Russian Hill apartment rental - The Front: a classic Victorian - we're on the middle floor: Green St @ Hyde
The Front: a classic Victorian - we're on the middle floor: Green St @ Hyde
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 30 nights
 

Russian Hill Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

We have a gorgeous one bedroom apartment in the heart of Russian Hill halfway up Green Street @ the Hyde intersection, one block south of Union St.

It's a classic Victorian on the 2nd floor of a 3 story house with views of the city. It has been thoroughly modernized without losing its charm (new kitchen, bathroom, super fast wi-fi connection, new electricals etc.) as it has hardwood floors throughout and has all the shapes of that wonderful period of SF architecture.

We bought it as our weekend place. I used to live one block away and missed the area so much. Now we live in Southern California and fly or drive up about six times a year. That means... it's vacant most of the year - so you can pick when you want to come!

The neighborhood is tremendous. Russian Hill itself is a gentrified little area on one of the peaks in the center of the city. Down one side of the hill there sits Little Italy (North Beach) and Chinatown - with all its colors and fabulous culinary treats. On the other side is Cow Hollow and the Marina - both very hip, modern, fun, active areas. You're spoiled on Russian Hill.

There's a selection of really great neighborhood restaurants within a block, plus the cable car and bus at the end of the block - so no need for a car when visiting.

This is a cute, wonderful apartment in a great location that has been lovingly modernized. It's our pride and joy. As such we will only be renting to professional/respectable couples who we hope will love the place as much as we do. So please, no smokers, families of four, drug barons from Colombia, party-ers, or one legged pirates from the caribbean (the steps will kill you).

Please be aware that we rarely allow more than 2 adults. We do consider kids (just one, not a nest) if they are polite, respectful, do their homework and keep their arms crossed and heads on the desk at all times.....!

Keywords: Apartment

More Details
Hide Details

I'm Mark, British, been in the US since 1994. Married to the wonderful Nina. We have a cheeky son, Evan.

We live in So.Cal. But I lived in SF for 6 years on entering the States in 1994 and am still in love with it.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 2004

I lived one block away for 6 years. Greatest city on earth.

It's a great neighborhood. The Restaurants, the people. I sense they are proud to live on RH. There's a cozy, safe, refined feel to Russian Hill even though it's in the heart of a city like SF.

19 Reviews of Property 182327 in Russian Hill, California

Russian Hill Stunner: in the Heart of San Francisco
average rating of 5.0 based on 19 reviews
business
Russian Hill Stunner: in the Heart of San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182327vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
5

Wonderful sanctuary in Russian Hill

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a fantastic time here - the apartment is beautiful and furnished with everything we could possibly need. Mark, the owner, was really helpful and kind and the neighbours were very friendly too, which was nice as we were new to the neighbourhood. We really enjoyed our time both in the apartment and in Russian Hill - I felt very lucky to be there. We could ride the cable cars or take the bus to get to other parts of SF easily, but at the same time we were just around the corner from great restaurants like Frascati, Luella and Amarena, sushi at Okoze, and loads of great places to eat and drink on Polk Street, two blocks down. And so close to Swensen's ice cream parlour - way too much temptation! Fortunately there are hills everywhere to work off the ice cream intake. The view from the apartment (and the roof terrace) is amazing. Would love to go back, and would highly recommend to anyone. Thank you Mark!
business
Russian Hill Stunner: in the Heart of San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182327vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
Miami
5

Awesome location - great apartment!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My husband and I had an absolutely wonderful stay at Mark's apartment. Mark is a really nice host and very accommodating. The are is very walkable, public transportation is extremely convenient, and by car the apartment is really 10 minutes away from any other neighborhood. Parking is pretty tough around the area, so I would definitely recommend sticking to walking and public transportation. There are a quite few nice restaurants, bars, convenience stores, markets and even a wine and cheese market one or a couple blocks away, and yet the apartment is in a very tranquil street surrounded by green and sounds of birds singing. The apartment is also very bright and has a very cozy nook. I would definitely stay here again and would most definitely recommend.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Russian Hill Stunner: in the Heart of San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182327vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
5

We loved this place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We had the most wonderful 10 day stay last Easter at Mark's beautiful apartment. We felt so at home from the moment we walked in the door. The apartment is extremely spacious, with absolutely everything we could possibly need. It exceeded our expectations and more than lived up to the website description and photos. We really felt as if we lived in this lovely part of San Francisco. It is easy to walk down to Fisherman's Wharf, and excellent exercise to walk home again up those wonderful hills. The views all around more than make up for the effort. Or you can take the cable car back up the hill. On arriving at SFO airport after a 14 hour flight from Sydney, we took the train from the airport, then the Powell and Hyde Cable Car to arrive at Green Street, all very easy. The cable car stop is just on the corner, and gives a scenic ride back to downtown San Francisco.
There are plenty of local shops and restaurants, we especially liked Frascati on the corner of Green and Hyde. Polk St is just a couple of blocks away and offers an interesting range of bars, restaurants and shops.
I have recommended this apartment to friends, and would love to stay there again if visiting San Francisco another time. We loved sitting in the nook watching the changing weather roll across the hills, and the view of the Golden Gate bridge from the roof and the front entrance took my breath away every time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Russian Hill Stunner: in the Heart of San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182327vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
North Easton, MA
5

