Ocean Grove house rental
 
  • Bedrooms8
  • Sleeps17
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Ocean Grove House Rental Photos and Description
1.5 blocks from beach. 8 bedrooms, 4 baths, sleeps 14 comfortably

Walk to the beautiful Ocean Grove beach, rated as one of the top 15 beaches of the world for 2014 by Fodor's Travel. You'll also be just a few short blocks to the Great Auditorium; downtown Ocean Grove and Asbury's hip Cookman Avenue. Updated, spacious house welcomes you to gracious and comfortable living by the shore. Beautiful crown moldings and stained glass fill the house. The fully equipped, modern island kitchen features stainless appliances, walk-in pantry, dishwasher, stand-alone ice maker.

This is a perfect gathering place for housing out-of town wedding guests or holding family reunions all year round. Kids love their own 'den' upstairs; adults chat on the porch, near the fireplace, or around the dining room table.

My home is also ideal for a small professional conference or retreat -- high-speed wireless Internet connections are available throughout. Two large flat screen TVs with DVD and plenty of flexible meeting space simplify your arrangements. The house is less than a mile from the train station with frequent service to NYC; dozens of fine restaurants are within walking distance.

Perfect for gatherings of family and friends: This house is ideal for a family reunion, wedding guests, gal's weekend, or for several couples or families who want a wonderful vacation at the Jersey Shore.

Very few homes in Ocean Grove offer so many bedrooms and baths. This house sleeps 14 in beds, and four full bathrooms make it easy when everyone comes home from the beach at the same time! We also provide one roll-away bed for one extra guest. For the diaper set, a port-a-crib, high chair, stroller, and booster seat reduce the gear you otherwise would need to pack.

10 beach tags (yes, 10!) along with plenty of beach towels, beach umbrellas, beach toys, and sand chairs make this a turn-key vacation destination -- you need to pack only your clothes, food, sunscreen, and vacation spirit!

If you want to see more pictures and the floor plans of this great vacation home, visit my own website at

http://livingstonelodging.com

The house is perfectly located within easy walking distance of the beach, the Great Auditorium, downtown Ocean Grove, and the hip restaurants and night spots of downtown Asbury Park. Stroll to my new favorite restaurant on the boardwalk, Stella Marina, and wander over to the Stone Pony nightclub for a brew and good music; who knows -- Bruce Springsteen may show up!.

Summertime in Ocean Grove will make you feel like you've stepped back in time to a more relaxed era. Savor ice cream cones from Day's; browse through the two huge flea markets in spring and fall; thrill to an 800-voice choir festival; discover a new artist at the boardwalk art show. Let your kids vie for candy at an old-fashioned Fourth of July parade or take home fish & chips from the Ladies' Auxiliary fish fry. Walk or bike everywhere. In July and August, enjoy free organ concerts in the Great Auditorium and the 'Summer Stars' classical music events on Thursdays with an amazing array of established musicians. Pick parsley and basil from the garden and grill the flounder you caught that morning off the jetty.

Nearby attractions: Most of my guests don't want anything more than the beach and boardwalk and shops in town. But, if you like a more high-powered vacation, you can take day trips to Monmouth Racetrack, Atlantic City, Six Flags/Great Adventure Safari Park, or even New York City. Rent a boat at the nearby Shark River inlet marina, or take a deep-sea fishing trip with the family. Swoop past the beach high overhead in a paraglider. Several golf courses are available nearby; tennis and shuffleboard at the Grove tennis club.

And for a unique stroll down memory lane, don't miss the Silverball Pinball Museum down the Boardwalk in Asbury.

More Details
Hide Details

My great-grandparents visited Ocean Grove every year for vacation, and my grandmother and her sister operated a B&B here for many years. Now that my grandson has visited, I guess you could say we are a six-generation Ocean Grove family.

My father's parents owned and operated a rustic lodge in Enfield, New Hampshire for decades -- Livingstone Lodge. Innkeeping was in my genes from both sides of my family!

I'd been coming to Ocean Grove all my life, and could not imagine a better place to move to when I retire. I sing alto in the Auditorium choir every week -- ask me about joining in if you are here on a Sunday and love to sing.

Carol purchased this house in 2007

When a house just a few doors down from my mother's came on the market, I couldn't resist. The house had been owned by my grandmother's cousin for many years, so it seemed right to bring it back into the family. I've remodeled the house extensively (sorry, cousin Mary!), updating it and furnishing it to be the kind of home I want to live in. Until that day, I love to welcome families and other groups to my home to kick back, relax, and experience an Ocean Grove vacation.

