Tybee Island cottage rental - Pool, hot tub, tiki hut toilet/shower, lounges & floats, picnic table/umbrella
Pool, hot tub, tiki hut toilet/shower, lounges & floats, picnic table/umbrella
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps7
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Tybee Island Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage has 2 units - rent both (4br-2bath) or one (2br-1bath) sleeps 7 or 14

The Flamingo has 'character' along with being attractive, clean, & affordable. It's close to the beach & has a fantastic pool and hot tub. A pedestrian crosswalk is provided from your location, 2 minutes and you're on the beach. Leave your car & forget about paying parking meters! (Pocket that $20 day) Another unit is next door should you require more room for a larger party for the same rate as this one. The mid-island location puts you in the heart of everything. Several restaurants are located right here for your convenience + a beach store for all your needs. The Flamingo consist of 2 bedrooms, 1 full bath, living/dinning rm, full kitchen, 2 covered porches w/night lighting, furniture & gas grill. The bed arrangements consist of a 1 king bed, 3 twin beds, & 1 queen sofa bed. Totally equipped kitchen w/new appliances, 2 cable TV's, free WiFi, central H/A, DVD, movies, & books. Enter the sailboat gate next to the Flamingo & enjoy the serene surrounding of the tropical courtyard with overhead arbor, water fountains, swing, pool and hot tub. Pool lounges and floats are furnished for sunbathing. You're in the vacinity of the recreational park, beach, shops, Ft. Pulaski, Light House, Pier, Gym, Library, tennis & basketball courts, science museum, & visitor center: Property address is 303 B Butler Ave. Tybee Island, GA 31328. Butler Avenue is the closest street to the ocean running parallel to the beach. Ships entering & leaving Savannah's harbor can be observed here from the beach. Take a stroll on the beach to the lighthouse or pier. We provide a beach cart to assist caring your chairs, cooler, towels, food, etc. How easy is that? If your party is large, we have other units close by so you can all be together so Inquire with Paul or Shannon, your agents. Once you have visited Tybee, you will see an array of artistic turtles placed throughout our unique island with each one having their own name & personality. Tybee Island protects live sea turtles and their nest and we are proud to have such an awesome creature to study and watch. ( ''The Last Song' was filmed here at Tybee & the sea turtle was a large part of the movie.)

Come and enjoy our southern hospitality! The courtyard and pool area accommodates large groups for a nice family gathering as well as your back deck. The courtyard and pool are shared with 2 other small units; on the average, people swim at different times of the day/night because there is so much to see and do. All guest are required to sign a pool waiver along with their rental agreement.

Sofa Bed: Other than the bedrooms, each unit has a sofa bed that will sleep two people.

More Details
Hide Details

I grew up in Savannah (20 minutes away), moved to Tybee Island while employed with the Board of Education. I invested in rental property for many years & after taking early retirement, I decided to start my own Family Vacation Rental business, which is called Coastal Georgia Cottages. I am a mother of two fine sons, Mark & Paul, who are Captains with the Savannah Fire Department. They've done much of the maintenance and new construction; my youngest son, Paul and his wife, Shannon, handle all the bookings & cleaning service; I handle most of the decision making, decorating, small maintenance, purchasing, office work & advertising, etc.. My husband, Richard, helps out in the decision making & is very helpful in other areas. He too owns his own Logistics business and finds time to help me out whenever the cause arises. Last, my 4 lb. Yorkie, is our mascot for Coastal Georgia Cottages.

Paul or Shannon Strojny- Call or Email for Availability purchased this cottage in 1980

I always wanted to live at the beach. It's like being on vacation year round with a laid back atmosphere. It is a small, friendly & safe community --- you can walk, ride your bike or golf cart any time day or night. Everything is so convenient & the island is so laid back. I love the gorgeous sunrises we get to enjoy every morning on the beach & all the water sports and festivals. We meet so many people from all over the world, share stories, and become friends for a life time. Sharing our island with others & watch their enthusiasm rise to a level where they can't wait to return is very rewarding to me. We aim to please & look forward to a lasting friendship.

My guest compliment us about how attractive, clean, & relaxing the cottage is to them. They love the convenient, mid-island location & the decorated attire of the entire cottage inside and out. We are a small, family owned business & our guest's enjoyment is our #1 concern. We are also pet friendly, offer free WiFi, & the pool, spa, & courtyard are our biggest asset to the cottage. We are just a phone call away & prompt to respond.

