St Ignace house rental - View of Cabin
View of Cabin
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

St Ignace House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 6

This beautiful new log home is located right on Lake Michigan, with a fantastic view of the Mackinaw Bridge! The bridge can be viewed from the deck. Enjoy watching the majestic Lake Freighters glide by right from your living room. Upstairs loft features queen size log bed, and a full bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. Another bedroom and full bath are downstairs, along with a washer & dryer, Full kitchen, dining area, and living room with fireplace. Entire lakeside of log home is glass and the views are spectacular. Near St Ignace, Mackinaw bridge,

boats to Mackinaw Island, and local attractions. Very quiet setting.

Romantic Getaway: This spot is perfect for a romantic get away. The log home is beautiful, and you can use the spotting scope to watch the freighters go by, or sit out on the deck to enjoy a view of the mackinac bridge, or later in the evening, watch the beautiful sunsets. This location is off of the main highway, and is very quiet. There is a golf course over looking the bridge and Lake Michigan, less than 2 miles from the cabin. There are many scenic drives as well as day trips that can be taken. Beautiful Tacquaminon falls are about a 40 minute drive to the north, and Sault Ste Marie and the Sault locks are just 45 minutes north. The drive west on US 2 is also beautiful. There is a sandy beach just 7 miles west of the cabin on US 2. Enjoy a ferry ride to Mackinac Island where there are no cars allowed! Rent a bike and pedal around the island for beautiful views of Lake Michigan. Back in St Ignace, take a leisurely stroll around the City Marina, and along the boardwalk.

Family Fun: This is a great destination to take the family. There is a sandy beach just 7 miles west on US 2. Enjoy a day trip up to the Sault Locks in Sault Ste Marie Michigan. Take a day trip to the Ship Wreck Museum. Travel across the Mackinac bridge to Mackinac City where you will find Fort Michilamackinac, Old Mill Creek State park, a water park, laser light show every evening, a movie theater, and much, much more. Take a short ferry ride to Mackinac Island where no cars are allowed. Tour the majestic fort at the top of the island, or rent bikes, (Including tandem bikes) to ride around the island. Return to the cabin in the evening and enjoy hamburgers on the grill, and have a picnic on the deck, while enjoying a view of the bridge. There are a few family games as well as DVD's, and Videos to enjoy. Your family will remember this vacation!

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 182520 in St Ignace, Michigan

Beautiful Lake Michigan Waterfront Log Home
average rating of 4.909091 based on 11 reviews
business
Beautiful Lake Michigan Waterfront Log Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182520
(231) 590-9940
St Ignace Upper Peninsula Michigan
5

Beautiful cabin and great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We rented Knotty Pine Cabin for a week in July and loved our stay. The cabin was clean and well equipped. The knives need sharpening but pretty much anything you need is provided. Lots of extra towels and the washer/dryer were a big plus. The sofa sleeper was comfortable. The bed in the loft was too soft for our taste but we have an extra firm mattress at home. The main floor, private bedroom has a full size bed that was comfortable. The spiral staircase took some getting use to but I imagine children would find it delightful. The beach is unusual being neither sand nor rock but rather broken shale. You really have to watch your feet when strolling the beach but being directly on the water and hearing the waves during the night were a treat. We sat in the beach chairs with our feet in the water and listened to the waves, watched the freighters go by and the traffic on the bridge. The water was remarkably warm for Lake Michigan. You'll need water shoes if you want to swim there but there is a sandy beach nearby. The cabin is outside the tourist area of St. Ignace but only a 5 minute drive from restaurants and shopping. We definately hope to stay here again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Lake Michigan Waterfront Log Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182520
(231) 590-9940
St Ignace Upper Peninsula Michigan
5

A Perfect Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We just returned from your beautiful Knotty Pines cabin and couldn't have asked for a more perfect vacation! The cabin exceeded our expectations by far! It was in a great location with a fabulous view of the bridge. It was so nice to be right on the straits and our kids had a blast hunting for crayfish and skipping rocks on the water. Spotting freighters each day was fun for all of us. It was so relaxing to fall asleep in the most comfortable beds and wake up to the sound of the waves each morning. We haven't slept that soundly in a long time! What a perfect way to leave "real life" behind and have a chance to relieve some stress.

The location was in close proximity to plenty of activities. We visited the Soo Locks, Castle Rock, spent a day on Mackinac Island, went to Shipwreck Museum at Whitefish Point, toured Upper and Lower Tahquamenon Falls, spent a little time in St Ignace and Mackinaw City, and hit the sandy beach down the road from the cabin. It was the perfect blend of fun activities and relaxation!

