Ashton cabin rental - Henry's Fork Ranch has 2 miles of river frontage
Henry's Fork Ranch has 2 miles of river frontage
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Ashton Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Deluxe fully restored homestead cabin, Sleeps 8, 1 bathroom, 2 viewing decks

The Henry's Fork Ranch offers guests 2 miles of private access to the renowned Henry's Fork of the Snake River. This section of river is very wadable or floatable, but most important , 80% of the fish caught off our banks measure 16 inches or more. The ranch is a 500 acre working cattle ranch that caters to the outdoor enthusiast. Ranch activities include fly fishing, bird watching, waterfowl hunting, sight seeing, relaxing, and cross country skiing. Since we offer one solitary cabin, you'll share the ranch with the host, cattle, horses and sheep, but no other guests.

Fishing on the Henry's Fork: The Henry's Fork of the Snake River is open year round for fishing. Most anglers prefer to fish with flies but the river allows rod casting as well. This stretch of the river is designated as a wild fishery so it has limits and restrictions. The fishery is very healthy and big Rainbow and Brown Trout are the norm for anglers.

Henry's Fork Ranch is in the middle of it all: The Henry's Fork Ranch is centrally located near many of the areas major attractions. Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks are within a short drive. There is also Jackson Hole Wyoming, West Yellowstone and St. Anthony Sand Dunes. The ranch sits on the bank of the Henry's Fork but there are the South Fork of the Snake River, Madison River, Warm River, Fall River, Robison Creek, and numerous other streams. We also have major lakes like Henrys Lake, Island Park Reservoir, Hebgen Lake, and Ashton Reservoir to fish.

Year round activities: The ranch provides an environment for many migrating birds and waterfowl. Bird watchers come to see a wide variety of bird species such as Trumpeter Swans, Canada Geese, Sandhill Cranes, Bald Eagles, Osprey and a wide variety of songbirds. Other activities include ATV riding, Golfing, Horseback riding, hiking, rafting, skiing and snowmobiling depending on the time of year. Waterfowl hunting is available on the ranch and big game hunting is nearby.

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 183964 in Ashton, Idaho

Idaho's Henry's Fork Ranch offers guests more than all the others.
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Idaho's Henry's Fork Ranch offers guests more than all the others.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183964
+1 208 716-0116
Ashton Eastern Idaho
Texas Hill Country
5

Awesome Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We booked this ranch stay several months before our summertime driving trip around the western states. After 3 weeks in standard hotel rooms, Henry's Fork Ranch was a fabulous respite from the routine. The Fuchs made us feel so much like family. From our initial greeting on arrival, to the daily visits after there work day, and to the 4 wheeler trips around the ranch and fishing spots. Then there was the family dinner which was such a pleasant surprise followed by an evening at the Rodeo. I wish every American could experience such a reality check.
The cabin had everything we could ever need, including a big back porch; perfect for lounging or visiting or spreading out all the fishing gear, and within earshot of the river.
This was a great place get away from it all and just what we were looking for.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Many of the guests who stay with us do become part of our family or at least the family of outdoor enthusiasts who appreciate nature, fun, good friends, natural wonders and simple pleasures. A friendly dinner and a summer rodeo are all the ingredients that were required to make ranch guests into close friends who we look forward to have stay with us again. The memories of catching your first Henry's Fork Trout or the challenge of stocking a large trout that has broken your leader before. These are the memories and lessons that the river will give you for free.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Idaho's Henry's Fork Ranch offers guests more than all the others.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183964
+1 208 716-0116
Ashton Eastern Idaho
Atlanta
5

Beautiful place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The cabin is great inside and out. The location is perfect, you can fish the lower Henry's Fork right out your back door or take about 25 minutes and get up to Last Chance and Harriman. Due to water conditions we had our best fishing in West Yellowstone on the Madison which was just under an hour away, The fishing on the Fork was really off when we were there, so it was great that we had easy access to many other options. The owners are fantastic, the cabin is fantastic, the location is fantastic, the scenery was... you get the point. I highly suggest a stay here and will be back again for my next trip to fish the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Chris and his father were great guests. The fishing conditions are controlled by Mother Nature, but being centrally located too so many great fishing streams offers our guests more opportunities. The fish are always there if you can offer them the right fly and presentation. Dealing with Mother Nature is just part of the Henry's Fork Ranch experience and the area as a whole. We look forward to Chris's return.
business
Idaho's Henry's Fork Ranch offers guests more than all the others.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183964
+1 208 716-0116
Ashton Eastern Idaho
5

Feels like Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Another great stay at Henry's Fork Ranch. If we wanted a second home, this would be it. This was our third stay with Bill and Teresa and we enjoyed ourselves as much this time as the last two. What is not to like when you are located on 2 miles of the Henry's Fork. I always considered it to be a "fish" story when people talked about the fish that got away. Well, now I am a believer because I had a monster on and almost landed when the hook gave way and the monster got away. No kidding.

The cabin is extremely clean and comfortable. The kitchen has all of the staples that you need to prepare any type of meal that you want. Not only that, but if you behave yourself warm chocolate chip cookies seem to appear on the table from nowhere, thanks Teresa. This was also the time of year that potatoes are harvested in Southern Idaho and Bill recovered a few lost spuds for us to take home.

