Sidney house rental - Deep Cove vacation accommodation quiet rural area, beaches a short stroll away.
Deep Cove vacation accommodation quiet rural area, beaches a short stroll away.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Sidney House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

4 Bedrooms (3 with king beds), a large kitchen with island eating bar, open floor plan with entertainment size dining table & sink-in comfortable living room furnishings, entertainment center, private outdoor hot tub and outdoor propane fireplace with comfortable patio seating, all make this a home that consistently gets great reviews from guests.

Room for several cars on the driveway & additional parking in a garage. Convenient for loading & unloading suitcases, sporting gear or groceries, rain or shine.

Large kitchen with richly finished cabinets, well equipped with enough dishes for entertaining. Island eating bar with granite counter & bar height stools keeps the conversation lively. Large propane barbecue stored in the garage, ready to be rolled out, hear the kitchen for friendly, easy barbecue meals.

Just beyond the kitchen is a large dining table & chairs, extra chairs in the closet if necessary. This flows to the living area which includes an oversize sofa & 2 comfy upholstered chairs. Coffee table for casual snacks while watching HD TV. French doors from this room open to the tiered patio/yard with a propane fireplace and private hot tub. We get so many comments telling us that guests really enjoy the way the propane fireplace extends the evening & that it contributed to much shared laughter.

Spacious main floor master bedroom has a king canopy bed, desk, ensuite bathroom & walk-in closet. For those of you planning a longer stay, you'll be happy to note that the closet has an amazing set of built in organizers for plenty of storage.

Completing the main floor is a 1/2 bathroom & separate laundry room with high-end front load Bosch washer/dryer.

Upstairs, opening off of a landing are 3 other bedrooms, 2 of them with king size beds and the last with bunk beds (twin over double). These bedrooms share a large bathroom with shower/tub combo.

So who is this home most suitable for?

During High Season

With 4 bedrooms and a very open plan, this is an ideal home for a family vacation, for extended family coming from various locations to meet and reconnect or for a small group of friends who would like to travel to Vancouver Island together.

During Low Season

Well suited to 'snowbirds' who would like longer term, low season accommodation, either to escape the snow and cold or to 'try out' island life before moving here. This home has been a temporary home to families moving from Bragg Creek, Hong Kong, Las Vegas & Calgary. It has also accommodated a local family while they built their new home. So whether building, renovating, or just searching for that right piece of real estate to purchase, consider this home your 'first step' to a successful island relocation.

The location has very easy access from all the major travel routes being only 5 minutes from the Victoria International Airport and 5 minutes from the Swartz Bay BC Ferry Terminal. Also, just 20 scant minutes from Victoria.

Once here, the home is a great home away from home for exploring further up Vancouver Island, Victoria and the Inner Harbour, the Gulf Islands, and of course the many delights right here on the Saanich Peninsula and in quaint little Sidney by the Sea.

Please email today. We'd love to greet you as guests in Deep Cove Retreat.

Keywords: House, cottage, self-contained, short term accommodation, long term accommodation, furnished rental, luxury rental, for rent by owner, home

More Details
Hide Details

We’re Susan and Don Wakal. We relocated to Victoria from Edmonton, Alberta in February of 2005, after having lived in Edmonton for our whole lives. The timing seemed right. Our son was completing his last year university in Edmonton and our daughter was just leaving to attend university in South Dakota. Don left his job and I closed my business. We called it our great adventure and all of our friends and family thought we were having a midlife crisis! The first year in Victoria we lost count after 55 people had visited us. It seemed everyone wanted a little bit of island time. It became apparent that we couldn’t continue to host as many out of town guests as we had been and still find time to carve out a life for ourselves here. Thus we decided to invest in a second property, to accommodate our visitors. Deep Cove Retreat is that property.

We'd be happy if you decided to take advantage of Deep Cove Retreat to visit Vancouver Island. Everyone deserves some island time!

Look forward to greeting you.

