Ottawa house rental
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps16
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 3 Half Baths
Minimum Stay nights
 

Ottawa House Rental Photos and Description
House, 6 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 12-14).

A vacation home for guests who want something special--personal use of a 6 bedroom luxury home with a heated indoor pool, sauna and steam room. Owners (or their managers when they are away) live in a separate apartment over the attached garage and are available for assistance and information. The house is located on a 2 acre wooded subdivision lot in west Ottawa. The address is 31 O'Hara Drive, Ottawa ON, K2W 1A2.

Vacation rental guests enjoy a luxury home with a fully equipped kitchen, eating room, family room (wood fireplace, TV), dining room, living room (51-inch TV and home theatre system), 500 mb/day of high speed internet (additional usage can be purchased at cost), VIP cable TV package, laundry room, choice of 2 master bedrooms with ensuites or 4 guest bedrooms (2 on 2nd floor, 1 on main floor and 1 in the basement), patio with propane BBQ (in season), exercise room and a sun room with a heated indoor pool, sauna and steam room.

Vacation rental guests enjoy total privacy in the home. There is only one set of guests at a time. Ideal for guests who want their own private vacation retreat. Also ideal for wedding groups, reunions or any group that is traveling together. The owners or their replacements when they are away will always call before entering the rented premises (the pool must be inspected daily to monitor sanitization and water levels).

Minimum rental requirements may be required for July, August, Christmas, New Years and holiday weekends.

All emails are answered. If no reply is received, please resend your inquiry.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

21 Reviews of Property 149911 in Ottawa, Ontario

Private Use of Luxury Home with Indoor Pool, Sauna, Steam Room
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 21 reviews
business
Private Use of Luxury Home with Indoor Pool, Sauna, Steam Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149911vb
+1 613 790-6911
Ottawa Ontario
Seattle, WA
3

Pool/Sauna/Steam rooms awesome!

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Lovely place, as many people had stated before. To me the pool room was the best part. A few notes that would have been helpful for our group to know before hand that I thought I would share.

First off let me say, Ted and Claudia were NOT the people taking care of the place when we were there. We were a loud, rowdy group.

The caretakers/owners share a wall with the property you are staying at. They are not offsite, they are over the attached garage. They can also walk in whenever they feel like (no way to lock their entrance into the house), while they didn't and were quite courteous it does feel a bit like you are staying in someones house.

It isn't as private as it is made out to be. There are neighbors well within hearing distance if you are loud outside at night. (Again we were rowdy guests, I'm not blaming the property, just informational)

The internet is slow and has a 500mb a day cap or you will be charged more. The wireless access was TERRIBLE.

Cell service in the area is quite poor.

The frying pans/saucier pans are all beaten up teflon that have been clearly "well used".

Really it depends on your plans for the place. We were a group of 16 family that were heavy internet users, and foodies. We were there to cook, eat, drink, and play. I don't know if I missed these details in the description or if they weren't there, or maybe I had unreasonable expectations.

In summary:
Beautiful place and scenery.
Pool room was outstanding.
Some of the rooms had a dated feel.
Internet was, for our purposes, nonexistent. (500mb/day/16 people?)
Closer neighbors then expected.
Feeling of lack of privacy/staying in someone else house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: I am glad that the guests enjoyed the pool area but wish that they had mentioned the damaged pan so that it could have been replaced (we always have replacement items on hand). All our web sites state that the owners live on site in an attached apartment but I have made a few changes to the web sites to help clarify that it is in a residential area and, also, that replacement managers are on site when my wife and I are away. Also, there was no mention of serious internet problems when the house was entered to check the pool (the house is never entered without first contacting the guests to confirm that it is okay to do so). It is high speed internet service and, in the past, the only time that we have had internet problems is when too many devices try to connect at the same time. Also, having travelled quite a bit, 500 mb/day of free internet is well above what is often available. Most places offer limited free internet so that guests can check emails, flight/hotel/car reservations and local tourist information. Additional usage can always be purchased for those who are into downloading, gaming, etc. (we monitor and charge for excess usage ever since one set of guests ran up a bill of $190.00 doing illegal downloads!). Cell service from the major suppliers usually works fine but some out of country or secondary suppliers can act up for some guests. There is a phone in the house for use of the guests (free local calls and very inexpensive long distance calls). Finally, it is an understatement to call the guests a "loud, rowdy group". They were extremely loud but the only time that they were asked to be quiet was when they were loudly cursing and swearing outside of the house in the night hours. When guests know that they behave in such a fashion, they should be be upfront when making a booking inquiry so that the property owners can decide if the property will meet their needs. Also, the rental agreement that all guests sign before arriving at the property clearly states that behaviour that disturbs the neighbours is not permitted- thus, it should not come as a surprise that there are neighbours within hearing distance of loud noises. As a reminder to future guests, please read the rental agreement and contact us if you have any questions or concerns before you check in and, after your check in, contact us at any time if something was missed in preparing the house for your arrival.