Ocean Grove is unique on the Jersey Shore -- a National Historic site with more beautifully preserved Victorian homes than any other place in the country, it was founded as a Methodist campground and retreat just after the Civil War. At the heart of the town is the Great Auditorium, a 6500-seat building that is just a few blocks from my home, During July and August you can enjoy free organ concerts on Wednesdays; on Thursdays is the inexpensive Summer Stars classical music concert series; and on Saturdays, popular big-name acts like the Beach Boys, ABBA, Diana Kral, and Tony Bennett.

Ocean Grove is a laid-back, relaxing seaside community. We walk everywhere -- to Day's Ice Cream Parlor for some amazing Belgian Chocolate ice cream, to Main Street for the Cheese Shop, hardware store, bakery, art gallery, or sandwich shop (the lobster sandwiches were a big hit with my friends this summer!); across the bridge to Asbury Park for fine dining and hip stores and nightlife; and, of course, to the beach.

For those of you who have never been to the Jersey shore, you'll be surprised at how warm the water is most of the summer. Waves can be big before or after a storm -- the surfers have their own beach nearby -- but usually are gentle enough for the more timid swimmer. The sand is clean and white, and the lifeguards are the best (two of them live next door).

This is a big house -- there is so much room, extended families will fit beautifully. The first floor is a lovely gathering place, cozy in winter with a gas fireplace and airy in summer with lots of windows. The second floor apartment provides a bonus with a second living room and kitchen.

My favorite place of all is the porch -- you and your family and friends will spend most of your time on the porch, perhaps with a cup of coffee and newspaper, just relaxing. Don't be surprised if your Ocean Grove neighbors chat you up while you're on the porch -- it's that kind of gracious, small town friendliness that I love.

31 Reviews of Property 182487 in Ocean Grove, New Jersey

Huge house 1.5 blks from great beach. Beach Boys coming July 25!
average rating of 4.83871 based on 31 reviews
business
Huge house 1.5 blks from great beach. Beach Boys coming July 25!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182487
+217 377 0563
Ocean Grove Jersey Shore
New York
5

Beautiful, spacious and right near the beach.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My group of 15 rented the house for the weekend, and had a really great experience. The website maintained by the owner is very informative, and all descriptions and pics were completely accurate. The house, which conveniently has two kitchens and living rooms, was clean and well-maintained, very well-stocked with linens and kitchen items, and is on a quiet street a few blocks from a great beach. It's also only a few blocks from Main Street, where most of the shops and restaurants in the area ore located.

Additionally, the owner responded to my initial inquiry and follow-up questions promptly, and handled all logistics in a hassle-free manner. All in all, a great experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
business
Huge house 1.5 blks from great beach. Beach Boys coming July 25!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182487
+217 377 0563
Ocean Grove Jersey Shore
5

FANTASTIC HOME AND PROPRIETOR!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
It was a brilliant home, both cozy and classy. The proprietor is close by, and is wonderful. The kitchen is FULLY stocked (more than expected); there are plenty of chairs for the beach. Can't say enough good things!
business
Huge house 1.5 blks from great beach. Beach Boys coming July 25!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182487
+217 377 0563
Ocean Grove Jersey Shore
PENNSYLVANIA, USA
5

Pefect vacation for a big family.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We loved our stay in Ocean Grove, 10 adults and 5 children under the age of 7. It is conveniently located to everything (beach, town, auditorium, etc..). The area is safe and the people are friendly. Carol was very helpfull and answered all of our many questions before we arrived and while we were there. It is well stocked (kitchen supplies, room supplies, beach supplies, electronics, etc...).The house is clean and plenty of room for everyone. We liked the clean sheets on the bed so that we could make them when we arrived and then strip them and leave them out for the service when we left.
business
Huge house 1.5 blks from great beach. Beach Boys coming July 25!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182487
+217 377 0563
Ocean Grove Jersey Shore
California
5

Loved it again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed at Carol's beach house for the second time this summer & enjoyed it as much as we had the first time. The remodeled downstairs bathroom was great for our octogenarian & we all loved the new washer & dryer! The house is wonderful, Buster's a great neighbor, and the community is sooo not "The Jersey Shore" of tv fame. Thanks again, Carol, we are counting the weeks til our next family beach vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Patti, your family is fun to host. I especially loved meeting your mom and was glad she could join you all this year. I'm sorry I couldn't produce whales this summer, but perhaps next time!
business
Huge house 1.5 blks from great beach. Beach Boys coming July 25!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182487
+217 377 0563
Ocean Grove Jersey Shore
Princeton, NJ
5