WE LEFT OUR HEARTS IN SAN FRANCISCO

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Perfection..accommodations, location, transportation and communications!!! We stayed for 12 days and didn't want to leave. The apartment is exactly as depicted and described. Mark is super easy to work with and has a fun sense of humor. All of his recommendations were spot on, especially getting the Muni card for a week..What a deal!! We hopped on and off cable cars and buses and explored a different neighborhood every day. It is very efficient and safe. Highly recommend walking across the Golden Gate, trip to Alcatraz and drinks at the Top of the Mark.. We've never done these in past trips, thinking they were "too touristy"...so glad we did this time. Also don't miss going up to the rooftop to watch the sunset with a killer view of the Golden Gate....
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Russian Hill Stunner: in the Heart of San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182327vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
North Branford, Connecticut, USA
5

FANTASTIC APARTMENT!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We just returned from a ten day stay at this Russian Hill apartment and had a terrific time! Communication with the owner was easy, directions to the apartment were spot on, and the location cannot be beat (right on the Hyde/Powell cable car line). The space is clean, stylish and modern but with the charm of an older building and quiet. You can hear the distant clanging of the cable cars and that was delightful. The bedroom was spacious, the king bed extremely comfortable and with nice linens. The full kitchen is stocked with everything you need and the bathroom is equipped with a super nice rain head shower. A special little nook area off the living room is a great place for watching the fog roll in and relaxing. Area restaurants are very good, and a walk down the hill to Polk St. offers so much more. You can easily walk to North Beach, Chinatown, & Fisherman's Wharf. Public transportation is fine to get around but if you're feeling adventerous, we recommend renting a scooter. It's a fun way to cover a lot of territory and not have to worry about parking. We definitely left our hearts in San Francisco!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I couldn't sum it up better. Thanks so much. Hope you can come back. Return guests get a day free!
business
Russian Hill Stunner: in the Heart of San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182327vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
Markinch, Fife, Scotland
5

brilliant stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We have just spent a wonderful 4 nights in this beautiful apartment. The apartment is everything it appears to be in the photos and description. Russian Hill is a wonderful area. We rode the Powell and Hyde Cable Car to arrive and leave. We had our wedding anniversary meal in Frascatti at the foot of the street and we walked to Fisherman's Wharf area several times to pick up the tour bus, take the ferry to Alcatraz and rent our bikes to cycle over the Golden Gate Bridge.
We stayed in several great places in our US trip and this appartment was one of the best and we voted the shower 'best of all'.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Cheers! It's hard not to have a romantic thought in that shower.....oooooo!
business
Russian Hill Stunner: in the Heart of San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182327vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
Michigan
5

Couldn't be better!

Couldn't be better!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Our recent trip to San Francisco was a celebration of our 40th anniversary, and we were hoping it would be something extra special. When we got to the apartment on Russian Hill, we knew that it would be. The location is in a lovely and safe up scale residential neighborhood just a few blocks from everything you might need. Falling asleep and waking to the sound of the Hyde Street Cable Car is total San Francisco, and something we will not forget.

The apartment is just the right combination of luxury and functionality. The bed, the linens, towels, etc are high quality. The kitchen left nothing to the imagination, and the rain shower was unique. The owner and onsite manager are there to help you if you need something or just want advice about The City and its many adventures. San Francisco is a spectacular visual treat, and the apartment is your very own part of the show. Sit in "the nook" and watch The City wake up in the morning, and put on a light show every evening just for you. Moreover, let us not forget the million-dollar view of The City, San Francisco Bay, Alcatraz and The Golden Gate Bridge from the roof. We certainly will not.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Russian Hill Stunner: in the Heart of San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182327vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
London, England
5

Excellent!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Just wanted to re-confirm all previous 'excellent' reviews and comments for this apartment, staying here really made our holiday - so much better than staying in a hotel! The apartment is lovely, clean, modern and well equipped and in the best location. Really easy to get to anywhere either on foot or via cable car or bus. There are some great restaurants nearby too - we tried Luella at the corner, Zarzuela's on the corner of the next block and Antica on Polk St twice because we liked it so much!
This really is a lovely place to stay and if we ever go back to San Francisco we'll be very disappointed if we can't stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Russian Hill Stunner: in the Heart of San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182327vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
New Zealand
5

Exactly as Described

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
This apartment is exactly as described, very clean, comfortable and modern with great views of the city. We really enjoyed our stay. The location is amazing and the neighbourhood feels safe. We found there was no need for public transport as we were able walk everywhere, including to Golden Gate Park. Being so close to Polk Street is a real bonus because of all the great places to eat. Would definitely book again and recommend to friends and family. Thanks Mark.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: These guys are hardy! They make 'em strong in NZ.
I'd thoroughly recommend getting a Muni pass when in SF!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Russian Hill Stunner: in the Heart of San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p182327vb
Russian Hill San Francisco
Seattle, WA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
When we opened the Roman shades each morning
in the roomy, quiet bedroom of this fresh Russian
Hill apartment, we realized that for just a few days
we were given the opportunity to experience San
Francisco as if we were residents. We tip-toed on
the plush, modern rugs wisely placed over top-
nailed old oak floors to preserve the neighbor's
peace and quiet. Cooking in the modern kitchen
was easy. All of Mark's restaurant recommendations
were so appreciated and spot-on! As the sun set
between the Golden Gate Bridge and Mount
Tamalpias while we sat out on the roof, we counted
ourselves among the lucky ones to have found this
sweet, inviting place.
Helpful votes: 3/3