of recreational, entertainment, culinary, and cultural venues.

Dog under certain circumstances. Additional photos and information available at our website listed elsewhere in this listing.

We moved here full-time in January of 2007. In a portion of our barn complex we operate a commercial photo studio and a craft and photo gallery which our customers describe as 'fun', 'unique' and 'not what they expected.' We have a new section of Fair Trade Crafts from a variety of overseas projects designed to help people achieve a middle-class lifestyle in their local context, and hope to open an additional shop expressly for this purpose in the near future. The hills are alive with artists working in all mediums, especially those who take inspiration from our spectacular scenery.

We love the proximity to real people with deep ties to the earth and are incorporating their efforts into our 'made in America' concept. Two years ago we opened a 'Vermont's Best' ice cream shop and last year added 'Vermonster Dogs', using all locally sourced products. And, we didn't see ourselves selling maple syrup, but what we offer is made right up the hill from our gallery!! How could we resist.

Come to Vermont and see why we chose this as our final home.

Keywords: Ground Floor One-of-a-Kind Apartment

More Details
Hide Details

What can I say? We are creatives who love the beauty and serenity of this place. We spent our adult lives in Fairfield County CT with a 5-year sabbatical in Seattle, and looked for a location that would not only fulfill our space requirements but meet our emotional needs as well. We share our environment with Rooney McDuff a spirited, way-too-loving golden retriever, and Ritz and Riley, two coal black cats who think they're dogs. We've always loved one-of-a-kind places, and this definitely fits the bill.

Pat purchased this apartment in 2006

Well, this is more than a vacation rental; it's an entire lifestyle. Pownal Valley is probably one of the most beautiful in all of Vermont. Rolling limestone mountains might not make for double black diamond ski runs but they do make for fabulous vistas. Our views are without challenge anywhere throughout New England. Our complex houses our studio and gallery spaces as well as our own residence but our guests ALL say they feel totally private and alone on the property.

This is all about peace and quiet: not a partying place by any stretch. For our rental guests: Private courtyard for grilling and dining, private fire pit for relaxing and s'mores, private pool for a leisurely swim, private hot tub for a satisfying de-stressing. AND a fabulous flat, safe yard for kids and dogs to play!

33 Reviews of Property 253621 in Bennington, Vermont

VTs most beautiful view-hike/bike by day-hot tub by night-seasonal private pool
average rating of 4.84375 based on 33 reviews
business
VTs most beautiful view-hike/bike by day-hot tub by night-seasonal private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253621vb
+1 800 872 1410
Bennington Southwestern Vermont
5

Relaxing Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We came to Bennington for the US Snow Shoe Nationals, and came in late Friday night which Pat and Gabe were very accommodating. The place was amazing. Enough space to relax and let our 23 month old run around and play. The hot tub was great after the race on Saturday with a perfect view of the sunset.

Definitely bookmarking this place and will be back to spend another weekend in Vermont!
Owner's Response: Thank you folks for the kind note you left and for leaving the place in such immaculate condition. I'm glad you found everything you needed for you cooking and enjoyment pleasure. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. We are becoming known for our great Nordic skiing and snowshoeing. Add to that nearby ice skating and snowmobiling, and Alpine skiing just 25 minutes away and we offer a literal winter playground experience.
business
VTs most beautiful view-hike/bike by day-hot tub by night-seasonal private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253621vb
+1 800 872 1410
Bennington Southwestern Vermont
4

All the comforts of home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We were very comfortable in this cozy apartment with all the comforts of home. It was perfect for our small family of three and wonderful that we could bring our dog too. We skied each day and cooked in every night. Enjoyed the hot tub too! Immaculate with fresh towels and sheets - a great place to stay to enjoy the Berkshires and southern Vermont.
Owner's Response: Your dog was so well behaved and Rooney loved having one of his own breed to play with. Thanks for the great review.
business
VTs most beautiful view-hike/bike by day-hot tub by night-seasonal private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253621vb
+1 800 872 1410
Bennington Southwestern Vermont
Georgia
5

Had an excellent time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This place was awesome! Extremely nice people renting it out. They were very compatible with payment plans and they even were willing to help us out with driving! 10 out of 10 for me! I made a video of our adventure and you can see some of the house in it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We remember what it's like when only one person is old enough to drive the rental car, but the group can't agree on a single activity. We were glad to help out with the transportation. We take every opportunity to introduce more people to the wonderful skiing at Jiminey Peak. Scott, you five were model guests and should be an example for other owners who don't want to rent to college students. You left the place in better shape than most families! And Rooney loved the snow ball wars in the yard, a rare event for our dog. Thanks for the great review.
business
VTs most beautiful view-hike/bike by day-hot tub by night-seasonal private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253621vb
+1 800 872 1410
Bennington Southwestern Vermont
5

