Miller Beach house rental - ..your private beachfront oasis away from it all...on the IN Dunes National Park
..your private beachfront oasis away from it all...on the IN Dunes National Park
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps26
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Miller Beach House Rental Photos and Description
6 bedrooms+, 5 baths, sleeps up to 26 including guest house (6-10 people)

Custom built in 2008, the 5500+ SF, private & tranquil Dream Retreat is like no other! Our guests are mostly repeats & often book the same time year-after-year. They too seek the ultimate spa-like-experience, finest & numerous amenities, spacious outdoor living area, Jacuzzis, Gourmet, Pro-Chef Kitchen, Walk-in-wet-bar, Game Room, & Master Suite that rivals the Ritz!

Only 35 min from Chicago, Miller Beach, is the center of hundreds of attractions. Boat Launch (seasonal) for watercraft is (1/3 mile) away. Only a sliver of National Park & winding dune trails separates you from THE nicest, Semi-Private, sugar-sand beach in IN! Take the sand trail leading from our Pro Sand Volley Ball Court for a sunrise jog, catch some warm, afternoon rays on the soft beach, swim in cool Lake Michigan, or stroll in the surf at dusk & capture a snapshot of the setting sun or Chicago Skyline. No matter what the season or occasion, stay with us for the ultimate in relaxation!

See www.MillerBeachDreamRetreat.com for complete info, details, and photos: Six Queen-sized bdrms/5 baths (w/ Guest House), dog-friendly, credit cards, Pro-Chef's gourmet kitchen, Pro sand volleyball court (set to Olympic standards, peak season), home theater, Rec Room, nine flat screen TVs with digital cable, Loft, game & poker tables w/ cards/chips, kid/adult games, kids sand/outdoor toys, 6-person outdoor Jacuzzi (year round), wood-burning stove (seasonal), fire wood, pure sugar-sand, 'semi-Private' beach, 150’ sand bar, no rocks/muck/algae, outdoor shower (seasonal), Wi-Fi, binder full of useful info & local attractions, private parking for up to 15 vehicles, gas grills w/ extra propane tanks, remote-controlled A/C & ceiling fans, independently-controlled heat on each level/bdrm, linens, towels, coffee makers, blender, toaster oven, crock pots, steamer, wine cellars, cookware, bake ware, flatware, spices, paper towel, shampoo, soap, hairdryers. Bedrooms have dressers, night stands, lamps, flat-screen cable TV, DVD/VHS players, large closets, hangars, & fans. No hassle!

No one offers more amenities and value!: See www.MillerBeachDreamRetreat.com for more photos, our many unique features/amenities, availability, pricing/policies, & booking.

First-come, first served. We accept credit cards, Paypal, Chase Quick Pay, checks, etc.

To save time, please check rates & availability at www.MillerBeachDreamRetreat.com before contacting me...thank you!

Guest House (sleeps up to 8) www.MillerBeachDreamRetreat.com may be available for larger groups/families to add more space or for small groups/families requiring smaller facilities.

More Details
Hide Details

An Engineer/Architect since 1995, my specialty and passion is designing, building, and managing luxury beachfront homes to accommodate very large families and groups to entertain, relax, and celebrate special occasions together.

Completed in 2009, the Miller Beach Dream Retreat and attached Guest House offer all the luxuries, premium fixtures, and custom amenities to truly have a spa-like experience. The layout and flow is functional with both large gathering spaces to entertain inside and out on a grand-scale as well as comfortable, cozy nooks for managed solitude.

I’ve been a commercial real estate investor since 2001 and have finally built a dream home for my family to call home. We always look forward to 'our private oasis on the beach” to escape from it all...

I truly hope you enjoy our home as much as we do. Please see www.MillerBeachDreamRetreat.com and call (773) 264-1000 to book your chosen dates. We fill up very fast, take credit cards, and are first come, first served.

Hope to see you soon!

Jim Pappas & Family

Jim Pappas purchased this house in 2009

We chose Miller Beach, IN for several reasons. It is THE closest beach side community to Chicago (35 minutes by car or train, 60 minutes from O’hare Airport, 30 minutes from Midway Airport), is right on the Indiana Dunes National Park, and has the BEST “semi-private” sugar-sand beach!

Our backyard and beach IS the IN Dunes National Park!

Unlike most beachfront rentals that are crowded, noisy, and offer little or no privacy, Dream Retreat is built on a quiet, cul-de-sac street, corner lot, the only house on the corner, and 350 feet from the closest neighbor!.

Your views to the North and East are Lake Michigan, the Dunes, and the Chicago skyline. We installed 6’ and 8’ privacy fences to further isolate the outdoor living spaces and Pro-sand volleyball court from the street.