This is a must if you like the rural atmosphere with a beautiful river running through your yard and gracious hosts. Don't miss it!!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Idaho's Henry's Fork Ranch offers guests more than all the others.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183964
+1 208 716-0116
Ashton Eastern Idaho
5

Home Sweet Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I’ve never written feedback before, but knew I had to this time. Staying at the Henry’s Fork Ranch was a truly wonderful experience! We did many things away from the ranch, but returning each day to the ranch was like returning to our own little home sweet home. The cabin was perfect in every way and exceptionally clean! My husband and boys loved being able to go out the back door and down to the river to fish. I especially enjoyed relaxing on the front porch and taking in the beauty of the view around me. I was so peaceful. Teresa made a us a wonderful meal our first night, which was one of my best decisions after a long day of travel! My picky son kept begging us to have her cook again. We came home late one night to the most delicious chocolate chip cookies ever and enjoyed a bonfire and s’mores one night with Teresa and Bill. Bill and his son invited us to join in on shooting potatoes across the river with their potato shooter, which all boys…husband included…thought was a blast! Bill and Teresa were always available to help in any way. In short, they did everything they could to make our stay special…which it SO was! They truly made their home our home for the week, from the amazing star-filled sky to the music of the sheep all around. We came as strangers, but truly felt we left as friends. With much thanks Bill and Teresa!!
Owner's Response: Tammy and her family were a real treat to have stay with us here at the ranch. They must have appreciated what we offer all of our guests who stay with us. This area has so much to offer guests and we make them welcome and comfortable with a few addition amenities.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Idaho's Henry's Fork Ranch offers guests more than all the others.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183964
+1 208 716-0116
Ashton Eastern Idaho
KCMO
5

A choice pick.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We found the cabin at Henry's Fork Ranch to be an ideal vacation rental. As impressed as we were with it, we were even more impressed with our hosts. In 15 years of renting vacation properties we have never encountered owners as proactive as Bill & Teresa. The orientation they provided included a rolling tour of their ranch, advice about fly fishing, a tour of the area rivers, and a trip to Ashton. After that we were treated to a tasty supper of homemade cornbread, split pea soup, pie, and piping hot coffee. And they made a point of being available the rest of the week.

The pristine cabin is sweet. Superbly restored, furnished, and updated, it even offers WiFi and has a good home theater with satellite, surround sound, and a 42" LCD TV in the upper loft.

In our opinion the Chester/Ashton area is a great location, only about an hour from either Jackson Hole or West Yellowstone. Compared to the eastern side, the western side of the Tetons is sparsely populated but access to all the rivers, mountains, attractions, and tourist traps is easy. And because the majority of the tourists prefer to crowd into the overpriced Wyoming side of the range, there are no traffic headaches and plenty of room to stretch out and enjoy the sights. Take some time to enjoy St. Anthony with it's growing folk art community that includes shops displaying painting, photography, stained and fused glass, home furnishings, and leather crafting.

We enjoyed the week and have no reservation recommending Henry's Fork Ranch.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Idaho's Henry's Fork Ranch offers guests more than all the others.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183964
+1 208 716-0116
Ashton Eastern Idaho
Chicago, IL
5

A Week at Henry's Fork Ranch

A Week at Henry's Fork Ranch
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Two dear friends and I spent a week in mid-April at the Henry's Fork Ranch, which is in the country at the end of the road. The owners, Bill and Teresa, were accommodating in every way -- even to the point of providing homemade cookies on our arrival! The primary purpose of our trip was to fish the legendary Henry's Fork in a section that was open prior to the general season opening. The Ranch has approximately two miles of excellent frontage on the river. The fishing was very good; I don't think I've ever caught such consistently large and strong rainbow trout. The other bonus was the cabin, which Bill lovingly and expertly rebuilt from the original homestead cabin. It was modern and very comfortable with all the comforts of home. I look forward to my next visit to Bill and Teresa's piece of paradise, and I cannot recommend their accommodations highly enough.
Owner's Response: It is our pleasure to have guests like Ron's friends enjoy the ranch with us. The spring weather can be unpredictable, but the cabin allowed them to take a break from it. The cabin is within a hundred yards of the river so they could be back enjoying the fishing and the ranch quickly. We look forward to their return to the Henry's Fork Ranch.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Idaho's Henry's Fork Ranch offers guests more than all the others.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183964
+1 208 716-0116
Ashton Eastern Idaho
Oskaloosa Iowa
5

Unforgettable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
The cabin is absolutely FANTASTIC, and the owners are wonderful hosts.
We can not thank you enough Bill and Teresa!!!!
All of us enjoyed this quiet atmosphere!!
This is a wonderful get-away and also a prime fishing and hunting area!!!
We will surely go back when able and in the area!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Idaho's Henry's Fork Ranch offers guests more than all the others.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183964
+1 208 716-0116
Ashton Eastern Idaho
Millboro, Virginia, USA
5

Simply the best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
My husband and I spent 10 days at Henry's Fork Ranch in July 2009. We thought we knew what to expect because of the thorough description of the site and amenities that were posted on the internet; however, even my usually cynical husband was pleasantly surprised. The cabin was spotless, with large rooms, top-of-the line appliances, and plenty of linens, dinnerware, and cookware. The Fuchs even provided fresh coffee creamer and both butter and margarine, as well as a case of drinking water. We also had two miles of river frontage and access to some great fishing holes!