Ted Corbett
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Use of Luxury Home with Indoor Pool, Sauna, Steam Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149911vb
+1 613 790-6911
Ottawa Ontario
Kingston Ontario
4

Extremely well equipped, spacious home, great service from owners

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our party of 11 (3 families) stayed for 6 nights through the holidays. We were very pleased with the spacious size of this home and the degree to which it was extremely well equipped. The kitchen, bathrooms, bedrooms and living areas had almost everything you could need to create a homey experience, including things like paper towels, coffee filters, salt and pepper, and laundry soap. Towels were plentiful. The dishes, glasses and cutlery were abundant. We missed not having a cookie sheet, as we had planned to do some baking during our stay, but improvised.

The pool, sauna and steam room were lovely.

The entire property was exceptionally clean and well maintained, and the owners kept the driveway and walkways clear throughout the snowy days we stayed. The property manager was also very helpful when one of our vehicles slid into a ditch.

However, we paid very top dollar for our stay (because of the time of year) and felt a little disappointed that the decor of the property - which could best be described as "early 1990s" - fell well short of the "luxury" promised in all of the advertisements. The property featured a wide variety of luxury stone surfaces - granite, quartz, marble - and some gorgeous wood flooring, but all of the furnishings, linens, and window coverings were very dated. (Clean, functional, in great condition... but dated.)

We also found it a bit inconvenient that every amenity - gas, milk, ATM etc. - was 6.3 km away. Definitely not a good option for anyone without a car.

Not the owners' responsibility - but guests should know that the municipality didn't clear the snow off of O'Hara Drive the entire week we stayed. It was a treacherous trek for our vehicle without snowtires.

We recommend if you plan a winter visit that anyone staying in a master suite bring along a bathrobe. The ensuite baths are at least 5 degrees (celcius) colder than the adjacent bedrooms and the showers lack doors or curtains, so the morning shower is a very chilly experience indeed.

I'm not sure it was worth the money we paid for our prime-time week, as many of the suite hotels in Ottawa were offering excellent deals at this time and we could have housed the 11 of us for the same price in the heart of downtown.

But during regular-price season, this property would be a great option for large groups who want to share a house and who aren't planning daily drives into downtown for shopping and museums.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We appreciate feedback from our guests as it allows us to improve our services and we encourage our guests to contact us with any concerns or questions regarding their stay or the Ottawa area. Perhaps they were reluctant to do this but we do our best to respond to requests for items such as cookie sheets and we could have pointed out that there is a local gas station/convenience store (ATM, gas, videos, food, etc.) 0.5 km from the house. Also, the walk in ensuite showers were designed to have an open entrance and electric space heaters are stored in the linen closets for guests who want extra heat in these rooms. The guests are also free to set the house temperature to whatever temperature they find comfortable. Decor is a matter of personal taste and this is the first time that we have received comments of this nature. Our linens, sheets, bed covers, etc. are constantly being replaced due to wear and tear and we replace furniture as required due to wear and tear (the family room furniture is being replaced this spring for this reason). Overall, it sounds like our guests enjoyed themselves and this is what we aim for.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Use of Luxury Home with Indoor Pool, Sauna, Steam Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149911vb
+1 613 790-6911
Ottawa Ontario
Niagara Region
5

BIG GROUP, PLENTY OF SPACE!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Wow. What can I say. Ted and Claudia, thank you so much for taking in our big group! The rental was perfect. We had 12 of us stay here and the large kitchen, living room spaces, pool area and bedrooms were more than enough space for us all. The place is kept pefectly clean, furniture and beds are so comfortable, place is well stocked and with all the bathrooms it was no problem with a group this size.
Ted made sure we were settled in and was available if we had any issues. Otherwise our hosts were in a separate location and we did not interfere with each other at all!
Location was perfectly located between Ottawa, Almonte and Scotiabank Place where we visited. Quiet country area, it was hard to leave!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private Use of Luxury Home with Indoor Pool, Sauna, Steam Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149911vb
+1 613 790-6911
Ottawa Ontario
Aix en Provence - France
5