Just follow our trail to the sugar-sand beach and enjoy the 150ft sand bar and crystal clear, warm water. Our beach has no rocks, no muck, and no algae. Also, because we are the Southern-most tip of Lake Michigan, the water gets the warmest fastest and stays the warmest the longest--even well into Autumn.

The choice is obvious...

become “one with nature”, have no noisy neighbors, enjoy the ultimate in luxury and privacy, and be only 35 minutes from Chicago--one of the largest and most culturally diverse cities in the world!

No other beachfront vacation rental offers this level of privacy, beauty, and luxury. Our guest list is confidential, but includes A-list celebrities on-site during filming of major movies, professional sports stars, and noted journalists.

25 Reviews of Property 181281 in Miller Beach, Indiana

Ultra-Luxury Beachfront - Lake, Dunes near Chicago & Michigan City!
average rating of 4.7916665 based on 25 reviews
business
Ultra-Luxury Beachfront - Lake, Dunes near Chicago & Michigan City!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181281
+1 773 264-1000
Miller Beach Indiana
St. Louis, MO
5

Beautiful house, gracious hosts!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We just returned from a weekend spent with 4 other couples at your home. We had such a great time together and really appreciated all the amenities and comfortable set up. The website was very accurate. The views of Lake Michigan and the dunes were beautiful. The beach would be wonderful to enjoy in the summer. Hilary greeted us, gave us a thorough tour and lots of good information. We had some concerns about the hot tub, but she assured us it was ok and we ended up enjoying it so much - even with the cold, windy weather. We can tell you put a lot of thought into the furnishings, both in function and design. Thanks for the opportunity to gather and enjoy a weekend of fun! A few small suggestions ( you said you wanted them): could have used a few more hangers in some of the bedrooms, there were no dish towels in the kitchen, noticed some cobwebs and dust bunnies/dog hair that was missed. I don't suppose you can do anything about the potholes in the surrounding streets! :)
These are small things and we loved our stay, hope to do it again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Gail: Thank you for your compliments and suggestions! Hilary and I always strive for continuous improvement in making the Miller Beach Dream Retreat Indiana's Best Beachfront Vacation Rental!
Since your stay, we have made sure that each closet has at least 10 sturdy, matching hangers. We always provide six black dish towels in the Main House and Attached Guest House Kitchens (two near the large double-bowl, under-mount Farm Sink, two near the Island Prep Sink, two near the large double-bowl Island Sink).
Due to our increased popularity and bookings of the Dream Retreat, we now do a Deep Clean of the entire compound every three (3) months, instead of our usual six.
Thanks again and see you this Summer!
Jim & Hilary
business
Ultra-Luxury Beachfront - Lake, Dunes near Chicago & Michigan City!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181281
+1 773 264-1000
Miller Beach Indiana
5

Simply perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Eight of us decided it was time for a girls weekend for movies, knitting, food and fun. Fortunately, we found the Dream Retreat! Jim and Hilary have a lovely, charming and comfortable home. They are gracious hosts, providing us with useful information at check in and a binder for reference. The layout of the house is perfect: four bathrooms and queen beds in every bedroom. The views are spectacular, the house is clean and amazingly well equipped. The information on the website is spot on. We enjoyed our time at the Dream Retreat VERY much. I recommend this property to anyone looking for a great vacation rental at a fair price with excellent service.
Owner's Response: Debbie: Thank you! It was our absolute pleasure hosting you and your friends on your "Girls weekend". As you know, Hilary and I are constantly updating our furnishings and fixtures and always strive to make the Dream Retreat an even better and more comfortable place to create lasting memories. We will most certainly have even more surprises on your next visit. Our calendar is almost full for Fall 2014, so be sure to call me to book soon. Thank you again!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Ultra-Luxury Beachfront - Lake, Dunes near Chicago & Michigan City!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181281
+1 773 264-1000
Miller Beach Indiana
Arkansas
5

Dream Retreat better than ever!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This is the third time staying at the DR, as we like to call it. This year, we were pleasantly surprised by all of the updates to the home. It’s always been lovely, but they just updated all of the bedding and added new furniture and tv’s. It seems like renovation is the air, there are new trails and a complete transformation of the lakefront, which wasn’t quite finished when we stayed last year. Very nice and we really enjoyed our daily walks through the dunes.
We always appreciate the personal service from Jim and Hilary—they take great pride in their home and we look forward to seeing them every time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Oh thank you Ginna! We love it when our repeat guests notice our upgrades. We are on a roll and updating many fixtures and amenities to make the Dream Retreat even more comfortable and relaxing for everyone. See you and your family next August!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Ultra-Luxury Beachfront - Lake, Dunes near Chicago & Michigan City!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181281
+1 773 264-1000
Miller Beach Indiana
5

Grandma’s 85th was a huge success at Dream Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
In honor of my mother-in-law’s 85th birthday, my family decided to gather everyone together for a celebration at the beach. We all did our part to research various locations in the Midwest. We wanted to meet centrally, since the family is divided on the East and West coasts and mom lives near Chicago. Miller Beach popped up on my radar and I was immediately intrigued.