21 Reviews of Property 181735 in Tybee Island, Georgia

Flamingo Cottage- Pool/Spa, walk to beach, WiFi, Pet Friendly
average rating of 4.230769 based on 21 reviews
business
Flamingo Cottage- Pool/Spa, walk to beach, WiFi, Pet Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181735
+1 (912) 704-5990(Georgia, USA)
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
russellville KY
5

A wonderful place for a vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We rented the entire house last week. I enjoyed everything about the cottage,from the beach decor to the deck.The house was so like home not like any hotel. I loved being so close to the beach, I think the entire time we were there I only drove my car one time. The owners are very helpful, everything you need is there except food and cloths, they have even noted in the book which are good places to eat and not so good. I loved Tybbe island, very beautiful and relaxing place. I would for sure go back and rent the same place again, I wish we had stayed for the whole week.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Flamingo Cottage- Pool/Spa, walk to beach, WiFi, Pet Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181735
+1 (912) 704-5990(Georgia, USA)
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
5

Absolutely Ravishing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
A wonderful and convenient place to stay. As an energy conservationist, this home passed my test! Close to everything. Paul was great with making sure that all of our needs were met. St. Patty's parade was awesome and came right in front of our door. Everything was nice and clean in the cottage and the beds were oh so comfy! The awesomeness of the pool and hot tub can not be captured in pictures. Breathtakingly amazing. Steps away from the beach, I cant wait to visit again!
Owner's Response: LaTrell and Family,
Thank you so much for your gracious review. You've made us very happy sharing your comments with everyone. Thanks for taking the time to inform us and others how you enjoyed your stay in the Flamingo Cottage. We take pride of what we have to offer folks. We strive to meet everyone's expectations & want them to come back again on "Tybee Time". We look forward having you as our guest again; maybe in warmer weather, because you will love the large pool & courtyard when the tropical plants are at their peak. We are a family business and we like treating people like family. If we can be of service to you and your family in the future, please contact Paul at 912-704-5990. If we don't see you, hope you have a fabulous summer.
God Bless
business
Flamingo Cottage- Pool/Spa, walk to beach, WiFi, Pet Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181735
+1 (912) 704-5990(Georgia, USA)
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
Amherst, Va. USA
5

Loved it. GREAT value for the money.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We reserved both Flamingo and Turtle for an extended family and "best friends" vacation. It was everything we were looking for. The decor is delightful; it is convienent and while it is not "beach front', it literally is less than a 5 minute walk. We are a dog friendly family and were able to take our Cairn Terrier and he was welcomed with open arms. The pool is right next door and is large and also well landscaped and very attractive. It's a great place if you want personal space but also have your friends/family literally right next door. Would go back again.
Owner's Response: Thanks for sharing with us your experience with us during your vacation with your family and friends. It pleases us immensely to know our customers like what they see and they would definately return again. We appreciate you choosing us for your family vacation and we would be delighted to have your party again as our guest in the future. Hope you took alot of pictures so you can keep the memories for many years to come. I know your littleTerrier means alot to you, we feel the same about our little Yorkie, Scooter. Heck, they are a part of the family too !! So glad it worked out for you to bring him. Thanks for your gracious Review. God Bless
business
Flamingo Cottage- Pool/Spa, walk to beach, WiFi, Pet Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181735
+1 (912) 704-5990(Georgia, USA)
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
2