Susan & Don

Susan Wakal purchased this house in 2006

Once in a blue moon, we actually get to spend a night or two here ourselves. We find the quiet, heavenly. Between stays we crave the gab sessions in the hot tub and wish for movie nights curled up amongst all the sofa pillows. We always have a really good sleep and love to walk to the beach in the morning. Ahhhhh! Isn’t life good? We love the island life and have not looked back for a second. We still often feel almost intoxicated by the lush and fragrant surroundings we live in. So whether you want to visit world famous Butchart Gardens or the Ocean Discovery Centre or explore a different beach everyday or just kick back and read a good book ... you'll love your stay.

We truly hope you experience some of the same joy we’ve found living in Canada’s paradise.

Susan and Don

We've tried to put ourselves in your place and think of everything. Fresh flowers, award winning wine and a basket with local goodies welcome you. Cozy housecoats embrace you. Toys for the kids. A variety of reading material and music, maps and brochures to plan your adventures.

We're just a phone call away should you need help with anything.

Looking forward to helping with your plans.

Susan and Don

25 Reviews of Property 118454 in Sidney, British Columbia

Walk to Beach! Soak in Hot Tub! Sleeps 8 Now taking summer bookings!
average rating of 4.96 based on 25 reviews
business
Walk to Beach! Soak in Hot Tub! Sleeps 8 Now taking summer bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118454vb
+1 250 857 3300
Sidney Vancouver Island
Red Deer, Alberta
5

Deep Cove Retreat vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Hi Susan,
I just wanted to sincerely thank you for the use of Deep Cove Retreat. It was the perfect place for the nine of us. This was the first family vacation that all three generations had together. We shared many outings, laughs and made lasting memories. The grandchildren didn't want to leave to come home. Your home was the perfect base to Victoria and surrounding area and beautifully decorated and outfitted with the items we required. In fact it was the most well equipped home I've ever had the opportunity to stay at. We really enjoyed the Sidney street market, Victoria Bug Zoo and Butterfly Gardens as well as the beaches. Once again thank you and I will be sure to share your contact info with friends and colleagues who wish to vacation in the area.




Sent from my iPad
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thankyou for taking the time to post your compliments. Hearing that your family of three generations had such a wonderful time together, makes all of the hard work of maintaining this house and yard to our high standards worthwhile.
business
Walk to Beach! Soak in Hot Tub! Sleeps 8 Now taking summer bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118454vb
+1 250 857 3300
Sidney Vancouver Island
North Saanich B.C.
5

Long Term Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We rented for a long term stay, during which time we searched for a retirement house and had a lengthy renovation done. This house is situated in a quiet and scenic part of North Saanich, with miles of walking trails, and is ideally situated as a place to stay for anyone searching for a house in the northern part of the Peninsula. The house is big enough to accommodate a family, but small enough to be easy to look after, with the owners taking care of the garden - important factors if you are very busy as we were. House was very clean and well furnished on our arrival and well organised with attention to little details. There is off street parking and also a garage - amenities that are not always available at other rental houses. Master bedroom is large and well located for coolness during the summer.

We found the owners to be conscientious and straightforward to deal with. Definitely recommend the property for any kind of stay, whether vacation or long term.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Excited for you, that you're now moved into your retirement 'dream home'. Many a winter finds us hosting guests who are using our home as their 'first island home', while taking their time, finding just the perfect location to purchase. I know you found the move from Alberta, exhausting and appreciated being able to take a breather, before jumping into the realty search. Luckily, we were also able to work out an extension of your stay, in order for you to take on the extensive renovation of the home you purchased. Now to start enjoying the 'island life'!
business
Walk to Beach! Soak in Hot Tub! Sleeps 8 Now taking summer bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118454vb
+1 250 857 3300
Sidney Vancouver Island
Ashland, OR, USA
5

Great Place to Stay.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Clean, Cozy, and quiet. Beds were very comfortable and owners are a pleasure to deal with.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Wonderful to have your Ashland Rowing Team back for the second time and look forward to greeting you again in 2 years when you next compete at Elk Lake.
business
Walk to Beach! Soak in Hot Tub! Sleeps 8 Now taking summer bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118454vb
+1 250 857 3300
Sidney Vancouver Island
Regina,Sask/Canada
4