*Closest beach town to Chicago-check.
*Quick train ride downtown-check.
*Quaint beach community with something for everyone-check.
*Quality beach-check

I never thought it was going to be possible to find a place that would accommodate all 25 of us. I was nervous at first to have everyone together under one roof, but it worked out perfectly. There was plenty of space for all of us to be together for dinner, etc. and to spread out to do our own thing when we wanted. Everyone got along too!

I found the Dream Retreat on vrbo, it looked (and was) perfect. Close to the beach, surrounded by the dunes, plenty of distractions for the kids (sand volleyball court, hot tub, game table, poker table, sand toys, games, movies, and more TV’s than I could count on one hand).

The owner, Jim, was responsive and took time to tell us a little history of Miller Beach and how he designed the house to be six half levels since his parents are older too and can’t navigate stairs that well. This was actually my main concern, given mom’s age. Jim personally checked us in on Sunday and made sure we knew where everything was—he seemed to really care about condition of the house and grounds. One of the TVs actually wasn’t working and he brought a new one that same day!

The house itself is perfectly secluded—on a dead-end street, with no neighbors on any sides. We barely heard a peep out of anyone the entire time we stayed, however, Jim did reassure us that we were in good company; apparently a police commissioner and a federal judge were our neighbors right across the street.
*Safety-check.

We had a great time, especially mom, and felt very comfortable in the house—hard to imagine given how many of us there were! With 6 bedrooms (there is a main and connected guest house, we rented both), sofas, sectionals, and the most impressive areo beds I’ve ever seen, we felt as if we all had plenty of space and privacy.

We’ve decided to plan a return next summer, since the kids (and grandma) had such a good time. We wish it could have been longer. Thank you for everything Jim!
Owner's Response: Sarah:
Thank you so much for the kind words! I'm glad everything worked out so well. See you next June!

Sincerely,
Jim
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Ultra-Luxury Beachfront - Lake, Dunes near Chicago & Michigan City!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181281
+1 773 264-1000
Miller Beach Indiana
Illinois
4

Nice beach house in Gary, IN

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The house is nice and well appointed. I would say that at the maximum suggested people the house would be tight. We had 20 at one point and it felt too crowded. For the price some things were disappointing....dishwasher was awful, bathroom repairs were needed (handles missing) and the main area was very hard to keep at the right temperature. The surrounding area other than the Dunes themselves is questionable at best.

Although we enjoyed the house we won't be making a return visit.
Owner's Response: We always welcome constructive, candid feedback, strive for continuous improvement, and try to be the best vacation rental on Lake Michigan, in Miller Beach, IN, “the Hamptons of the Midwest”!

Unfortunately, it wasn’t until we deducted $43 from her security deposit for ruined linens that she decided the very next day (even openly admitted this to me) to post an unfavorable review (still gave 4 out of 5 stars though). :)

We’ve had as many as 30 people stay with us to celebrate family reunions, weddings, anniversaries, birthdays, etc. and have always received positive feedback about the spaciousness and comfort of our accommodations. It is rare to find a 6000 sq ft home that sleeps 26 people right on the South Shore of beautiful Lake Michigan!

Yes, we finally had to replace one of our two dishwashers after years of continuous, everyday use.

Recently, one of our guests broke a little lever handle off one of our five showers. Things break; we fix or replace them ASAP. Shower still works, just grab the larger valve handle to use. Replacement part is en route from the factory now.

To keep the “main area” the right temperature, we have seven (7) independent, remote control, over-sized, A/C units to control the ambient temperature and humidity levels, new thermal, heat-blocking curtains on the West wall-of-windows, and custom radiant blinds on each of the eight (8) South-facing skylights. When guests leave the patio doors open, which likely happened here, the cold air escapes and no system can compensate for this, especially on scorching hot beach days. All seven (7) A/C units are topped off with Freon, filters cleaned weekly, and are adeqate.