The cabin had tons of unexpected amenities....this was in no way "roughing it"! The kids enjoyed the jacuzzi tub and begged to take a bath every day. It was great having spices and condiments available as well as paper products and laundry supplies. I would definitely recommend this property to my family and friends!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Lake Michigan Waterfront Log Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182520
(231) 590-9940
St Ignace Upper Peninsula Michigan
Orland Hills, Illinois
5

Great UP cabin in a great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
The cabin was a fantastic home base for our trip to the Michigan's U.P.! My wife and I, our twin 8 year olds and my parents all enjoyed the cabin. The kids loved the shoreline, everyone loved the deck, and spotting freighters became a new favorite activity. The cabin always seemed to have just what we needed when we needed it... from seasoned salt to marshmallow skewers. Thanks for providing such a great cabin in such a great location. It was the perfect place to unwind.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Lake Michigan Waterfront Log Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182520
(231) 590-9940
St Ignace Upper Peninsula Michigan
4

knotty pine cabin

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The cabin is beautiful. The views spectacular. Most things were "top shelf" (plumbing fixtures, appliances,etc.The beds were too lumpy and small. I slept in the recliner and my wife the couch (which she prefers anyway). Some repairs needed. the ceiling fan seems like someone was hanging from one of the blades. A "Hunter" fan would be a good upgrade. However, a person still cannot hang from the blades!! The screens on the doors could work better. A thorough cleaning (window washing, cobweb removal, dust on beams in living room) is needed. the lakeside steps are rather hazardous. I also think you should get the electric checked as the lights dimmed at times suggesting a problem with the neutral connection somewhere. Please do not use this review on your website. I am only mentioning these things for your information as you probably do not usually get this information. Please forgive the criticism as it is only FYI. Overall it was the best vacation we ever had!!!!!
Wayne
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/5
business
Beautiful Lake Michigan Waterfront Log Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182520
(231) 590-9940
St Ignace Upper Peninsula Michigan
Trenton MI US
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
This was the best vacation rental I have ever had! The views were spectacular. We will definitely rent again in the future!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Lake Michigan Waterfront Log Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182520
(231) 590-9940
St Ignace Upper Peninsula Michigan
Ringgold, GA
5

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Wow! The cabin and it's location were spectacular. We enjoyed the view of the Straights of Mackinac. We sat each morning and evening and watched the freighters go by. The cabin was very clean and well supplied. I enjoyed sleeping on the pull out sofa bed (now there is something I never thought I would say). The bed had an air mattress and was very comfortable. I was able to look out the windows and see the light of the moon reflect off the water. We were able to open the windows and doors and enjoy the breeze coming off the lake each day. My parents came with me and they both loved sitting on the deck. We even had an opportunity to start a fire in the pit one night. I would recommend this cabin to anyone wanting to enjoy the UP.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Beautiful Lake Michigan Waterfront Log Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182520
(231) 590-9940
St Ignace Upper Peninsula Michigan
Grand Rapids Michigan
5

Just like home.........

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
This was our third year renting the Knotty Pines Cottage. It's a little piece of heaven right here in Michigan. We enjoyed our stay, and how beautiful and peaceful it is here. The cottage is alway spotless and very kept up. My kids love the loft and the staircase! Myself I love the view of Lake Michigan. We love watching all the boats and freighters that pass in front of the cottage. We can't forget the Mighty Mac Bridge!! The view is breath taking. If your looking for a place to getaway and relax......................... This is it!! Until next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Beautiful Lake Michigan Waterfront Log Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182520
(231) 590-9940
St Ignace Upper Peninsula Michigan
Columbus OH
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
This was the best place I have ever rented. The house is spacious and is equipped with everything you need. I even found nail polish remover at the perfert moment! Interesting reading material everywhere. The telescope comes in very handy for watching the freighters and there is even a book to look them up and learn about them. The beds are comfortable and COZY! Bathrooms are clean & pretty and with the laundry in the downstairs bath, very easy to keep your towels, sheets and clothes clean. Views from the house are great even at night when the moon shines on the water. The beach 7 miles west is a must for the day.
The house is full of beautiful art and log cabin decorations, very tasteful. You can't go wrong with this choice.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Beautiful Lake Michigan Waterfront Log Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182520
(231) 590-9940
St Ignace Upper Peninsula Michigan
Rossville, GA
5

A Little Piece of Quiet Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
I could not imagine a better place to stay! My crew consisted of my Mom, Dad, Husband, myself and two twelve year olds. We drove up from Rossville, Georgia. It took about 14 hours so we were exhausted when we arrived, but once inside the layout and amenities in the cabin were so great that I was suddenly wide awake when we got inside. (And I was the only driver) The windows on the lake side provide breathtaking views especially in the morning when the sun rises. My son loved the fire pit by the lake and made us smores almost every night. The cabin was very clean and well maintained. The owners are very thoughtful of your needs as a guest. There were books, dvds, puzzles and games to keep us busy while we were at the cabin. My favorite amenity was the wooden box of brochures and restaurant menus on the desk. We visited several places during our stay. Garlyn Zoo (which was awesome), Mackinac Island, Soo Locks Boat Tour, Downtown St Ignace Shops, Kewadin Casino, and Mackinac Straits Fish Company. I would highly recommend this vacation rental. It was definitely worth the 14 hour drive and worth every penny spent! I hope to be able to visit again soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Beautiful Lake Michigan Waterfront Log Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182520
(231) 590-9940
St Ignace Upper Peninsula Michigan
Byron Center, MI, USA
5

"Practically Perfect in Every Way"

"Practically Perfect in Every Way"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
We had a fantastic stay at Knotty Pines! The cabin is very well appointed and very comfortable. We had a great view of the Mackinac Bridge and sunsets were beautiful!

There's a nice collection of books to peruse. We particularly enjoyed the one on the Cottages of Mackinac Island and the freighter one came in very handy as our kids were scoping out the names of freighters as they passed by.

It was so peaceful and calm listening to the waves of Lake Michigan with all the french doors open. It's easy to catch a breeze with the vast amount of entries and windows.

We'd definitely stay again!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10