Vermilion cabin rental - front of the house - there is also a large back yard with a gorgeous lake front
front of the house - there is also a large back yard with a gorgeous lake front
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Vermilion Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

We have a very lovely, three-bedroom lakefront house that is available to rent in Vermilion, Ohio. The interior is all knotty pine with a fireplace, very large master bedroom, two smaller bedrooms, large sun porch, kitchen, living room (with pull-out couch)/dining room and bath. It is charming, cozy and immaculate.

The large, private backyard abuts Lake Erie, and provides you with a break-front/patio at the lake that is perfect for fishing, swimming or just “sitting” by the water. There is a large park for the kids a short walk/bike ride down the street (and almost across from the Mayor’s house), and a large, private backyard with hammocks, swings and benches to watch the truly great sunsets and sunrises over Lake Erie. Take a snooze on the sun porch and catch the afternoon trade winds, or open the windows at night and catch the wind and noise of the waves.

Conveniently located, it is 20 minutes from Cedar Point and the many Sandusky water parks (Kalahari, Great Wolf Lodge, Castaway Bay), 30 minutes to the ferry for the Lake Erie Islands and wineries, 20 minutes to historic Milan/Norwalk Ohio (home of Thomas Edison), and 30 minutes to Cleveland’s Rock N’ Roll Hall of Fame, the Science Museum, Cleveland Indians, Browns, and Cavaliers, and the world famous Cleveland Orchestra, and Art and History museums. There is fine shopping, restaurants, boat rentals and the quaint City of Vermilion (complete with ice cream shoppe, naval museum, wonderful beaches and a 5 star French restaurant on the water) to visit.

So spend a day at Cedar Point, and come home to the quiet of the Lake for dinner and an evening of relaxing at the water. Go fishing in the morning, and then head into Milan in the afternoon for a taste of history. Head off for a day at the water parks and come home to a home cooked meal on the grill. Spend a day at the Rock N’ Roll Hall of Fame and visit the many sites of Cleveland (USS Mather, the USS Cod submarine, the many nightclubs in the Flats by the Cuyahoga River, the Science Museum, or catch an Indians game) (Cleveland really is a great city) and come home to a night of catching fireflies in the backyard, or a trip into Vermilion for ice cream or just a peaceful sunset at the water. The combinations and possibilities are endless.

Our house offers you days of quiet by the water with the fun and excitement of day trips to the many sites in Vermilion, Sandusky, Huron, Milan, Norwalk, and Cleveland, as well as the Lake Erie Islands. You will have a vacation to remember for always.

FAMILY GATHERINGS

Also available - a large one bedroom mirror image house that is located next door (It is a duplex) which is great for family gatherings/reunions. If you would like to rent both units the price is $1700. For the large single bedroom side (we took down the wall between the two smaller bedrooms) go to the VRBO separate listing #261126 for specific information and pictures. Both sides are both beautiful - mirror images - but for the bedrooms. (Each side has its own yard area - it is a large yard). It is a great deal for a family vacation to remember always.

Our house is also about 40 minutes from the Cleveland Clinic - and is also a perfect, peaceful place for family members or for the patient' s peaceful recuperation.

REMEMBER - THIS CALENDAR ONLY APPLIES TO THE 3 BEDROOM UNIT. Please go to VRBO listing #261126 for information and pictures for the one bedroom side and its calendar.

Keywords: Lovely Cabin/House

More Details
Hide Details

WE LOVE OUR HOUSE AND REALLY ENJOY OUR SUMMER RENTAL GUESTS.