Disappointing

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family and I recently stayed at the Flamingo Cottage on Tybee Island. It is decorated adorable, appears clean, conveniently located to the ocean, and quiet. However, upon arrival my family and I found 3 large, the size of my finger, dead palmetto bugs throughout the cottage. We then began searching to see if there were any more and found 4 more dead ones under dressers and beds. My kids were freaking out and afraid there were alive ones going to crawl on them while sleeping. We made it through the night and called the agent first thing the next morning. She immediately sent out an exterminator who informed us that palmetto bugs, aka flying cockroaches or the american cockroach, are a huge problem to Tybee. This was news to us. He also told us he had been there the day before for a routine visit and had left a back closet window wide open and they must have entered there. He sprayed and went on. We trusted him and began our vacation luckily not seeing anymore until the 4th day. It was a good hard rain that day and we left to explore Riverstreet. When we returned, there were 3 dead ones, 2 crawling up the walls, one running past the doorway, and 1 in the bedroom alive. At this point I was over it. My family and I packed up and left, leaving 2 days before we were scheduled to leave. I emailed the agent, told her how disappointed we were, how uncomfortable our stay was, and requested any sort of refund. She politely emailed me back that bugs are out of her control along with weather and no refund would be issued. She also stated this was not a problem they had had in the past, however I informed her she should read her guestbook as the family before us had wrote, "Nice cottage, minus a few roaches. My family and I take a beach vacation yearly and have never had this problem anywhere else. So with all that said, the Flamingo Cottage is a cute little cottage if you do not mind finding both dead and alive cockroaches during your stay.
Owner's Response: Coastal Georgia Cottages takes great pride in presenting nice, clean homes for our guest. Matter of fact, the cleanliness of our rentals seems to be the greatest compliment we receive from our guest. Insects are a part of life, that is why we have a professional exterminator spray every month for bugs; that is why you saw dead bugs. Our exterminator was prompt in responding immediately 3 different times during your stay. Due to the excessive amount of rain the entire southeast has had lately, it is not uncommon for bugs to be more of a nuisance. The exterminator searched the entire house looking for anything that even looked like a crack that could be a source of entry and corrected it. I feel confident that he left no stone unturned should there have been any place that was accessable. We had other homes rented the same week but no one complained of any bugs, but any concern of our guest is a concern of ours. You told the exterminator that you & your children had a phobia about bugs, and I do regret that you were frightened. As far as the weather----we all like to have great weather while on vacation, but I am sure we all have experienced rain from time to time on our vacations, but sighting a bug and rainy weather does not constitute a refund. I can not control the weather but I can control what's in my power and that's answering any concerns of my guest and acting promptly. Yes, we go to great lengths to make our cottages very attractive and decorative for our guest to add to their festival, "beach" vacation, thanks for the compliment.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Flamingo Cottage- Pool/Spa, walk to beach, WiFi, Pet Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181735
+1 (912) 704-5990(Georgia, USA)
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
5

Wonderful, Relaxing Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My husband and I took our two grandchildren ages 5 and 10 with us for a week's stay at the Flamingo Cottage.

Our neighbors sharing the duplex were sisters from New York and they were so nice, thoughtful and kind throughout our stay.

Our granddaughter, aged 10, made friends with a family that was staying next door by the swimming pool. They were very nice people and made our visit all the more fun!

The beach is just across the street and there is a shop in the next block to buy souveniers. Everything is so convenient and everyone was so thoughtful and nice.

The pool and hot tub were very clean and well-kept as were the grounds. The cottage we stayed in was just perfect in every way with a full-sized washer and dryer. I can't think of anything that needed improvement in any way, including the perfect weather.

We are planning to stay there again in the near future and I would, and have recommended it highly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Flamingo Cottage- Pool/Spa, walk to beach, WiFi, Pet Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181735
+1 (912) 704-5990(Georgia, USA)
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
GA
1

first time at tybee island

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
it's our first time been to tybee island, we booked kind of late but we did get a place at flamigo cottage.In the picture it look pretty and big, but when we get there, it was small.. no room.. everything is so different from the picture. We're there last weekend, the weather was kind of chilly, we thought we had the hot tub to relax our self while the pool water and the beach was cold, but then the owner was kind of restricted on the hot tub. They should let the customer turn on the hot tub whenever they were in the hot tub. My family was very disappointed, but we will come back to tybee island but prefer to different place, but not going to stay in flamingo cottage again. I should've just keep looking and not deciding on choosing this place.. This was never happen to our family before..
Owner's Response: We try to meet the needs of our guest but unfortunately it's impossible to satisfy everyone.

We describe in detail and post up-to-date pictures on the web about the rentals. The pictures & descriptions are exact; this unit sleeps 6 people although there were nine people's name submitted on the pool waver. The unit justifies 6 people but not 9. We have never had anyone complain about the size but then they didn't have more than 6 people.

In addition, we even gave a discount on this particular rental.

The pool is not heated as stated on the web- I can't make it any planner- and the weather is something I can't control.

The hot tub is scheduled on a timer because we don't run it 24-7. The hot tub schedule is posted in the cottage; you can ask for other times simply by requesting it.

Should you return to Tybee, you should rent a house according to the number of people in your party. We hope you will find it more pleasurable.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Flamingo Cottage- Pool/Spa, walk to beach, WiFi, Pet Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181735
+1 (912) 704-5990(Georgia, USA)
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
Cincinnati/Ohio
5

Nice Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
First time visiting Tybee Island and the area – family friendly area – if you’re looking for an area that is relaxing yet has items that can still keep you busy, this is the place. Tybee can be a busy place on the weekends with many coming in from the mainland to hit the beach. Things to do range from: time at the beach, historical lighthouses and forts. Of course, if you need a little more, a quick trip to Savannah can be fun. Dinner out is a must – take advantage of the places that are suggested – I am already missing the fresh fish and crab.

No real issues with the Flamingo – nice little beach cottage with the following pluses:

· Close to the beach – just a short walk away
· Clean
· The pool and hot tub – yes it’s shared – but still a plus
· Off street parking
· Nice front porch with a swing
· Willing to work with you on pets – just be up front and keep your pet in line
· Well stocked with the items you need, except a hairdryer

Items just to know

· Sleeps 4 well – 6 might get cramped with use of sleeper sofa in living room – just depends on if you have young kids/adults and how much time you plan on all hanging out inside at once.
· Was good and hot while there in July – the AC chugged – but all in all it kept up and with the fans going we were fine.
· Showers were a little on the chilly side – but think of it as refreshing

Was a very nice time – a great get away from work – and good quality time with the family. The kids are ready to go back, as are the adults!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Flamingo Cottage- Pool/Spa, walk to beach, WiFi, Pet Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181735
+1 (912) 704-5990(Georgia, USA)
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
Georgia, USA
2

Clean but cramped

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We love Tybee and have rented several different properties there over the years. Our family of 14 rented both sides of this cottage and were pleased with its old-style beachhouse charm. It is convenient to the beach and Turtle is beautifully decorated. However, Flamingo is in need of some repairs and updating. When open, the sofa sleeper completely blocks the front door which is not only annoying but is also a fire hazard. We were also sad that there is no inside door connecting the two properties so that we could be together. There was also no gathering place for us. Prospective renters would probably be interested in knowing that the beautiful garden area, pool and hot tub are shared with the owner who lives next door.
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us and we're pleased to learn that you were impressed with the Turtle's decor and location to the beach. We are glad you enlightened us about the sofa bed in the Flamingo. We have changed the furniture around and I must say, it really surprised me how much larger the room looks & the sofa opens up without blocking the door!
The Turtle & Flamingo are meant to be completely independent of one another, as the write up says, but by having a door within the back porch area to each other, we find past guest very satisfied with the arrangement. We hope it wasn't an inconvenience to you during your stay.
Yes, 14 people is a large crowd, I am sorry you didn't take advantage of the courtyard as a gathering place, it will accommodate more than that amount but not sure what you had in mind? The pool is new and it seemed a waste to build it just for me and my husband so we decided to make it larger and share it with our rental guest being most people like having a pool while on vacation. It is a shared pool as stated on the web site. We like meeting people one on one, especially if they are staying in our cottages. We hope to make their trip more enjoyable by assisting them in any way possible, and chating with them about their families and about Tybee. We hope you enjoyed Tybee and your stay and look forward to having you again. We have larger houses at Tybee too should you like to inquire about them on our web site for another visit to Tybee. God Bless!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Flamingo Cottage- Pool/Spa, walk to beach, WiFi, Pet Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181735
+1 (912) 704-5990(Georgia, USA)
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Thompson Family

  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
We were only able to be here a short time- but it was wonderful. We love Tybee and have been here to the island many times. We will now include this small place of beauty in our future trips. Thank you for a wonderful place to call home for a few days.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Flamingo Cottage- Pool/Spa, walk to beach, WiFi, Pet Friendly
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181735
+1 (912) 704-5990(Georgia, USA)
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Hencely Family

  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
We loved our "Tybee Time" at this adorable Flamingo Cottage. We had everything we needed to make a wonderful restful long weekend. It exceeded our expectations and we look forward to returning again! God Bless!
Helpful votes: 5/5