Dunmore Town holiday in Sawyer Home
Location and description of the wonderful home was correct and the stay for 8 peoples was enjoyable
Only some disturbing points:
The home was not clean and without fresh dinkable water in the fridg , dishwasher nor clean and with a lot of calcium inside, and no salt , sugar, oil available
The local customer service was nice (but not cleaning during our stay) and helped us to provide 2 little cars absolutely needed to be able to mouve on the island ( we think that for this location and standing and price this service could be included in the renting price, giving the opportunity to find the cars just out of home and without losing half day to find it)
We will return and we will recomend this home to friend but we will suggest to ask the owner to fulfill the reported problems
Unfortunately during our stay only 2 restaurants available on the island and shops...literally empty !!
Owner's Response: For this guest's trip the island was "literally empty" because their visit was shortly after Hurricane Irene, and many restuarants and hotels were closed for renovations. This is not in our control. The use of a golf cart is essential to the island and is the preferred mode of transportation. At times we offer a special that includes the use of a golf cart, and in those instances guests are still required to go through the process of providing ID, and a valid driver's license to the company. For this rental a golf cart was not included, and the guests were provided phone contacts for two rental companies months before their arrival, but they did not arrange golf carts despite our advice. To suggest that the rental of the house includes the use of TWO golf carts after a discounted rate because of the aforementioned hurricane impact is extremely unreasonable. Housekeeping services are not provided on Sundays and holidays. This was a weekend trip so naturally with no housekeeping on Sunday's, laundry and dishes would accumulate until Monday because of the absence of housekeeping services. The rental of the house includes a starter pack of paper products, bath soap and cleaning suplies, and we now provide basic seasonings. It does not include any grocery items, bottled water, or toiletries, however the fridge is equipped with ice and water. We suggest that renters make grocery shopping a priority after check-in. Two of the local grocery stores offer pre-order shopping services for a small fee. We appreciate all feedback and have resolved the issues around the calcium build-up in the dishwasher machine. We consider any feedback to be positive as we build towards being your home away from home on your visit to Harbour Island.
Helpful votes: 2/2
Did you find this review helpful?