Donald Fenner purchased this cabin in 2001

GORGEOUS CENTRALLY LOCATED (TO BEACH, CEDAR POINT, WATER PARKS, ISLANDS) AND CLEVELAND AND CLEVELAND CLINIC LOCATION

PEACE, QUIET, AND A LOVELY ENVIRONMENT

23 Reviews of Property 162266 in Vermilion, Ohio

Cozy Lakefront Home - Beautiful and Clean
average rating of 4.7826085 based on 23 reviews
business
Cozy Lakefront Home - Beautiful and Clean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162266vb
+1 4408710360
Vermilion Ohio
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I wanted a quiet spot on Lake Erie where I could relax for a week and enjoy hosting my son and granddaughter for a few days. That is exactly what I found at this nice house. Kate was terrific. Very helpful. We cooked in most of the time, but splurged on a fabulous meal at Chez Francois. The lakeshore was my 10-year-old granddaughter's favorite part and she had no difficulty with the stairs. Views are beautiful. The place is very quiet. What might not be obvious from VRBO/Homeaway listing is that this is actually a building with two units. The attached one-bedroom was occupied during our stay, but represented no problem whatsoever. Nearby downtown Vermilion is lovely. We enjoyed the beach there and visited a couple of other nearby attractions. I highly recommend this place!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cozy Lakefront Home - Beautiful and Clean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162266vb
+1 4408710360
Vermilion Ohio
Ft. Myers Florida
5

Amazing & Wonderful!!

Amazing & Wonderful!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I would like to thank Kate! She opened her house to us for our daughter's wedding!! It was a wonderful setting for entertaining our family and guest between the ceremony and reception. The view was amazing and the house and cottage worked perfect. Kate was wonderful to work with. I would highly recommend this VRBO. Again, Kate thank you!! I hope to return soon!!
business
Cozy Lakefront Home - Beautiful and Clean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162266vb
+1 4408710360
Vermilion Ohio
Beaufort, SC
5

Fall Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This was our second stay at this cottage. Each time we stayed for a month. The cottage is very comfortable with every possible amentity that you would need or want. The view is fantastic. Spent most evenings watching the boats and the sunsets. The owners are great. They respond quickly to any questions or concerns, but do not watch over you every minute.
Vermilion has a great downtown -very quaint. Our favorite place to shop was the Vermilion Farm Market. The people that work there are friendly and helpful. They have lots of really good food.
It was hard for us to leave and head back to South Carolina but we are hoping to return again next fall.
business
Cozy Lakefront Home - Beautiful and Clean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162266vb
+1 4408710360
Vermilion Ohio
Rossville, PA
5

Memorable Holiday in Cozy Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I was worried that this would be the first Thanksgiving Holiday that I would not be able to celebrate with my kids. They have gone off to two separate and very demanding academic studies at different Universities.

But then I found the Homeaway (VRBO) website and located this wonderful cottage along Lake Erie nearly half-way between my kids. Being “new” at this online house renting made me a little nervous – but our Owner Kate was great!

This was over a holiday – but Kate made sure that we were comfortable. The place was perfect. It had all of the kitchen items you need. We made the best Thanksgiving meal ever: a full turkey and all the trimmings feast!

Originally, we thought that we could go out for some meals and travel around to see some sites, but once we got there we decided not to leave. It had a very cozy home feel – with a beautiful view of Lake Erie right in the backyard! And, it was just a short walk down the lane to see the Historic Vermilion Community Center and a town park with a public beach.

When we needed to get one or two items for our Thanksgiving meal and Kate told us about this wonderful Farmers Market – just a short drive away. We ended up going back there on the way home to get some more of the amazing locally made Apricot Butter.

If I could – I would rate this cottage higher than five stars.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Cozy Lakefront Home - Beautiful and Clean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162266vb
+1 4408710360
Vermilion Ohio
Fairview Park, Ohio
4

Nice, but no beach

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a good time. But folks should know there is no beach (we think the pictures are misleading despite the qualifier that the owner can't always promise a beach). The terrain in front of the break wall is covered with concrete slabs and stone, so the beach pictures are out of date and do not resemble the actual terrain. Even when the waves die down, it is not be safe to walk at the water's edge. The stairs leading down to the breakwall area you see in the pictures are also tricky for kids or unsteady adults. That said, everything else is as advertised: cozy, clean, quiet. Great view. Lots of games. Close to downtown Vermilion.
Owner's Response: I am sorry. We had two very major storms at the beginning of the year that washed aways 18 inches of limestone screening. We had scheduled to have a stone patio installed, and as a result of the crazy weather, we were not able to complete. That is the reason the area maintained all the stone pavers referenced. They were not able to be laid because the foundation was washed away in the storms. We are removing the picture. kate
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Cozy Lakefront Home - Beautiful and Clean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162266vb
+1 4408710360
Vermilion Ohio
1

182337 cozy lake front home ???

