Oia villa rental - Early evening by the pool, when everything takes a shade of blue
Early evening by the pool, when everything takes a shade of blue
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps13
  • 5 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Oia Villa Rental Photos and Description
6 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms, sleeps 8-12, extra sofa bed and baby crib possible

Our 1868 Wine production house now available as a Luxury Canava Villa - A traditional Santorinian residence, newly restored to make one of the most authentic and sought after residences currently available, licenced by the Greek National Tourism Organisation with an award that marks the luxury standard in rental accommodation. Please contact us for more details on our exact location. We have uninterrupted breathtaking views to the island caldera and its volcano, large outdoor private pool and Jacuzzi, tranquility and spacious rooms with high vaulted ceiling carved in the volcanic rock make this villa an amazing living abode and a unique find in Oia. It is ideally situated at a high vantage point at the top of the Oia cliff and a couple of steps from the marble paved pedestrian street. This is the favored promenade crossing the traditional Oia settlement and branching out to picturesque cobblestone alleys expanding down the multilayer caldera cliff and reach the tip of the island to the castle ruins and to one of the most famous sunsets in the world.

Grand Canava is offered as an entire residence only and it has been built to comfortably accommodate 12 people. There is a possibility to sleep up to 14 guests as well as cater for baby cots.

Pool temperature and island weather conditions are ideal for swimming from late April until early October.

West canava section: It can be best described as a villa with three distinct living areas that we refer to as east, west and main canava, all with separate courtyard entrances for better privacy and with autonomy in terms of amenities. It is also possible to add two fold out beds and we can also provide a baby crib if needed.

The west canava area can accommodate up to 2 persons in a very specious vaulted bedroom with very comfortable queen size iron bed, a sitting area with antique wooden table for two, fully equipped kitchen and a cave style en-suite bathroom with walk-in shower. There is a table and summer umbrella in the courtyard offering lounging with magnificent view of the pool and volcano caldera.

East canava section : The east canava area can accommodate up to 4 persons and comprises two vaulted bedrooms, a sitting room and kitchen with view to the pool and the island caldera.

The master bedroom is at the back carved into the rock with a romantic and comfortable queen size platform canopy bed, secluded as a separate living area with its own indoor windows and door, in a fashion typical of traditional santorinian houses. With all windows open the bedroom can enjoy light from the outside and a view into the blue while closing the inner windows and door provides maximum privacy.

The second bedroom is situated at the front end and has a double iron bed that gives direct view to the pool and clear blue sky just from the edge of its pillows. Both rooms have access to a spacious sitting room with antique wooden table for four and a fully equipped kitchen and they share a large cave style bathroom with bathtub and shower. There is a table and summer umbrella in the courtyard as well as loungers for sunbathing by the pool.

Main canava section : The main canava area can accommodate up to 6 persons in 3 separate bedrooms and is built in two levels in the middle of the east and west sides of the original Canava.

A very spacious dining room shed with ample natural light welcomes our guests with its large monastery style table which can comfortably sit a party of 12. The kitchen is carved in the rock, at the far end of the room and is designed as a separate area with easy access to the dining premises.

Two vaulted ceiling bedrooms can be found on the ground level, each separate with its own en-suite bathroom. One is especially large room at the further back end carved deep into the volcanic rock, with a comfortable platform king size bed, dressing area with mirror and a large cave style bathroom with bathtub and shower.

The second bedroom is a comparatively smaller yet spacious and inviting room, with comfortable double iron bed, cozily snug under its own dome. This room has its own en-suite bathroom with walk-in shower.

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 183448 in Oia , Greece

Unique Restored Wine Canava Villa in Oia Santorini - Amazing View Private Pool
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Unique Restored Wine Canava Villa in Oia Santorini - Amazing View Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183448
Oia Santorini
5

For an unforgettable stay in Santorini!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My friends and I spent a fantastic 5 days at the Grand Canava villa in Oia, we highly recommend it! It's a fabulous cave villa set into the side of the cliff with a glorious view of the sea lagoon and the volcanic caldera.

The villa comprises three separate units so you can go with a group of people but still have your individual privacy. It is very tastefully furnished throughout and has well equipped kitchens, loads of space with 6 large double bedrooms, and has a beautiful private pool area out front. There are numerous restaurants and interesting shops right on your doorstep, because the villa entrance is right on the main walkway that runs through the center of Oia. Despite that proximity it was still surprisingly quiet, and very relaxing; we found we spent most of our time enjoying the pool and admiring the view!