Family Christmas holidays-away from France

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
What a superb holiday home you have! Our family greatly appreciated your outstanding welcome and kindness. The facilities were excellent, the pool superb and the Christmas decorations inside and out were excellent. The icing on the cake was seeing the deer in the back garden and also the wild turkeys. We have only praise and hope to return in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private Use of Luxury Home with Indoor Pool, Sauna, Steam Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149911vb
+1 613 790-6911
Ottawa Ontario
Toronto, Canada
5

Large and comfortable retreat, minutes from Ottawa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Our family of 5 found this perfect for our holiday in Ottawa. There is more than enough room to spread out, several TVs, a large gourmet kitchen, and best of all - an indoor swimming pool! The property had a country feel with mature trees and a nice size yard, but it was only minutes from the highway and shopping in Kanata and we were able to use it as a base to explore Ottawa. Ted was very helpful, and we found the home spotless, with high-end finishes and attention to detail.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Private Use of Luxury Home with Indoor Pool, Sauna, Steam Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149911vb
+1 613 790-6911
Ottawa Ontario
Ottawa
5

Lovely ladies retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
We had a lovely time here in October this year, 3 friends and myself. The house is gorgeous, the pool area and sauna/steam room a huge bonus and the hosts perfectly wonderful. Helpful, there when you needed them but not when we didn't. We will DEFINITELY be booking again! Awesome get away from the city not very far from the city.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Private Use of Luxury Home with Indoor Pool, Sauna, Steam Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149911vb
+1 613 790-6911
Ottawa Ontario
Qatar
5

Wonderful family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
This is a wonderful property which lives up to and exceeds the expectations set by the photographs and description. The house is very clean, well maintained and is truly a home away from home. It is ideal for a restful family vacation with many activities close by. Our family really enjoyed the pool, exercise equipment, picking berries at a nearby farm, horseback riding, go karting, mini golf and having our extended family over for barbecue.

The owners are right next door and they go out of their way to make sure you have a good vacation. We are extensive travellers and would definitely return to this property when in Ottawa.

In order to truly enjoy all the area has to offer, a car is essential.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private Use of Luxury Home with Indoor Pool, Sauna, Steam Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149911vb
+1 613 790-6911
Ottawa Ontario
dublin
4

Lovely, quaint, spacious location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
My family and I spent 2 weeks in this lovely accomodation. The first week was about settling in and as being a fellow Ottawan it was more about visiting family and friends. The 2nd week we had organized a baptism of 30 guests which turned out perfectly. It was held outdoors and the property was perfect. The remainder of our week was all about our family and that's where the pool, sauna and steam room came into it's own.

I travel to Ottawa once a year to visit my family but since our family has increased we've had to book larger accomodations. This location does not disappoint. Ted, the owner, is respectful and pays close attention to detail when organizing a special ocassion.

Our time in Ottawa/Kanata was a lovely one and we plan on returning to this lovely location whilst visiting family in Ottawa.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Private Use of Luxury Home with Indoor Pool, Sauna, Steam Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149911vb
+1 613 790-6911
Ottawa Ontario
Scottsdale Arizona
5

Guestbook Comment

Ted and Claudia We would like to personally thank you for an amazing time in your home. Your home is beautiful inside and out,and your attention to de...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2008
  • Stayed: Jan 2008
Ted and Claudia We would like to personally thank you for an amazing time in your home. Your home is beautiful inside and out,and your attention to detail and our needs was so far beyond our expectations. We will ALWAYS rent from you when we are in Ottawa. Thank you again! For those of you reading this and are inquiring about their home, may we say that you will be so happy that you chose to stay here. My husband and I travel extensively and stay in 6 vacation rentals a year, we are quite picky and expect nothing but the best. You will not be disappointed with anything in this home, nor Ted and Claudia (owners) they are wonderful people, who go out of their way to make you feel special and make your stay an experience you will always remember. Please feel free to contact us with any questions, we have included our phone number for you. Sometimes it can be difficult to choose the right vacation rental,pictures look good, but when you arrive your disappointed. That will not be the case when renting this home. I hope that our note to you will make your decision an easy one.
Helpful votes: 20/21
business
Private Use of Luxury Home with Indoor Pool, Sauna, Steam Room
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p149911vb
+1 613 790-6911
Ottawa Ontario
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2007
  • Stayed: Nov 2007
From our 2007 guest book: Truly an amazing place. Quiet, relaxing, all the luxuries you wouldn't expect. Return stay is definite. This is the best I've been to yet. Thank you.
Helpful votes: 1/2