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
AN OLD SAYING, NEVER STAY AT THE SAME PLACE TWICE, we will never stay here again, we found thing's that didn't work, washer, grill, internet, It just didnt seem very clean, durty windows and dust on the blinds, the furniture is old and not comfertable, and we found aint traps on the counter, aints crawling on the tabel and counter, KATE said thats because of the rain, spair bed rooms very small, beach area filled with concreat slabs for erosion, so dont plan on a beach. I dont recommend. J-- from columbia, sc.
Owner's Response: John R. had called me to inquire when I would be returning his security deposit. For the first time in all the time that we have rented our home, I advised John that I needed to have the carpets and furniture cleaned due to his smoking in our home (it was really awful) and that once I had the bill I would send him the difference.

John informed me that while they had smoked in our house, they had brought sheets that they had used to cover the furniture so he was quite certain it did not smell. I advised John that while I had tried everything in my power to get rid of the smell - it smelled and that the carpet and furniture would need to be cleaned. I also explained to John that his smoking had caused me to call the folks who were scheduled to come the next day and to explain to them about the cigarette smell because it was not fair for them to have to stay in a house that smelled. They ended up not coming - because of John's smoking.

John became very nasty and warned me that if I kept his security deposit he would give me a review that I would always remember - that "he would show me who I was dealing with."

I have to be honest, this entire process has left me very sad.

It should also be noted that I had spoken to John's daughter during the week - she had called to find out how to sign on to the internet - and I specifically asked her how things were going - because it was important that they have a nice time. She indicated that everything was lovely and she thanked me.

kate
Helpful votes: 4/11
business
Cozy Lakefront Home - Beautiful and Clean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162266vb
+1 4408710360
Vermilion Ohio
Milford, MI
5

A Wonderful Place to Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
What a great time we had, and what a wonderful place to stay. Highly recommended, and will definitely come back again. Had some nice, cozy fires in the fireplace, enjoyed the scenery over the lake, and really enjoyed the enclosed porch with a nice view of the lake, and even some freighters. Saw an eagle one morning. The master bedroom is absolutely gorgeous, and the kitchen is loaded with everything you might need. A large TV, great WiFi, and plenty of board games and books kept us happily occupied. The owners, Kate and Don, are most gracious and helpful, and the neighbors on both sides are just as nice. We certainly appreciated being able to bring our small dog along, and she enjoyed it as well as we did. The Vermillion Farm Market nearby, has some really nice meat and unusual items. A nice place to get your groceries. The neighborhood store has beer at much cheaper prices than Michigan, and the staff and owner are very cordial. A lot of nice restaurants nearby. We had a great time !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Cozy Lakefront Home - Beautiful and Clean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162266vb
+1 4408710360
Vermilion Ohio
Canal Fulton, OH
5

Visited there with another couple in October, 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
This house accedes all expectations. It is full of character and warmth with absolutely everything provided and more. WIFI worked beautifully for us which often has been an issue for us in other areas. Kate has thought of everything you might possibly need or want, including reading materials and all kinds of board games, etc.. We loved the peacefulness of this setting...the beautiful view of Lake Erie. I do not believe you could possibly be disappointed. We can't wait to visit again! Thank you to both Kate and Don for graciously allowing us the opportunity to spend a much needed and relaxing few days in your delightful home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Cozy Lakefront Home - Beautiful and Clean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162266vb
+1 4408710360
Vermilion Ohio
Delaware, Ohio
5

Quilters' get-away

Quilters' get-away
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We spent 4 days at the home and had a wonderful visit. Getting away to quilt, to shop for more fabric and try some new restaurants were on our agenda and every activity was possible. The home is very inviting and we enjoyed the sunporch for seeing the lake as the weather was not the best. We appreciated the breakfast foods that were left for us. The three of us agreed that we would enjoy quilting on the lake shore again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cozy Lakefront Home - Beautiful and Clean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p162266vb
+1 4408710360
Vermilion Ohio
Chicago
5

Great getaway - no matter the weather!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We spent a (mostly) rainy weekend and despite the weather we had a great time. The house is ever so comfortable with all you need - from the kitchen to the stack of games and magazines. The backyard is set up for watching sunsets and just kicking back. The description truly does not do this place justice - it is so much more. We were in town for a function at Oberlin but would love to come back and take in more of Vermillion - it looks like it would be a lot of fun to explore. (but I could also just come back to sit in the backyard and enjoy the view) My husband and I highly recommend this rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2