Guilford cottage rental - Gradual sandy Association beach - perfect for kids
Gradual sandy Association beach - perfect for kids
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 - 273 nights
 

Guilford Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 new bath, sleeps 4-6

Experience one of CT's most desirable and family friendly shoreline areas - Mulberry Point (a private association) in historic Guilford. This special spot provides a little bit of Maine close to New York complete with craggy shore, tide pools, protected private sandy beach (perfect for children) and cove. This winterized cottage sits on a bluff overlooking one of the most picturesque views in CT - from the sun room, gaze at Faulker's Island Lighthouse amid the expanse of blue sea and sky. Come - swim at the beach just steps down the road, fish from the rock jetty, walk along the shoreline roads and nearby trails. The area is a kayaker's paradise - paddle around the rocky and sandy shoreline, marshes, and more than 30 islands off Stony Creek which is just 5 mins away by car. Our historic town offers the best of New England charm and amenities.

Cottage: This is a bright and clean cozy summer cottage. The bathroom is newly renovated and the kitchen has been recently updated and offers plenty of storage with a new fridge/freezer and dishwasher. It is one level living so great for kids or elderly. The sun porch offers spectacular views and has a seating area an eating area. Ceiling fans and sea breezes will keep you comfortable and we offer a window air conditioner for very hot days. Listen to the waves lapping against the rocks from the open windows!

Neighborhood:: Mulberry Point Association is a quiet and charming, summer-loving, neighborhood with plenty of lovely walking areas, all with spectacular views. The small private sandy beach area has a floating swim dock and tide pools to explore. It is protected with rocky reefs so is ideal for small children. The Town Green is only 2 miles away.

Town:: Less than two miles away is the historical town green surrounded by boutique shops, excellent restaurants, an Irish pub, toy shop, small grocery shop, ice cream and chocolate shop, craft and jewelry stores, hardware store, churches, town library, town hall, day spa, bicycle shop, bookstore, post office, etc. Summer concerts on the green, craft fair, live theatre all add to the fun summer atmosphere. The Henry Whitfield State Museum is steps from the town green. Built in 1639, it is the oldest house in CT. Entrance to Westwoods hiking trails are about a mile from the cottage and offer the largest recreational area for hikers in Guilford with 39 miles of trails on 1200 acres. There are two scenic roads intersecting Guilford which are utilized by cyclists and road races in the summer. The towns of Madison, Branford and Stony Creek are destinations also, each offering a unique flavor of historical New England charm and all within 10 mins of the cottage.

More Details
Hide Details

8 Reviews of Property 183720 in Guilford, Connecticut

Awesome Views of Long Island Sound! Relax, swim, walk and feel the sea breezes!
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Awesome Views of Long Island Sound! Relax, swim, walk and feel the sea breezes!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183720
203 458-0816
Guilford Connecticut Shore
5

Amazing in so many ways!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Our family stayed here during Christmas as we visited nearby relatives. It could not have been more perfect.

The breathtaking view is suitable for a postcard. The neighborhood is nice and quiet. The furnishings are terrific. And, the cottage is extremely clean.

The owners (very nice people) provide all the amenities that you can ask for. Forgot toothpaste? They have it covered. Want a roaring fireplace? Firewood and kindling are ready for you. Band-aids, candles, menus to local restaurants, shampoo...the list goes on and on. These small details really make a positive impact on your stay.

We stayed for a week and wished that we could have stayed longer. If you are seeking a "home away from home" experience, look no further!
business
Awesome Views of Long Island Sound! Relax, swim, walk and feel the sea breezes!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183720
203 458-0816
Guilford Connecticut Shore
5

Loved Rose Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Such a beautiful home with a relaxing atmosphere! Close to town, and great private beach area. We didn't want to leave!
business
Awesome Views of Long Island Sound! Relax, swim, walk and feel the sea breezes!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183720
203 458-0816
Guilford Connecticut Shore
5

Best rental property ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I've rented many properties across the US and this one was definitely the best. Incredibly clean and superbly equipped from the kitchen, to the bathroom, to the beach toys. We stayed for a week (two teenagers and two little ones). We all loved it. There is so much to do in Guilford and this cottage is in the perfect location. The beach down the street is great. As is the public beach and the state park beach, Hammonasett, in Madison. Loved going to the town green with all it's shops and restaurants (especially Ballous). We also took the thimble island boat trip which was lovely. We will be sure to stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Awesome Views of Long Island Sound! Relax, swim, walk and feel the sea breezes!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183720
203 458-0816
Guilford Connecticut Shore
Floirda
5

Rose Cottage was Spectacular!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
What a beautiful, well appointed cottage. Everything you need to spend a great week on the Connecticut shoreline. Amazing views and close to beaches, restaurants, shopping and more. The owner was great and went out of her way to make our stay comfortable. Can't say enough good things, already thinking about staying there again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Awesome Views of Long Island Sound! Relax, swim, walk and feel the sea breezes!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183720
203 458-0816
Guilford Connecticut Shore
Raleigh, NC
5

Best ot the best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
As soon as we opened the door we knew Rose Cottage was perfect. It was spotless, well maintained, furnished with everything you could need from bandaids to a sewing kit! The beds, linens and pillows insured a wonderful nights sleep. And the view was spectacular! A short scenic drive into town and you had great shops and restaurants. We have raved about this to all our relatives and think it is a perfect get away from the South to visit our "yankee" cousins! Oh, and did I mention the wonderful beds and pillows? Monica has created a perfect place and she has our heartfelt thank you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Awesome Views of Long Island Sound! Relax, swim, walk and feel the sea breezes!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183720
203 458-0816
Guilford Connecticut Shore
Dunedin, FL
5

Waterfront at its Best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
This well maintained, beautifully appointed, and perfectly equipped Guilford cottage by the sea has it all! From the beaches within walking distance to the roses and gorgeous views surrounding the place, it is a most desirable vacation spot. As renters, we were welcomed by the local people and encouraged to participate in all the functions of the area. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the early mornings and evenings watching the boats go by Faulkner's Island Lighthouse, feeling the gentle breezes from Long Island Sound and listening to the seabirds calling. We spent countless hours discovering new paths to walk and found muscles we didn't know we had. We are already planning our next year's vacation to include this spot for even a longer stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Awesome Views of Long Island Sound! Relax, swim, walk and feel the sea breezes!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183720
203 458-0816
Guilford Connecticut Shore
New York
5

My most relaxing vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
The setting of the cottage is picture perfect. I just loved waking each morning to the sounds of the sea.
I found the cottage to be immaculate and so comfortable. I plan to return next summer.
Monica, the owner, goes out of her way to be accommodating.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Awesome Views of Long Island Sound! Relax, swim, walk and feel the sea breezes!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183720
203 458-0816
Guilford Connecticut Shore
Westchester, NY
5

Perfect Vacation Get-Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
Walk on the beach, relax and enjoy the beautiful view of the water from the sun-room.
We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this immaculately kept home. A quiet and friendly atmosphere, with something to make everyone happy, swimming, boating, walking or exploring all the surrounding towns. I would definitely recommend this property .The owners where gracious and helpful answering any questions and the only thing that we did not like was having to go home.
Note: Property and home are well maintained .great location.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5