Cabrera house rental - Our Oceanfront Pool
Our Oceanfront Pool
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Cabrera House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

If you are a Jimmy Buffett fan you are certain to enjoy the unique nature of Seadog Inn. The site of this exclusive vacation rental offers the perfect combination of privacy, comfort and proximity to the town of Cabrera. The Seadog Inn is a truly tropical vacation rental offering its own private beach, unique swimming pool and spacious accommodations.

The Seadog is an airy 5 bedroom / 4 bathroom oceanfront vacation villa overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.

Seadog Inn faces mostly eastward to capture and allow you to enjoy the soothing trade winds and natural breezes. To supplement the winds, The Seadog has many ceiling and floor fans to keep you cool.

The outdoor bar area (The Bone Bar) rapidly becomes the gathering place at The Seadog Inn. The bar itself is framed with humpback whale bones collected from the Atlantic Ocean as they washed ashore. Multiple seating and lounging areas add to the comfort and create a perfect area for cocktails and reading.

Price posted is for the villa rental fee only. For a nominal additional charge we can offer either a complete meal plan or a modified plan. We encourage you to try the local restaurants, they are both fun to visit and enjoyable to try.

Dedicated golfers will surely enjoy The Seadog. The villa is located only a few miles (7 to be exact) from the famous Playa Grande Golf Course, designed by Robert Trent Jones, Sr. as his highest achievement in the Caribbean. Playa Grande offers ten holes overlooking the soaring cliffs and also provides exceptional vistas while offering challenging cross winds.

As an added bonus, starting in late January, the humpback whales are migrating to their mating grounds right in our backyard.

Drop me an email, it never hurts to inquire! Discover paradise, 'Jimmy Buffett' style at The SeaDog Inn!

More Details
Hide Details

A game of golf and a glass of wine at The SeaDog Inn's BoneBar, it doesn't get any better than that!

Chester Marr purchased this house in 2000

The friendly people, the tranquil location and the ocean breezes make Cabrera a perfect vacation spot

Peace and quiet, whales spouting and jumping in the ocean. Lunch while sitting in the pool and gazing at the ocean. A professional massage under a shady tree with an ocean breeze. Eating fresh seafood caught that day and thrown in the pan. Walking down to the port to watch the local fishermen bring in the daily catch. A good game of dominos while drinking an ice cold Presidente. Taking an afternoon nap to the sound of the ocean. Sitting around the Bone Bar and enjoying time with friends. Laying in the sun and reading a book. Walking down the stairs to the beach and collecting sea glass. Sitting out at night and looking at the stars you can almost reach out and touch. Listening to Jimmy Buffett while drinking a rum punch. A glass of wine at the BBQ grill, flipping steaks and cooking fresh veggies. Did I miss anything?

23 Reviews of Property 174590 in Cabrera, Dominican Republic

Affordable Oceanfront Villa with Pool
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 23 reviews
business
Affordable Oceanfront Villa with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174590vb
+1 305-453-7929
Cabrera Dominican Republic North Coast
5

No Stress Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The Sea Dog inn is an ideal place. It has everything you could possibly want on vacation: its own private beach and bay to hear the waves, a private pool, a private bar, fully equipped house, lots of space to spread out, beautifully maintained grounds, and a staff so friendly and attentive they will knock your socks off! There was nothing we were left wanting at the house or during our stay. Felon was a great host and tour guide, showing us all of the popular beaches and local attractions. Maximo had coco de agua ready for us at the return of every trip to mix up some rum drinks at the bar. Natalia, Sandy and Myria tirelessly kept us fed and well taken care of, and helped us spot whales off of the point.
The town of Cabrera was the perfect location to land. It had great restaurants and bars, a good market and produce stands to provision, and very friendly locals. The town was smaller so we didn’t have as much traffic or loud music and noise as the larger cities, but we could easily drive to one if we needed more action.
It is definitely a place we plan to return to!
Owner's Response: Thank you for writing such a fantastic review on The SeaDog Inn and our staff. I'm happy you were able to site whales off our backyard while Maximo was preparing you coconuts! We all hope you come back soon for another Dominican getaway.
business
Affordable Oceanfront Villa with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174590vb
+1 305-453-7929
Cabrera Dominican Republic North Coast
5