Great Location!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Great House and location for exploring the island. Far enough away to provide a quiet places to relax and explore ( great winery just a walk down the road), but close enough to town for accessing the necessities of life. Close to the airport and to the Ferry so we could easilyget around. House was great! provides lots of space for muliit family or guests use whle allowing for the common space to interact.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Travel does seem to be getting more exhausting now days, so guests do appreciate that at the end of either their flights or drive & ferry crossing, our home is nearby and easy to find. The homes manual will be on the counter as you enter and it includes instructions for finding all the immediate necessities such as ... hours and how to find grocery stores, liquor store, etc.
business
Walk to Beach! Soak in Hot Tub! Sleeps 8 Now taking summer bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118454vb
+1 250 857 3300
Sidney Vancouver Island
BRANTFORD ONTARIO
5

walsh wedding family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Thank you very much for renting your home.
we enjoyed our stay very much.
nice having our whole familly all together in one house.
so much easier and enjoyable than staying in a motel.
we would strongly recomend your home to anyone.
thanks again. Arlene and Cliff Walsh
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: With 4 bedrooms, a very open plan kitchen, large dining table & the outdoor propane fireplace our home really is a great place for extended families from different parts of the country to come together & reconnect with each other.

Just a reminder for those of you planning upcoming weddings. This is a great accommodation in a quiet residential neighbourhood, but it is not suitable as a venue to host actual wedding events. Sorry, no rehearsal parties, day after gift openings, etc.
business
Walk to Beach! Soak in Hot Tub! Sleeps 8 Now taking summer bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118454vb
+1 250 857 3300
Sidney Vancouver Island
victoria, bc
5

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
This home was perfect for our long stay. Our family of 6 stayed for 4 months while our new house was being built and couldn't have stayed anywhere else it was perfect. The neighbors are so nice the market was great. We loved staying here and will definitely recommend our friends and family stay here when in town. Very well equipped home with everything you need and the hot tub was a great bonus.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: How kind of you to post your comments.We were so pleased to have been your "home away from home" while you built your dream home. Hope everything turned out the way you hoped and that you are settled once more. Not sure how you managed everything during the build and with such ease: move out of previous home, move in to our vacation home with Mom, Dad, 4 Children and Dog, run Bliss Spa , build home, move out of our vacation home! And you left our home so immaculate as well! So appreciated.

I know you loved the Deep Cove Market near our home and all the local gourmet goodies available there so perhaps we'll still run into you now and then if can't resist a drive out for your favourites . Hmmm, not sure how you'll fit that in!

We'll look forward to greeting your referrals!

Susan & Don
business
Walk to Beach! Soak in Hot Tub! Sleeps 8 Now taking summer bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118454vb
+1 250 857 3300
Sidney Vancouver Island
Idaho, USA
5

Biker chics

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
6 of us ladies spent a week at Susan and Don's property this August. For 18 years we have enjoyed a week of riding around the Northwest and staying in vacation rentals. This is one of our nicer stays. The house was perfect for our needs, well maintained, nicely decorated and very comfortable. We took Don and Susan's advice on places to eat and things to do and it worked out well. We would highly recommend this place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Cyclists ... did you know that greater Victoria has more cycling routes than any other Canadian City? Our home has access to great cycle routes, maps on local cycle routes, garage to securely store your bicycles, clean or repair them, kitchen for the necessary hearty breakfasts and laundry for wet gear! Oh! and hot tub for sore muscles. Book with us for all your cycle-friendly features.