If the cabin and river were all there was to the Ranch, we would have been thoroughly satisfied, but the Fuchs family, themselves, worked to make our experience in Idaho a true vacation adventure. We were able to fellowship with them daily as they made sure that our needs were all met. We were invited to their son's rodeo (leave plenty of time to get there because we arrived as it was just getting over), received special treats from Teresa, and learned all about the workings of a western ranch.

We hope to return to Henry's Fork Ranch in the very near future. I still remember the crisp sheets, fluffy white towels, farm-raised ranch, and the world's largest chicken fried steaks from two local restaurants.

Oh, and did we mention the tremendous array of scenic places to visit within just an hour or so of the Ranch?

And, I haven't even mentioned the fish we caught - some of the largest trout we've ever seen... While we threw most of them back, we did have fresh trout two nights we were there.

Do yourself a favor... Visit the Henry's Fork Ranch. You won't regret it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We certainly enjoyed meeting Herb and Carol, It is our pleasure to meet our guests and help them understand what this area has to offer. There are always the major attractions such as Yellowstone and Grand Teton National parks that our guests come to see, but with the renowned Henry's Fork within a stones throw of the cabin, that is just the beginning of what we offer. We want our guests to understand and appreciate the simple pleasures such as watching thunder clouds roll across the snake river valley and see the rain stream down 50 miles away. They also watch the many song birds that nest in the old sugar maples that the homesteaders planted. We encourage our guests to lose track of time. They are really able to set their internal clocks by natural forces, not by a digital watch or a hectic schedule. It really takes a day to adjust and take a deep breath and relax. Guests set their own schedule and this schedule usually revolves around the fish and the fly hatches that the Henry's Fork is famous for. We look forward to Herb and Carol returning to the Henry's Fork Ranch and the river is always inviting them.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Idaho's Henry's Fork Ranch offers guests more than all the others.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183964
+1 208 716-0116
Ashton Eastern Idaho
Cove OR, eastern Oregon
5

Henry's Fork Ranch, Idaho

Henry's Fork Ranch, Idaho
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
Our experience at the Henry's Fork Ranch was nothing short of perfect! The view from the ranch is of the Tetons!!! a spectacular sight in winter! The lodging, a completely remodeled two story log cabin, is fully outfitted with all the modern convienences. We stayed in November with temperatures in the mid 20s during the day but you wouldn't know it while in the very warm and confortable cabin. The cabin is spacious and large enough for 8 people although we only came with 4. The owners are the most wonderful hosts you will ever experience! They were always available for help or additonal towels! We also took advantage of the waterfowl hunting and trout fishing while staying at the Henry's Fork Ranch. Both hunting and fishing opportunities were fantastic! Who would have thought fishing for trout in mid November would have produced such trophy fish!!!! Amazing!
We will definitly return to the Henry's Fork Ranch to enjoy the wonderful lodging and hunting and fishing opportunities! And what vaction is not complete unless the hosts at your stay are also top notch! Bill and Teresa made us feel like celebraties in our stay at Henry's Fork Ranch!
Do not hesitate to book a stay and enjoy the wonderful surroundings of the upper Snake River!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Paul and his family were such wonderful guests we look forward to their return. All of the nice things they said about the ranch is very nice to hear. We always want to let our guests have the freedom to roam and explore, but if they need some help or information we are certainly willing to offer some suggestions on what might make their time in this great area memorable. We want our guests to appreciate the area and the Idaho hospitality we offer, and they usually do.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Idaho's Henry's Fork Ranch offers guests more than all the others.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183964
+1 208 716-0116
Ashton Eastern Idaho
Indiana
5

Great Place to Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
The cabin I used to stay in the Island Park, Id. area was no longer available due to new owners. I looked for several months to find one that would fit my needs....being very quiet, owners that are very easy to "work with", and close to some good fishing.

With this cabin I have found everything and more. I travel a great deal in my business and to find a great cabin like this is something that only happens once in a life time.

The Fuchs have been great! I have stayed at this cabin in the winter months....spring and fall. All have been very rewarding as to what I was looking for.

I have it reserved again for this Fall and cannot wait! Of course the homemade oatmeal cookies are to "die" for from Teresa Fuchs.

Don
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Don is one those people who appreciates the ranch and the cabin and how clean, well furnished and beautiful it is. He comes for the fishing, but enjoys the peacefulness of the cabin and the ranch. The owls and coyotes can be heard regularly at night, but these neighbors usually quiet down after a few minutes. Don has shared his travels with us, but it makes home the ranch and Idaho even more appreciated. We always look forward to Don's return to the ranch, and yes Teresa does have homemade cookies waiting for him.
Helpful votes: 1/1