Most Relaxing Vacation Ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The house was incredible. Large, open and comfortably furnished inside and out! The staff was friendly, efficient and very helpful in organizing outings, massages and translations when needed. They also cooked some wonderful meals for our group. The owner took the time to email us with some destinations to see and places to try that were extremely helpful and fun! The town was very safe and easy to drive around. The super market was well stocked and accepted our US dollars. All the restaurants we dined at had incredible food and very reasonably priced. We loved hanging out at the house, in the pool, at the bone bar just listening to the ocean and watching for whales. I would definitely recommend this location!
Owner's Response: Thanks for your nice reveiw of my home, The SeaDog Inn. I hope you'll come back and see us again. My staff stated what fun it was to watch a group enjoy there time so much. Thanks again!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Affordable Oceanfront Villa with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174590vb
+1 305-453-7929
Cabrera Dominican Republic North Coast
5

paradise found

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This place has everything a person needs to relax and unwind. It's laid back feel and casual atmosphere are just right. Its proximity to local attractions makes it an ideal place to unpack and venture out from. It's right off the main road but the only sounds you can hear are from the ocean. My only dissapointment was when I had to leave which was a sad moment. I have stayed at other locations in the DR and would recommend the Sea Dog without reservation.
business
Affordable Oceanfront Villa with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174590vb
+1 305-453-7929
Cabrera Dominican Republic North Coast
Cookeville,Tennessee
5

Treated Like Royalty

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We were treated like royalty from the time of inquiry, rental, arrival, extended stay and departure. Chester has been the BEST rental owner we have had the pleasure of working with (we rent 5 times yearly). I can't explain the ease we had with the rental. On arrival, the staff had a typical Dominican dinner waiting for us which was ABSOLUTELY delicious. Every detail was handled. We received an email with all of the must see and do while visiting. The home was very comfortable. The views were breathtaking. You can relax at the house all day soaking up the sun or be adventurous and explore! Best thing was having access to many locals to assist with touring. No matter where we went, the locals are friendly and quick to help you if needed. Finally, Chester was awesome when we were stranded for four extra days due to the wintery weather back in the states. We were able to stay without any hassles! Thank you again for your hospitality and wonderful staff!
-The Samuel Family
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. Cabrera is a great place and the locals love nothing more than to have a family like yours there to show you the local lifestyle, "mañana". Please come back and visit again.
business
Affordable Oceanfront Villa with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174590vb
+1 305-453-7929
Cabrera Dominican Republic North Coast
5

I am a tough critic -First Class Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
If you want a beautiful property, first class staff, private, safe, awesome beach in Playa Grande, world class golf Robert Trent Jones Golf Course, San Marco restaurant in town 2 minutes from your private estate, or fabulous food and service right at Sea Dog Inn this should be your next vacation destination. Our family had to be taken out kicking and screaming already planning two weeks in 2014. Vacations are so special we all want them to be memorable and picture perfect this is one of those vacations.
Owner's Response: Hi Evelyn, I am so glad you guys enjoyed your stay. The staff said you guys were a great group, and they enjoyed having you at The house. Thanks for staying at The SeaDog Inn and Please come back ASAP.
business
Affordable Oceanfront Villa with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174590vb
+1 305-453-7929
Cabrera Dominican Republic North Coast
Homestead Fl
5

Utopia

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty... The ocean views are incredible. The staff is accommodating and friendly. We didn't want to leave. We used our time to unwind and just relax.... Thank you Chester for sharing your wonderful home with us...

