Bass Harbor house rental - August Moon Cottage in Bass Harbor
August Moon Cottage in Bass Harbor
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Bass Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 bath room, sleeps 5

This quaint 1920's cottage with spacious back yard is perfect for a family of five. Featuring cypress cabinetry and moldings, hardwood floors, fireplace, an abundance of windows and a wonderful sun porch that's perfect for enjoying wine and cheese. Eat at the 7ft. dinning room table or outside on the picnic table.

The bathroom was renovated in 2007.

There is a washer and dryer in the basement.

Bass Harbor: Bass Harbor is located on Mount Desert Island's quiet side. It boasts the largest lobster boat fleet in Maine. The Bass Harbor Lighthouse is one of the most photographed lighthouses in the U.S..

Swans Island: The Swans Island Ferry is within walking distance from this cottage. Swans Island is a great island to explore by bike. The ferry ride is approximately 35 minutes.

All Linens Are 100% Cotton:

13 Reviews of Property 180112 in Bass Harbor, Maine

Charming Cottage In Quaint Fishing Village-Wifi, walk to water and restaurants
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Charming Cottage In Quaint Fishing Village-Wifi, walk to water and restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p180112
207 781-2598
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Very very nice!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We are so happy that we stayed at this property. The cottage was nicely updated yet still retained it's charm. The only thing missing was a TV but truthfully the only thing I missed was the morning news. The housekeeper should be given a raise -- the house was immaculate! Bass Harbor is a nice quiet area - far enough away from Bar Harbor's craziness to relax but an easy enough drive to everything on the island.
Owner returned our deposit in a timely manner!
business
Charming Cottage In Quaint Fishing Village-Wifi, walk to water and restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p180112
207 781-2598
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
New York
5

Perfect Maine Get-away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Maine seems like a distant and fond memory; however, it was a great one. I just wanted to thank you for the opportunity to rent your home for the week during our stay. We had such a wonderful time. There was an easily accessible adventure every day. We were able to pack in hiking, rock pooling, beach fun, fishing and lots of lobster eating during our stay. It was strange as when I usually return to New York City I am somewhat relieved to be back home – this time I actually felt wistful. Maine is a beautiful place and your home with its coziness and great location made the adventure so much better. We really appreciated the fact that there was no TV. We played board games with the kids and they really got into playing with the Lincoln logs. Amazingly enough, when the kids were sleeping we were actually able to sit up with a bottle of wine and chat with no distractions. I'd give anything right now for that peace and quiet.

We are definitely grateful for the opportunity to have stayed here!
business
Charming Cottage In Quaint Fishing Village-Wifi, walk to water and restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p180112
207 781-2598
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Wonderful holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This is a wonderful place. The house is charming and beautifully decorated. Our two young children felt at home right from the start and enjoyed playing with the wooden toys found in their room. Bass harbor is a great location, house is walking distance from 2 restaurants and the harbour which is great for evening. Lots to do on Mt DEsert Island and we would recommend it to everyone (hiking, biking on carriage road, echo lake, swimming, etc).

We loved it.
business
Charming Cottage In Quaint Fishing Village-Wifi, walk to water and restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p180112
207 781-2598
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Perfect vacation get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Thanks for letting us live in your great home for our 2 weeks in Maine. In spite of the rain we took in as much of Maine and the park as we possibly could. We ate lots of lobster, went whale watching, took a nature cruise and a carriage ride. Hiked up Acadia Mt and one other (wish we could have done more) and took in the Octoberfest a great local event in SW Harbor. We shopped in Bar Harbor but really enjoyed the shops and restaurants of the "quiet side". It was great to be there as the leaves turned and we took a drive up to Moosehead Lake (no Moose sightings) to see the glorious colors. Your home definately lived up to it's description. I would love to come back and would certainly recommend it to others planning a trip to the area
business
Charming Cottage In Quaint Fishing Village-Wifi, walk to water and restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p180112
207 781-2598
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Great Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our family of 5 really enjoyed our vacation. The house was very clean and confortable. The kids and us enjoyed the games and the wifi. The pictures represent accuratly the house and it is spacious.

Mount Desert Island is a very beautifull place that offers plenty of activities: hiking, swimming, biking. All the hiking trails offer great views of mountains, lakes or the ocean.
We will definitely consider coming back.
Stephanie, Quebec City
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Charming Cottage In Quaint Fishing Village-Wifi, walk to water and restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p180112
207 781-2598
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Perfect for our family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This house was perfect for us and our two small children. The house is very clean and comfortable and stocked with toys and games. We were so busy that the kids did not even realize there was not a tv at the house. This was our first trip to Maine and we loved Mount Desert Island. We enjoyed hiking, swimming, biking, and exploring in Acadia. We wished some of these activities were a little closer, but they were all within a 15-25 minute drive of the house. We had fun exploring the tidepools at Seawall which is very close. The town of Southwest Harbor is also close by and has many good restaurants and shops. Overall, it was a fantastic vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
business
Charming Cottage In Quaint Fishing Village-Wifi, walk to water and restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p180112
207 781-2598
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Groningen, the Netherlands
5

Beautiful house in beautiful surroundings

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We (a family of 4 with 2 boys of 9 and 11 years old) spent a week in this beautiful house. The house was perfectly clean when we arrived. It is a beautiful, atmosperic house with a nice garden. Our kids loved the house, and especially all the games, puzzles etc. We spent quite some time on the Television puzzle, the 'Fish of the New England Coast' puzzle, and on playing Clue! There is a well equipped kitchen - we went to restaurants most of the time, though.
Bass Harbor is a very tranquil little village. It has a few interesting restaurants, Seafood Ketch to name one - close to the house and in an absolutely premium location on the harborside, and of course you have to visit the famous Lighthouse. For your groceries you will need to go to Southwest Harbor.
This house was a great base for our discovery trips to the Mount Desert Island, with for example Bar Harbor closeby. The owner was very friendly and interested in our wellbeing. I would absolutely recommend this house and hope to be back some time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming Cottage In Quaint Fishing Village-Wifi, walk to water and restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p180112
207 781-2598
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
London, England
5

Wonderful vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
The cottage is ideal for families. Easy walk to sea and great sea food places. Close to lovely costal hikes and hikes in Acadia. We also loved swims in Echo lake. Bass Harbor is delightful. Short drive to supermarket in sw harbor, basic more local shop for essential items. Deer and Hummingbirds visit the garden!
House well equipped and clean; very charming.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Cottage In Quaint Fishing Village-Wifi, walk to water and restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p180112
207 781-2598
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
United States
5

Charming, comfortable, close to everything

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Stayed in this roomy house during the second week of June and it was perfect. Short rides to the village, golf, restaurants, Bar Harbor and spectacular hikes. Wifi was a bonus when needed, too. Look forward to coming back. Thanks!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Cottage In Quaint Fishing Village-Wifi, walk to water and restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p180112
207 781-2598
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Columbus, Ohio USA
5

Very relaxing with gourmet kitchen

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
We spent a week at this charming cottage with my son and his girlfriend. The home had a warm and welcoming atmosphere. There was enough space that we could have time together or time alone quite comfortably. We like to cook together so would get fresh seafood and cook it in the well equipped kitchen and then enjoy a relaxing dinner in the nice dining room followed by cards or games they had in the cottage. The beds were comfortable. We would stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2