Laupahoehoe house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Laupahoehoe House Rental Photos and Description
3br, 2.5 bath, sleeps 6 upstairs/downstairs

(Please Click on rates tab for more than 2 visitors. PLEASE INCLUDE CHILDREN in the 'GUESTS' number for accurate quote. )

Located on the point overlooking Laupahoehoe Landing on the beautiful Hamakua Coast of Hawaii Island.

This large home allows privacy for the individuals and a large, open shared living area with unobstructed, ship-like, expansive views of the sparkling blue ocean and historic Laupahoehoe Landing below. The area offers historical interest, small town ambiance and country-style living.

Upstairs we have the spacious master bedroom with it's queen-size bed, full bath with shower and Japanese-style, fully-tiled furo (soaking tub).

A half-bath is located upstairs for general use. 2 bedrooms downstairs share a full bath. Rental includes all linen and towels.

You have a full kitchen for preparing great meals or a snack to enjoy on the large deck.

Enjoy TV cable television on the large-screen television.

Wi-Fi is provided for internet connection.

Location is unique in that a beach is just a short drive away and

world-class beaches about an hour away.

Activities and attractions: Location is unique in that a beach is just a short drive away and

world-class beaches about an hour away.

A beautiful 30 minute drive to Downtown Hilo offers all the

amenities of a small city. Along the way, stop at renowned Akaka

Falls, 10 minutes outside Hilo Town.

Plantation-style Honokaa Town, awe-inspiring Waipi‘o Valley and the

famous Parker Ranch town of Kamuela are all within an hour's drive.

This vacation rental allows the visitor to stay in an area still

vital with it's agricultural history and share with the local folk in

a way not available in so much of Hawaii.

NO SMOKING IN THE HOUSE PLEASE.

Reservations/Cancellations: We accept Visa/MasterCard and require a 50% deposit to hold your

reservation, with the balance due 30 days prior to arrival. Full

refund of deposit if canceled 30 days prior to stay.

More Details
Hide Details

4 Reviews of Property 180716 in Laupahoehoe, Hawaii

Large Home with unobstructed ocean view
average rating of 5.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Large Home with unobstructed ocean view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p180716
808 937-8574
Laupahoehoe Hamakua Coast
5

Beautiful Home, perfect location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My husband and our 3 young adult children loved this home. We were blessed to be able to call this place home during the 2 1/2 weeks we were on the Big Island. The pictures on the website do not do it justice. The home was well maintained and clean. The bed comfortable, and the linens of excellent quality. The kitchen, bathrooms and laundry room were all well-stocked with everything we needed. The only thing lacking was a dishwasher. More than enough room for all of us.

The view is incredible. We checked "the point" first thing every morning with our first cup of coffee on the large lanai. Our first morning there was a beautiful rainbow just off the coast. This was just the first of many that we enjoyed. The sliding glass doors and windows really let you enjoy the view from any room. Simply beautiful!

The location is excellent. Only 1/2 hour drive to Hilo and about the same to Waimea. The Kona side and sandy beaches only 1 1/2 hours from home. The town of Laupahoehoe was just up the road and is charming. The Minit Stop has very competitive gas prices. The 50's Diner is a must! Great food and good prices. We always left stuffed and with a carry-out box. The portions are huge! The Hamakua Baptist Church is a wonderful place to worship. The people there felt like family after the 3 Sundays we attended. The train museum was very interesting. Laupahoehoe Point will always be one of our favorite spots. The ever-changing waves against the rocks is mesmerizing.

We also enjoyed falling asleep to the sound of the waves crashing against the cliff below the house. With the windows open, there is quite a bit of road noise from the road farther up the mountain behind the house. This usually started about 4 A.M. After the 3rd night, we were use to it and were able to tune it out.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this home. I will definitely check to see if it is available next time we come to the Big Island, and would recommend it to family and friends.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Large Home with unobstructed ocean view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p180716
808 937-8574
Laupahoehoe Hamakua Coast
Colorado
5

A Pacific Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Sept. 19-26th, 2010

Be sure to bring a journal because long after leaving, you will want to relive life as it is here.
My wife and I have practiced Qigong and Tai Chi at various mountains and beaches in many beautiful places but have never felt more power and energy than at this particular spot. Lush vegetation, well manicured grounds, the sea air and cobalt blue sky, all mix with rock outcroppings and surf to generate tremendous life energy.
There were so many attractions we visited in the surrounding area, including Botanical Gardens, a tour of Mauna Kea, the Volcano National Park, tea and coffee plantations and various beaches, museums and waterfalls. These were all within a twenty minute to one hour+ drive.
But, one has to be careful because you leave this place at your own risk. One morning a neighbor shared his excitement and wanted to talk about the 200+ dolphins that were frolicking in the bay the morning before. "Oh no, that was the morning we went to Kona.... what luck!" So, if you do leave, you risk trading one paradise for another.
On top of all this, the house is furnished with everything we needed for our vacation, including a huge lanai beckoning us to stay forever. All we had to bring was our carry-on luggage.
Oh, and don't miss the time machine called the "Fifties Diner" - it's a hoot and the folks who run it know how to make you feel welcome.

Nick and Sara
Colorado
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Large Home with unobstructed ocean view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p180716
808 937-8574
Laupahoehoe Hamakua Coast
Denver, CO
5

A Wonderful Vacation Home Away From Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
This is a place of tranquility and peaceful beauty, inside and out. Our family of four spent a week in this beautiful house. There were the most beautiful fresh cut flowers awaiting us when we arrived, and fresh Kona coffee. Well stocked, spacious, wonderful layout for cooking meals; everything you need for making breakfast lunch and dinner, a small convenience market right up the street. We have two pre-teens and there was everything we could ask for; cable TV was a bonus, but the best thing was sitting on the huge lanai (deck) watching the ocean and the wildlife. The view was so spectacular, you really could see nothing but ocean, with the waves crashing on Laupahoehoe point. The neighorhood is nice and quiet, with a weekly farmers market less than a block away. We met some really nice people there, and a jewelry maker living in Laupahoehoe even invited us to her house and pierced our daughter's ears! We loved the train museum, and the 50s restaurant close by. It was a great place to stay, with the best beach on the island little more than an hour away. In fact, we could be anywhere on the island with a beautiful drive that never seemed too far, and it was always great to come back to cool evening breezes after spending the day on the other side of the island where it is much hotter.
This is what we wanted: a place to be where we could relax and not be faced with crowds of people, and at the same time enjoy the beauty of Hawaii. We highly recommend this house, and will be happy to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Large Home with unobstructed ocean view
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p180716
808 937-8574
Laupahoehoe Hamakua Coast
North Carolina
5

We loved the Laupahoehoe Point house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
We are back in North Carolina now, but the memories of this house and the views will be with the 6 of us forever! What did we love the most? The expanse and sounds of the sparkling blue surf? The lanai for sitting and watching rainbows and birds? The wonderful kitchen so clean and well equiped for our happy cooking and morning smoothies made from the local fresh fruit? The breezes that blew through the house keeping us cool all day and night - and the well laid our floor plan that gave us each a place to call our own? The Train Museum and nearby 50's restaurant with great burgers, milkshakes and fish! Some even loved that amazing washer and dryer that kept us clean and looking good with smaller luggage! The debate about what was best will continue- but we all agree this is a house that makes a vacation a dream come true! I fully recommend you book your stay here and make those Pacific views your own!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 12/12