As far as the neighborhood, the Dream Retreat is on a cul-de-sac street w/o traffic, corner lot, dunes and Lake to North & East. We share the cul-de-sac with a Judge, three professionals who commute to Chicago daily via train (free parking, museums, downtown Chicago), a Federal agent who is now the police commissioner, and a retired police officer. Being from small towns, we would never have built our dream home here to raise our kids if we were not completely comfortable with the area. We’ve been renting our home for years without incident.

We live life by and raise our children to act with honesty, integrity, and accountability. We are very proud of the Dream Retreat that we lovingly built to share with others and hope that you will too.
Sincerely,

Jim Pappas
Helpful votes: 8/14
business
Ultra-Luxury Beachfront - Lake, Dunes near Chicago & Michigan City!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181281
+1 773 264-1000
Miller Beach Indiana
5

2nd visit even better at the Dream Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My family first stayed about two years ago and had a blast! A group of friends of mine were looking for a weekend away and came back to stay again. The owner, as usual, was very helpful and gave us a little tour upon arrival. He also upgraded the living room furniture and several other kitchen items. We loved hiking on the new trails in the national park which were part of a large grant to beautify the area, drinking wine in the Jacuzzi, and cooking in the huge kitchen.

I suppose I speak for the group when I say we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly and the time spent away was very well-deserved. We especially love the quiet neighborhood and the separation from the other houses worked out well since we stayed up listening to music and chatting around the fireplace until 3am!

Our dogs run free in the dunes and on the beach (and we do too on occasion;). The town of Miller Beach is so very quaint—recommend the renovated Miller Bakery Café for fabulous cocktails and meals, not to mention Marquette Perk for an early morning espresso and gluten free goodies;). On Saturday, we decided to do some shopping in Chicago and took the train from the cute little train depot nearby.
Thank you, Jim, for another great stay. We literally want to move in (can we?). Ha! Looking forward to the next time…
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Sandra! You're welcome back anytime.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Ultra-Luxury Beachfront - Lake, Dunes near Chicago & Michigan City!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181281
+1 773 264-1000
Miller Beach Indiana
St. Paul, MN
5

Great Times!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My family and close friends rented out the Miller Beach Dream Retreat a few weeks ago to celebrate several birthdays. We had 4 couples and 7 kids and there was plenty of space for all of us. We had a great time playing poker (love the game tables and supplied chips/cards) and taking full advantage of the dual wine cellars! We also held our annual chili cook-off in the huge kitchens. The kids actually went sledding on the huge sand dunes in the back yard. Each night we relaxed under the stars with jumbo snow flakes falling on us in the outdoor Jacuzzi. One night we hired a baby sitter and won some money at Horse Shoe Casino (about 10 minute away). Everyone had a great time and we’ve already booked the same time next winter. We have finally found THE place for our annual get-together! Thank you very much to Jim and staff!

John W.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: see you same time next year, John!
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Ultra-Luxury Beachfront - Lake, Dunes near Chicago & Michigan City!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181281
+1 773 264-1000
Miller Beach Indiana
5

Girl's Weedend Getaway

Girl's Weedend Getaway
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
In searching for the perfect getaway for a “girl’s weekend” near Chicago, I was pleasantly surprised to find the Dream Retreat in the charming and quaint town of Miller Beach, only 45 minutes away!
The detailed description and abundance of photos were a wonderful bonus, as I was able to get a good feel of the layout and spaciousness of the home. Even so, the photos don’t do the home justice, and it appears the furniture has been recently updated. I also noticed more accessories and artwork on the walls.
Upon contacting the owner, I was impressed with his professionalism, promptness and willingness to accommodate us in regards to check in/check out times, and that the fact that dogs are allowed too.
The home is situated right on the beach! Even though it was winter, my friends and I were able to take a walk through the dunes to the water on a particularly mild day. We also took full advantage of the luxurious outdoor hot tub (which fit all 6 of us). Throughout the weekend, we enjoyed cooking meals in the gourmet kitchen (I’m a bit of a snob when it comes to design and was not disappointed), enjoyed the wood burning fireplace and felt very comfortable lounging around, drinking our wine;) and reconnecting.
I generally try to stay at vacation rentals wherever I travel (worldwide) and must say that this was one of the best experiences I’ve had. I am already booked to come back in the summer with my family in order to truly take advantage of the Olympic sized volleyball court and of course the beach!!
It is often hard to find nice, comfortable accommodations for a large group or family with high-end amenities. And on a cost per person basis it is actually less expensive than staying at a local motel…not to mention everyone can be together under one roof!
~Jen H.
Owner's Response: Jen:
Thank you for the kind words. I am glad you had a great time with your friends. Looking forward to seeing you again this Summer!