30th birthday weekend by the shore

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I wanted to celebrate my 30th birthday by inviting my friends for a long weekend at the shore. This house was absolutely perfect for us! Great location, a stone's throw from the beach and walking distance from the nice restaurants and bars in Asbury Park. Also, several of my guests arrived by train from NYC, and the station in Asbury Park is conveniently within walking distance. The house is very spacious and nicely decorated yet feels really cozy and welcoming, it was spotless and there were plenty of facilities for all my guests. The owner, Carol, was so friendly and had clearly thought about everything in terms of amenities. The house is well stocked with all the little things you need to live comfortably. I highly recommend this property and would love to return to Ocean Grove in the future,
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Next time I promise better weather! I'm glad you and your great friends had a chance to visit the Jersey Shore, and I hope to see you again.
business
Huge house 1.5 blks from great beach. Beach Boys coming July 25!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182487
+217 377 0563
Ocean Grove Jersey Shore
Bergen County NJ
5

Shelly & Bill Roth's 50th Ann. Family Celebration

Shelly & Bill Roth's 50th Ann. Family Celebration
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We are so happy to have found this house. The whole experience there exceeded our expectations. The pictures of the house really showed what the house looked like. The amenities are too numerous to list. It is a clean and well maintained house and shows the love its owner feels for it. We were 17 people ranging in age from 73 down to 2 years old and we never felt cramped. We were very comfortable.
We would definitely recommend this house to any of our friends and family.
The beach is clean and well maintained and has bathrooms and a snack bar.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: It's such a great honor that you wanted to celebrate your 50th anniversary in my house. I am so glad you had a good time and wish you many more happy years together with your wonderful family.
business
Huge house 1.5 blks from great beach. Beach Boys coming July 25!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182487
+217 377 0563
Ocean Grove Jersey Shore
Cape May, NJ- USA
5

Excellent stay at 27 Bath, Ocean Grove

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This is the second time our group has a gathering at 27 Bath. The listing was more than accurate regarding the property's location and amenities. The photographs are accurate, the property is clean and well maintained. The owner, Carol, was extremely gracious. She communicates fast and clearly. I highly recommend this property when staying in Ocean Grove, particularly to large groups. We had our own cook and it was great to not have to be scattered, but the Starving Artist Restaurant was a treat!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Huge house 1.5 blks from great beach. Beach Boys coming July 25!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182487
+217 377 0563
Ocean Grove Jersey Shore
Wayne, PA
5

Thought of everything

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We loved our stay in Ocean Grove at this house. It is conveniently located to everything (beach, town, auditorium, etc..). It is well stocked (kitchen supplies, room supplies, beach supplies, electronics, etc...).The house has been updated nicely (kitchen, baths), is clean, and maintains its wonderful charm (different color bedrooms hidden away with different lay-outs etc..). We liked the clean sheets on the bed so that we could make them when we arrived and then strip them and leave them out for the service when we left. The landlord was very pleasant and easy to work with.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Lisa, I'm glad your group had a fun time. I hope to meet you myself next time!
business
Huge house 1.5 blks from great beach. Beach Boys coming July 25!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182487
+217 377 0563
Ocean Grove Jersey Shore
Pennsglvania
5

Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This is the perfect house for a family reunion. It is spacious enougb on the main floor to accomodate a large family gathering. We had 32 people (adults and children) for the day. Dinner didn't seem crowded and conversation felt normal for such a large group. The eight bedrooms easily held the fifteen adults and three children who stayed for the weekend. Having the single bedroom on the first floor worked great for someone who has trouble climbing the stairs. When everyone left but four of us for the remainder of the week it still worked well. This is our second year and looking forward to a third year of renting this clean and well maintained house. Lots of towels and beach supplies along with staples. Lookkng forward to next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words, Irene, and I appreciate your repeat business. It was a pleasure to meet you this year.
business
Huge house 1.5 blks from great beach. Beach Boys coming July 25!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182487
+217 377 0563
Ocean Grove Jersey Shore
Caldwell, NJ
5

All it's cracked up to be

All it's cracked up to be
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Pictures are often deceiving but in this case, the real thing was just as advertised, if not better. There were 11 of us, some couples, some singles, and all of us in real need of a vacation. Carol the owner was there when we arrived, still putting fresh sheets on the beds and making sure all our questions were answered. Our group is very much into cooking so we ate dinner in most nights and the well stocked kitchen made this a pleasure. The whole week was a pleasure! Close enough to walk to Asbury Park, the beach and town. Lovely place, lovely owner. Would absolutely recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Mary, your group was a pleasure to host. I'm happy you all got the R&R you deserve, and hope to see you again.