Chester house rental - View of the front of Old Salt
View of the front of Old Salt
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Chester House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedroom, 1.5 bathrooms, sleeps 8 - 10

Situated on 7 scenic acres, with over 300 feet of oceanfront, the 180 degree view of the ocean and the islands from almost every room in this house is breathtaking.

Located just off the Lighthouse Route, Old Salt is the perfect location to allow you to explore the very scenic South Shore. Besides the stunning natural beauty of this area there are many exciting activities to experience and savour. The area is known for its hiking trails, kayaking adventures, wildlife both in the ocean and on land, golf courses, numerous beaches, restaurants and local craft shops featuring Nova Scotia artists.

Bayswater Beach, voted one of the best beaches in Nova Scotia, is minutes away. Peggy's Cove and Chester are less than 30 minutes from the front door. Lunenburg, an Unesco world heritage site, and Halifax are just under an hour away.

Everything you need to enjoy a quiet vacation or an extensive tour of the South Shore can be found at Old Salt.

24 Reviews of Property 182566 in Chester, Nova Scotia

Secluded, elegant, oceanfront home with breathtaking views
average rating of 5.0 based on 24 reviews
business
Secluded, elegant, oceanfront home with breathtaking views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182566
Chester Nova Scotia
5

Fantastic vacation rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Old Salt was just perfect for our retreat. The view is breathtaking! If you like peace, quiet, comfort you will love this spot.
Old Salt is secluded will all you need on site. Restaurants are a short 5 to 10 minutes away if you don't feel like cooking.
I will return!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded, elegant, oceanfront home with breathtaking views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182566
Chester Nova Scotia
5

Down East Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
“Old Salt” location on a hill, in the middle of a field, overlooking the water and islands in the distance, was perfect for our family’s vacation. A short walk down to the water revealed a small sandy beach at low tide. We had hours of fun in the warm 70 degree late August water.
The house was well equipped with all the necessary things required for a family of seven plus two dogs to enjoy a week’s vacation. The well stocked pantry left only the essentials to be gotten at the Save Easy in Chester or Hubbard’s. The internet, dish TV and cell phone reception all worked very well for those who wanted or needed to be connected.
Having grown up on the South Shore, Old Salt made a great location to visit family and friends from or to entertain a large family gathering. Blandford is only a “day trip” to most anywhere in southern Nova Scotia.
Jo-Anne could not have been more accommodating or helpful. She was on top of everything from explaining winter storm repairs and why the outside shingles weren’t paint, to having a honey bee hive removed one week before our visit because of concerns with our 2 yr granddaughter.
We would highly recommend “Old Salt” to family, friends or anyone interested in a “Down East” vacation. We were blessed with great weather, but for another time I would loved to ride out a “Nor Easter” in her strong embrace.
Thanks, Jo-Anne
Dave Rice
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded, elegant, oceanfront home with breathtaking views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182566
Chester Nova Scotia
Canada
5

Our stay at Old Salt

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We stayed at Old Salt for a week this past July 2012. First thing we noticed was the awesome view from the back deck. The house was perfect. It had everything we needed plus extra nice touches. It was very quiet at night, could hear the waves from the ocean and the stars at night were incredible. We sat on the back deck most mornings and enjoyed coffee and then when we came back after a long day of sightseeing had more refreshments. It is centrally located so an easy hour drive to Halifax, Lunenburg, Halls Harbour, Peggy's Cove. I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for peace and quiet. The house was spotless, and lots of room for folks to spread out and enjoy themselves. I would stay here again in a second.

Dianna Bates
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded, elegant, oceanfront home with breathtaking views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182566
Chester Nova Scotia
5

A little piece of peaceful paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We searched for a great cottage and this one turned out to be pretty perfect! It had all the things we wanted from the east coast cottage feel to the view of the water to the location so close to the beach. The cottage is up a little hill and so private. The view from the back deck is so perfect. We spent most of our time out there sitting on the adirondack chairs and watching birds, deer, butterflies and listening to the water and the wind. Just so beautiful. The cottage has great conveniences with laundry, dishwasher, BBQ and lots of kitchen supplies. Our only thing missing was a small fire pit in the backyard. We think it would be an ideal little spot to set one up. We went to bayswater beach everyday which is our favourite and only a 5 mins drive from the cottage. You're also very close to small towns along the south shore which make for great little trips out. We had a wonderful time at Old Salt and would highly recommend it. Lots of space and comfortable. We hope to return sometime!!! Thanks so much!
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments, we're glad you enjoyed your stay at Old Salt. And we appreciate the suggestion of a fire pit. We had looked in to it previously and were not able to obtain a permit. We will certainly pursue this again and hopefully can have one in place for your return visit.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded, elegant, oceanfront home with breathtaking views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182566
Chester Nova Scotia
Annapolis Valley/BC/Ont
5

Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
What a great time we all had at Old Salt. The property was exactly as described and was spotless and comfortable. Jo-Anne was so helpful in all her emails - I feel we are now friends, in spite of never having met. I would highly recommend it as a place to stay - view from back deck is fabulous, especially watching the sail boats competing in the Chester Race Week races coming around little Tankook island. The beaches, the shopping, the excellent supper at the Trellis in Hubbards - it all contributed to a wonderful week. Hope to return for another stay. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded, elegant, oceanfront home with breathtaking views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182566
Chester Nova Scotia
5

The perfect place to relax. Loved staying here!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
I stayed at Old Salt for a few nights with a friend during June 2011. Prior to the visit, Jo-Anne was so friendly and helpful about what to expect and provided very detailed instructions on how to get there. We found the place easily, even though it is hidden away.

The house was very clean, spacious, and had all the necessities. During the days we visited Peggy's Cove, Lunenburg, Hirtle's Beach, and the Ovens caves, which were all within an hour's driving distance. The caves were spectacular!! At the house we enjoyed sitting out on the deck having breakfast and taking in the beautiful ocean view. For two people who are usually very chatty, the view was so breathtaking and calming that we literally had nothing to say. At night we watched movies, cooked, and relaxed.

It was so refreshing to escape the busy city life in Toronto, and re-energize at this peaceful house with so much character. On our last day we woke up early to head to Cape Breton. It was hard to say goodbye.

Jo-Anne genuinely loves the house and surrounding area, and is so excited for others to enjoy its charms that she goes out of her way for you. I could tell by reading the guest book at the house that many others had wonderful experiences as well. I highly recommend staying here!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded, elegant, oceanfront home with breathtaking views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182566
Chester Nova Scotia
5

FABULOUS

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Our family just returned home from two weeks at Old Salt and we miss it already. The home was extremely comfortable and inviting, with a location second to none. The view from the porch overlooking the ocean was breathtaking. Sitting out there with a coffee or a cocktail, your body naturally relaxed and any tension melted away. We could sit there for hours watching the many Gold Finches go about they business. This home is perfectly situated for exploring the many nooks and crannies the South Shore has to offer. We hiked, we took a boat tour, we tried several beaches, went antiquing and to a couple of Farmer's Markets. My husband and | also enjoyed an evening at the playhouse in Chester and a Jazz night and Ceilidh in Hubbards. The people in this area are absolutely lovely and so interesting to visit with. I highly recommend Old Salt to families of all ages. Thank you Joanne and family for sharing this little gem with us.
Sincerely, The O'Brien family from Calgary
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Secluded, elegant, oceanfront home with breathtaking views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182566
Chester Nova Scotia
Wolfville
5

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
I would highly recommend Old Salt Inn to a range of travellors. We stayed for 3 nights with friends. We both have young children and there was plenty of room for them to run around and play. There was also lots of toys available. We really appreciated the kitchen being stocked with some essential items which made packing easier. The house was very close to a number of beaches and to visiting some wonderful spots on the South Shore.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Secluded, elegant, oceanfront home with breathtaking views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182566
Chester Nova Scotia
St-Edmond-Grantham, QC, Can
5

Fantastic vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My family and I were very pleased with the awesome location (view on the bay and it's islands); the house (large, everything comfortable, all things at our disposal, etc.). Thanks to Mrs. Harris, the owner, we got infos on where to go blueberry picking, where were the best restaurants and so forth; as for the keeper of the house, Trish, she was most helpful every time we contacted her. In all, we are very satisfied with our vacation and will gladly come back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Secluded, elegant, oceanfront home with breathtaking views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182566
Chester Nova Scotia
Denmark Maine USA
5

My Stay at OLd Salt

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
I had the pleasure to be a guest at this wonderful Historic home overlooking the ocean September 2010. I enjoyed sitting on the deck having my morning coffee while taking in the breath taking views of the ocean and surrounding Islands. I found it to be very comfortable and homey.
If this was my property I would find it so hard to rent out, since I would never leave it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3