Jim
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Ultra-Luxury Beachfront - Lake, Dunes near Chicago & Michigan City!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181281
+1 773 264-1000
Miller Beach Indiana
West Lafayette, Indiana
5

Perfect for a large group retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The house was wonderful! It provided plenty of space for our large family reunion (18 adults), but we maxed out every possible sleeping nook including the sofa bed and air mattresses for the kids. It could comfortably fit 12 adult couples in bedrooms. Everything is new and well-kept. The sand volleyball court is especially fun. The house is just a short 5 min. walk over a few dunes to the warm and wavy waters of Lake Michigan. There is plenty of room between the two kitchens for any food preparation imaginable. There was nothing like a dip in the jacuzzi to top off the day before watching the Summer Olympics on any one of the multiple flat screen TVs. We would definitely return in the future!
Owner's Response: Yes, I built the house in 2008 for entertaining my large extended family, parents, siblings, nephews, niece, friends, etc. That is why it works so well for large groups of people--up to 26! There is plenty of sleeping, living, and outdoor space for everyone, even during the Fall, Winter, and Spring when it may be too chilly to hang out on the many decks. However, the outdoor Jacuzzi is open year round and there is nothing better than relaxing on a crisp day or in the Winter with large snowflakes coming down.

Non-Peak season is also a great time to rent since the wood-burning stove will be in high gear and we have cords of firewood on-site. In addition to the six private queen bedrooms, there is also a queen pull-out Serta back saver mattress in the attached Guest House and high-rise, premium Aero-beds with headboards, built-in pumps, and all linens and pillows for extra guests that renters like to put wherever and whenever.
Thank you for your comments! I’m glad your family had such a great time! See you next year!
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Ultra-Luxury Beachfront - Lake, Dunes near Chicago & Michigan City!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p181281
+1 773 264-1000
Miller Beach Indiana
Bloomington, IL
1

Horrible environment/AC units broken and interior temp in the mid 80’s to low 90’s

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
There were 23 family members in our group and more than half had to spend 4 out of 5 days with the interior temperature in the mid 80’s to low 90's. The main part of the house was serviced by two AC units that were broken and the landlord would not repair, no offer of refund or adjustment. Only resolution the landlord offered was that he had bought a window unit at Menards about an hour away, and “we” could go and pick up and install ourselves if we wanted.

Very unhappy and would recommend that future guests check all mechanicals before staying as landlord is very unwilling to resolve by himself.
Owner's Response: I knew it would take an act of God to ruin my perfect 5 Star Rating!!
2 of my 7 AC units were low on Freon—not broken—during record breaking heat & have since been refilled; all are working perfectly & Dream Retreat is cool once again! Time spent away from family personally resolving this issue: 14+ hours.
Integrity, honesty & accountability… Here is what actually transpired.
June & July in N. Indiana have been the hottest since 1936. All 7 of my independent, remote-controlled, AC units in the 6000 Sq Ft Dream Retreat & attached Guest House blew cold air & removed humidity for all my back-to-back family vacationers non-stop all Summer until, as Murphys Law would have it, on the hottest day of the year, 103 degrees!, 2 ran low on Freon.
Perfect for sugar-sand beaches & cool dips in refreshing Lake Michigan—not for being indoors!
Despite the sophisticated AC units, there is no indicator light that says low Freon. AC can only lower outdoor temps 20 degrees; so if it is 103, expect 83 inside.
Late Saturday, I was asked to check the AC because some were not blowing cold air. I was on my way to Chicago to check on an elderly tenant whom no one had heard from in 3 days. He seemed to understand. I told him I would resolve the AC issue ASAP & that I was very concerned.
I always try to be there for any issues since I take considerable pride in my home & always want the best experiences for my guests. This is also why I personally meet each group upon check-in. I called in favors from my 5 HVAC contractors & 6 others, but they were swamped servicing homes w/o any AC at all.
7:30pm: I called 13 stores & only Menards had 1 unit left & paid for it immediately.
I explained the saga & that I could pick it up & install it ASAP. He told me he would be at a water park all day so it didn’t matter. Menards was on his way & said he didn’t mind taking care of it. He decided not to stop that night & thus went the following morning—12min drive. He didn’t act upset or inconvenienced. In fact, he inquired if we needed anything so I guess he was shopping.
That same day, my family began our annual camping trip. Once I got them settled, I drove 3 hours to the Retreat to see what I could do to improve things. I cleaned all the compressors & filters. After re-calling everyone again, at 6pm, I was finally able to get help; the units were topped off & blowing cold air. I am pleased to say, despite the record breaking heat, it is cool inside & all is great!"
Helpful votes: 9/16