Scenic Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
What a great rental! Pat and Gabe were extremely welcoming when we first arrived. They were at the main house during our stay, but did not intrude on us in any way. The apartment is cute and very well decorated with eclectic art and furniture. Bathroom is large with updated fixtures. Well stocked kitchen with appliances, dishware and little spices and condiments you may forget. We skied at Jiminy Peak both days, which is only a short 20 minute drive away. It was very relaxing to climb into the warm hot tub after a long day on the slopes! Great apartment. Would definitely rent again and recommend.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad it worked out well for you. We thin Jiminey Peak is a treasure especially the night skiing and so much less crowded. We look forward to welcoming you next year! - Pat
business
VTs most beautiful view-hike/bike by day-hot tub by night-seasonal private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253621vb
+1 800 872 1410
Bennington Southwestern Vermont
5

Fall Foliage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We took a chance on VRBO & this rental and were not disappointed. Located 6 miles south of Bennington, the accomodations were quite nice, well appointed and complete for a pleasant and care free stay. The Owners Pat & Gabe were delightful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
VTs most beautiful view-hike/bike by day-hot tub by night-seasonal private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253621vb
+1 800 872 1410
Bennington Southwestern Vermont
Watertown, MA
5

Great Friends Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The description and pictures of the property are very accurate so there were no surprises, only that the rental was in a ground-level basement of the larger property (owner's residence and shop above). The courtyard with a table provided an outdoor dinner space for we 3 teacher girlfriends who were escaping for the weekend. We enjoyed the on site ice cream store and took a dip in the pool in the evening. The full kitchen went mostly unused by us, but it would be very convenient for a family or longer stays. The owners pointed us in the right direction for a breathtaking view for the sunset, though you could see the rolling mountains from their property as well. They have a friendly cat and dog but were very considerate about keeping his pets away if we wanted, but we enjoyed them.

This place offered all the privacy we wanted to just get away for the weekend, while still being able to drive 10 minutes to Bennington to catch dinner and go to a diner the next morning. The dip in the pool was so refreshing and we all enjoyed shopping in their store the next morning. Amazingly beautiful views.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
VTs most beautiful view-hike/bike by day-hot tub by night-seasonal private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253621vb
+1 800 872 1410
Bennington Southwestern Vermont
5

A Pure Delight

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This property is 100% as advertised and then some. The apartment is spacious, welcoming, beautifully furnished and well-appointed. It is quiet and comfortable and conveniently located. The hosts were gracious and accommodating. We will definitely be staying again.
Owner's Response: We try harder! Thanks for the great remarks. And we'll be happy to welcome you back!
business
VTs most beautiful view-hike/bike by day-hot tub by night-seasonal private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253621vb
+1 800 872 1410
Bennington Southwestern Vermont
5

Great winter retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My girlfriend and I decided to spend a couple days in rural VT before our grad school resumed later in the month. Staying at Gabe and Pat's place perfectly fit the bill. It has an idea location. Nearby are amazing cultural venues, such as MASS MoCA in N. Adams, the Williams College Museum of Art and the Clark Museum of Art in Williamstown, and music in Pittsfield. There are great nearby skiing (Jiminy peak) and snowshoeing/XC skiing (Prospect Mtn).

The apt itself is great. The kitchen was more well-appointed than I was expecting! Food processor, salad spinner, adequate supply of cooking utensils!

We did enlist the hot tub, which was fun at 25 degrees on a clear night.

Gabe and Pat are attentive, but gave us our space to enjoy our trip. Thanks for being great hosts!
Owner's Response: I am so happy you two were satisfied. You seemed to be enjoying yourselves, and Rooney let you enjoy the hot tub in peace!

Good luck this semester!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
VTs most beautiful view-hike/bike by day-hot tub by night-seasonal private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253621vb
+1 800 872 1410
Bennington Southwestern Vermont
Pinehurst NC
4

Indeed, Vermont is beautiful!!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We stayed in south of Bennington for 3 weeks and it was a great location for enjoying the beauty of Southern Vermont. The apartment is spacious and quite well equipped. We particularly enjoyed the patio and spend lots of time there, reading, relaxing and enjoying a glass of wine. I would give it 5-stars for "pet friendly". Our dog enjoyed the patio as much as we did and he loved playing with Rooney.
Gabe came to the rescue when we encountered a deluge of flies in the apartment. He was "landlord on the spot". Also, enjoyed the Vermonster hot dogs.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Some folks just won't let you know what it takes to get four stars!

Our Rooney loved sitting with you in our brick courtyard as he always wonders why WE never sit there (It's reserved for the exclusive use of the guests) and he enjoyed playing with your low-keyed pooch. You were great guests. Come back next year and we'll try for 5 stars!
business
VTs most beautiful view-hike/bike by day-hot tub by night-seasonal private pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p253621vb
+1 800 872 1410
Bennington Southwestern Vermont
Central Massachusetts
5

Exactly as advertised, very accomodating with bringing small dog.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My husband and I stayed with Pat and Gabe while visiting Bennington for a quilt show. The accomodations were exactly as described. It was a nice clean large space for a long weekend, and well equipped. Very peaceful too. We enjoyed shopping at the ArtWorks, eating ice cream, and visiting Williamstown, MA. Our little dog was welcome and played with the owners' dog out in the yard. That was a bonus-- he had a great playmate. We will come stay again when we are next in the area and highly recommend this rental. Thanks to Gabe and Pat!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway