Point Prim house rental - windows on the water
windows on the water
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Point Prim House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 3 full bathrooms, sleeps 6-8*

Point Prim peninsula is surrounded by surprisingly warm water. Perfect for sea bathing at high tide ... low tides reveal miles of seashore. Delightful for beach combing, clam digging and birdwatching You can see sunrise AND sunset from our beach! Bring your camera!

Newly constructed in 2005, Heron Cove was designed for gracious living. A large comfortable home with 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and a unique semi-private game and family room for extra sleep space. There is an oversized country kitchen, family room, library and sunroom. The roomy screened in porch doubles the size of the kitchen, ideal for family meals.

Enough large spaces for groups to gather and many small nooks for peaceful retreats

12 Reviews of Property 181327 on Point Prim, Prince Edward Island

Heron Cove, is a spacious & comfortable beach house resting at the waters edge.
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 12 reviews
business
Heron Cove, is a spacious & comfortable beach house resting at the waters edge.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181327
+1 902 659-2559
Point Prim Prince Edward Island
Arizona
5

Heaven in Heron Cove

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is an incredible house - the owner, Linda, is an artist, and it shows everywhere you look. Every room is a delight (even the bathrooms), there is interesting artwork on the walls, furniture is delightfully and carefully arranged. But the greatest impression of the house is of space, light and air. All windows have terrific views, all the rooms are generously sized - I could move in permanently, and sometimes it was hard to make ourselves leave the house to sightsee! We were two couples, and it was great to have so much space, though we did tend to congregate in the screened in porch every evening. The place is so well equipped, from a food processor to wine glasses for each kind of wine. It's immaculate - it felt as if we were the first people to stay there. Linda was very helpful and friendly.
The beach is great for beach combing (if you cut through the abandoned Boy Scout camp you come to a little sand beach, and can walk a long way at low tide), the lawn is good for games and frisbee. It is very quiet and peaceful.
We went to the Chowder House - it's terrific. But the food highlight was the little ice cream stand on the right as you drive down Point Prim Road - don't miss it. Cooper's Red and White was great, very obliging - they will order seafood and baked goods for you, and have a liquor outlet (it carried prosecco, so I was happy).
I recommend Kro in the Sky jewellery and Belfast Mini Mills, but make sure to get some of Linda's lovely handmade paper cards.
I recommend Heron Cove to anyone wanting to stay in a lovely house which combines all the comforts of home with a beach house ambience in a beautiful, peaceful part of the world
business
Heron Cove, is a spacious & comfortable beach house resting at the waters edge.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181327
+1 902 659-2559
Point Prim Prince Edward Island
5

Magnifique séjour!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Magnifique et très grande maison de campagne située sur le bord de l'eau. Très bien entretenue et impeccable. De belles grandes pièces aérées avec de grandes fenêtres dans chacune des pièces. Tout porte à relaxer et apprécier le moment. Le petit café du matin sur la véranda, le souper tous ensemble dans la grande salle à manger vitrée. Jogging et vélo jusqu'à la Pointe de PointPrim, randonnées de vélo sur le sentier de la confédération. La propriétaire est très discrète et fait tout son possible pour rendre notre séjour agréable. Par exemple: la propriété est très propre, la cuisine est toute équipée, des films et des livres sont disponibles en cas de pluie. Elle se rend disponible qu'en cas de besoin. Le meilleur des deux mondes! Merci Linda de partager ce merveilleux endroit et nous permettre de vivre de beaux moments en familles. Du bonheur! Nous serons de retour en 2014!
business
Heron Cove, is a spacious & comfortable beach house resting at the waters edge.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181327
+1 902 659-2559
Point Prim Prince Edward Island
5

Even Better Than I Expected

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our intention on this trip, as a group of nerds, was to get all riled up playing board games and then bother everyone in the vicinity but we only succeeded in the former. I let the owner know beforehand -because she seemed like a lady who liked to host and be generally helpful- that we were probably going to keep to ourselves, and so no problems ensued. She was really nice and even baked us a cake despite being what I thought was pretty loud and also locking ourselves out twice.

The surrounding area was really nice. We went for a short bike ride and *almost* made it to this great chowder house at the end of the peninsula. (We went there in cars later, and it was sooo good.) The little grocery store about had as much ice cream as we needed and was only two repeats of MIA's classic dance tune "Boys" away (so, ten minutes). We were nowhere near the horrors of Cavendish, but Charlottetown and Montague were about the same distance away (35-45 minutes) so we could easily make half-a-day trips to get away from each other.

The cottage itself was lovely, and I don't think the photos do it justice. We never got tired of looking through the wonderful library, and my only complaints about the kitchen can easily be attributed to having waaaaay too much stuff in my own. (Who needs seven different whisks? Me, I do.) We didn't get much beach time because it was pretty rainy the week we were there, but I imagine if it had time to dry up it would be lovely to sit out on the sand bar and look at the water and such.

Anyways, so I really liked this place.
Would recommend for: People who want to cook a lot, sit and read, explore, be indoors while feeling like you're outdoors, etc.
Wouldn't recommend for: People who imagine PEI is a tropical island with white sand beaches and plan accordingly.
business
Heron Cove, is a spacious & comfortable beach house resting at the waters edge.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181327
+1 902 659-2559
Point Prim Prince Edward Island
5

Heron "Heaven" Cove

Heron "Heaven" Cove
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Let me start by stating that my family has rented many properties on the island for vacation - and had some lovely experiences - but this one was special. The home itself is beautiful and designed in a manner that lends itself to a relaxing gathering. The kitchen is so well laid out that cooking was a breeze (having the ability to have many bodies in the same space helping was a plus - AND it added to the whole togetherness factor of our time together). There are areas throughout Heron Cove that one can find a quiet, comfortable space to waste the afternoon away with a good book by an open window blowing a delicious breeze in. Or, many times we would simply wander down to the shoreline to get out feet in that beautiful red sand. At the end of the day , as the sun was setting, we frequently sat in a vast screened in porch - talking about our adventure that day and what was in store for tomorrow, ,,,,,,,,,Bliss. Point Prim chowder house just up the road - went twice - superb. But the greatest part of this trip was getting to know Linda. She was very careful about NOT intruding on our vacation (so I had to work a bit harder)...but she is SO LOVELY. Always there to help while consumately maintaining her guest privacy. She is a gem!
The house was clean - well maintained with and excellent layout of amenities. If you are seeking peace, tranquility, beauty - this is your spot.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Heron Cove, is a spacious & comfortable beach house resting at the waters edge.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181327
+1 902 659-2559
Point Prim Prince Edward Island
5

Summer on the island at it's best!

Summer on the island at it's best!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Heron Cove was everything it said it would be and so much more. The house was very clean with all the modern amenities. The kitchen had everything you could ask for in a modern kitchen. The house has very large well laid out rooms to relax and enjoy the cool ocean breezes. There was plenty of space both inside and outside the house which was great since it allowed plenty of opportunity to do new things. The salt marsh was beautiful and a lot of fun to beach comb at low tide. Linda, the owner was very kind and made sure we were always comfortable. She was always ready to give a helping hand and gave us many great recommendations! Overall, our stay at Heron Cove was an experience we will never forget and would be delighted to come back. Make sure you go to Point Prim Chowder House for a lovely seafood dinner. It is just down the road.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Heron Cove, is a spacious & comfortable beach house resting at the waters edge.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181327
+1 902 659-2559
Point Prim Prince Edward Island
5

Relaxation - plus

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We (3 adult couples) spent a wonderfully relaxing July week at Heron Cove. The house is on the water 1.9 km (1.2 m) down a dead end dirt road (through blooming potato fields) off of quiet Point Prim road. True to its name, herons and other birds (including hummingbirds) were in sight at almost all times. The arm of sand reaching into the cove was a great place for walking any time of day. The house fronts the cove and nearby Pinnette River bay, which are great places for leisurely kayaking (shallow water, no waves).

The house (built around 2006?) itself was spacious, airy and comfortable, especially the screened porch and dining room, both of which open to the breezes coming off the water. The kitchen was fully equipped. We chose to dine in and enjoy the evening view rather than test area restaurants.

The two upstairs bedrooms each have ensuite bathrooms and share a very large sitting room, suitable for reading, getaway/napping or kids play. The downstairs bedroom has the best view, although occupants must share the full bathroom on the main floor with others. That worked out well for us. Wireless internet access was available throughout the house.

The owner was available in a "caretaker cottage" on the property to provide any local information that we needed. In addition to the well known Point Prim lighthouse, she pointed us to the nearby "Happy Clammers" for a lovely clamming/eating/sea lore experience and "Kro in the Sky" Gallery for sea glass artwork, jewelry, and nature photography. The friendly neighbors pointed us to the National Park across the island in Greenwhich, with it's floating boardwalk and rolling dunes. All those suggestions worked out great for us!

Cooper's Red and White general store is 10 minutes away. A Sobey's chain supermarket is 10 minutes or so further than that. We were out and about sightseeing enough that the distance was not an inconvenience.

Well done, Linda.
We highly recommend Heron Cove for a relaxing sea side experience!

Dave & Sara, Skip & Kathy, Mark & Fran
New Hampshire, USA
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Heron Cove, is a spacious & comfortable beach house resting at the waters edge.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181327
+1 902 659-2559
Point Prim Prince Edward Island
5

Many Precious Memories Made

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We travelled to Heron Cove with our two children and parents. We were delightfully surprised as soon as we drove up the red road to the beach house. The house was immaculately clean, very spacious and thoughtfully designed. It was stocked with everything we needed and more. The panoramic views from each sun-filled window made waking up in the morning a real treat. We thoroughly enjoyed having our morning coffee on the screened in sun porch, while relaxing in comfy chairs and listening to the birds sing. Beach combing was a huge part of our days. Our boys loved to collect different treasures when the tide went out each day and were surprised by the warmth of the water. If you are looking for a place to rejuvenate, Heron Cove is the place for you. LInda, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful. She made sure we were comfortable and was willing to answer any questions we had about things to do on the island. Heron Cove is a true jewel and we would not hesitate for a second to recommend it to family and friends alike!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Heron Cove, is a spacious & comfortable beach house resting at the waters edge.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181327
+1 902 659-2559
Point Prim Prince Edward Island
5

Restful holiday in lovely surroundings

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The house and property were everything we hoped to find, and just as described in the listing. We knew the general area from previous visits to PEI, so the tidal nature of the inshore beach was not a surprise to us; in fact, it is exactly what we sought to have. We brought our dogs to enjoy the beach holiday with us, and the low tide walks on miles of sand bars were exactly what we had wanted, at our doorstep.

Linda has really thought of everything. The furnishings are tasteful and comfortable, but not so grand that you are afraid of using them. Beautiful art and collectibles throughout the house, something pleasing to the eye everywhere you look. The linens and bedding were of excellent quality, everything unscented, gorgeous locally milled wool blankets for the cool nights; cozy throws in seating areas; lots of towels, including large beach towels.

The kitchen is large and modern and equipped to feed an army. We spent a lot of time there, perched on the bar stools or relaxing in the adjoining screened-in porch. Every detail and convenience has been provided for, nothing is missing. We stayed two weeks and never tired of the views and the beach walks.

The neighbours had kayaks, which looked like such great fun that, if we were ever to return, we'd consider renting and bringing along, as the waters were usually calm. We had pretty good weather during our stay, only grey or rainy a couple of days, but we hardly noticed since the house is so comfortable it just gave us a good excuse to have a lazy day of sofa snoozing and reading.

There's a great little grocery store only minutes away (Cooper's); the town of Montague is about 15 minutes away (liquor store, big Sobey's groceries, etc.); and Charlottetown is only half an hour from the house. Very convenient.

Overall it's one of the nicest places we've ever rented for a beach holiday. We have recommended it to friends.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Heron Cove, is a spacious & comfortable beach house resting at the waters edge.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181327
+1 902 659-2559
Point Prim Prince Edward Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Bristow, Virginia

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I always enjoy the comments in our Guest Book and often find suggestions very helpful.
We started our season off with a lovely review.
From Our Guestbook...
What a wonderful week we have had. Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful beach home with us. We have enjoyed the home, the beach and view and traveling around the Island. Everything has been beyond our expectations! Bristow, VA
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Heron Cove, is a spacious & comfortable beach house resting at the waters edge.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181327
+1 902 659-2559
Point Prim Prince Edward Island
5

Fabulous Retreat - Heron Cove

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Heron Cove was everything it said it would be, and so much more. We stayed two weeks in the fall, and enjoyed every moment. The home was beautiful, spacious yet cosy, very clean and so condusive to relaxing, reading and just hanging out. Its location is ideal, providing peace and quiet, yet still within a short distance of Charlottetown and other great towns and events. The owner, Linda was wonderful, having sent us many maps, brochures etc well in advance of our trip, and was so very welcoming upon our arrival. She also provided many suggestions for shows, restaurants, and farmers markets. Heron Cove gave us the best of both worlds for a holiday; solitude and also the fun of touring such a fabulous island. We often would tour around in the morning, enjoy lunch wherever we would end up, then pick up some local fish or seafood to cook at home in that fabulous kitchen. When planning this year's vacation, there was no doubt that we would be returning to Heron Cove. Linda, thanks so much for providing such a lovely retreat.
Helpful votes: 2/3