If you are visiting Santorini you would be hard pressed to find somewhere better to stay!
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Unique Restored Wine Canava Villa in Oia Santorini - Amazing View Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183448
Oia Santorini
5

The holiday of a lifetime

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Everything about Gran Canava is magical: the location, the accommodation, the whole experience. When we first arrived, I could not believe my eyes; the villa is located in the centre of Oia with easy access to all shops and restaurants, yet the terrace of the villa opens up to a 180 degree unobstructed view of the caldera, one of the most beautiful and transcendental views I have ever seen in my life. We would stare for hours without tiring at the caldera, and what is best, from within our own private swimming pool! We had so much fun in the pool as it's deep enough to dive in and long enough to swim around in. It can hardly get any better from there but I was in for an even greater surprise when we were shown to the interior of the villa and our rooms. The living room/dining/room/kitchen area is grande but authentic and very elegant. Each room has its own unique character, very tastefully presented and furnished with original antique furniture. Our bed was built in the rock and plastered with venetian stucco. The bathrooms were large and comfortable. It was just unreal! You can't help but feel incredibly special in this unique setting. Needless to say it was very clean, we had all amenities we could have hoped for and even freshly squeezed orange juice and omelette made for us in the morning. We were so content, we hardly felt the need to go anywhere. I could not help smiling all the time! I had some very deep relaxing sleep in the coolness of the rock. It's a real treat and I would recommend it without second thought to anyone! It's worth saving up for. It's bound to cure you of any stress and worries you may be carrying around. It's a real treat, it's the experience of a lifetime!
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Unique Restored Wine Canava Villa in Oia Santorini - Amazing View Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183448
Oia Santorini
5

Missing it already

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Booked out the 3 canavas with 9 other adults and 4 infants. The owner was extremely helpful with arranging everything for the infants prior to arrival. I've always been sceptical of online pictures of hotels/villas as they never truly reflect reality but when we saw the place all those fears were dismissed.
After a day or two it was evident that location of the villa was ideal for older ppl or those with kids as it was near very close to the main pathway in Oia. I can only imagine the difficulty in dragging pushchairs up and down numerous flights of stairs every day had we stayed elsewhere.
It was particularly hot when we went so the the pool (over 7ft deep) which was always well cleaned and not saturated with chlorine was a godsend.
Would definitely recommend this villa to those who want to enjoy all that is santorini
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
Unique Restored Wine Canava Villa in Oia Santorini - Amazing View Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183448
Oia Santorini
5

Perfect accomodation a unique island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Santorini is truly one of the few truly unique locations in the world, with some of the most amazing sights (the volcano, the unique beaches, the picturesque Greek villages, the vineyards to name but a few). The fact that out of the eight people me and a friend where the only ones that had actually seen the island, yet still we could not drag ourselves away from the accomodation says it all. The rooms were simply perfect (ranging from the villa with the amazing dark grotto like rooms offering the perfect natural chill and darkness for those like me who enjoy sleeping in, to the villas offering stunning views of the caldera and the sail boats below. Then there was the pool, with its perfect temperature and its stunning view, which required supernatural effort to drag yourself away from (it helped that the villas were equipped with the perfect mixture for making cocktails). And of course, one cannot forget the discreet yet ever helpful service provided by the staff. Add to that the perfect location in Oia, affording access to amazing restaurants and bars, as well as the stunning sunset over the castle, and you have it.

Truly a unique experience (although one which I thoroughly intend ofc to repeat next year:) ).
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/8
business
Unique Restored Wine Canava Villa in Oia Santorini - Amazing View Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183448
Oia Santorini
Montreal Canada
5

The perfect Villa!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
We stayed at this villa and it's simply amazing. The pictures certainly give a good idea on the beauty of the place but don't capture it all. You must go and see for yourself the sunsets, the view...It certainly is a magical place. Very close to the main walkway of Oia. The service was excellent and a vacation to remember forever.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
Unique Restored Wine Canava Villa in Oia Santorini - Amazing View Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183448
Oia Santorini
Fairfax, VA USA
5

Gorgeous

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We stayed at this villa and it is absolutely marvelous. It's close to the main walkway of Oia. Close to the market, making it convenient for supplies. The service was excellent and they were attentive to our needs, ie. fresh towels, etc.. The view was marvelous.

Our wonderful vacation at Oia was made possible with our stay at Grand Canava. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
Unique Restored Wine Canava Villa in Oia Santorini - Amazing View Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183448
Oia Santorini
cary, nc, usa
5

Amazing villa, amazing view, amazing location!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
This villa turned out even better than expected. Took our family (8 adults) and this villa gave us the chance to be together but plenty of space to also have our own private rooms and areas. The pictures shown are good, but the view and location of the villa were fantastic! Oia was a tremendous place to be...tons of restaurants, shops,etc. After seeing much of Santorini, we were so glad we were in Oia.
We really enjoyed the delicious, abundant breakfasts cooked for us each morning, the clean, comfortable rooms and the all of Grand Canavas great hospitality.The swimming pool was ideal and used daily in the Santorini heat. It was the perfect vacation for us and we would highly recommend it!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 18/18