Sincerely,

Elizabeth
Owner's Response: Thanks Elizabeth for staying with us. The staff said you guys were a ball and to remember, what happens at The SeaDog Inn stays at The SeaDog Inn! :-)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Affordable Oceanfront Villa with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174590vb
+1 305-453-7929
Cabrera Dominican Republic North Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Terrific time

  • Submitted: May 26, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Hi Chester
Back home I wanted to confirm, that everything went well and that we are 150% satisfied.
The house is gorgeous, the people great (all of your staff) and we sure will sooner or later come again. I lived in the sunrise suite and this one is terrific, I will never forget the mornings....

Thanks again

Regards
Danny
business
Affordable Oceanfront Villa with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174590vb
+1 305-453-7929
Cabrera Dominican Republic North Coast
United States
4

Sea Dog Inn

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had a great time at the Sea Dog Inn. The home is very comfortable, the staff is nice and the view is gorgeous. We spent most of our time at the Bone bar and sitting on the outdoor lounge furniture. We enjoyed the golf course, Playa Grande and horseback riding with Abe, who also owns Chicos. Chicos has fantastic pizza, and Manny's has a great view. Chester, the owner, was great to work with - put us in touch with the right people and made sure that we were taken care of. Thank you to Chester and his staff for an unforgettable time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Christine,
I'm glad your group had a good time while staying in Cabrera and at The SeaDog Inn. Please come back and see us again one day, my staff would love to host your group again!
business
Affordable Oceanfront Villa with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174590vb
+1 305-453-7929
Cabrera Dominican Republic North Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Great trip

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Chester,

We had a very good week. We felt well taken care of. Seems like we had people looking out for us everywhere we went. We met both Abe from Chicos and we also met Tim from the hotel up the road. They were both very nice to talk to and they were a wealth of knowledge for our group. Abe even gave us his phone number in case we ran into any problems.

I did not go horseback riding but the group that did seemed happy with the trip. Once again, Abe had a way a making us feel at ease.

You have a great place there and you have great people working for you. Maximo and Natalia were nice and were always there when we needed something We were impressed in general with how nice the dominican people are.

We met Francias at manny's. he was another great guy. He took his moped to the sea dog and picked up a few people from our group to come down to the bar so they didn't have to walk. What service!

We were so glad that we had Ferlon to drive us around. Our trip would have been much more limited without him.

Thanks for everything. We made some great memories.

Anne
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Affordable Oceanfront Villa with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p174590vb
+1 305-453-7929
Cabrera Dominican Republic North Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Stay at The SeaDog Inn

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Hi Chester,
Just wanted to thank you again for the use of your home, we really enjoyed it. We are home now and although the sun is shining, baby it's cold outside! Your staff was wonderful, loved the cat (it usually slept with the kids) and we shared all our meals with both the cat and dog. Felon was very considerate of us and took good care of us as well. Having him available was great - thanks for arranging that.
The suggestions that you emailed us were terrific - especially anything concerning Abe. We loved his food and he took us a a great adventure on horseback. He really did a lot to reassure us about the whole transport issue as well, I think you should buy him a beer for that. He said that if we had any issues leaving on Thursday morning to call him and he would come over and help us out. That really helped morale.
We also made the acquaintance of Tim who owns the Catalina Hotel - he is from Elk Rapids Michigan. The view is amazing and the prices are reasonable for lunch and breakfast. Dinner is more I guess, but we didn't go up for anything but breakfast.
We did do a fair bit of eating and drinking at Manny's - they have great ceviche, which is a particular favorite with us.

As for Dominican Transport - they are a great resource as well. We got our entire group there and back for under $500. They were very careful with us and they called us while we were on the road to and from the airport to make sure we were happy with our service. I would keep their number handy.
So thank you for everything. Please give our best to your staff, Abe and Felon, you all really did make it enjoyable for us and we'll never forget our time there.
Take care,
Chris