Fifty Lakes cabin rental - Cabin from Dock May 2012
Cabin from Dock May 2012
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Fifty Lakes Cabin Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, sleeps 6, 1 bathroom, kitchen, washer/dryer, 1100 sq ft,

Cabin is 15 feet off lake and sits privately on 8 acres of natural woods with a dock for your boat or our Pontoon, Canoe, and/or Kayak rentals. Swimming, fishing, water skiing, jet skiing, kayaking, and canoeing are fun activities on the lake. (Boat / Watercraft Rentals are available for you to arrange with us, local rental companies or boat dealers.) This lake is approximately 300 acres which accommodates 29 houses / cabins. The Pine Ridge Hunters and Hiking Trail is within walking distance of the property. You are likely to see Bear, Deer, Beaver, Otters, Bald Eagles, Heron and Loons during your stay. Many restaurants, 4 golf courses, 2 grocery stores, entertainment and shopping are within 2 to 10 miles.

View more pictures on our link: http://sdrv.ms/KyCPo7

Restaurant details: Restaurants ranging from Bar and Grill to Family Style to Fine Dining are as close as 2 miles to 10 miles.

The Cabin Property: The atmosphere is casual, fishing for Sunnies, Crapies, Northern and Bass.. Swimming is best in late June through mid August, unless you don't mind cool water.

Gatherings around the campfire in the evenings is a must. Sunsets are beautiful, stars are brilliant and the rays of the moon falling across the water is peaceful and serene. Fall to sleep with the call of the loons.

Get away from it all or take a short jaunt to town to mix it up with the locals and other area visitors. Lively entertainment available most weekends. It's YOUR CHOICE.

More Details
Hide Details

Fred's Grandfather purchased the property in 1935. Grandpa, Dad and 2 Uncles built the cabin in 1955-56 by hand with trees off the property. They cut, pealed and bleached the logs devoting many hours when not working their regular jobs so that we could enjoy the outdoors with shelter to return to in inclement weather.

We enjoy observing and interacting with nature. It is our place to get away-from-it all, not worry about getting all prim and proper unless we want to. Of course, we can get creative and find many things to do outdoors and attending local activities available in the communities around us too.

Our Grandchildren love coming to the cabin, exploring the woods, swimming, boating, fishing, wild berry picking in season, eating well, making up games, running around, building camp fires, making smores and listening to stories; some real some made up (if you can imagine that).

Ruth or Fred Strohmeier purchased this cabin in 1955

This is a unique experience. No hustle or bustle, good fishing and swimming, private location, limited noise of other people and their kids. Our goal is to provide a vacation experience with positive, good memories to take home.

33 Reviews of Property 183076 in Fifty Lakes, Minnesota

Charming, log cabin, on Kego Lake, Fifty Lakes, MN; near Crosslake and Emily
average rating of 4.939394 based on 33 reviews
business
Charming, log cabin, on Kego Lake, Fifty Lakes, MN; near Crosslake and Emily
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183076
+1 (218) 763-3176 (Minnesota, USA)
Fifty Lakes Minnesota
Rochester , MN
5

Joan and Gang

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This is the most amazing cabin EVER and Ruth and Fred are amazing Hosts!!! the place is a A+
we arrived and before we even went into the cabin the views of the lake and woods was amazing,
the cabin is more than any cabin could be - It is stocked with everything they did not miss a beat in making your stay the best ever- our dogs loved it and the new baby did great @ 6 weeks old-
I hope Ruth and Fred will let us return - the lake was amazing and the water was cool but we went in anyways - the fishing was great -The Eagle was there everyday and deer on our boat cruise in the day and evening- the camp fires were the best - it is just a perfect get away for anyone looking for a place to enjoy making some memories and getting a taste of the great outdoors- the loons came by everyday and sang to us.Thank you again Ruth and Fred for making our vacation one of the best !!!!
Joan and family
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: It is so nice to receive glowing comments from our guests. We also appreciate the care and efforts to leave the property tidy. Composting sure helps cutting down on our garbage detail, as does the recycling. We welcome back family's like yours any time. Ruth & Fred
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming, log cabin, on Kego Lake, Fifty Lakes, MN; near Crosslake and Emily
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183076
+1 (218) 763-3176 (Minnesota, USA)
Fifty Lakes Minnesota
5

We loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
It was perfect. Fred and Ruth thought of everything we could possibly need to be comfortable and have a good time during our stay, and the fish were biting. We will definitely come back year after year!
Owner's Response: The cabin speaks for itself. We just try to make it comfortable and clean. Thanks for the Cudos.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming, log cabin, on Kego Lake, Fifty Lakes, MN; near Crosslake and Emily
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183076
+1 (218) 763-3176 (Minnesota, USA)
Fifty Lakes Minnesota
Iowa
5

Had a great time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Beautiful cabin with everything you could need. Very relaxing and private location, we'll be back. Thanks again!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Our property and cabin offer unique experiences in a natural settinig on a lake surrounded by trees. Sunsets are comperable to the best in the world and on a clear night Star gazing is optimal. It is an experience we wish to share with everyone.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming, log cabin, on Kego Lake, Fifty Lakes, MN; near Crosslake and Emily
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183076
+1 (218) 763-3176 (Minnesota, USA)
Fifty Lakes Minnesota
Minneapolis
5

Just wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband and I have been coming to this cabin for three years now, and we look forward to it all year long. The owners provide everything you could possibly imagine (blender! crock pot! coffee maker!) and there's even a washer and dryer on site should you need it. The lake is great for swimming, and taking the boat out is a must. Also, this cabin is secluded enough to where we can let our two large (extremely friendly) dogs roam without a leash, and they have the time of their lives.

The cabin is extremely clean and well cared for, yet it has the rustic charm that we desire.

Also, you are only about 25 minutes from area restaurants and a well-stocked grocery store, so while you can feel completely secluded -- you can also get to some civilization quite easily. We are on AT&T and get no cell service except at the very end of the dock (which is how we prefer it). We turn off all electronics upon arrival, and that right there is the best suggestion I can give you! Just sit back and enjoy the lake, the breeze through the pines and the sound of the loons.
Owner's Response: The cabin setting is some of the best "therapy" for those who are over worked and too busy with everyday activities to wind down. We enjoy sharing this peaceful secluded cabin for others to enjoy. Ruth & Fred
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming, log cabin, on Kego Lake, Fifty Lakes, MN; near Crosslake and Emily
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183076
+1 (218) 763-3176 (Minnesota, USA)
Fifty Lakes Minnesota
Iowa
4

Looking for clear water

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The cabin was delightful and the property is secluded and lovely. However, the lake was filled with algae, and therefore unappealing for swimming. Sitting by the cabin looking out over the lake was a beautiful view. Standing on the dock was not.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Living on a lake in MN will usually have an algea bloom a couple of times during the late summer/early fall season; our lake is no exception. It is not a pretty sight, for sure. We, unfortunately, cannot control nature. Ruth & Fred
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming, log cabin, on Kego Lake, Fifty Lakes, MN; near Crosslake and Emily
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183076
+1 (218) 763-3176 (Minnesota, USA)
Fifty Lakes Minnesota
Des Moines, IA
5

Highly Recommended!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The cabin is actually nicer than photos and really just perfect fro us in size and amenities.
That sunnroom bedroom is a absolute treat! Not only a great place to sleep but a great place to read, watch the sunset and the lake if sitting outside is not possible.
Pontoon time out on the lake was our favorite - and where those darn bugs were the sparsest!
Fred and Ruth are the best hosts we've ever experienced. Unobstrusive and not even within sight due to the trees, but available if needed.
Owner's Response: Some family's enjoy their privacy, which we try to respect. Some like hearing some of the history of our lake experiences and about the area in general which Fred is most willing to share. We strive to see that every one's experiences meet their needs.