Thanks Sylvia, Barb, Sandy, Jan, Marita and Paula for sharing tales of your cycle adventures. You have too much fun!
business
Walk to Beach! Soak in Hot Tub! Sleeps 8 Now taking summer bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118454vb
+1 250 857 3300
Sidney Vancouver Island
Menlo Park, CA
5

Wonderful House in Deep Cove

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
On driving toward the Deep Cove house, it was evident that it was situated in a very nice neighborhood of mixed woods,lakes and inlets, farms, and other beautiful houses. We were greeted at the door and given a complete tour and introduction to the house. One nice surprise was the cleanliness of the house. My mother, a "clean freak", thought it had never been lived in!

The house is very nicely appointed. The beds are firm and comfortable. Linens and towels, also the robes, are high-end. All of the applicances were in perfect working order. This includes the hot tub, which we did not use since the weather was unusually hot!

The neighborhood is perfect for short walks. Each morning finds numerous dog walkers, trekkers, biking groups and others out for their morning exercises. As we headed toward the beach, we stopped at the local winery, enjoyed tasting, and bought some of the 2007 Pinot Noir grown right there. The beach is pebbly, and the water cold, but this did not deter our kids and dog from swimming.

Blackberry bushes are quite abundant in the surrounding area. Armed with bowls and plastic bags, we would come back from our walks with quarts of berries, perfect for cooking down into preserves. We travelled back with 4 quarts of the finest blackberry jam.

A short drive around Lands End on the northern-most end of the peninsula was great, revealing views across the water, large estates, and a different way to the highway to Victoria. A small market near the house serves as an expensive, smaller version of a Trader Joe's store, while "real shopping" requires a 10 min drive to Sidney, where fresh fish can be purchased.

Victoria is about 20 minutes away, but after walking around town and eating dinner, it was nice to be back in the greenery and fresh air of Deep Cove. We drove around outer VIctoria a bit, only to realize that the northern end of the Saanich Peninsula is the best place to be in the area.

We will return to the Deep Cove house, and highly recommend staying here. Note to travellers: our 3 day visit was too short. If your schedule allows, spend a week.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk to Beach! Soak in Hot Tub! Sleeps 8 Now taking summer bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118454vb
+1 250 857 3300
Sidney Vancouver Island
Burlington, Ontario
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
First I want to thank Susan and Don for allowing us to stay in you're amazing home. My family & I were very impressed with the accommodations, you didn't spare any expense on the beautiful furniture. We spent alot of time sitting around just enjoying the comforts of our surroundings and in the evenings we would sit around the fire pit. The area is quint, beautiful and very peaceful, great for our family needs. The rooms are spacious, enough space to accommodate my large family. The hot tub was a great way for us to spend time together at the end of our hectic day, unlike the hotel experience we had privacy and able to star gaze. After this experience I don't think we will ever stay at another hotel again. I would recommend anyone who is planning on vacationing in the Victoria area to stay at Deep Cove Retreat.
business
Walk to Beach! Soak in Hot Tub! Sleeps 8 Now taking summer bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118454vb
+1 250 857 3300
Sidney Vancouver Island
-
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
Everything about Deep Cove is perfect...

the location is the best...being out of the city hustle...including Victoria and Sidney....was like living in a country retreat but having everything you could possibly want within a short drive.

For me the home being so clean and organized meant a lot...when we opened the door we could all settle in right away without having to worry about things being 'not quite up to par'...soon after it was the comfort of Deep Cove that made us all go AHHHH this is great!!! The furnishings, the hot tub...that couch ( I still want to somehow sneak it out of there and bring it home to Calgary), and the beds were great too...Knowing that there was always someone close by to contact, just in case...something was needed was reassuring.

The winter months on the coast are not like winter anywhere else...everything is so green and alive...the rain just keeps things fresh and clean, honestly we didn't mind the weather at all. Let's talk about having Nature at you doorstep...walks along the ocean or in the woods, it seemed that every turn was something new and totally different...the city cement was a distant memory and coming home to it again makes us all realize just how supporting Mother Nature is to our Being...how much our mind, body and spirit crave being close to Her, being in Nature is like being Home...Home is where the Heart is and we all left a little of our Heart in Deep Cove....Thank You for providing a space to nourish what is most important...

with much Love, Jack, Roman and Kathleen