We appreciate being advised when something is not functioning correctly at the cabin so we can make necessary repairs and get you back to enjoying your time at the lake. We now have a brand new bathroom sink faucet.

Ruth & Fred Strohmeier
business
Charming, log cabin, on Kego Lake, Fifty Lakes, MN; near Crosslake and Emily
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183076
+1 (218) 763-3176 (Minnesota, USA)
Fifty Lakes Minnesota
Twin Cities
5

A Little Bit of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Fred and Ruth, thank you for sharing your wonderful cabin in such a beautiful location. My wife and I were seeking a quiet, late season fall week-end getaway and we were both enchanted by your graciousness and hospitality. Thank you both for an absolutely perfect escape from the hustle and bustle.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming, log cabin, on Kego Lake, Fifty Lakes, MN; near Crosslake and Emily
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183076
+1 (218) 763-3176 (Minnesota, USA)
Fifty Lakes Minnesota
5

Total relaxation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We chose this cabin for 2 reasons - the location and we could take our 2 year old golden retriever Louie. The cabin was immaculate, and the location is something that can not be described. Over the course of the week we saw only 4 other boats on the lake! Waking up in the morning and Louie jumping right into the lake, grabbing a cup of coffee and sitting on the dock, and then sitting there watching the loons, otters, and eagles in the morning was the routine. There is an incredible golf course right around the corner, and Crosslake is a great place to walk around and check out for the day. But.......it was really hard to leave the cabin even for a few hours. It was total relaxation. Everyone had an incredible time - Thank you a thousand times over to Ruth and Fred (Fred - we hope your feeling better!) for opening your oasis to our family. This was an incredible week and we hope we will be able to return again!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Matt, Molly and Louie, We are pleased you enjoyed your vacation at our cabin. It's our pleasure to share this property with people who appreciate nature, quiet and relaxation. Thank you! Ruth & Fred
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming, log cabin, on Kego Lake, Fifty Lakes, MN; near Crosslake and Emily
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183076
+1 (218) 763-3176 (Minnesota, USA)
Fifty Lakes Minnesota
Sartell, MN
5

Relaxing & Tranquil Vacation

Relaxing & Tranquil Vacation
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We have stayed in many cabin lake rentals and this is by far the #1 best cabin rental!!!! The old log charm makes it so cozy and warm. It's exactly what you see in the pictures and better! Everything was exceptionally clean and organized. Fred & Ruth could not have been more accommodating. Listening to the Loons and watching the beautiful sunsets is just breathtaking. Watching the turtle bury her eggs was definitely one of the highlights of the week. Thank you Fred & Ruth for sharing your beautiful cabin with us, we hope to be back again next summer!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay in one of nature's finest settings. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your return. Ruth & Fred
business
Charming, log cabin, on Kego Lake, Fifty Lakes, MN; near Crosslake and Emily
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p183076
+1 (218) 763-3176 (Minnesota, USA)
Fifty Lakes Minnesota
5

Wonderful Secluded Cabin On Peaceful Lake!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
For our first time renting a cabin, I don't think we could of found a more perfect and beautiful place. The cabin was well prepared with everything we could possibly need. It was clean, comfortable and spacious. It really exceeded our expectations! Waking up in the sunroom above the boat house to see the glass on the lake and hear the loons and birds was awesome! The lake was perfect for pontooning, swimming and fishing. The pontoon rental with such a reasonable rate was an added bonus. Allowing dogs is what drew us to your cabin and within very little time, they both became lake dogs. We had 7 adults in the cabin and everyone had their own place to stay. What a blessing your property was for our family to meet. Thank you Ruth and Fred for your hospitality and for allowing us a wonderful week of vacation at you peaceful and secluded cabin on Kego Lake!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We strive to satisfy our guests expectations, but the cabin and setting does most of it for us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your work in leaving the cabin much like you found it. Hope to see you again. Ruth & Fred
Helpful votes: 1/1